DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, and therefore the Examiner maintains the rejection which has previously been presented and argued.
In regard to Applicant’s representative’s arguments introduced in page 6 of the arguments dated 09/16/2026, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that the claim language is broad in nature and that recirculation of the reservoir fluids (which continuously passes through and exits the annulus between the “well bore heat exchanger” and the wellbore itself) reads on the claim language, absent specific detail. Examiner suggests incorporating more claim language (i.e. structural and/or functional) in light of the specification to overcome the prior art rejection and advance prosecution, preferably towards an allowance. Specifically, Examiner recommends incorporating claim language focusing on the configuration of the elected species of figure 2, e.g., having two separate lateral upper and lower sidetrack wellbores radially extending in the same direction from the main vertical wellbore, in which the downhole system is configured to circulate reservoir fluid received in the lower sidetrack wellbore from the subterranean formation to an upper sidetrack wellbore comprising the “well bore heat exchanger” via a downhole pump located longitudinally therebetween along the main vertical wellbore. Nonetheless, Examiner is open to discussing potential claim language in light of the specification to expedite prosecution.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of species corresponding to figure 2 (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
However, Examiner telephonically reached out to Marco Santamaria on 02/20/2026 to discuss matters related to the arguments corresponding to the restriction on page 7. Applicant’s representative stated the following: “Applicant respectfully disagrees with the Examiner, however solely to advance prosecution, Applicant elects without traverse, the invention of Fig. 2 as identified by the Examiner, which encompasses claims 1 to 20 as amended.” Examiner respectfully disagrees with all of claims 1-20 corresponding to the figure 2 embodiment. After further search and consideration of whether all the claims correspond to the figure 2 specie, Examiner notes the following claims do not appear to correspond to the figure 2 specie:
Claim 4 which introduces “a second proximate well bore” in addition to the “vertical well bore” and “sidetrack well bore”, previously recited in claim 1.
Claim 5 (and, similarly claims 8 and 14) introduces “a flux co-inverter.”
Claim 11 (and, similarly claims 15-18) introduces extracting/separating hydrocarbon/oil from a hydrocarbon production well bore.
Claim 13 (and, similarly claim 16) introduces “a second heat exchanger.”
In essence, claims 4-5, 8, and 11-20 do not appear to be supported by the disclosure corresponding to the figure 2 specie, as rather the subject matter of claims 4-5, 8, and 11-20 appears to correspond to other embodiments, which are not obvious variants of that of figure 2. Applicant’s representative telephonically agreed upon withdrawing claims 4-5, 8, and 11-20 to advance prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colwell (US Publication Number 2015/0122453 A1; herein “Colwell”).
In regard to claim 6, Colwell discloses: A method for geothermal heating (abstract, paragraphs [0001, 0008-0009, 0067-0068, 0098-0112], and figures 3-4), the method comprising:
passing a fluid into a thermal circulation system (i.e., fluid associated with 1/2/16/17 — paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
passing the fluid into a well bore heat exchanger (i.e., comprising 1 and 2);
heating the fluid (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
passing the heated fluid out of the well bore heat exchanger (i.e., to 16 — paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
passing reservoir fluid into an annulus space (i.e., radial space between the “heat exchanger” and wellbore, as shown in figure 3) disposed around the well bore heat exchanger (paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3);
passing the reservoir fluid from the annulus space through a sub-surface formation (i.e., subterranean formation below surface comprising 1, 2, & 22 — paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3); and
passing the reservoir fluid from the sub-surface formation into a sidetrack borehole (22 — paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3 | Examiner notes that this limitation is met in light of the closed-loop recirculation process in which the subterranean formation reservoir fluid is flown to the sidetrack and continuously circulated therethrough to provide the heat exchange).
In regard to claim 9, Colwell further discloses: passing the reservoir fluid through the sidetrack bore hole (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 10, Colwell further discloses: passing the reservoir fluid through a proximate well bore (i.e., wellbore comprising 1 and 2 — paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colwell (US Publication Number 2015/0122453 A1; herein “Colwell”) in view of Higgins et al. (US Publication Number 2021/0062682 A1; herein “Higgins”).
In regard to claim 1, Colwell discloses: A system for geothermal heating (abstract, paragraphs [0001, 0067-0068, 0098-0112], and figures 3-4), the system comprising:
a forced geothermal circuit (i.e., circuit as shown in figures 3-4) in communication with a vertical well bore (i.e., unlabeled vertical wellbore comprising 1 and 2 | see paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
a sidetrack borehole (22) in communication with said vertical well bore (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
a well bore heat exchanger (i.e., comprising 1 and 2);
an annulus space (i.e., radial space between the “heat exchanger” and wellbore, as shown in figure 3) disposed around said well bore heat exchanger (paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3);
a sub-surface formation (i.e., subterranean formation section(s) below surface comprising 1, 2, & 22) disposed between said well bore heat exchanger and said sidetrack borehole (i.e., as shown in figure 3 — also, see paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105]);
said well bore heat exchanger disposed above said sidetrack borehole (Examiner notes that the since the “heat exchanger” is being interpreted as the entirety at least 1 and 2, figure 3 teaches the limitation);
said annulus space configured to receive a reservoir fluid (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3);
said sidetrack borehole configured to receive circulated reservoir fluid from the sub-surface formation (paragraphs [0001, 0098-0105] and figure 3 | Examiner notes that this limitation is met in light of the closed-loop recirculation process in which the subterranean formation reservoir fluid is flown to the sidetrack and continuously circulated therethrough to provide the heat exchange).
However, Colwell is silent in regard to: a pump.
Nonetheless, Higgins teaches a similar type of geothermal system comprising a downhole heat exchanger “40” (as shown in figure 4), similar to that of Colwell. Higgins teaches a submersible pump (90) “[...] may be disposed within the wellbore at a depth below the lower end 54 of DHX 40, pumping produced fluids toward the surface, and thereby enhancing the flow of produced fluids from the geothermal reservoir to the surface, and increasing the heat transferred to the working fluid within DHX 40” (paragraph [0063] and figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the geothermal system comprising a heat exchanger, as taught by Colwell, to include a pump below the heat exchanger, as taught by Higgins, “[...] thereby enhancing the flow of produced fluids from the geothermal reservoir to the surface, and increasing the heat transferred to the working fluid within DHX” (paragraph [0063] of Higgins).
In regard to claim 2, in view of the modification of the preceding claim, Higgins further discloses: wherein said pump is a submersible pump (paragraph [0063]).
In regard to claim 3, Colwell further discloses: a circulation fluid (paragraphs [0098-0105] and figure 3).
In regard to claim 7, Colwell discloses claim 6 above.
However, Colwell is silent in regard to: a pump.
Nonetheless, Higgins teaches a similar type of geothermal system comprising a downhole heat exchanger “40” (as shown in figure 4), similar to that of Colwell. Higgins teaches a submersible pump (90) “[...] may be disposed within the wellbore at a depth below the lower end 54 of DHX 40, pumping produced fluids toward the surface, and thereby enhancing the flow of produced fluids from the geothermal reservoir to the surface, and increasing the heat transferred to the working fluid within DHX 40” (paragraph [0063] and figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention (AIA ), to modify the geothermal system comprising a heat exchanger, as taught by Colwell, to include a pump below the heat exchanger, as taught by Higgins, “[...] thereby enhancing the flow of produced fluids from the geothermal reservoir to the surface, and increasing the heat transferred to the working fluid within DHX” (paragraph [0063] of Higgins).
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NEEL GIRISH PATEL/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676