Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US 20240113584).
As to claim 1, Manig discloses a shaft fluid cooling system, comprising: one or more air vents in fluidic communication with one or more radial cooling passages (Fig. 1); wherein the one or more radial cooling passages are in fluidic communication with: one or more rotor shaft cooling passages that extend axially through a rotor shaft (Fig. 1); and an inlet cooling passage that extends through the rotor shaft (Fig. 2).
As to claim 2, Manig discloses the shaft fluid cooling system of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more air vents is in fluidic communication with one of the one or more radial cooling passages (Fig. 1).
As to claim 5, Manig discloses the shaft fluid cooling system of claim 1, wherein the one or more radial cooling passages comprise one or more inlet side radial cooling passages and one or more outlet side radial cooling passages (Fig. 2), wherein the one or more inlet side radial cooling passages and the one or more outlet side radial cooling passages are symmetric (Fig. 2).
As to claim 7, Manig discloses the shaft fluid cooling system of claim 1, wherein air is vented via one or both of angular air venting and axial air venting (Fig. 2).
As to claim 8, Manig discloses the shaft fluid cooling system of claim 7, wherein, for angular air venting, the one or more air vents are positioned at an inlet side of the fluid cooling system (Fig. 2).
As to claim 9, Manig discloses the shaft fluid cooling system of claim 7, wherein, for axial air venting, the one or more air vents are positioned along a central axis of the rotor shaft.
As to claim 10, Manig discloses an electric machine fluid cooling system, comprising: one or more air vents in direct fluidic communication with a plurality of radial cooling passages, wherein the plurality of radial cooling passages are each in direct fluidic communication with one of a plurality of rotor shaft cooling passages and wherein each of the plurality of radial cooling passages are in direct fluidic communication with an inlet cooling passage (Fig. 1).
As to claim 11, Manig discloses the electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 10, wherein the plurality of radial cooling passages are equally spaced with regard to a radial plane (Fig. 1).
As to claim 12, Manig discloses the electric machine fluid cooling system of claim 10, wherein the electric machine is an electric motor (Para 0032).
As to claim 13, Manig discloses a method for venting air from a fluid cooling system of an electric machine, comprising: directing air out of one or more radial cooling passages of the fluid cooling system and into one or more air vents (Fig. 1).
As to claim 15, Manig discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the one or more radial cooling passages are in fluidic communication with the one or more air vents (Fig. 1).
As to claim 16, Manig discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the one or more air vents are a central channel positioned along a central axis of a rotor shaft of the electric machine (Fig. 2).
As to claim 17, Manig discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising, when the one or more air vents are the central channel positioned along the central axis, directing oil first into the one or more radial cooling passages and then into the central channel (Fig. 2).
As to claim 18, Manig discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the one or more air vents project towards one or more bearings (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manig and in view of Zhong (WO 2023279588).
As to claim 3, Manig discloses the shaft fluid cooling system of claim 1.
Manig fails to disclose each of the one or more air vents comprises a nozzle plug.
Zhong, however, discloses each of the one or more air vents comprises a nozzle plug (Description).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Manig with each of the one or more air vents comprises a nozzle plug, as disclosed by Zhang, in order to prevent undesired leaks of cooling fluid or air.
As to claim 4, the combination of Manig and Zhong discloses the shaft fluid cooling system of claim 3, wherein the nozzle plug (Description of Zhong) is configured to insert into one of the one or more radial cooling passages (Fig. 1 of Manig).
Claims 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manig and in view of Server (US 20240372440).
As to claim 6, Manig discloses the shaft fluid cooling system of claim 1.
Manig fails to disclose a working fluid in one or more the radial cooling passages is mixed with air.
Server, however, discloses a working fluid in one or more the radial cooling passages is mixed with air (Para 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the system of Manig with a working fluid in one or more the radial cooling passages is mixed with air, as disclosed by Server, to improve heat transfer and reduce hotspots.
As to claim 14, Manig discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the one or more radial cooling passages are in fluidic communication with an inlet passage of the fluid cooling system (Fig. 1), wherein a working fluid is directed into the fluid cooling system via the inlet passage (Fig. 1).
Manig fails to disclose a working fluid that comprises a mixture of air and oil.
Server, however, discloses a working fluid that comprises a mixture of air and oil (Para 0009).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Manig with a working fluid that comprises a mixture of air and oil, as disclosed by Server, to improve heat transfer and reduce hotspots.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manig, Server and in view of Zhong.
As to claim 19, the combination of Manig and Server discloses the method of claim 14, and a radial cooling passage.
Manig fails to discloses the one or more air vents each comprise a nozzle plug configured to at least partially insert.
Zhong, however, discloses the one or more air vents each comprise a nozzle plug configured to at least partially insert (Description).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Manig with the one or more air vents each comprise a nozzle plug configured to at least partially insert, as disclosed by Zhong, in order to prevent undesired leaks of cooling fluid or air.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manig, Server, Zhong, and in view of Nishiyabu (US 20230072896).
As to claim 20, the combination of Manig, Server, and Zhong discloses the method of claim 19.
Manig fails to disclose wherein the nozzle plug is configured to restrict oil flow through a corresponding air vent.
Nishiyabu, however, discloses the nozzle plug is configured to restrict oil flow through a corresponding air vent (Para 0060).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of Manig with the nozzle plug is configured to restrict oil flow through a corresponding air vent, as disclosed by Nishiyabu, to better control flow of air and fluid.
Conclusion
should be directed to ETHAN N VO whose telephone number is (571)270-7593. The examiner can
normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:30am - 5pm.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Christopher M Koehler can be reached on 571 272 3560. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ETHAN NGUYEN VO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834