DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to claims filed on 10/07/2024. Claims 1 – 19 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 10, 15, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “at least portions of the airflow” in line 6, which should recite “the at least portions of the airflow” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 9 recites “a plurality of diverters”, which should recite “the one or more diverters include a plurality of diverters” to relate the plurality of diverters to the one or more diverters established in Claim 1.
Claim 10 recites “on one or more of the diverters”, which should recite “on one or more of the plurality of diverters” for proper antecedent basis, since Claim 10 depends from Claim 9.
Claim 15 recites “the opposite sides” in line 8, which should recite “the two opposite sides” for proper antecedent basis, which is consistent with “the two opposite sides” in lines 3-4.
Claim 15 recites “at least portions of the airflow” in line 9, which should recite “the at least portions of the airflow” for proper antecedent basis.
Claim 17 recites “having a two opposite sides” in line 8, which should recite “having
Claim 17 recites “the opposite sides” in line 14, which should recite “the two opposite sides” for proper antecedent basis, which is consistent with “the two opposite sides” in lines 9-10.
Claim 17 recites “at least portions of the airflow” in line 15, which should recite “the at least portions of the airflow” for proper antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims are generally objected to for inconsistencies in claim language.
For example, Claim 7 recites “the one or more diverters”, but Claim 8 recites “the diverters”.
For purposes of consistency, “the diverters” should always be referred to as “the one or more diverters” throughout the claims.
Similarly, Claim 6 recites “the two opposite sides of the opening”, but Claim 8 recites “the opposite sides of the opening”.
Please review each claim for similar inconsistencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sawada et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP2000255256A, English Machine Translation provided herein and relied upon below).
Regarding Claim 1, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
A vent (air blowout adjusting register, title), comprising:
a base (2) defining an inlet side (the upstream side of 2 facing the duct, which in Figures 1 and 6, is the bottom side; it is noted in the orientation of Figures 2 and 4, this is the top side), and an opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5);
one or more vanes (7, 8, 9) configured to receive (from 11, as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 6) an airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6) including at least portions (either the vertical portions of 7/8/9 or the horizontal portions of 7/8/9, as illustrated in Figure 4) generally perpendicular to (as illustrated in Figure 4, the vertical portions of 7/8/9 are perpendicular to the horizontal plane of the opening through 2; additionally, the horizontal portions of 7/8/9 are perpendicular to the vertical plane of the opening through 2) the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5), and to direct (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 6) at least portions of (the portion of the airflow in 11 that is directed between 7/8/9, as illustrated in Figure 6) the airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6) over the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) on the inlet side (the upstream side of 2 facing the duct, which in Figures 1 and 6, is the bottom side; it is noted in the orientation of Figures 2 and 4, this is the top side) of the base (2); and
one or more diverters (5) configured to direct (as illustrated in Figure 5) the at least portions (the portion of the airflow in 11 that is directed between 7/8/9, as illustrated in Figure 6) of the airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6) over the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) toward and through (as illustrated by air flow arrows in Figure 6) the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
The opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) is elongated (as illustrated in Figure 1, the opening is elongated in the length direction of the vent) and defines two opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) and a longitudinal axis (the longitudinal axis of 2 is along the horizontal axis, as illustrated in Figure 6) parallel to (as illustrated in Figure 6, the longitudinal axis of 2 is parallel to the airflow in 11) the airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6); and
the vanes (7, 8, 9) include one or more vanes (7, 8, and 9, as illustrated in 4) on each of (as illustrated in Figure 4, the base of 7/8/9 is split so to be disposed on opposite lateral sides of 2) the two opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
The one or more diverters (5) are located over (as illustrated in Figures 1 and 6) the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
The one or more diverters (5) are located between (as illustrated in Figure 6) the vanes (7, 8, 9) on the opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
The one or more diverters (5) include a plurality of diverters (a plurality of 5 illustrated in Figure 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
The plurality of diverters (a plurality of 5 illustrated in Figure 6) include adjustable louvers (as illustrated in Figure 6, 5 are rotatable louvers).
Regarding Claim 12, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
The opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) is elongated (as illustrated in Figure 1, the opening is elongated in the length direction of the vent) and defines two opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) and a longitudinal axis (the longitudinal axis of 2 is along the horizontal axis, as illustrated in Figure 6) parallel to (as illustrated in Figure 6, the longitudinal axis of 2 is parallel to the airflow in 11) the airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6); and
the one or more vanes (7, 8, 9) include a plurality of vanes (7, 8, and 9, as illustrated in 4) on each of (as illustrated in Figure 4, the base of 7/8/9 is split so to be disposed on opposite lateral sides of 2) the two opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5); and
the one or more diverters (5) include a plurality of diverters (plurality of 5 illustrated in Figure 6) located over (as illustrated in Figures 1 and 6) the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) and between (as illustrated in Figure 6) the vanes (7, 8, 9) on the opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5).
Regarding Claim 15, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
A vent (air blowout adjusting register, title), comprising:
a base (2) defining an inlet side (the upstream side of 2 facing the duct, which in Figures 1 and 6, is the bottom side; it is noted in the orientation of Figures 2 and 4, this is the top side), and a rectangular opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) having two opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5);
a plurality of vanes (7, 8, 9) extending from (as illustrated in Figures 2 and 6, 7/8/9 extends from the inlet side into the duct 11) the inlet side (the upstream side of 2 facing the duct, which in Figures 1 and 6, is the bottom side; it is noted in the orientation of Figures 2 and 4, this is the top side) of the base (2) on each of (as illustrated in Figure 4, the base of 7/8/9 is split so to be disposed on opposite lateral sides of 2) the two opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5), the vanes (7, 8, 9) angled (as illustrated in Figure 6, 7/8/9 are angled with respect to the opening to direct the airflow) with respect to the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) to direct (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 6) at least portions of (the portion of the airflow in 11 that is directed between 7/8/9, as illustrated in Figure 6) an airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6) perpendicular to (the air flows vertically through the opening of 2, as illustrated in Figure 6; accordingly, the horizontal airflow within 11 is perpendicular) the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) toward (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 6) the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5); and
a plurality of diverters (5) rotatably mounted (via its connection to 6, “the direction in which the fins 5 of the movable louver 3 face can be changed by holding the handle 5c and moving it in the axial direction of the rod 6”, Paragraph 0020) with respect to the base (2) over (as illustrated in Figure 6, 5 is positioned over the inlet side) the inlet side (the upstream side of 2 facing the duct, which in Figures 1 and 6, is the bottom side; it is noted in the orientation of Figures 2 and 4, this is the top side) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) and between (as illustrated in Figure 6, 5 are positioned between 7/8/9) the vanes (7 ,8, 9) on (as illustrated in Figure 4, the base of 7/8/9 is split so to be disposed on opposite lateral sides of 2) the opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5), the diverters (5) configured to direct (as illustrated in Figure 5) the at least portions (the portion of the airflow in 11 that is directed between 7/8/9, as illustrated in Figure 6) of the airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6) over the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) toward and through (as illustrated by air flow arrows in Figure 6) the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP2000255256A, English Machine Translation provided herein and relied upon below), as recited in Claims 1, 9, 12, and 15 above, in view of Nonaka et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,624,313).
Regarding Claim 2, Sawada shows the claimed invention except one or more deflectors to diffuse the portions of the airflow directed through the opening.
In the same field of endeavor of air conditioning vents, Nonaka teaches (Figures 1A and 4):
It is known in the vent (11) art for a divertor (40) to comprise one or more deflectors (first and second 22) to diffuse (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4) the portion of the airflow (the portion of the airflow through the opening of 11 that flows over 40) directed (via 40) through the opening (the opening of 11).
Further, “the blast direction is changed so as to widen the range of the attemperation air”, Col. 4, lines 6-7.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the plurality of divertors shown by Sawada to include multiple deflectors on each divertor to diffuse the portion of the airflow directed through the opening, as taught by Nonaka, to provide the benefit of widening the stream of discharged air through the opening, thus increasing aerial coverage of each vent.
Regarding Claim 3, Nonaka teaches (Figures 1A and 4):
Each of the one or more of the deflectors (first and second 22) is on one of (as illustrated in Figure 4) the diverters (40).
Regarding Claim 4, Nonaka teaches (Figures 1A and 4):
One or more of the deflectors (first and second 22) is configured to diffuse (as illustrated in Figure 4, the airflow is diffused in two directions through 22) the airflow (airflow illustrated by air flow arrows in Figure 4) in two directions (as illustrated in Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Nonaka teaches (Figures 1A and 4):
The deflectors (first and second 22) configured to diffuse (as illustrated in Figure 4, the airflow is diffused in two directions through 22) the airflow (airflow illustrated by air flow arrows in Figure 4) in the two directions (as illustrated in Figure 4) include sloped surfaces (23).
Regarding Claim 10, Sawada shows the claimed invention except a deflector on the plurality of diverters, each deflector to diffuse the portions of the airflow directed through the opening.
In the same field of endeavor of air conditioning vents, Nonaka teaches (Figures 1A and 4):
It is known in the vent (11) art for a divertor (40) to comprise one or more deflectors (first and second 22) to diffuse (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4) the portion of the airflow (the portion of the airflow through the opening of 11 that flows over 40) directed (via 40) through the opening (the opening of 11).
Further, “the blast direction is changed so as to widen the range of the attemperation air”, Col. 4, lines 6-7.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the plurality of diverters shown by Sawada to include multiple deflectors on each diverter to diffuse the portion of the airflow directed through the opening, as taught by Nonaka, to provide the benefit of widening the stream of discharged air through the opening, thus increasing aerial coverage of each vent.
Regarding Claim 13, Sawada shows the claimed invention except a deflector on the one or more diverters, each deflector to diffuse the portions of the airflow directed through the opening.
In the same field of endeavor of air conditioning vents, Nonaka teaches (Figures 1A and 4):
It is known in the vent (11) art for a divertor (40) to comprise one or more deflectors (first and second 22) to diffuse (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4) the portion of the airflow (the portion of the airflow through the opening of 11 that flows over 40) directed (via 40) through the opening (the opening of 11).
Further, “the blast direction is changed so as to widen the range of the attemperation air”, Col. 4, lines 6-7.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the plurality of diverters shown by Sawada to include multiple deflectors on each diverter to diffuse the portion of the airflow directed through the opening, as taught by Nonaka, to provide the benefit of widening the stream of discharged air through the opening, thus increasing aerial coverage of each vent.
Regarding Claim 14, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
The plurality of diverters (a plurality of 5 illustrated in Figure 6) include adjustable louvers (as illustrated in Figure 6, 5 are rotatable louvers).
Regarding Claim 16, Sawada shows the claimed invention except one or more of the plurality of diverters includes a deflector to diffuse the portions of the airflow directed through the opening.
In the same field of endeavor of air conditioning vents, Nonaka teaches (Figures 1A and 4):
It is known in the vent (11) art for a divertor (40) to comprise one or more deflectors (first and second 22) to diffuse (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4) the portion of the airflow (the portion of the airflow through the opening of 11 that flows over 40) directed (via 40) through the opening (the opening of 11).
Further, “the blast direction is changed so as to widen the range of the attemperation air”, Col. 4, lines 6-7.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the plurality of diverters shown by Sawada to include multiple deflectors on each diverter to diffuse the portion of the airflow directed through the opening, as taught by Nonaka, to provide the benefit of widening the stream of discharged air through the opening, thus increasing aerial coverage of each vent.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP2000255256A, English Machine Translation provided herein and relied upon below) in view of Siddiqui et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,975,405).
Regarding Claim 15, Sawada shows (Figures 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6):
A vehicle (automobile, Paragraph 0001), comprising:
a body (the body of the automobile) housing a passenger compartment (the cabin of the automobile in which passengers ride, as recited in Paragraph 0011, the register is arranged on the ceiling of the cabin);
an air processing unit (the air conditioning unit to which the duct is attached which conditions the ventilation air);
a duct (11) coupled to (“air conditioning duct for an automobile provided with this kind of air blowing adjustment register”, Paragraph 0003) the air processing unit (the air conditioning unit to which the duct is attached which conditions the ventilation air) to receive (as illustrated by air flow arrows in Figure 6) processed air (conditioned air from the air conditioning unit); and
a vent (air blowout adjusting register, title) on (as illustrated in Figure 6) the duct (11) to vent (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 6) the processed air (conditioned air from the air conditioning unit) from an airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6) in the duct (11) into (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 6) the passenger compartment (the cabin of the automobile in which passengers ride, as recited in Paragraph 0011, the register is arranged on the ceiling of the cabin), comprising:
a base (2) defining an inlet side (the upstream side of 2 facing the duct, which in Figures 1 and 6, is the bottom side; it is noted in the orientation of Figures 2 and 4, this is the top side), and a rectangular opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) having two opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5);
a plurality of vanes (7, 8, 9) extending from (as illustrated in Figures 2 and 6, 7/8/9 extends from the inlet side into the duct 11) the inlet side (the upstream side of 2 facing the duct, which in Figures 1 and 6, is the bottom side; it is noted in the orientation of Figures 2 and 4, this is the top side) of the base (2) on each of the two opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) and into (as illustrated in Figure 6) the duct (11), the vanes (7, 8, 9) angled (as illustrated in Figure 6, 7/8/9 are angled with respect to the opening to direct the airflow) with respect to the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) to direct (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 6) at least portions of (the portion of the airflow in 11 that is directed between 7/8/9, as illustrated in Figure 6) the airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6) in the duct (11) toward (as illustrated in Figure 6) the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5); and
a plurality of diverters (5) rotatably mounted (via its connection to 6, “the direction in which the fins 5 of the movable louver 3 face can be changed by holding the handle 5c and moving it in the axial direction of the rod 6”, Paragraph 0020) with respect to the base (2) over (as illustrated in Figure 6, 5 is positioned over the inlet side) the inlet side (the upstream side of 2 facing the duct, which in Figures 1 and 6, is the bottom side; it is noted in the orientation of Figures 2 and 4, this is the top side) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) and between (as illustrated in Figure 6, 5 are positioned between 7/8/9) the vanes (7 ,8, 9) on (as illustrated in Figure 4, the base of 7/8/9 is split so to be disposed on opposite lateral sides of 2) the opposite sides (the two lateral walls running the length of 2, as illustrated in Figures 2 and 5) of the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5), the diverters (5) configured to direct (as illustrated in Figure 5) the at least portions (the portion of the airflow in 11 that is directed between 7/8/9, as illustrated in Figure 6) of the airflow (the airflow flowing horizontally through 11, as illustrated in Figure 6) over the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) toward and through (as illustrated by air flow arrows in Figure 6) the opening (the rectangular opening through 2, as illustrated in Figures 1 and 5) and into the passenger compartment.
However, Sawada lacks showing the vehicle is specifically a recreational vehicle and the passenger compartment is specifically a living space area.
In the same field of endeavor of vehicle air conditioning registers, Siddiqui teaches (Figures 1 and 3):
It is known in the vehicle air conditioning register art for a register (70) attached to a duct (72) to be installed on the ceiling (16) of a recreational vehicle (10), wherein the recreational vehicle (10) comprises a living space area (“interior of the RV 10, which may be a single zone or broken up into various zones”, Col. 4, lines 23-24).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the vehicle comprising the ceiling and passenger compartment shown by Sawada to be a recreational vehicle comprising the ceiling and living space area, as taught by Siddiqui, to increase profits by marketing the vent for use in different types of vehicles.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP2000255256A, English Machine Translation provided herein and relied upon below) and Siddiqui et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,975,405), as recited in Claim 17 above, further in view of Nonaka et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,624,313).
Regarding Claim 18, Sawada shows the claimed invention except one or more of the plurality of diverters includes a deflector to diffuse the portions of the airflow directed through the opening.
In the same field of endeavor of air conditioning vents, Nonaka teaches (Figures 1A and 4):
It is known in the vent (11) art for a divertor (40) to comprise one or more deflectors (first and second 22) to diffuse (as illustrated by the air flow arrows in Figure 4) the portion of the airflow (the portion of the airflow through the opening of 11 that flows over 40) directed (via 40) through the opening (the opening of 11).
Further, “the blast direction is changed so as to widen the range of the attemperation air”, Col. 4, lines 6-7.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the plurality of diverters shown by Sawada to include multiple deflectors on each diverter to diffuse the portion of the airflow directed through the opening, as taught by Nonaka, to provide the benefit of widening the stream of discharged air through the opening, thus increasing aerial coverage of each vent.
Regarding Claim 19, Nonaka teaches (Figures 1A and 4):
Each deflector (first and second 22) includes one or more sloped surfaces (23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
The following prior art teaches related vents:
Hernandez et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2024/0034130): see Figures 1, 3, and 5)
Migliore et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,644,859): see Figure 2
Lind (U.S. Patent No. 6,736,341): see Figures 1 and 3
Felsen (U.S. Patent No. 5,807,171): see Figures 2 and 6
/DANA K TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762