DETAILED ACTION
This non-final rejection is responsive to the claims filed 03 April 2025. Claims 2-21 are pending. Claims 2, 9, and 16 are independent claims. Claim 1 is cancelled. Claims 2-21 are new.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,141,223 B2 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,741,183 B2 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,347,826 B2 and claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,010,538 B2 and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,430,502 B2 and claims 1-25 of U.S. Patent No. 9,792,265 B2 and claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 8,799,771 B2 and claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 8,775,925 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-7, 9-13, and 15-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Meredith (US 2011/0314389 A1) hereinafter known as Meredith in view of Boodman (US 8,407,584 B1) hereinafter known as Boodman.
Regarding independent claim 1, Meredith teaches:
A computing device, the computing device comprising: a user interface; (Meredith: Fig. 5 and ¶[0100]; Meredith teaches a desktop computing environment.)
a memory storing: processor instructions for rendering a hosted application; and an operating system; and (Meredith: ¶[0017], [0089], [0116]; Meredith teaches a processor and non-volatile storage, a rendering layer 56, and the Application Platform can be integrated within the operating system.)
a processor, wherein the processor is configured to: communicate data with the user interface and the memory; and execute the processor instructions to: (Meredith: Fig. 4 and [0017], [0094], [0125]; Meredith teaches the processor executing stored instructions and exchanging data with the interface and storage.)
obtain: a first set of one or more resources associated with the hosted application; and (Meredith: [0114], [0118]; Meredith teaches downloading the cross-platform application, which includes a background page and a pop-up page and images.)
a second set of one or more resources associated with a webpage; (Meredith: [0103], [0105], [0125]; Meredith retrieving the webpage and/or assets indicated by a specific URL. Further, [0107] teaches that the pop-up page loads a twitter login web page 126.)
modify a computing environment of the operating system based on the first set of one or more resources; (Meredith: [0093], [0102], [0118]; Meredith teaches obtaining a file containing a background page. [0093] further teaches the rendering engine layer parses the file to implement the logic contained therein.)
… for the hosted application based on: the first set of one or more resources; and the second set of one or more resources; and (Meredith: [0103], [0105]; Meredith teaches rendering the hosted application’s page by retrieving data from a remote serve to populate the notification or user interface.)
render, on the user interface, a user interface page integrated into the computing environment …. (Meredith: [0094], [0103]-[0104]; Meredith teaches rendering user interface pages.)
Meredith does not explicitly teach but Boodman teaches:
build a document object model (DOM) … . (Boodman: col. 9, lines 49-61 and col. 11, lines 34-40; Boodman teaches rendering a page as a DOM built from the page’s content.)
… based on the DOM. (Boodman: col. 9, lines 49-61 and col. 11, lines 34-40; Boodman teaches rendering a page as a DOM built from the page’s content.)
Meredith and Boodman are in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, as the references are directed to executing application packages. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the application platform that renders the pages from the application package files populated with webpage resources retrieved from remote servers as taught in Meredith with the rendered page as a DOM. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Meredith to include teachings of Boodman, because the combination would allow the page to be represented as a data structure that defines the structure, content, and appearance of the page and allows the browser application to render the page in a desired manner, as suggested by Boodman: col. 4, lines 23-45.
Regarding claim 3, Meredith in view of Boodman further teaches the computing device of claim 2.
Meredith further teaches.
wherein: the first set of one or more resources comprises a background page file comprising a first set of interface instructions configured for managing user interactions with the hosted application; and (Meredith: [0093], [0094], [0118]; Meredith teaches obtaining a file with a background page and that the cross-platform application can be implemented using a background page that contains all the logic of the application. Further, the platform’s APIs enable logic within the background page or the pop-up page to modify and respond to interactions with launch points such as icons 76 within the user’s computing environment or to respond to a user hovering over or clicking on the application’s icon.)
…
Boodman further teaches:
the second set of one or more resources comprises a modification file comprising a second set of interface instructions for rendering the webpage on the hosted application. (Boodman: col. 8, lines 7-18 and lines 48-61 and col. 9, lines 1-18; Boodman teaches that “the content script may be configured to read and/or modify the page model (e.g., DOM) 114 of the page 110” and “a given content script should … be injected into the page 110 to be loaded” and “may be registered in the manifest file with the corresponding extension” and that “a given content script may be configured to be injectable to a set of pages … a given domain name may be associated with the web page 110 … and all of these related web page may be associated with the extension icon 120”.)
Regarding claim 4, Meredith in view of Boodman further teaches the computing device of claim 3.
Meredith further teaches.
wherein at least one of the first set of interface instructions or the second set of interface instructions comprises a set of one or more API calls for functions to be performed at a location selected from the group consisting of a remote server and a local module located on the computing device. (Meredith: [0091], [0094], [0105]; Meredith teaches the background page’s instructions work by calling APIs to act on the computing environment. In response to the API calls, the integration layer can communicate with the operating system and/or processes to modify the user’s computing environment. Also, the notification “is populated with data retrieved rom Facebook’s servers via appropriate APIs”.)
Regarding claim 5, Meredith in view of Boodman further teaches the computing device of claim 2.
Meredith further teaches.
wherein … comprises modifying at least one of the first set of one or more resources based on at least one of the second set of one or more resources. (Meredith: [0103], [0105], [0118]; Meredith teaches filling in the pop-up page with the Facebook data fetched from the web.)
Boodman further teaches.
… building the DOM … . (Boodman: col. 4, lines 37-47, col. 9, lines 50-61, and col. 11, lines 34-40; Boodman teaches the rendering engine builds the page it is about to draw a DOM tree.)
Regarding claim 6, Meredith in view of Boodman further teaches the computing device of claim 2.
Meredith further teaches.
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the processor instructions to: detect user interactions with the user interface page; and (Meredith: [0094], [0107]; Meredith teaches detecting a user’s interaction with the sign-in button.)
generate an additional user interface page based on: the user interactions; the first set of one or more resources; and the second set of one or more resources. (Meredith: [0107]; Meredith teaches a new page appears when the user presses the button. The pop-up window grows and loads Twitter’s login page inside it.)
Regarding claim 7, Meredith in view of Boodman further teaches the computing device of claim 2.
Boodman further teaches.
wherein the first set of one or more resources governs modification of a piece of content selected from the group consisting of video content, picture content, textual content, and audio content. (Boodman: col. 8, lines 28-47; Boodman teaches the background page may be enabled to send a message to the content script, to change the appearance of the browser page. The content scripts may be configured to identify URLs within the webpage and convert them into hyperlinks. Content script may be configured to increase or decrease a font size of the page.)
Regarding claims 9-13 and 15-21, these claims recite an operating system and a method that performs the function of the computing device of claims 1-7; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Claims 8 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Meredith in view of Boodman in view of Isaacs (US 2007/0050477 A1) hereinafter known as Isaacs.
Regarding claim 8, Meredith in view of Boodman further teaches the computing device of claim 2.
Meredith in view of Boodman does not explicitly teach but Isaacs teaches.
wherein the second set of one or more resources comprises a cascading style sheet. (Isaacs: Fig. 3 and [0024] and [0031]; Isaacs teaches the server holds web pages which may be provided to the client device by the web server, such as style sheets.)
Isaacs is in the same field of endeavor as the present invention, since it is directed to retrieving resources from a server for rendering a browser. It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to combine the retrieval of resource for populating and rendering the page as taught in Meredith in view of Boodman with the retrieval of the web page’s style sheet as taught in Isaacs. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Meredith and Boodman to include teachings of Isaacs, because the combination would allow style sheets, which are already used in pages, to be rendered, as suggested by Isaacs: [0024], [0025].
Regarding claim 14, this claim recites an operating system that performs the function of the computing device of claim 8; therefore, the same rationale for rejection applies.
Conclusion
/ALEKSEY OLSHANNIKOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118