DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (British filed Application GB1911952.8 filed on August 20th, 2019).
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claims 1 – 2, 6, 9 – 11, 17 – 18, and 20 – 21 beyond formalities and 112 Rejections. The Examiner notes no specific Specification support was given to support the claim amendments.
The pending claims are 1 – 21 [Page 13 lines 1 – 6].
Applicant amended the Specification to overcome Examiner’s Drawing Objections [Page 13 lines 7 – 10].
Applicant amended the Abstract and Specification to overcome Examiner’s Specification Objections [Page 13 lines 11 – 15].
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s Claim Objections [Page 13 lines 16 – 18]. The Examiner may raise new Claim Objections based on amendments made to the claims.
Applicant filed Terminal Disclaimers to overcome the Examiner’s Obvious-type Double Patenting Rejection [Page 13 line 19 – Page 14 line 7].
Applicant amended the claims to address Examiner’s 112 Rejections [Page 14 lines 8 – 18]. The Examiner reconsiders the 112 Rejections in view of the amended claims. While the Applicant argues for claim 13, the premise of the argument fails to address the Rejection regarding one-sided conditionals in method claims (See MPEP2111.04); however, in the sole interest to expedite prosecution and to simplify matters for Appeal, the condition is being afforded weight as the meaningful limitation to the claim as claim 12 covers cases when the condition is not met.
Applicant amended claim 20 to address Examiner’s 112 Rejections regarding invoking Functional Analysis [Page 14 lines 19 – 21]. The Examiner reconsiders the Rejection / Analysis in view of amendments to claim 20.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
First, the Applicant lists the references against the claims [Page 14 lines 22 – 25].
Second, the Applicant contends Misra does not teach features of the amended independent claims [Page 15 lines 1 – 26]. The Examiner notes at least in considering Misra Column 35 lines 18 – 47 notes a range represented by powers of 2 is given for the coefficients to be between rendering obvious the amended portion of the claim contrary to Applicant’s assertions. In considering Misra as a whole, Column 36 lines 38 – 47 and Tables 6 and 7 reiterate and enforce a limited range for the filter coefficients and additionally Column 45 lines 7 – 30 and Column 46 lines 18 – 46 suggests other ranges for the coefficients to be between represented by powers of 2.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the restriction on filter coefficients is strictly to powers of 2 (assumed integral powers of two even though such stipulation is not claimed) or 0) are not recited in the rejected claim(s) [The Examiner notes the claim mere requires “represented by values of powers of two …” in which the understanding is binary representations of numbers within ranges render obvious the claim limitation]. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Third, the Applicant contends Kotra does not teach features of the amended independent claims [Page 16 lines 1 – 6]. While the Examiner disagrees and Misra already teaches feature, Kotra makes similar teachings on Page 47 cited rendering obvious the additional feature claimed in the amended independent claims.
Fourth, the Applicant contends the claims are allowable for at least the reasons given including the dependent claims [Page 16 lines 7 – 20].
While the Applicant’s points may be understood, the Examiner respectfully disagrees; however, in the sole interest to expedite prosecution in view of the amended claims, the Examiner cites an additional reference against the claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 5th, 2026 was filed before the mailing date of the Final Rejection (this Office Action). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 6th, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (mailed October 8th, 2025). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered [The Examiner notes the Specification refers to a July 2019 working draft and only a March 2019 version is in the latest IDS filed].
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on January 5th, 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent #12,177,426 and any Patent granted on US Application Number(s) 18/908,573; 18/908,560; 18/908,547; and 18/908,541 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the claimed “sequence of bits, the number of one bits corresponding” has Indefinite metes and bounds regarding how the correspondence is made as the arguments are directed towards tradition binary representation and the number of fixed bits is not related to the coding technique used for the coefficient value or magnitude. Further, the Specification does not appear to address the claimed “number of one bits” and rather reads bits of a number in a traditional / well known sense (e.g. Pages 38 – 39) thus further rendering the metes and bounds of the claim Indefinite.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a coefficient is zero" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misra, et al. (US Patent #12,034,922 B2 referred to as “Misra” throughout in which citations will come from the US Patent in lieu of all 3 enabling US Provisional Applications), and further in view of Kotra, et al. (WO2020/224545 A1 referred to as “Kotra” throughout in which citations will come from the WIPO Document in lieu of enabling US Provisional Application 62/843,431) [First cited in the Office Action mailed October 8th, 2025], and Li, et al. (US Patent #11,197,030 referred to as “Li” throughout).
Regarding claim 20, see claim 1 which is the method performing the steps claimed. Regarding the “processor configured to” element claimed, Misra Column 2 lines 45 – 57 and Column 70 lines 9 – 67 (processor implementation of a decoder) renders obvious a processor / circuit / various implementations in hardware / firmware thus the structure cited renders obvious the claim in addition to the method citations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, see claim 1 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program. The Examiner notes Misra Column 70 lines 9 – 67 (instructions / software stored on memory / processors) renders obvious the non-transitory computer readable media claimed.
Regarding claim 1, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
acquiring filter coefficients and first component sample values corresponding to samples surrounding a reference sample [Misra Figures 7 – 9 (see filter shapes of reference pixels / surrounding samples to be filtered) and 17 – 19 (subfigures included for a decoder with a filtering unit where in Figure 18 the blocks of component sample value and parameter filter data (e.g. coefficients) are input into the filtering unit and thus acquired) as well as Table 8 (subfigures included) and Columns 47 – 48 and 49 line 27- 67 (signaling coefficients), Column 67 lines 30 – 57 (decoder with CCAF which filters components based on indicators in Tables 19 – 21) and Column 69 lines 17 – 65 (signaling filter use, coefficients for filtering, and components / region to filter)];
using said filter coefficients and first component sample values for the Cross- Component Adaptive Loop Filter to produce an output of the Cross-Component Adaptive Loop Filter for a second component [Misra Figures 17 – 19 (including subfigures of Figure 19 where the outputs from the luma component are used in a CCALF filtering chroma components) as well as Tables 6 – 8 (sub-tables included), Columns 48 – 49 (flags indicating if the cross component ALF is enabled for a component (e.g. luma or chroma), Column 69 lines 34 – 66 (luma component used to filter chroma components in which loop filter implementations are taught)];
determining if CCALF is indicated for a given component [Misra Tables 6 – 8 (sub-tables included) or alternatively Tables 19 and 21 (see the “idc” syntax elements) as well as Columns 34 and 35 (see at least the “alf_cross_component_cr[cb]_filter_signal_flag” which indicates the filter is indicated for a chroma (or luma component for the syntax element “alf_luma_filter_signal_flag”) or Column 66 (see description of indicators “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_idc”) and Column 67 lines 20 – 30 (filter derived from bitstream decoded)];
decoding CCALF coefficients from a bitstream [Misra Figures 17 – 19 (see at least reference characters 502 and 514) as well as Tables 6 – 8 (sub-tables included) as well as Column 51 lines 25 – 65 (see also the syntax elements signaling the various cross component ALF coefficients signaled into / decoded from the bitstream) and Column 69 lines 7 – 66 (coefficients signaled to the filter in the decoder)]; and
decoding said image portion using said CCALF coefficients [Misra Figures 7 – 10 (filtering and then the block of component / partitions of blocks) and 16 (subfigures included) as well as Column 27 line 19 – Column 28 line 21 and Column 51 lines 52 – 67 (signaling coefficients for each image partition)],
wherein said CCALF coefficients are each represented by a fixed number of bits in the bitstream [Misra Column 35 lines 18 – 47 (fixed range of coefficients / values depend on bit depth rendering obvious fixed number of bits) and Column 51 lines 11 – 60 (see the range of values which would render obvious 7 or 8 bit representation in the “alf_cross_component_coeff_abs_great_than_N_flag” for example signaling a most significant bit present / used) further rendered obvious a fixed number of bits is used in Kotra Page 12 (third full Paragraph) and Page 42 – 43 (See the “filtering process” section in which the fixed point prevision renders obvious using a fixed number of bits for the filter coefficients where near the bottom of Page 43 suggested 10 bits for coefficient values)); Li Figures 104 and 119 – 127 as well as Column 1 line 49 – Column 2 line 65 (clipping coefficient values in encoders / decoders in which the claims specify values for clipping as in Patented Claims 1 and 4 rendering obvious 7 bits as a fixed value), Column 29 lines 10 – 55 (number of bits to code coefficients rendering obvious representations of powers of 2), and Column 86 lines 11 – 25 (limiting number of bits / zeroing lower order bits in the binary / power of 2 representation of the number and suggesting 7 bits for the fixed number of bits to represent filter coefficients)],
wherein possible values of said filter coefficients are restricted to a range represented by values of powers of two defined by the fixed number of bits [Misra Column 32 lines 27 – 65 (Tables 3 – 5 included where at least the factor which is a power of 2 and the power of 2 representations of coefficients in which is further taught by Column 35 lines 18 – 47 (fixed range of coefficients / values depend on bit depth rendering obvious fixed number of bits) further explained in Column 36 lines 38 – 47 and Tables 6 and 7 where the bit depth renders obvious the fixed number of bits with suggestions other number of bits are possible (to combine with Li)), Column 45 lines 7 – 30 and Column 46 lines 18 – 46 (other suggested ranges of fixed bit lengths such as 7 bits – combinable with Li), and Column 51 lines 11 – 60 (see the range of values which would render obvious 7 or 8 bit representation in the “alf_cross_component_coeff_abs_great_than_N_flag” for example signaling a most significant bit present / used – combinable with Li); Kotra Page 12 (third full Paragraph) and Page 42 – 43 (See the “filtering process” section in which the fixed point prevision renders obvious using a fixed number of bits for the filter coefficients where near the bottom of Page 43 suggested 10 bits for coefficient values)); Li Figures 23 – 24 (subfigures included), 104 (see clipping in the ALF data), 113 – 115, and 119 – 127 as well as Column 1 line 49 – Column 2 line 65 (clipping coefficient values in encoders / decoders in which the claims specify values for clipping as in Patented Claims 1 and 4 rendering obvious 7 bits as a fixed value), Column 29 lines 10 – 55 (number of bits to code coefficients rendering obvious representations of powers of 2), Column 79 lines 1 – 50 (clipping values during filtering), and Column 86 lines 11 – 25 (limiting number of bits / zeroing lower order bits in the binary / power of 2 representation of the number and suggesting 7 bits for the fixed number of bits to represent filter coefficients)],
wherein a possible value of each filter coefficient has been restricted to any one of zero [Misra Tables 6 – 8 (sub-tables included) as well as Column 41 lines 55 – 67 (e.g. see “alf_cross_component_cb_coeff_abs” syntax element in which a zero value is inferred rendering obvious the restricted 0 value) or alternative Li Figures 104 and 122 – 127 as well as Column 86 lines 11 – 25 (limiting number of bits / zeroing lower order bits in the binary / power of 2 representation of the number and suggesting 7 bits for the fixed number of bits to represent filter coefficients)] and values of powers of two represented by the fixed number of bits [Misra Column 32 lines 27 – 65 (see at least the factor which is a power of 2), Column 35 lines 18 – 47 (fixed range of coefficients / values depend on bit depth rendering obvious fixed number of bits) and Column 51 lines 11 – 60 (see the range of values which would render obvious 7 or 8 bit representation in the “alf_cross_component_coeff_abs_great_than_N_flag” for example in which powers of 2 are signaled) further rendered obvious a fixed number of bits is used in Kotra Page 12 (third full Paragraph) and Page 42 – 43 (See the “filtering process” section in which the fixed point prevision renders obvious using a fixed number of bits for the filter coefficients where near the bottom of Page 43 suggested 10 bits for coefficient values or Page 47 (see at least equation (28) or the paragraph above the “Filtering Process” section teaching a 7 or 8 bit signaling range at least)); Li Figures 23 – 24 (subfigures included), 104 (see clipping in the ALF data), 113 – 115, and 119 – 127 as well as Column 1 line 49 – Column 2 line 65 (clipping coefficient values in encoders / decoders in which the claims specify values for clipping as in Patented Claims 1 and 4 rendering obvious 7 bits as a fixed value), Column 29 lines 10 – 55 (number of bits to code coefficients rendering obvious representations of powers of 2), Column 79 lines 1 – 50 (clipping values during filtering), and Column 86 lines 11 – 25 (limiting number of bits / zeroing lower order bits in the binary / power of 2 representation of the number and suggesting 7 bits for the fixed number of bits to represent filter coefficients)], and
wherein said first component sample value is a sample value at a position at a defined position relative to a reference sample [Misra Figures 9 and 10 (subfigures included – see at least the support samples to the reference sample to be filtered in luma / chroma component) and 14 – 16 (samples to filter), Table 2, Column 25 line 14 – Column 26 line 36 (see the equation too representing samples as offsets / reference to origin / center of filter to apply), Column 31 line 30 – Column 32 line 55 (see center pixel description and offset / shift discussions), and Column 34 line 38 – Column 35 line 50 (see the use of u and v offsets in the equations for the relative values) and Column 53 (including Tables 9 and 10 representing values relative to an origin sample / references sample to be filtered); Kotra Page 7 (in the Paragraph above “Filtering process” the signaling is for center / non-center pixel value)].
The motivation to combine Kotra with Misra is to combine values in the same / related field of invention of filtering samples in blocks / partitions [Kotra Page 1 see “Technical Field” section] in order to improve quality of the video such as to smooth pixel transitions [Kotra Page 26 (see the two Paragraphs under the “filtering” section) in which the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (B) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Li with Kotra and Misra is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of cross component adaptive loop filtering [Li Column 1 lines 8 – 12] in order to improve efficiencies / performance of the filter in encoding / decoding [Li Column 1 lines 15 – 25 and Column 3 lines 22 – 52 in which the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li which will be sued throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein a fixed number of bits to represent each filter coefficient and/or first component sample value is limited to a value that results in the filter output being representable on 16 or fewer bits [Misra Column 29 lines 14 – 29 (see at least the bit depth used to determine clipping outputs of a component), Column 32 lines 27 – 65 (see at least the factor which is a power of 2), Column 35 lines 18 – 47 (fixed range of coefficients / values depend on bit depth rendering obvious fixed number of bits) and Column 51 lines 11 – 60 (see the range of values which would render obvious 7 or 8 bit representation in the “alf_cross_component_coeff_abs_great_than_N_flag”) further rendered obvious a fixed number of bits is used in Kotra Page 12 (third full Paragraph) and Page 42 – 43 (See the “filtering process” section in which the fixed point prevision renders obvious using a fixed number of bits for the filter coefficients where near the bottom of Page 43 (clipping to 10 bits for coefficient / component values) or Page 46 – 47 (see at least equation (28) or the paragraph above the “Filtering Process” section teaching a 7 or 8 bit signaling range at least)); Li Figures 104 and 119 – 127 as well as Column 1 line 49 – Column 2 line 65 (clipping coefficient values in encoders / decoders in which the claims specify values for clipping as in Patented Claims 1 and 4 rendering obvious 7 bits as a fixed value), Column 29 lines 10 – 55 (number of bits to code coefficients rendering obvious representations of powers of 2), and Column 86 lines 11 – 25 (limiting number of bits / zeroing lower order bits in the binary / power of 2 representation of the number and suggesting 7 bits for the fixed number of bits to represent filter coefficients)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 3, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
combining said cross-component filter output with an output of a filter corresponding to a different component [Misra Figures 11 – 13 (subfigures included where the cross component filter is combined with ALF / another filter output (e.g. the summing junctions in Figure 11) or input to another filter output (e.g. Figure 13A)), 17 and 19 (see filter outputs used as inputs to cross component filter) as well as Column 28 line 22 – Column 29 line 47 (obvious variants in combining filters and the outputs of the filters) and Column 69 line 17 – Column 70 line 8 (cross component where the chroma filters is based on luma filter output)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 4, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein said first component is Luma and the different component is a Chroma component [Misra Figures 11 – 13 (subfigures included where the cross component filter is combined with ALF / another filter output (e.g. the summing junctions in Figure 11) or input to another filter output (e.g. Figure 13A)), 17 and 19 (see luma filter outputs used as inputs to chroma cross component filter) as well as Column 28 line 22 – Column 29 line 47 (obvious variants in combining filters and the outputs of the filters) and Column 69 line 17 – Column 70 line 8 (cross component where the chroma filters is based on luma filter output)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 5, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
inputting a difference value between said first component sample value and a reference sample value into the Cross-Component Adaptive Loop Filter [Misra Figures 10 – 13 (subfigures included) as well as Column 27 line 61 – Column 28 line 21 (difference values used as filter input), Column 30 lines 60 – 67 (residual values for components are filter inputs rendering obvious the “difference value” claimed as input to the cross component ALF)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 6, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein restricting a possible value of a filter coefficient comprises determining an absolute value for the filter coefficient from the fixed number of bits used to represent said filter coefficient [Misra Tables 4 – 6 and 8 (sub-tables included) as well as Column 32 lines 27 – 65 (see at least the factor which is a power of 2), Column 35 lines 18 – 47 and Column 36 lines 15 – 47 (fixed range of coefficients / values depend on bit depth rendering obvious fixed number of bits) and Column 51 lines 11 – 60 (see the range of values which would render obvious 7 or 8 bit representation in the “alf_cross_component_coeff_abs_great_than_N_flag” or syntax elements such as “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_abs” (Column 42 lines 1 – 50 at least) which signals the magnitude / absolute value of the filter coefficients) which is a range of number based on a fixed number (maximum number) of bits is signaled) further rendered obvious a fixed number of bits is used in Kotra Page 12 (third full Paragraph) and Page 42 – 43 (See the “filtering process” section in which the fixed point prevision renders obvious using a fixed number of bits for the filter coefficients where near the bottom of Page 43 suggested 10 bits for coefficient values or Page 47 (see at least equation (28) or the paragraph above the “Filtering Process” section teaching a 7 or 8 bit signaling range at least))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 7, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein a possible value of each filter coefficient has been restricted using a reduced fixed-point decimal precision of the filter coefficient value [Misra Tables 4 – 6 and 8 (sub-tables included) as well as Column 32 lines 27 – 65 (see at least the factor which is a power of 2), Column 35 lines 18 – 47 and Column 36 lines 15 – 47 (fixed range of coefficients / values depend on bit depth rendering obvious fixed number of bits) and Column 51 lines 11 – 60 (see the range of values which would render obvious 7 or 8 bit representation (rendering obvious reduced fixed-point from 10 or 16 bits) in the “alf_cross_component_coeff_abs_great_than_N_flag” or syntax elements such as “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_abs” (Column 42 lines 1 – 50 at least) which signals the magnitude / absolute value of the filter coefficients) which is a range of number based on a fixed number (maximum number) of bits is signaled) further rendered obvious a fixed number of bits is used in Kotra Page 12 (third full Paragraph) and Page 42 – 43 (See the “filtering process” section in which the fixed point prevision renders obvious using a fixed number of bits for the filter coefficients where near the bottom of Page 43 suggested 10 bits for coefficient values or Page 47 (see at least equation (28) or the paragraph above the “Filtering Process” section teaching a 7 or 8 bit signaling range at least)); Li Figures 104 and 119 – 127 as well as Column 86 lines 11 – 25 (limiting number of bits / zeroing lower order bits in the binary / power of 2 representation of the number and suggesting 7 bits for the fixed number of bits to represent filter coefficients)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 8, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein the reduced fixed-point decimal precision is 7 bits [Misra Tables 4 – 6 and 8 (sub-tables included) as well as Column 32 lines 27 – 65 (see at least the factor which is a power of 2), Column 35 lines 18 – 47 and Column 36 lines 15 – 47 (fixed range of coefficients / values depend on bit depth rendering obvious fixed number of bits) and Column 51 lines 11 – 60 (see the range of values which would render obvious 7 or 8 bit representation in the “alf_cross_component_coeff_abs_great_than_N_flag” or syntax elements such as “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_abs” (Column 42 lines 1 – 50 at least)) which is a range of number based on a fixed number (maximum number) of bits is signaled) further rendered obvious a fixed number of bits is used in Kotra Page 12 (third full Paragraph) and Page 42 – 43 and 47 (See the “filtering process” section in which the fixed point prevision renders obvious using a fixed number of bits for the filter coefficients where Page 47 (see at least equation (28) or the paragraph above the “Filtering Process” section teaching a 7 or 8 bit signaling range at least)); Li Figures 104 and 119 – 127 as well as Column 1 line 49 – Column 2 line 65 (clipping coefficient values in encoders / decoders in which the claims specify values for clipping as in Patented Claims 1 and 4 rendering obvious 7 bits as a fixed value) and Column 86 lines 11 – 25 (limiting number of bits / zeroing lower order bits in the binary / power of 2 representation of the number and suggesting 7 bits for the fixed number of bits to represent filter coefficients)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 9, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein a filter operation comprises a multiplication of sample values and a filter coefficient, the multiplication being implemented by performing bitwise shift and addition operations instead of a conventional multiplication operation [Misa Column 11 line 60 – Column 12 line 12 (bit shifting operations to implement multiplication in filters see additionally Column 18 line 65 – Column 19 line 9) and Column 32 lines 27 – 65 (implementation of filter with scaling / bit shit operations and addition for the multiplication operation rendering obvious the claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art); Kotra Page 24 (First full Paragraph) and similarly Page 36 (last two paragraphs where the shit operations replace multiplication since powers of two / bit shift understanding of coefficients is used in filtering as the shift replaces the traditional multiplication operation to combine with Misra’s bit shifting teaching which renders obvious the multiplication implementation to one of ordinary skill in the art)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 10, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein the first component sample values and reference sample comprise 16 or fewer samples [Misra Column 29 lines 14 – 29 (see at least the bit depth used to determine clipping outputs of a component), Column 32 lines 27 – 65 (see at least the factor which is a power of 2 and syntax elements such as “BitDepthC”), further rendered obvious a limits on bits to represent component values as used in Kotra Page 12 (third full Paragraph) and Page 42 – 43 (See the “filtering process” section in which the fixed point prevision renders obvious using a fixed number of bits for the filter coefficients where near the bottom of Page 43 (clipping to 10 bits for coefficient / component values)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 11, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein the first component sample values and reference sample comprise 8 or fewer samples [Misra Figures 3 – 4 and 9 – 10 (subfigures included) as well as Column 30 lines 15 – 67 (chroma samples are sampled in which the sampling factors / sampling format may be chosen to render the claim limitation obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art see also Column 17 lines 12 – 55 (see the 4:4:4 or 4:2:0 or 4:2:2 formats / sampling ratios) or Column 24 lines 1 – 24 (e.g. 4:2:0 sampling formation))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 12, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein every sample has a position (x+u, y+v) relative to said reference sample at position (x, y) where u is a horizontal offset belonging to [-1,1] and v is a vertical offset belonging to [-1,2] [Misra Figures 4 and 7 – 10 (subfigures included) and Table 2 as well as Column 17 line 57 – Column 18 line 10 (see at least the HorizontalOffsetC and VerticalOffsetC syntax elements in which the ranges of the values in Table 2 are within the claimed ranges and thus render the claimed ranges obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 13, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein v belongs to [0,1] when |u|=1 [Misra Figures 4 and 7 – 10 (subfigures included), Tables 2, and 12 – 15 as well as Column 17 line 57 – Column 18 line 10 (see at least the HorizontalOffsetC and VerticalOffsetC syntax elements in which the ranges of the values in Table 2 are render obvious the condition to one of ordinary skill in the art as the vertical offsets are within the [0, 1] range regardless of the HorizontalOffsetC value / magnitude) and Column 60 lines 1 – 18]
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 14, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein said determining if CCALF is indicated for a given component comprises decoding a flag [Misra Figures 17 – 19 (decoder and cross component filter configuration) Tables 6 – 8 (sub-tables included) or alternatively Tables 19 and 21 (see the “idc” syntax elements)as well as Columns 34 and 35 (see at least the “alf_cross_component_cr[cb]_filter_singal_flag” which indicates the filter is indicated for a chroma (or luma component for the syntax element “alf_luma_filter_signal_filter”) or Column 66 (see description of indicators “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_idc”) and Column 67 lines 20 – 67 (filter signaling derived from bitstream decoded)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 15, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein each fixed number of bits comprises [See claim 1 for citations]: a bit indicating the sign of a coefficient [Misra Tables 5 – 8 (sub-tables included) as well as Column 35 lines 17 – 37 and Column 39 line 24 – Column 40 line 45 (sign bit – obvious variant as there are 2 values the “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_sign” flag may take as readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art and further in view of Kotra Page 49 the similar syntax element “alf_chrom_coeff_sign” is 1 bit (see Descriptor column))]; and a series of bits indicating an amplitude of the coefficient [Misra Tables 5 – 8 (sub-tables included) as well as Column 35 lines 17 – 37 and Column 39 line 24 – Column 40 line 45 (see at least the “alf_cross_component_cr_coeff_abs” renders obvious the magnitude of the coefficient is signaled where in view of Table 8A at least a fixed / known number of bits are used such as the range of 0 to 1023 (10 bit magnitude))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 16, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein each fixed number of bits comprises [See claim 1 for citations]:
at least one bit in the bitstream indicating if a coefficient is zero or not, and if the coefficient is not zero, a bit indicating the sign of the coefficient [Misra Table 8 (see at least Table 8A in which the magnitude of the coefficient is checked to be zero or not in checking the syntax element “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_abs” in which the sign is signaled if the coefficient is not zero where the descriptor of the syntax element “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_sign” renders obvious the signaled sign bit is 1 bit as well as Column 39 line 43 – Column 40 line 48 as similarly taught in Kotra Page 49 where the similar syntax element “alf_chrom_coeff_sign” is 1 bit in similar logic where the coefficient is checked to be zero].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 17, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein each fixed number of bits comprises [See claim 1 for citations]:
if the coefficient is not zero, a sequence of bits, the number of one bits corresponding to an amplitude of the coefficient [Misra Column 12 lines 24 – 47 (unary coding of numbers with a fixed number of bit (e.g. 5 bits), Column 32 line 27 – Column 33 line 55 (including Tables 3 – 5 and descriptions of the associated syntax elements where the control size renders obvious the fixed number of bits and the additional flag render obvious signaling a number of one bits) and Table 8 (see at least Table 8A in which the magnitude of the coefficient is checked to be zero or not in checking the syntax element “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_abs” in which the sign is signaled if the coefficient is not zero where the value is then read from the bitstream where Kotra Page 42 (See “Filter parameters signaling” section in which the norm of the coefficients (sum) is the value the coefficients are divided by as in Filtering process in the rest of Page 42 (similar teachings in Page 47 seeing equations 20 and 22 at least)) and Page 49 where the similar syntax element “alf_chrom_coeff_sign” is 1 bit in similar logic where the coefficient is checked to be zero].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 18, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
wherein said at least one bit that indicates whether a coefficient is zero or not has a value of one when the coefficient is zero [Misra Table 8 (see at least Table 8A in which the magnitude of the coefficient is checked to be zero or not in checking the syntax element “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_abs” in which the sign is signaled if the coefficient is not zero where the descriptor of the syntax element “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_sign” renders obvious the signaled sign bit is 1 bit as well as Column 39 line 43 – Column 40 line 48 as similarly taught in Kotra Page 49 where the similar syntax element “alf_chrom_coeff_sign” is 1 bit in similar logic where the coefficient is checked to be zero].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Regarding claim 19, Misra teaches signaling many parameters of cross component adaptive loop filtering with an encoder defining parameters for a decoder to process and use for filtering processes similar to the encoder. Kotra teaches and further renders obvious the use of fixed point numbers / coefficients in cross component adaptive loop filtering to further render obvious teachings of Misra. Li teaches additional cross component filter coefficient considerations including limiting the range of coefficients and syntax to signal such.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Misra’s cross component adaptive loop filtering techniques with the fixed point number signaling and arithmetic manipulations as taught by Kotra and in combination with Li’s considerations in limiting the range of the cross component filter coefficients. The combination teaches
the sign bit equal to one indicates that the coefficient is negative [Misra Table 8 (see at least Table 8A in which the magnitude of the coefficient is checked to be zero or not in checking the syntax element “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_abs” in which the sign is signaled if the coefficient is not zero where the descriptor of the syntax element “alf_cross_component_cb[cr]_coeff_sign” renders obvious the signaled sign bit is 1 bit as well as Column 39 line 43 – Column 40 line 48 (Column 39 lines 40 – 42 renders obvious the sign bit equal to one indicating a negative value as computed in Column 40 lines 1 – 9) as similarly taught in Kotra Page 49 where the similar syntax element “alf_chrom_coeff_sign” is 1 bit in similar logic where the coefficient is checked to be zero].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Misra, Kotra, and Li.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487