DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-15, in the reply filed on April 4, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search of both groups of claims does not pose a serious search burden, however this is not found persuasive because search group of claims requires the use of distinct search strategies including searching of distinct classifications and use of distinct text quires. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn as directed to non-elected subject matter.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-7, and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,519,057. Although the issued claims are not identical to the claims of the instant application, the issued claims set forth each feature of applicants’ instant claims. With regards to overlapping ranges, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select form the ranges disclosed in the issued claims including values which satisfy the instantly claimed ranges.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platek et al. (PGPub US 2008/0041501).
Regarding applicants claims 1-3 and 10-14, Platek et al. disclose an aluminum alloy slab comprising (in weigh percent): 0.1 to 0.7% silicon, 0.2 to 0.9% iron, 0.05 to 0.5% copper, 0.05 to 1.3% manganese, 0.2 to 2.8% magnesium, 0.3% or less chromium, 0.3% or less zinc, 0.2% or less titanium, and a remainder of aluminum and incidental impurities (paragraph 0038 and 0046).
Platek et al. do not appear to disclose the exact compositional ranges claimed however the ranges disclosed overlap applicants’ claimed ranges. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicants’ claimed invention would have found it obvious to select from within the ranges disclosed by Platek et al. including values which fall within the claimed ranges.
With regards to the use of the alloy for an impact extrusion processes, the slab disclosed by Platek et al. meets the claimed compositional requirements and has the necessary structure such that it is capable of being used in impact extrusion processes to form metallic containers configured to receive end closures.
Regarding applicants claims 4-6, the source and proportions of the composition of the claimed aluminum alloy are product-by-process limitations. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
Therefore, absent evidence of criticality regarding the presently claimed source materials, and given that the resulting alloy satisfies the claimed compositional proportions, the aluminum slab of Platek et al. meets the requirements imposed by the claimed process limitations.
Claims 7-9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Platek et al. (PGPub US 2008/0041501) as applied to claims 1 and/or 4 above further in view of Okochi et al. (JPH09272944A, references herein made to the English translation from the EPO dated May 16, 2026).
Regarding applicants claim 7, Platek et al. disclose an aluminum alloy slab as discussed above with respect to claim 1 but do not appear to explicitly disclose the addition of titanium boride to alter the grain structure of the aluminum alloy. Okochi et al. disclose an aluminum alloy where titanium and boride are used to form titanium boride to produce finer crystals in the alloy thereby improving the strength and toughness. (page 4 lines 19-22). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicants’ claimed invention would have found it obvious to form titanium boride in the aluminum alloy of Platek et al. in order to improve the strength and toughness of the alloy. The addition of titanium boride to refine the crystal grains alters the grain structure of the aluminum alloy as claimed.
Regarding applicants claims 8-9 and 15, Platek et al. do not appear to disclose the hardness, yield strength, and tensile strength of the alloy as claimed, however substantially identical materials are expected to have substantially identical properties. Given the selection of compositional proportions within applicants’ disclosed ranges and the addition of titanium boride, the aluminum alloy composition of Platek et al. as modified by Okochi et al. would be substantially identical to applicants’ disclosed aluminum alloy and therefore would be expected to exhibit substantially identical properties, including a hardness, yield strength, and tensile strength at least overlapping applicants’ claimed ranges.
Conclusion
/Adam Krupicka/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784