DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-15, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-9, 11 and 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,110,710. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-6, 8-15, and 18-20 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1-4, 6-9, 11 and 16 of U.S. Patent Number 12,110,710. In other words, claims 1-4, 6-9, 11 and 16 of U.S. Patent Number 12,110,710 fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 1-6, 8-15, and 18-20 and therefore anticipates claims 1-6, 8-15, and 18-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 11-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 4,579,376 to Charlton.
Charlton discloses an electric lock, comprising: a housing (14); a latch bolt (18) within said housing; a retraction lever (12, 70) configured to interact with said latch bolt such that movement of said at least one retraction lever causes said latch bolt to move in a first direction; an electrically controllable actuator (48) configured to cause rotational movement of said retraction lever in response to an electrical signal to in turn cause movement of said latch bolt in said first direction, as in claim 1.
Charlton also discloses a bias mechanism (58) configured to bias said latch bolt in a position at least partially extended from said housing, wherein said first direction is against said bias (biasing shown in figures 1 and 2), as in claim 2, wherein said rotation movement of said lever causes said latch bolt to retract into said housing against said bias (figures 1 and 2), as in claim 4, as well as said retraction lever interacts with an interaction portion (rear portion thereof) of said latch bolt, as in claim 3.
Charlton further discloses said retraction lever is pivotally mounted within said housing by at least one pin (pin shown in figures 1-4), as in claim 8, and said electrically controllable actuator comprises a motor (48), as in claim 8, as well as a key cylinder (66) and bolt lever (68), said key cylinder configured such that operation of said key cylinder causes rotational movement of said bolt lever, which in turn causes movement of said latch bolt (via 70), as in claim 12.
Charlton additionally discloses an electric lock, comprising: a housing (14); a latch bolt (18) substantially within said housing; a first retraction lever (70) within said housing and cooperating with said latch bolt such that movement of said first retraction lever causes movement of said latch bolt in a first direction; a second retraction lever (12) within said housing and cooperating with said latch bolt such that movement of said second retraction lever causes movement of said latch bolt in said first direction; a manually operable opening lever (68) connected to said first retraction lever such that movement of said manually operable opening lever causes said first retraction lever to move said latch bolt in said first direction; and an electrically controllable actuator (48) substantially within said housing, said electrically controllable actuator configured to move said second retraction lever in response to an electrical signal (electrical energizing the actuator), said movement of said second retraction lever causing movement of said latch bolt in said first direction (figures 1 and 2), as in claim 13.
Charlton also discloses a bias mechanism (58) to bias said latch bolt in a position at least partially extended from said housing, wherein said first direction is against said bias and causes said latch bolt to retract into said housing against said bias (figures 1 and 2), as in claim 14, and a key cylinder (66) and a bolt lever (68), said key cylinder configured such that operation of said key cylinder causes movement of said second retraction lever, which in turn causes movement of said latch bolt (via 70), as in claim 15, as well as said manually operable opening lever comprises a doorknob (64), as in claim 16.
Charlton further discloses a door system, comprising: a door; and an electric lock mounted substantially within said door and at an edge of said door, said electric lock comprising: a housing (14); a latch bolt (18) substantially within said housing; a first retraction lever (70) within said housing and cooperating with said latch bolt such that movement of said first retraction lever causes movement of said latch bolt in a first direction; a second retraction lever (12) within said housing and cooperating with said latch bolt such that movement of said second retraction lever causes movement of said latch bolt in said first direction; a manually operable opening lever connected to said first retraction lever such that movement of said manually operable opening lever causes said first retraction lever to move said latch bolt in said first direction; and an electrically controllable actuator (48) substantially within said housing, said electrically controllable actuator configured to move said second retraction lever in response to an electrical signal (electrical energizing the actuator), said movement of said second retraction lever causing movement of said latch bolt in said first direction (figures 1 and 2), as in claim 18.
Charlton additionally discloses said manually operated lever comprises a doorknob (64) structure, as in claim 19, and a bias mechanism (58) to bias said latch bolt in a position at least partially extended from said housing at the edge of said door, wherein said first direction is against said bias and causes said latch bolt to retract into said housing against said bias (figures 1 and 2), as in claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton, as applied above, in view of U.S. Patent Number 6,032,500 to Collard, Jr. et al.
Charlton discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, Charlton does not disclose said electrically controllable actuator is wirelessly controlled. Collard, Jr. et al. teach of an electric lock (10), comprising: a housing (16); a latch bolt (14) within said housing; a retraction lever (24, 38, 44) configured to interact with said latch bolt such that movement of said at least one retraction lever causes said latch bolt to move in a first direction; an electrically controllable actuator (18, 20) configured to cause rotational movement of said retraction lever in response to an electrical signal to in turn cause movement of said latch bolt in said first direction, wherein said electrically controllable actuator is wirelessly controlled (via 100 and 102; figure 5). All of the component parts are known in Charlton and Collard, Jr. et al. The only difference is the combination of the “old elements” into a single device by mounting them on a single chassis. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the electrically controllable actuator being wirelessly controlled as taught by Collard, Jr. et al. onto the electric lock in Charlton, since the manner the electrically controllable actuator is actuated is in no way dependent on the manner the levers actuate the latch bolt, and the wireless control could be used in combination with the electric lock to achieve the predictable results of remote operation of the lock.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The claims are allowable over the prior art of record because the teachings of the references taken as a whole do not teach or render obvious the combination set forth, including that of a lead screw, wherein said electrically controllable actuator is connected to said lead screw and said electrically controllable actuator is configured to move said lead screw towards or away from said electrically controllable actuator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to electric door locks:
U.S. Patent Number 12,398,581 to Liao; U.S. Patent Number 12,264,505 to Lunday; U.S. Patent Number 7,698918 to Geringer et al.; U.S. Patent Number 7,237,412 to Huang; U.S. Patent Number 4,429,556 to Kambic; U.S. Patent Number 4,021,065 to Geringer; U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2008/0211239 to Keller.
/CHRISTOPHER J BOSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675
CJB /cb/
January 27, 2026