DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a reply to the Request for Consideration dated August 6, 2026.
No amendment has been made.
Claims 1-8, 10, 13-17 and 19 remain pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the Advisory Action (PTOL-303) dated July 28, 2026. No additional arguments have been made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(a) as being anticipated by Klingbeil et al. (US 2016/0333811 A1), hereafter Klingbeil.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Klingbeil discloses a combustion engine system (Fig. 4) and its method, comprising:
a combustion engine (20) having a cylinder (22);
a fuel injection system (50), comprising:
a common rail (50) containing pressurized fuel; a fuel injector (52) in fluid communication with the common rail and the cylinder or other cylinder access pathway (Fig. 4), wherein opening and closing the fuel injector places the common rail in fluid communication with the cylinder or other cylinder access pathway;
an electronic control module (30) in signal communication with the fuel injector for controlling opening and closing of the fuel injector [0026], wherein opening the fuel injector comprises holding the fuel injector open for a particular amount of time and the electronic control module is configured for: accumulating wear on the fuel injector as accumulated wear (Fig. 1; [0020]; term “accumulated” is interpreted as “fuel rate over time” based on the broadest reasonable interpretation; “As the new fuel injector is used over time, the fuel injector becomes worn and performance of the fuel injector typically changes over time.”);
establishing a wear parameter (WornA, WornB) based on the accumulated wear;
determining the particular amount of time (204, 206, 304, 306) as a compensation time to compensated for the accumulated wear by:
using a new fuel injector deliver curve (202) to determine a first delivery time;
using a worn fuel injector deliver curve (204) to determine a second delivery time;
using the wear parameter to adjust the first delivery time and the second delivery time to arrive at the compensation time (206; [0021]); and,
operating the fuel injector by opening the fuel injector for the compensation time [0021-0022].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 10, 14-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingbeil et al. (US 2016/0333811 A1), over Leman et al. (US 2003/0041658 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Klingbeil discloses a method wherein the electronic control module is further configured for accounting for wear associated with a fuel injection shot occurring during a power stroke [0021]. Klingbeil is silent to a method wherein the electronic control module is further configured for accounting for wear associated with a fuel injection shot occurring during an engine cycle to determine a total amount of wear per engine cycle.
Leman discloses a method wherein the electronic control module is configured for accounting for wear associated with a fuel injection shot occurring during an engine cycle to determine a total amount of wear per engine cycle [0029]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method of Leman to the method of Klingbeil in order to establish a wear factor for the total amount of fuel per a cycle, since it’s known in the art that fuel is not limited to a power cycle of an engine.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Klingbeil discloses a method combustion engine system of claim 2, wherein accounting for wear associated with the fuel injection shot comprises using a wear factor map, a pressure under which the fuel injection shot was performed, and a volume of fuel delivered during the fuel injection shot to determine a wear factor ([0020-0021]; Fig. 2A, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Klingbeil as modified with Leman discloses the method wherein the fuel injection shot comprises two or more shots and the electronic control module is configured to sum wear factors attributable to each of the two or more shots to determine the total amount of wear per engine cycle (Leman: Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Klingbeil as modified with Leman discloses the method wherein the electronic control module is further configured for capturing the total amount of wear per engine cycle at a sample rate (Leman: [0032]).
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klingbeil et al. (US 2016/0333811 A1), over Leman et al. (US 2003/0041658 A1), and in further view of Hauser (US 8,775,058 B2).
Regarding claims 7, 8 and 17, Klingbeil as modified with Leman discloses the electronic control module is further configured for adjusting the total amount of wear per engine cycle to an amount of wear per sample based on the sample rate and the engine speed (Leman: [0044]).
Leman doesn't disclose the engine system wherein the sample rate is irrespective of engine speed. Hauser discloses: "a method for the injector-individual adaption of the injection time of motor vehicles is based on linking the IIC method and the MFMA method. Before starting to drive, the IIC method is carried out, and while driving MFMA measurements are carried out. The measurement points obtained are used as subsequent measurement points for the IIC function. Thus injector-individual characteristic fields can be determined, in which deviations due to manufacturing and also aging and wear of the components during the service life are considered." (Abstract; claim 8). Hence it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of calibrating fuel injectors of Klingbeil as modified with Leman, and as taught by Hauser in order to adapt injection timing to present injector conditions.
Conclusion
/TEUTA HOLBROOK/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/GEORGE C JIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747