DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing dated 10/7/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 3/11/2025 is acknowledged and has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/7/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The use of the terms “Haynes 188” and “Inconel”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11, 12, 19 and 20 contains the trademark/trade name “Haynes 188”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the material of the second layer and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claims 11, 12, 19 and 20 contains the trademark/trade name “Inconel”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the material of the second layer and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCrone (US 4658847).
Regarding claim 1, the McCrone reference discloses a sealing assembly (see figure 6), comprising
a seal jacket (78) having a main body having a channel formed therein (see “channel” in the annotated figure 6 below), wherein the channel has opposed side wall portions (see “side wall portion” in the annotated figure 6 below), the seal jacket being sized and configured for seating in a channel (see “channel of device” in the annotated figure 6 below) formed in the fluid regulating device, a biasing member (72) sized and configured for seating in the channel and being formed from at least first and second layers (the biasing member 74 is formed of two layers 72, 76), wherein the first layer is formed from a first metal material and the second layer is formed from a second metal material different than the first metal material (see col. 4, lines 31-68), wherein the biasing member places a force on the side wall portions of the channel when mounted therein.
In regards to claim 2, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the first and second layers (72, 76) of the biasing member (74) are secured together to form a bimetallic biasing member (col. 4, lines 39-43).
In regards to claim 3, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the seal jacket (78) has a base portion (it is considered that the base portion connects the side wall portions together) that is sized and dimensioned for seating within the channel of the fluid regulating device (see figure 6).
In regards to claim 4, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the first metal material (considered the material of the layer 72) has a first coefficient of thermal expansion and the second metal material (considered the material of layer 76) has a second coefficient of thermal expansion, wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is different than the second coefficient of thermal expansion (see col. 4, lines 39-43).
In regards to claim 5, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the first metal material (considered that material of the layer 76) has a high coefficient of thermal expansion and the second metal material (considered the material of layer 72) has a low coefficient of thermal expansion (the material of layer 72 has a lower rate of thermal expansion than the material of layer 76; see col. 4, lines 39-43; therefore, it is considered that the material of layer 72 has a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the material of layer 76).
In regards to claim 6, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the first metal material (considered the material of layer 72) has a low coefficient of thermal expansion and the second metal material (considered that material of the layer 76) has a high coefficient of thermal expansion (the material of layer 72 has a lower rate of thermal expansion than the material of layer 76; see col. 4, lines 39-43; therefore, it is considered that the material of layer 72 has a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the material of layer 76).
In regards to claim 7, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the first layer and the second layer are joined together (see at least figure 6 and col. 4, lines 39-43).
In regards to claim 8, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the biasing member is configured as a spring element (see at least col. 4, lines 44-45).
In regards to claim 9, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the spring element has a spiral shape or a U-shaped configuration (it is considered that the C-ring 74 constitutes a U-shaped configuration; see figure 6).
Regarding claim 13, the McCrone reference discloses the structure wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would be perform the method of making and/or using a sealing assembly comprising:
providing a seal jacket (78) having a main body having a channel (see “channel” in the annotated figure 6 below) formed therein, wherein the channel has opposed side wall portions (see “side wall portion” in the annotated figure 6 below), the seal jacket being sized and configured for seating in a channel (see “channel of device” in the annotated figure 5 below) formed in the fluid regulating device,
forming a biasing member (74) sized and configured for seating in the channel and being formed from at least first and second layers (72, 76), wherein the first layer is formed from a first metal material and the second layer is formed from a second metal material different than the first metal material (the first layer and the second layer have different rates of thermal expansivity; see col. 4, lines 39-43),
wherein the biasing member places a force on the side wall portions of the channel when mounted therein (see at least figure 6).
In regards to claim 14, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the first and second layers of the biasing member are secured together to form a bimetallic biasing member (see at least col. 4, lines 44-45).
In regards to claim 15, the McCrone reference discloses the seal jacket to have a base portion that is sized and dimensioned for seating within the channel of the fluid regulating device (see at least figure 6).
In regards to claim 16, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the first metal material (considered the material of the layer 72) has a first coefficient of thermal expansion and the second metal material (considered the material of layer 76) has a second coefficient of thermal expansion, wherein the first coefficient of thermal expansion is different than the second coefficient of thermal expansion (see col. 4, lines 39-43).
In regards to claim 17, the McCrone reference discloses wherein the spring element has a spiral shape or a U-shaped configuration (it is considered that the C-ring 74 constitutes a U-shaped configuration; see figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCrone (US 4658847) in view of Skf AB (EP 3015747 A1; provided with the Information Disclosure Statement filed 3/11/2025).
Claim(s) 11, 12, 19 and 20 will be treated as best understood in view of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above.
In regards to claim 10, the McCrone reference does not disclose wherein the first layer is formed of brass and the second layer is formed of steel.
However, the Skf AB reference teaches a sealing arrangement having a bimetal element that is a metallic element consisting of two layers of different metals that are bonded together in a material-locking or form-fitting manner wherein the metals are brass and steel in order to manifest deformation since the two metals have different coefficients of linear expansion such that the two metals extend by different distances when heated (see paragraph [0016] of the translation provided with the Information Disclosure Statement filed 3/11/2025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the first layer and the second layer of the McCrone reference as brass and steel, respectively, as taught by the Skf AB reference in order to ensure a desired deformation of the biasing member to ensure a desired sealing by the sealing assembly.
In regards to claims 11 and 12, the McCrone reference does not disclose wherein the first metal material of the first layer is formed from one of (is selected from the group consisting of) brass, stainless steel, nickel-based alloys low-alloy steel, bronze, nickel-manganese steel, nickel, and nickel-silver and manganese bronze, and the second metal material of the second layer is formed from one of (is selected from the group consisting of) nickel-iron alloys, alloy 42, Haynes 188, Inconel, nickel-based alloys, and steel.
However, the Skf AB reference teaches a sealing arrangement having a bimetal element that is a metallic element consisting of two layers of different metals that are bonded together in a material-locking or form-fitting manner wherein the metals are brass and steel in order to manifest deformation since the two metals have different coefficients of linear expansion such that the two metals extend by different distances when heated (see paragraph [0016] of the translation provided with the Information Disclosure Statement filed 3/11/2025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the first layer and the second layer of the McCrone reference as brass and steel, respectively, as taught by the Skf AB reference in order to ensure a desired deformation of the biasing member to ensure a desired sealing by the sealing assembly.
In regards to claim 18, the McCrone reference does not disclose wherein the first layer is formed of brass and the second layer is formed of steel.
However, the Skf AB reference teaches a sealing arrangement having a bimetal element that is a metallic element consisting of two layers of different metals that are bonded together in a material-locking or form-fitting manner wherein the metals are brass and steel in order to manifest deformation since the two metals have different coefficients of linear expansion such that the two metals extend by different distances when heated (see paragraph [0016] of the translation provided with the Information Disclosure Statement filed 3/11/2025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the first layer and the second layer of the McCrone reference as brass and steel, respectively, as taught by the Skf AB reference in order to ensure a desired deformation of the biasing member to ensure a desired sealing by the sealing assembly.
In regards to claims 19 and 20, the McCrone reference does not disclose wherein the first metal material of the first layer is formed from one of (is selected from the group consisting of) brass, stainless steel, nickel-based alloys low-alloy steel, bronze, nickel-manganese steel, nickel, and nickel-silver and manganese bronze, and the second metal material of the second layer is formed from one of (is selected from the group consisting of) nickel-iron alloys, alloy 42, Haynes 188, Inconel, nickel-based alloys, and steel.
However, the Skf AB reference teaches a sealing arrangement having a bimetal element that is a metallic element consisting of two layers of different metals that are bonded together in a material-locking or form-fitting manner wherein the metals are brass and steel in order to manifest deformation since the two metals have different coefficients of linear expansion such that the two metals extend by different distances when heated (see paragraph [0016] of the translation provided with the Information Disclosure Statement filed 3/11/2025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the first layer and the second layer of the McCrone reference as brass and steel, respectively, as taught by the Skf AB reference in order to ensure a desired deformation of the biasing member to ensure a desired sealing by the sealing assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Amaral et al. (US 8434999), Masuyama et al. (US 6860485), Webert (US 3604716), and Haug (US 2253904) disclose various sealing assemblies having a bimetallic seal.
/ANDREW J ROST/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753