DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 11-12 and 20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,135,367. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of the pending application is anticipated by claim 7 of the patent.
Claim 2 of the pending application is anticipated by claim 7 of the patent.
Claim 11 of the pending application is anticipated by claim 7 of the patent.
Claim 12 of the pending application is anticipated by claim 7 of the patent.
Claim 20 of the pending application is anticipated by claim 7 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9, 11, 13-15, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by US 2023/0007615 (Keating et al.).
As to claims 1, 11 and 20, Keating teaches a system (see figures 7a and 7b) comprising: a memory storing instructions (14/24, figs 7a and 7b); and a processor (12/22, figs 7a and 7b) communicatively coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to:
determine a time measurement indicative of a signal travel time between a UE device and an access point device, the signal travel time corresponding to an apparent distance, presuming a line-of-sight (LoS) signal travel path, between a location of the UE device and a location of the access point device (UE determines and uses NLOS biases for timing measurements based on a presumed time for LOS transmission, see paragraphs 28 and 33);
access, from a bias suppression datastore, bias suppression data configured for use in suppressing an influence of a bias between the apparent distance and a true distance between the location of the UE device and the location of the access point device (UE obtains NLOS bias information to apply to timing measurements used to make distance determinations, see paragraphs 28-33),
the bias suppression data representing, for a calibration location in a vicinity of the location of the UE device, one or more features of a statistical distribution of measurements of an apparent distance of the calibration location from the location of the access point device (see paragraphs 22-27 and 32-33, UEs provide NLOS bias information as they move during MDT such that the network determined NLOS bias distributions for the areas around where the UE is when the UE attempts positioning [~in the vicinity of the location of the UE device]. UE would perform positioning based on the NLOS bias distribution and known locations associated with the gNBs it is receiving signals from [~based on calibration locations, features of statistical distribution, and location of access point); and
estimate the location of the UE device based on the time measurement and on the calibration location and the one or more features of the statistical distribution represented by the bias suppression data (see paragraphs 22-27 and 32-33, UEs provide NLOS bias information as they move during MDT such that the network determined NLOS bias distributions for the areas around where the UE is when the UE attempts positioning [~in the vicinity of the location of the UE device]. UE would perform positioning based on the NLOS bias distribution and known locations associated with the gNBs it is receiving signals from [~based on calibration locations, features of statistical distribution, and location of access point).
As to claims 3 and 13, Keating further teaches wherein the bias is associated with a non-line-of-sight (NLoS) signal travel path between the UE device and the access point device (UE obtains NLOS bias information to apply to timing measurements used to make distance determinations, see paragraphs 28-33).
As to claims 4 and 14, Keating further teaches wherein the one or more features of the statistical distribution are derived from measured signal travel time between the calibration location and the location of the access point device, the statistical distribution determined during a calibration procedure prior to the accessing of the bias suppression data (see paragraphs 22-27, UEs provide NLOS bias information as they move during MDT such that the network determined NLS bias distributions for the areas around where the UE is when the UE attempts positioning).
As to claims 5 and 15, Keating further teaches wherein the one or more features of the statistical distribution represented by the bias suppression data include at least one of: a mean of the statistical distribution; a standard deviation of the statistical distribution; a multi-gaussian representation of the statistical distribution; or a histogram representation of the statistical distribution (see paragraphs 22-27, UEs provide NLOS bias information as they move during MDT such that the network determined NLS bias distributions for the areas around where the UE is when the UE attempts positioning, these NLOS bias distributions can be based on two [~multiple] Gaussian distributions).
As to claims 9 and 19, Keating further teaches wherein the bias suppression datastore includes bias suppression data that has been determined and continues to be updated by way of a crowd-sourced learning procedure (UEs report NLOS bias information during MDT [~crowd sourced learning procedure] so that such information can be provided on demand to UEs looking to provide positioning, see paragraph 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating in view of Well Known Prior Art (Official Notice).
16. The system of claim 11, wherein the time measurement is a round-trip time (RTT) measurement for a signal communicated from the UE device to the access point device or for a signal communicated from the access point device to the UE device.
As to claims 6 and 16, what is lacking from Keating is wherein the time measurement is a round-trip time (RTT) measurement for a signal communicated from the UE device to the access point device or for a signal communicated from the access point device to the UE device.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it was well known in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize RTT measurements for the purpose of positioning a UE device.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Keating so as to exploit the enhanced reliability that would be provided by RTT measurements over one way timing measurements.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0007615 (Keating et al.) in view of US 2024/0069148 (Baek et al.).
As to claims 7 and 17, what is lacking from Keating wherein the accessing of the bias suppression data from the bias suppression datastore includes: determining a set of hypothesis locations for the UE device, and querying the bias suppression datastore for each of the hypothesis locations in the set and receiving, in response to the querying, bias suppression data for each of the hypothesis locations in the set.
In analogous art, Baek teaches determining multiple possible positions (~multiple hypothesis locations) using timing based measurements, and determining a weighted average based on weights assigned to each possible position (see Baek, paragraphs 26, 34 and 208). This inventive concept when applied to Keating would query and obtain particular measurements, including the biases used by Keating, for each of the multiple possible positions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Keating so as to provide a more accurate location estimate.
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keating in view of US 2012/0307712 (Watanabe).
As to claim 10, what is lacking from Keating is determining, by the UE locator system, an additional time measurement indicative of an additional signal travel time between the UE device and an additional access point device; wherein the estimating of the location of the UE device is further based on the additional time measurement.
In analogous art, determining a timing measurement of a wireless signal transmitted from a network node being further adjusted by additional time it takes for a relay node (~additional access point) to process and relay said signal (see Watanabe, paragraph 35). In combination with Keating this would render making the position calculations by factoring this additional time to the timing measurements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this teaching to Keating so as to exploit the enhanced quality of wireless service that is provided by the use of relay stations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MAZDA SABOURI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641