DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 7/7/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2-18 and 20-21 under Hoey in view of Hoey II have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Hoey II fails to teach a coil that is connected to power and is wrapped around the heating element. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hoey II clearly discloses that the electrical source (e.g. 440) provide the energy for the inductive heating (e.g. ¶115) and that the coil (e.g. 450) provides the inductive heating (e.g. ¶¶117-118). Further the flow channel (e.g. 410) provide a means for the fluid to flow and be heated when the tubes receive the inductive energy (e.g. ¶118). Therefore, the rejections stand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 8 recites that the flow channel within the heating structure has a diameter ranging from 0.01” to 0.10”. The specification and originally filed claims are silent as to the flow channel having a diameter ranging from 0.01” to 0.10”.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9 recites that the flow channel within the heating structure has a length ranging from 10-500cm. The specification and originally filed claims are silent as to the flow channel being 10-500cm in length within or in total. Further the specification states that the sleeve of the heater (which is shown in figure 10 as the entire length of the heater) is only 1.5” in length in paragraph 115. Therefore, it is further unclear how a flow channel within the heater can be 10-500cm in length when the full length of the heater is disclosed as 3.81cm (1.5 inches).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 2-18 and 20-21 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hoey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2009/0149846 hereinafter “Hoey”) in view of Hoey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2010/0204688 hereinafter “Hoey II”).
Regarding claim 2, Hoey discloses a method for treating adipose tissue in a human subject with a vapor delivery probe (e.g. ¶136), comprising: providing a probe (e.g. 102) having a handle (e.g. 104) coupled to an elongate shaft (e.g. 105) with a working end (e.g. 110); positioning the working end at a targeted site proximate at least one of intestinal walls, a lung tumor, a lung nodule, sinus tissue, hemorrhoids, soft palate tissue, or tongue tissue (e.g. ¶¶75, 87, 100, 134 and 136); providing a flow of liquid media at a selected fluid flow rate and converting the liquid media to vapor media in a handle of the probe (e.g. ¶74); and delivering the vapor media through the shaft and working end to the targeted site for a selected time interval thereby delivering ablative energy to the targeted site (e.g. ¶¶19, 74). Hoey discloses the claimed invention except for the heating element being in the handle. Hoey II teaches a similar device and further teaches that it is known to put the heating element (e.g. 455) within in the handle along with a coil (e.g. 450) wrapped around the heating element as set forth in Paragraph 113, 115 and 117-118 and Figure 10 to provide inductive heating in the probe handle for directing vapor generated by inductive heater to either flow channel portion or the recirculation channel portion for easy use. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Hoey, with heating element within the handle as taught by Hoey II, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of provide inductive heating in the probe handle for directing vapor generated by inductive heater to either flow channel portion or the recirculation channel portion for easy use.
Regarding claim 3, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein the selected fluid flow rate is between 0.01 ml/min to 50 ml/min (e.g. ¶74).
Regarding claim 4, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein a corresponding vapor flow rate is between 1 ml/min to 1500 ml/min (e.g. ¶74).
Regarding claim 5, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein the energy applied for converting the liquid media to vapor media is between 1 W and 3000 W (e.g. ¶74).
Regarding claim 6, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein the selected time interval is between 1 second and 1 minute (e.g. ¶74).
Regarding claim 7, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey II further discloses wherein converting includes actuating an electrical source (e.g. 440) configured to heat a helical structure (e.g. 450) in the handle having a flow channel that carries the flow of liquid media (e.g. 455; ¶118).
Regarding claim 8, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey II further discloses wherein the flow channel within the structure has a diameter ranging from 0.01″ to 0.10″ (e.g. ¶118; “wherein the bore of the ceramic liner with which the flow channel is created has a diameter of 0.1 inches”).
Regarding claim 9, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein the flow channel within the structure has a length ranging from 10 cm and 500 cm (e.g. ¶132).
Regarding claim 10, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein the selected fluid flow rate is maintained at a constant rate over the selected time interval (e.g. ¶91).
Regarding claim 11, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses selecting an energy application rate on a controller interface (e.g. ¶¶70, 74).
Regarding claim 12, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses selecting the time interval on a controller interface (e.g. ¶¶70, 74).
Regarding claim 13, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses selecting a total calories applied to tissue on a controller interface (e.g. ¶¶8-9, 112, 130).
Regarding claim 14, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein a flow controller is programmable to maintain the fluid flow rate at a constant over the selected time interval (e.g. ¶91).
Regarding claim 15, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein the energy delivered to the targeted site corresponds to a controlled energy application of between 1 cal/sec to 500 cal/sec (e.g. ¶¶8-9, 112, 130).
Regarding claim 16, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein delivering the flow of the vapor media is provided through a needle extended from the working end and comprises pulsing the flow of vapor media (e.g. ¶¶41-43, 82, 89 and 93).
Regarding claim 17, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein the targeted site is benign, malignant, hyperplastic or hypertrophic tissue (e.g. ¶89).
Regarding claim 18, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey further discloses wherein the working end comprises one or more radiopaque markings (e.g. ¶115).
Regarding claim 20, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey II further discloses modulating the energy applied to the heating element within a selected range when converting the flow of liquid media to the flow of vapor media (e.g. ¶¶91, 98).
Regarding claim 21, meeting the limitations of claim 2 above, Hoey II further discloses wherein the medical system includes a temperature sensor proximate to the helical structure (e.g. ¶¶109; [temp sensors spaced out within flow channel]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 19 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hoey in view of Hoey II as applied to claims 2-18 and 20-21 above, and further in view of Penny et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,629,974 hereinafter “Penny”).
Regarding claim 19, Hoey in view of Hoey II discloses the claimed invention including a controller that adjust settings but fails to explicitly state that the controller has a user interface that is configured for adjusting settings. However, Penny teaches that it is known to use a user interface as set forth in Figure 1, Column 14, lines 30-35 and Column 22, line 41 to Column 22, line 25 to provide a user interface for selecting the settings to allow for increase in energy or flow. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Hoey in view of Hoey II, with a user interface as taught by Penny, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a user interface for selecting the settings to allow for increase in energy or flow.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,114,909. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while being directed toward different tissue the method and parameters are exactly the same and one of ordinary skill in the art would use the same parameters to treat various tissue. Further the specification clearly teaches that the system can be used to treat both lung, sinus, hemorrhoids, soft palate, tongue and adipose tissue.
Claim 2 of the current claim set teaches the same probe, handle, flow of liquid media and vapor delivery as claim 1 of the ‘909 patent.
Further claims 3-15 are substantially duplicate to claims 2-14 of the ‘909 patent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hoey et al. (U.S. Pub. 2011/0077628) – discloses a vapor delivery probe.
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796