DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 4, 13-15, 18, and 20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 9-18, filed 07/06/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of 04/06/2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0182325 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim (US 2008/0236187 A1), Kim et al. (WO 2014003422 A1, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “WO Kim,” and Archer (3,048,986).
Regarding Claim 1: Lee teaches an ice maker (10) comprising: a first tray assembly (11) configured to define a portion of an ice making cell (113 and 141) having a space in which water (via 16) is phase-changed into ice by cold air (paragraph [0003]); a second tray assembly (12) configured to define another portion of the ice making cell (141); and a heater (18) configured to supply heat to the ice making cell (113 and 141), wherein at least one tray assembly (11 and 12) of the first tray assembly or the second tray assembly comprises a tray (11 is a tray and 12 is a tray) and a tray case (12 has a case 15) to support the tray (functional limitation), the tray (12) includes a first portion (141) defining at least a portion of the ice making cell (141) and made of a flexible material (paragraph [0032]),
Lee fails to teach a tray case; wherein the tray case includes a tray supporter and a tray cover; and the first portion has different degree of heat transfer in a direction along an outer circumferential surface of the ice making cell.
Kim teaches a tray case (Figure 7, 700); wherein the tray case (700) includes a tray supporter (720) and a tray cover (740, 750).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a tray case; wherein the tray case includes a tray supporter and a tray cover to the structure of Lee as taught by Kim in order to advantageously provide a structure to protect and mount the tray and to keep it secure in operation (see Kim, paragraphs [0054]-[0057]).
Archer teaches an ice maker and ice tray having components made of varying materials (40, metallic frame of ice tray 39; Column 3, lines 13-24, frame 23 is made of sheet metal, Column 2, lines 50-53; and 29 is rubber, Column 2, lines 60-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the ice maker components are made of different materials to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Archer in order to advantageously provide different materials in the ice makers depending on their function (see Archer, Column 3, lines 13-24).
WO Kim teaches a first portion (300) has different degree of heat transfer (page 3 of the machine translation) in a direction along an outer circumferential surface (along 300) of an ice making cell (300 and 400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the first portion has different degree of heat transfer in a direction along an outer circumferential surface of the ice making cell to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by WO Kim in order to advantageously provide varying the heat transfer rate to produce varying shapes of ice (see WO Kim, page 3 of the machine translation).
Regarding Claim 2: Lee teaches wherein the degree of heat transfer indicates a degree of heat transfer from a high-temperature object (heater 18 to water/ice in cavities of 113, 141) to a low-temperature object (frozen ice cubes in 113, 141).
Regarding Claim 3: Lee teaches wherein the degree of heat transfer is defined as a value determined by at least one of a shape including a thickness of an object or a material of the object (functional limitation of heat transfer through ice maker 10).
Regarding Claim 4: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein a high degree of the heat transfer of the object represents that thermal conductivity of the object is high, or the more the thickness in a path direction in which heat is transferred from a point A to a point B decreases, the more the degree of heat transfer from the point A to the point B decreases, or the greater the thickness in the path direction from which the heat from point A to point B is transferred, the greater the degree of heat transfer from point A to point B.
However, Lee modified supra teaches an ice tray having components made of varying materials (40, metallic frame of ice tray 39; Column 3, lines 13-24, frame 23 is made of sheet metal, Column 2, lines 50-53; and 29 is rubber, Column 2, lines 60-65 as taught by Archer). Thus, changes in thermal conductivity across thickness of material is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case, the recognized result is an improved efficiency based upon different materials in the ice makers depending on their function (see Archer, Column 3, lines 13-24).
Regarding Claim 5: Lee teaches wherein the tray includes a portion having greater degree of thermal conductivity than that of the tray case, or the tray (portion 12) includes a portion having lesser degree of deformation resistance (141) than the tray case (frame 15), or the tray includes a portion having greater degree of restoration than the tray case.
Regarding Claim 6: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein the tray case comprises a tray supporter and a tray cover.
Kim teaches a tray case (700); wherein the tray case (700) comprises a tray supporter (720) and a tray cover (740, 750).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the tray case comprises a tray supporter and a tray cover to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Kim in order to advantageously provide a structure to protect and mount the tray and to keep it secure in operation (see Kim, paragraphs [0054]-[0057]).
Regarding Claim 7: Lee modified supra further teaches wherein the tray supporter (720 of Kim) and the tray cover (740, 750 of Kim) are integrally provided (see Figure 4 of Kim), or are coupled to each other after being manufactured in separate configurations (see Figure 4 of Kim).
Regarding Claim 8: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein the tray cover is manufactured as a separate part from a bracket and then is coupled to the bracket or integrally formed with the bracket.
Kim teaches a tray cover (740, 750) is manufactured as a separate part from a bracket (710) and then is coupled to the bracket or integrally formed with the bracket (see Figure 7, 700).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the tray cover is manufactured as a separate part from a bracket and then is coupled to the bracket or integrally formed with the bracket to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Kim in order to advantageously provide a structure to protect and mount the tray and to keep it secure in operation (see Kim, paragraphs [0054]-[0057]).
Regarding Claim 9: Lee teaches wherein the first portion (141) of the tray (12) comprises a first region and a second region (areas of layers 13, 141) having a greater degree of heat transfer (13 is a frame) than the first region (see Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 10: Lee teaches wherein the second region (13) has a less degree of restoration than the first region (141 is able to be deformed, paragraph [0032]).
Regarding Claim 12: Lee teaches wherein the second region (rim of 13) comprises a portion in which the first (rim of 11 at rim of 113) and second tray assemblies (rim of 12 at rim 13) contact each other (see Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 13: Lee teaches wherein a portion of the first region (layer edge of 141) has a less degree of heat transfer than another portion of the first region (edge of 15), or a portion of the first region (layer edge of 141) has a less degree of deformation resistance and a greater degree of restoration than the other portion of the first region (141 is elastic, paragraph [0032]).
Regarding Claim 15: Lee teaches wherein the tray further comprises a second portion (113) extending from a predetermined point of the first portion (141), and at least a portion of the second portion (see Figure 8) extends in a direction away from an ice making cell (113, 141) defined by another tray assembly (11 or 12) of the first and second tray assemblies (11 and 12).
Regarding Claim 17: Lee teaches wherein the tray (11 or 12) further comprises a second portion (13) extending from a predetermined point of the first portion (see Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 18: Lee teaches wherein at least a portion of the second portion (13) extends in a direction away from an ice making cell (113) defined by another tray assembly (11) of the first and second tray assemblies (11 and 12, see Figure 8).
Regarding Claim 19: Lee teaches wherein the second portion (13) comprises a portion extending from the predetermined point in a horizontal direction and a portion extending upward and downward (see Figure 3) with respect to a horizontal line passing through a center of the ice making cell (113, 141).
Regarding Claim 20: Lee teaches a refrigerator (paragraph [0014]) comprising: a storage chamber (paragraph [0014]); and the ice maker (10) of claim 1.
Claims 11 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0182325 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim (US 2008/0236187 A1), Kim et al. (WO 2014003422 A1, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “WO Kim,” and Archer (3,048,986), as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of An et al. (US 2018/0187941 A1), hereafter referred to as “An.”
Regarding Claim 11: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein the first region is located closer to the heater than the second region, or the first region comprises a portion in which the heater is located.
An teaches a first region (underside of 110) comprises a portion in which a heater (130) is located (lower part of a tray 110, paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the first region is located closer to the heater than the second region, or the first region comprises a portion in which the heater is located of Lee modified supra as taught by An in order to advantageously remove the lower portion of ice from the ice tray (see An, paragraph [0061]).
Regarding Claim 16: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein the heater is in contact with the first portion.
An teaches a heater (130) is in contact with a first portion (lower part of a tray 110, paragraph [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the heater is in contact with the first portion to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by An in order to advantageously remove the lower portion of ice from the ice tray (see An, paragraph [0061]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2014/0182325 A1), hereafter referred to as “Lee,” in view of Kim (US 2008/0236187 A1), Kim et al. (WO 2014003422 A1, machine translation), hereafter referred to as “WO Kim,” and Archer (3,048,986), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Parker (US 2006/0266915 A1).
Regarding Claim 14: Lee modified supra fails to teach wherein a thickness of a portion of the first region from a center of the ice making cell in an outer circumferential direction of the ice making cell is less than that of another portion of the first region.
Parker teaches a thickness of a portion of a first region from a center of an ice making cell in an outer circumferential direction of the ice making cell is less than that of another portion of the first region (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein a thickness of a portion of the first region from a center of the ice making cell in an outer circumferential direction of the ice making cell is less than that of another portion of the first region to the structure of Lee modified supra as taught by Parker in order to advantageously adjust the freezing time along certain portions of the ice making cell (see Parker, paragraph [0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hara (4,910,974).
/KIRSTIN U OSWALD/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763