DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7, 11-14 and 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 23, 2025. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 17, “fastener positioned” should read –fastener is positioned--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2020/0214452 (Dupré hereinafter) in view of USPAP 2020/0288877 (Duong hereinafter).
With regard to claim 1, Dupré discloses a travel pillow reusable cover comprising:
a cover;
an inner cavity (46);
a top cover portion (80);
a bottom cover portion (82);
an inner surface (14); and
an outer surface (86-88);
wherein said inner surface (14) circumscribes a neck opening;
wherein said outer surface (86-88) forms an outer periphery of said cover;
wherein said top cover portion (80) and said bottom cover portion (82) are sewn together along said inner surface (14);
wherein said top cover portion (80) and said bottom cover portion (82) having a fastener (75) along said outer surface (86-88);
wherein said fastener (75) is selectively unfastenable for separating said top cover portion (80) from said bottom cover portion (82) along said outer surface (86-88) for accessing said inner cavity (46) of said cover for storing a travel pillow and accessing the travel pillow; and
further wherein said fastener (75) is positioned on said outer surface (86-88).
Dupré does not disclose wherein said top cover portion (80) and said bottom cover portion (82) having a fastener (75) along said outer surface (86-88) from a first leg outer end to a second leg outer end.
Duong teaches a U-shaped pillow with a top cover portion and a bottom cover portion (Fig. 3) having a fastener (43) along an outer surface (Fig. 3) from a first leg outer end to a second leg outer end.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to modify the apparatus of Dupré by providing that the top cover portion (80) and said bottom cover portion (82) have a fastener (75) along said outer surface (86-88) from a first leg outer end to a second leg outer end as taught in Duong et al. for the purposes of making it convenient to remove the pillow, allowing the cover to be washed (paragraph [0039] of Duong).
With regard to claim 2, the Dupré modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the travel pillow reusable cover of claim 1, wherein said cover having a material selected from the group consisting of a silk and a polyester (paragraph [0067] of Dupré).
With regard to claim 3, the Dupré modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the travel pillow reusable cover of claim 1, wherein said cover having a material selected from the group consisting of a cotton and a wool (paragraph [0067] of Dupré).
With regard to claim 4, the Dupré modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the travel pillow reusable cover of claim 2, wherein said fastener is a zipper fastener (75).
With regard to claim 5, the Dupré modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the travel pillow reusable cover of claim 4, wherein said material is stretchable (paragraph [0066] of Dupré).
With regard to claim 6, the Dupré modification with regard to claim 1 discloses the travel pillow reusable cover of claim 5, wherein said zipper (75) extends from said first leg outer end to said second leg outer end.
With regard to claim 8, in that claim 8 is substantially the same as claim 4, claim 8 is similarly rejected.
With regard to claim 9, in that claim 9 is substantially the same as claim 2, claim 9 is similarly rejected.
With regard to claim 10, in that claim 10 is substantially the same as claim 3, claim 10 is similarly rejected.
With regard to claim 15, the Dupré modification with regard to claim 1 discloses a method of covering a travel pillow with a reusable cover, the method comprising the steps of:
providing a cover having an inner cavity (46), a top cover portion (80), a bottom cover portion (82), an inner surface (14), and an outer surface (86-88), wherein said inner surface (14) circumscribes a neck opening, and wherein said top cover portion (80) and said bottom cover portion (82) having a fastener (75) along said outer surface (86-88) from a first leg outer end to a second leg outer end;
forming an outer periphery of said cover with said outer surface (86-88);
separating said top cover portion (80) from said bottom cover portion (82) with said fastener (75) along said outer surface (86-88), wherein said fastener (75) positioned on said outer surface (86-88), and wherein said fastener (75) is a zipper fastener;
accessing said inner cavity (46) of said cover; and
storing a travel pillow inside said inner cavity (46).
With regard to claim 16, in that claim 16 is substantially the same as claim 2, claim 16 is similarly rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USP’s 8,887,333 and 10,722,054 as well as USPAP’s 2025/0331658, 2021/0127867, 2021/0100382, 2020/0113339, 2018/0310731, 2014/0007351 and 2014/0000036 each disclose pillows similar to that claimed.
/AARON R EASTMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673