DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
The most recent claim and specification objections are withdrawn in light of the current claim amendments.
The most 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejections are withdrawn in light of the current claim amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative argues the following:
“Applicant disagrees with the Examiner that claim 6 is anticipated by Colwell; however, solely to advanced prosecution Applicant has amended claim 6 to recite "passing the reservoir fluid from the sub-surface formation into a sidetrack borehole". Applicant submits that Colwell does not teach passing reservoir fluid from a sub-surface formation, as elongate conduit 22 of Colwell receives reservoir fluid from annular section 14 as shown in Figs. 1, 3, and 4. Accordingly, claim 6 is novel over Colwell.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that the claims are broad in nature in which Colwell still anticipates the limitation in contention. Specifically, Colwell teaches the limitation to pass reservoir fluid (i.e., fluid from the subterranean formation) into a sidetrack bore (22) in light of the closed-loop recirculation process. If there is a critical feature in the claims that have a certain degree of importance, it is advised to include that language in the claim(s) in keeping with the instant specification for purposes of overcoming the most recent prior art rejection. Examiner suggests incorporating more claim language (i.e., structural and/or functional, such as, but not limited to, the specific system configuration, as shown in the elected species embodiment, and/or particular chronological steps involving the process/system) in light of the specification to overcome the prior art rejection and advance prosecution, preferably towards an allowance.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of species corresponding to figure 2 (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
However, Examiner telephonically reached out to Marco Santamaria on 02/20/2026 to discuss matters related to the arguments corresponding to the restriction on page 7. Applicant’s representative stated the following: “Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner, however solely to advance prosecution, Applicant elects without traverse, the invention of Fig. 2 as identified by the Examiner, which encompasses claims 1 to 20 as amended.” Examiner respectfully disagrees with all of claims 1-20 corresponding to the figure 2 embodiment. After further search and consideration of whether all the claims correspond to the figure 2 specie, Examiner notes the following claims do not appear to correspond to the figure 2 specie:
Claim 4 which introduces “a second proximate well bore” in addition to the “vertical well bore” and “sidetrack well bore”, previously recited in claim 1.
Claim 5 (and, similarly claims 8 and 14) introduces “a flux co-inverter.”
Claim 11 (and, similarly claims 15-18) introduces extracting/separating hydrocarbon/oil from a hydrocarbon production well bore.
Claim 13 (and, similarly claim 16) introduces “a second heat exchanger.”
In essence, claims 4-5, 8, and 11-20 do not appear to be supported by the disclosure corresponding to the figure 2 specie, as rather the subject matter of claims 4-5, 8, and 11-20 appears to correspond to other embodiments, which are not obvious variants of that of figure 2. Applicant’s representative telephonically agreed upon withdrawing claims 4-5, 8, and 11-20 to advance prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colwell (US Publication Number 2015/0122453 A1; herein “Colwell”).
In regard to claim 6, Colwell discloses: A method for geothermal heating (abstract, paragraphs [0001, 0008-0009, 0067-0068, 0098-0112], and figures 3-4), the method comprising:
passing a fluid into a thermal circulation system (i.e., fluid associated with 1/2/16/17 — paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
passing the fluid into a well bore heat exchanger (i.e., comprising 1 and 2);
heating the fluid (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
passing the heated fluid out of the well bore heat exchanger (i.e., to 16 — paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
passing reservoir fluid into an annulus space (i.e., radial space between the “heat exchanger” and wellbore, as shown in figure 3) disposed around the well bore heat exchanger (paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3);
passing the reservoir fluid through a sub-surface formation (paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3); and
passing the reservoir fluid from the sub-surface formation into a sidetrack borehole (22 — paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3 | Examiner notes that this limitation is met in light of the closed-loop recirculation process in which the subterranean formation reservoir fluid is flown to the sidetrack and continuously circulated therethrough to provide the heat exchange).
In regard to claim 9, Colwell further discloses: passing the reservoir fluid through the sidetrack bore hole (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 10, Colwell further discloses: passing the reservoir fluid through a proximate well bore (i.e., wellbore comprising 1 and 2 — paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colwell (US Publication Number 2015/0122453 A1; herein “Colwell”) in view of Higgins et al. (US Publication Number 2021/0062682 A1; herein “Higgins”).
In regard to claim 1, Colwell discloses: A system for geothermal heating (abstract, paragraphs [0001, 0067-0068, 0098-0112], and figures 3-4), the system comprising:
a forced geothermal circuit (i.e., circuit as shown in figures 3-4) in communication with a vertical well bore (i.e., unlabeled vertical wellbore comprising 1 and 2 | see paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
a sidetrack borehole (22) in communication with said vertical well bore (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
a well bore heat exchanger (i.e., comprising 1 and 2);
an annulus space (i.e., radial space between the “heat exchanger” and wellbore, as shown in figure 3) disposed around said well bore heat exchanger (paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3);
said well bore heat exchanger disposed above said sidetrack borehole (Examiner notes that the since the “heat exchanger” is being interpreted as the entirety at least 1 and 2, figure 3 teaches the limitation);
said annulus space configured to receive a reservoir fluid (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
said sidetrack borehole configured to receive circulated reservoir fluid from a sub-surface formation (paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3 | Examiner notes that this limitation is met in light of the closed-loop recirculation process in which the subterranean formation reservoir fluid is flown to the sidetrack and continuously circulated therethrough to provide the heat exchange).
However, Colwell is silent in regard to: a pump.
Nonetheless, Higgins teaches a similar type of geothermal system comprising a downhole heat exchanger “40” (as shown in figure 4), similar to that of Colwell. Higgins teaches a submersible pump (90) “[...] may be disposed within the wellbore at a depth below the lower end 54 of DHX 40, pumping produced fluids toward the surface, and thereby enhancing the flow of produced fluids from the geothermal reservoir to the surface, and increasing the heat transferred to the working fluid within DHX 40” (paragraph [0063] and figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the geothermal system comprising a heat exchanger, as taught by Colwell, to include a pump below the heat exchanger, as taught by Higgins, “[...] thereby enhancing the flow of produced fluids from the geothermal reservoir to the surface, and increasing the heat transferred to the working fluid within DHX” (paragraph [0063] of Higgins).
In regard to claim 2, in view of the modification of the preceding claim, Higgins further discloses: wherein said pump is a submersible pump (paragraph [0063]).
In regard to claim 3, Colwell further discloses: a circulation fluid (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 7, Colwell discloses claim 6 above.
However, Colwell is silent in regard to: a pump.
Nonetheless, Higgins teaches a similar type of geothermal system comprising a downhole heat exchanger “40” (as shown in figure 4), similar to that of Colwell. Higgins teaches a submersible pump (90) “[...] may be disposed within the wellbore at a depth below the lower end 54 of DHX 40, pumping produced fluids toward the surface, and thereby enhancing the flow of produced fluids from the geothermal reservoir to the surface, and increasing the heat transferred to the working fluid within DHX 40” (paragraph [0063] and figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the geothermal system comprising a heat exchanger, as taught by Colwell, to include a pump below the heat exchanger, as taught by Higgins, “[...] thereby enhancing the flow of produced fluids from the geothermal reservoir to the surface, and increasing the heat transferred to the working fluid within DHX” (paragraph [0063] of Higgins).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676