DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-18 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/19/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/11/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a drive part in at least claim 1.
water supply part in at least claim 7.
Drive part is interpreted to cover a combination of a plurality of gears and motors as per para [0120] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Water supply part is interpreted to cover a water supply edge as per para [0161] of applicant specification; and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Donghoon (KR 20220053322 A).
Regarding claim 1:
Donghoon discloses a refrigerator #1 comprising:
a cabinet #2 provided with an evaporator ([0097]) and having a storage space #18;
a door #10 configured to open and close the storage space;
an ice-making compartment #122 provided at the door and supplied with cold air from the evaporator ([0096-0097]); and
an ice maker #200 provided in the ice-making compartment (Fig. 5), wherein the ice maker includes:
a first tray #320 made of a metal material and having a plurality of first cells ([0170]);
a second tray #380 movably mounted relative to the first tray and having a plurality of second cells that is in contact with the first cells to form a space where ice is made (Fig. 23-27);
a drive part #480 configured to move the second tray ([0158]); and
a cover #220 mounted on the first tray and forming a cold air flow passage passing on the first tray ([0071] & [0073]), and
wherein the cover is in communication with a cold air inlet #123 formed in the ice-making compartment and guides cold air into the cold air flow passage (see at least Fig. 2 & 5; [0096-0097]).
Regarding claim 2:
Donghoon further discloses wherein the plurality of first cells are disposed in an inner area of the cold air flow passage (Fig. 10; [0096-0097]).
Regarding claim 3:
Donghoon further discloses wherein the cover includes a cold air guide part configured to guide cold air flowing in to pass through an upper portion of the first cell (Fig. 7, [0184]).
Regarding claim 19:
Donghoon further discloses wherein the door is a refrigerating compartment door configured to shield the refrigerating compartment formed in the cabinet (Fig. 2), and wherein the ice-making compartment is formed to be insulated from the refrigerating compartment (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donghoon (KR 20220053322 A) in view of Kim (WO 2024150956 A1).
Regarding claim 4:
Donghoon discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the cold air guide part includes a guide surface extending from one end of the cover and having a slope that decreases toward the first cell; and an edge of the guide part extending along a perimeter of the guide surface and coupled to an upper surface of the first tray.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches a cold air guide part #270, wherein the cold air guide part includes a guide surface extending from one end of the cover and having a slope that decreases toward a first cell (Fig. 11); and an edge of the guide part extending along a perimeter of the guide surface and coupled to an upper surface of a first tray #320.
Furthermore, it has been held that the particular shape of a structure is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claimed invention was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Donghoon with the claimed arrangement above; in a similar manner as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have gradually guided the air smoothly towards the cells while maintaining a laminar flow; thereby, improving cooling performance by optimizing fluid dynamics.
Regarding claims 5-6:
Donghoon discloses all the limitations, except for a duct part extending from one end of the cover to an inner surface of the ice-making compartment and communicating the cold air guide part and the cold air inlet; wherein a cover discharge port through which cold air passing through the cold air flow passage is discharged to an outside of the ice maker is formed in the cover, and wherein the cover discharge port opens in a direction crossing the extension direction of the duct part.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches a duct part #270 extending from one end of a cover #300 to an inner surface of the ice-making compartment and communicating a cold air guide part and a cold air inlet (Fig. 10-12; and corresponding description thereof); wherein a cover discharge port through which cold air passing through the cold air flow passage is discharged to an outside of the ice maker is formed in the cover, and wherein the cover discharge port opens in a direction crossing the extension direction of the duct part (see #H4; Fig. 40).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Donghoon with the claimed arrangement above; in a similar manner as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided uniform freezing at least by distributing cold air evenly across all ice-making cells. Other benefits include concentrating the cold airflow directly onto the tray so as to reduce ice formation time.
Regarding claims 7-8:
Donghoon discloses all the limitations, except for wherein a water supply part which extends upward and through which water is supplied from a water supply pipe is provided in the cover, and wherein a water supply port that opens toward a cell extension part in communication with the first cell and supplies water from the water supply part to the first cell is provided in the water supply part; wherein a bottom surface of the water supply part is formed by the guide surface, and wherein the water supply port is formed at the lowest position of the guide surface.
Kim further teaches wherein a water supply part #240 which extends upward and through which water is supplied from a water supply pipe is provided in the cover #300, and wherein a water supply port #301a (Fig. 16) that opens toward a cell extension part in communication with the first cell and supplies water from the water supply part to the first cell is provided in the water supply part; wherein a bottom surface of the water supply part #240 is formed by the guide surface (Fig. 10-11), and wherein the water supply port is formed at the lowest position of the guide surface (Fig. 10-11).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Donghoon with the claimed arrangement above; in a similar manner as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have facilitated water delivery to the cells of the ice tray.
Regarding claims 9-10:
Donghoon as modified discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the water supply part is formed with a water supply guide part extending downwardly through the cover, and wherein the water supply port is formed at the lower end of the water supply guide part; wherein a coupling groove into which an end portion of the water supply guide part.
Kim further teaches wherein the water supply part is formed with a water supply guide part extending downwardly through the cover, and wherein the water supply port is formed at the lower end of the water supply guide part (see assembly of Fig. 10-11); wherein a coupling groove into which an end portion of the water supply guide part (see assembly of Fig. 10-11).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Donghoon as modified with the claimed arrangement above; in a similar manner as taught by Kim.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have facilitated water delivery to the cells of the ice tray.
Note: the limitation “is inserted is formed in the cell extension part” is an intended use limitation. The cell extension part has not been claimed as part of the invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 11874042 B2), Lee (US 11674730 B2), Lee (US 20210396444 A1), Kim (US 20200300527 A1), Lee (US 20140182325 A1), Son (US 20130061626 A1), and Son (US 20130014536 A1).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763