DETAILED ACTION
In Application filed on 10/07/2024, claims 1-5 are pending. Claims 1-5 are considered in the current Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Currently, claim 2 recites the limitation “…whereby the cover comprises sidewalls having openings”. However, figures of the instant application fails to provide proper antecedent basis for this limitation. At most, the specification and Figure 3 of the drawing discloses “Cover 36 is a disc-shaped lid having a flat surface 35 with an opening 38 in its center [0012]” and nothing discloses the sidewalls of the cover comprises of openings as recited in claim 2. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “…and an underside surface a rounded wall extending…” should read as “…and an underside surface, a rounded wall extending…”.
Claim 3 recites “…further comprising an outer housing;” should read as “…further comprising an outer housing.”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP1932433 (“Koike et al” hereinafter Koike).
Regarding Claim 1, Koike teaches a cotton candy machine (Figure 2 and abstract), comprising: a base (Figure 2, base 2); a motor (Figure 3, motor 14); a shaft having a first end and a second end (Figure 3, rotary shaft 11 has a upper end 11a and a lower end 11b), the first end of the shaft in communication with the motor (Figure 3 and [0025], the motor 14 has a drive shaft to which a first gear 13a is connected. The first gear 13a is in meshing engagement with a second gear 13b that is connected to the lower end 11b of a vertically extending rotary shaft 11; thus, the lower end 11b of the rotary shaft 11 is in communication with the motor 14); a rotating chamber (Figure 7, rotary pan 10) comprising: a plate (Figure 6, lid member 45 which comprises a flange portion 46 that formed a plate shape) having an upper surface and an underside surface (all flange have a upper surface and an underside surface), a rounded wall extending upwardly from the plate (Figure 6, cover body 51), and a cover having a central opening applied atop the rounded wall (Figure 6, retention member 60); a heating element disposed below the underside surface of the plate (Figure 5, electrically heated wire 26 is defines a heater [0034] and located below the underside surface of the lid member 45); a collar extending downwardly from the rotating chamber and surrounding the heating element (Figure 5, bobbin receiving pedestal 25); and the second end of the shaft connected to the rotating chamber to impart rotational force to the rotating chamber (Figure 3, upper end 11a of the rotary shaft secured to a horizontal pedestal 28 that is defined by a thin circular plate [0028]).
Regarding Claim 2, Koike teaches the cotton candy machine of Claim 1, whereby the cover comprises sidewalls having openings (Figure 6, retention member 60 has an opening 61 extending therethrough in the vertical direction [0043] and comprises of sidewalls with three first screw thread parts 60a which is consider as openings).
Regarding Claim 3, Koike teaches the cotton candy machine of Claim 1, further comprising an outer housing (see annotated Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP1932433 (“Koike et al” hereinafter Koike) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US2020/0253233 (Korin).
Regarding Claim 4, Koike teaches the cotton candy machine of Claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the base comprises a ring portion having a series of openings configured to allow air exchange between the outside of the base and the interior of the base.
However, Korin teaches the base comprises a ring portion having a series of openings (Figure 2, diffusor 8 comprises of a plurality of air intake openings 20 and [0040]) configured to allow air exchange between the outside of the base and the interior of the base (Figure 4 and [0041]).
Koike and Korin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of apparatus for preparing cotton candy. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modified the apparatus as taught by Koike such that it discloses all of the above mentioned limitations as taught by Korin to lifts candy floss upwards ([0051]).
Regarding Claim 5, the modified Koike teaches the cotton candy machine of Claim 4, whereby the ring portion comprises a lower segment and an upper segment (Korin, see Figure 2, the lower segment is where the plurality of air intake opening are located while the upper segment does not contain any opening).
Conclusion
XINWEN (CINDY) YE
Examiner
Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754