DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 10/7/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-14 are pending.
5. Claims 4 and 11 are objected to for allowable subject matter.
Information Disclosure Statement
6. Prior to the examination of this application, no information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed or submitted.
Claim Objections
1. Claims 1, 4, 8 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. Claim 1 is objected to because it include an abbreviation of “TTI” recited in Line 2 that needs to be spelled out at the first occurrence of the abbreviation. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
b. Claim 1 is objected to because it include an abbreviation of “PDCCH” recited in Line 4 that needs to be spelled out at the first occurrence of the abbreviation. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
c. Claim 4 is objected to because it include an abbreviation of “RBs” recited in Line 1 that needs to be spelled out at the first occurrence of the abbreviation. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
d. Claim 8 is objected to because it include an abbreviation of “TTI” recited in Line 3 that needs to be spelled out at the first occurrence of the abbreviation. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
e. Claim 8 is objected to because it include an abbreviation of “PDCCH” recited in Line 5 that needs to be spelled out at the first occurrence of the abbreviation. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
c. Claim 11 is objected to because it include an abbreviation of “RBs” recited in Line 2 that needs to be spelled out at the first occurrence of the abbreviation. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Therefore, Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the UL resource allocator” in Line 1. It is unclear if it refers to the PDCCH resource allocator. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the given slot” in Line 3. It is unclear if it refers to the UL slot or DL slot. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the remaining UL RBs” in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 4 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the 35 USC 112(b) rejection is overcome.
2. Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 USC 112b but would be allowable if the rejection is overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. US 20210144743 hereafter Rastegardoost in view of Yang et al. US 20210352731 hereafter Yang.
As to Claim 1. Rastegardoost discloses a method for providing uplink scheduling in a cellular radio base station [Base Station-1504, Fig. 15], comprising [Figs. 20A-B (Depict Example of Uplink Scheduling), 22-23, Title: Wireless communication for Scheduling Transmission; Sections 0004, 0083: The transmission of data/control information scheduled using DCI, and fields of the control information used for a wireless device for example a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI)). Scheduling performed by a base station for downlink and uplink]:
an uplink (UL) scheduler running 6 TTI [i.e. Slots] in advance [Figs. 7 (Depicts 8 slots configuration, also see 0108), Fig. 19B, Sections 0150, 0342: A scheduler at the base station assign resources i.e. time, slots, etc. with configuration parameters for uplink. A TTI may be subframes or slots] to thereby provide a list of all Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (RNTIs) [See 0184] to be scheduled on a given UL slot [Figs. 21A, 24C, 25A, 26A, 27-30 (Depicts RNTIs, Multi-TTI DCI allocations), Sections 0110, 0266, 0323, 0368: A slot used as the unit upon which uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) are scheduled in an NR configuration. The time domain related parameters provided via DCI scrambled with a corresponding RNTIs based on slot. The DCI scrambled by a first RNTI different from a second RNTI for dynamic scheduling and assigns at least a first RNTI and a second RNTI for UL data scheduling at subframes/period. Scheduling of uplink (UL) used by the DCI comprise a transmission time interval (multi-TTI) DCI and indicate radio network temporary identifiers (RNTIs)];
allocating, at a PDCCH resource allocator, control channel elements (CCEs) for all downlink (DL) RNTIs first [Figs. 14B (Example of a control channel element to resource element group (CCE-to-REG) mapping including CORESETs and PDCCH), Sections 0083, 0186, 0189, 0370: Scheduling (i.e. allocating) performed by a base station for downlink and uplink. The base station process the DCI with RNTI(s) on resource elements configured for PDCCH occupying a number of control channel elements (CCEs) comprise a number of resource-element groups (REGs). A set of CCEs configured based on the identity of the wireless device or RNTI. A base station use a DCI format for a multi-TTI scheduling and based on one or more fields of the DCI based on RNTI(s) used in the DCI; and RNTIs used for dynamic scheduling resource];
allocating, at the PDCCH resource allocator, CCEs for at least one UL RNTI for a first DL slot [Sections 0083, 0110, 0190, 0266: Scheduling (i.e. allocating) performed by a base station for downlink and uplink. A slot used as the unit upon which uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) are scheduled. DCI includes PDCCH candidates with number of CCEs with RNTI values for scheduling of uplink grant with slot format indication and downlink or the like. The time domain related parameters provided via DCI scrambled with a corresponding RNTIs may be based on slot];
Although, Rastegardoost discloses the base station includes a memory (Fig. 15a) which is similar to a queue or storage; a base station can write into a buffer (see 0331) and multi-DCI scheduling includes pending TBs (0378), it does not explicitly state placing RNTIs not allocated in the first DL slot in a pending queue.
However, Yang teaches placing RNTIs not allocated in the first DL slot [Sections 0052, 0086] in a pending queue [Sections 0062, 0193, 0324: The PDCCH delivers DCI carry information about various identifiers e.g. a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI)) according to an owner or usage of the PDCCH. DL grant DCI may indicate pending operations. The BS may store processed signal in a memory based on configuration information and may include at least one of a PDCCH, on DL and at least one of a PUCCH on UL].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods/systems of Rastegardoost relating to base station performing scheduling using DCI via PDCCH in which DCI carries information about RNTIs, can store or queue or write information in buffer/memory with the teaching of Yang relating to the base station can sore configuration information relating to PDCCH that carry RNTIs, DL DCI indicate pending operation. By combining the methods the base station can place/store unused/unscheduled users/RNTIs in a queue/buffer/memory in case additional RNTIs need to be scheduling for priority as suggested by Yang.
As to Claim 2. Rastegardoost discloses the method of claim 1, wherein for the first allocation, PDCCH tries to allocate CCEs using K2=6 [Sections 0186, 0266, 0342, 0355: The base station map the coded and modulated DCI on resource elements configured for a PDCCH occupying a number of contiguous control channel elements (CCEs), A CCE may comprise a number (e.g., 6). Granularity of time domain allocation may be based on slot and K may be reinterpreted as a quantity of configured resources within a period and K in time domain. A slots comprise OFDM symbols (e.g., 14 consecutive OFDM symbols). The scheduling DCI comprise a TDRA field, indicating an entry/row of TDRA table may indicate one or more symbols].
As to Claim 3. Rastegardoost discloses the method of claim 1 [Sections 0110, 0266, 0368: A slot used as the unit upon which uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) are scheduled in an NR configuration. The time domain related parameters provided via DCI scrambled with a corresponding RNTIs based on slot. Scheduling of uplink (UL) used by the DCI comprise a transmission time interval (multi-TTI) DCI and indicate radio network temporary identifiers (RNTIs)],
Although, Rastegardoost discloses the base station includes a memory (Fig. 15a) which is similar to a queue or storage; a base station can write into a buffer (see 0331) and multi-DCI scheduling includes pending TBs (0378), it does not explicitly state wherein RNTIs not allocated in this DL slot are placed in a pending queue
However, Yang teaches wherein RNTIs not allocated in this DL slot [Sections 0052, 0086] are placed in a pending queue [Sections 0062, 0193, 0324: The PDCCH delivers DCI carry information about various identifiers e.g. a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI)) according to an owner or usage of the PDCCH. DL grant DCI may indicate pending operations. The BS may store processed signal in a memory based on configuration information and may include at least one of a PDCCH, on DL and at least one of a PUCCH on UL].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods/systems of Rastegardoost relating to base station performing scheduling using DCI via PDCCH in which DCI carries information about RNTIs, can store or queue or write information in buffer/memory with the teaching of Yang relating to the base station can sore configuration information relating to PDCCH that carry RNTIs, DL DCI indicate pending operation. By combining the methods the base station can place/store unused/unscheduled users/RNTIs in a queue/buffer/memory in case additional RNTIs need to be scheduling for priority as suggested by Yang.
As to Claim 5. Rastegardoost discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in the next DL slot, the PDCCH allocator tries to allocate CCEs for UEs in the pending queue [Buffer, See 0331] with K2=4 [Sections 0135, 0186, 0266, 0355: OFDM symbols in the time domain e.g., 4 OFDM symbols may be sent/transmitted. The base station process the DCI with RNTI(s) on resource elements configured for PDCCH occupying a number of CCEs. Granularity of time domain allocation based on slot and K may be reinterpreted as a quantity of configured resources within a period and K in time domain. The scheduling DCI comprise a TDRA field, indicating an entry/row of TDRA table may indicate one or more symbols].
As to Claim 6. Rastegardoost discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in a subsequent DL slot, the PDCCH allocator tries to allocate CCEs for UEs in the pending queue [Buffer, See 0331] with K2=3 [Sections 0135, 0186, 0266, 0355: OFDM symbols in the time domain may span next 3 OFDM symbols may be sent/transmitted. The base station process the DCI with RNTI(s) on resource elements configured for PDCCH occupying a number of CCEs. Granularity of time domain allocation based on slot and K may be reinterpreted as a quantity of configured resources within a period and K in time domain. The scheduling DCI comprise a TDRA field, indicating an entry/row of TDRA table may indicate one or more symbols].
As to Claim 7. Rastegardoost discloses the method of claim 1, wherein in a subsequent DL slot, the PDCCH allocator tries to allocate CCEs for UEs in the pending queue [Buffer, See 0331] with K2=2 [Sections 0135, 0186, 0266, 0355: OFDM symbols in the time domain may span in the second OFDM symbols may be sent/transmitted. The base station process the DCI with RNTI(s) on resource elements configured for PDCCH occupying a number of CCEs. Granularity of time domain allocation based on slot and K may be reinterpreted as a quantity of configured resources within a period and K in time domain. The scheduling DCI comprise a TDRA field, indicating an entry/row of TDRA table may indicate one or more symbols].
As to Claim 8. Rastegardoost discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium [Memory-1514] containing instructions which, when executed on a processor [Processor-1508] at a cellular base station, performs steps, the steps comprising [Fig. 15A (Base Station-1504), Section 0201: The processing system 1508 associated with a memory 1514; and Memory e.g., one or more non-transitory computer readable mediums may store computer program instructions or code that may be executed by the processing system to carry out one or more of the functionalities described herein]:
an uplink (UL) scheduler running 6 TTI [i.e. Slots] in advance [Figs. 7 (Depicts 8 slots configuration, also see 0108), Fig. 19B, Sections 0150, 0342: A scheduler at the base station assign resources i.e. time, slots, etc. with configuration parameters for uplink. A TTI may be subframes or slots] to thereby provide a list of all Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (RNTIs) [See 0184] to be scheduled on a given UL slot [Figs. 21A, 24C, 25A, 26A, 27-30 (Depicts RNTIs, Multi-TTI DCI allocations), Sections 0110, 0266, 0323, 0368: A slot used as the unit upon which uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) are scheduled in an NR configuration. The time domain related parameters provided via DCI scrambled with a corresponding RNTIs based on slot. The DCI scrambled by a first RNTI different from a second RNTI for dynamic scheduling and assigns at least a first RNTI and a second RNTI for UL data scheduling at subframes/period. Scheduling of uplink (UL) used by the DCI comprise a transmission time interval (multi-TTI) DCI and indicate radio network temporary identifiers (RNTIs)];
allocating, at a PDCCH resource allocator, control channel elements (CCEs) for all downlink (DL) RNTIs first [Figs. 14B (Example of a control channel element to resource element group (CCE-to-REG) mapping including CORESETs and PDCCH), Sections 0083, 0186, 0189, 0370: Scheduling (i.e. allocating) performed by a base station for downlink and uplink. The base station process the DCI with RNTI(s) on resource elements configured for PDCCH occupying a number of control channel elements (CCEs) comprise a number of resource-element groups (REGs). A set of CCEs configured based on the identity of the wireless device or RNTI. A base station use a DCI format for a multi-TTI scheduling and based on one or more fields of the DCI based on RNTI(s) used in the DCI; and RNTIs used for dynamic scheduling resource];
allocating, at the PDCCH resource allocator, CCEs for at least one UL RNTI for a first DL slot [Sections 0083, 0110, 0190, 0266: Scheduling (i.e. allocating) performed by a base station for downlink and uplink. A slot used as the unit upon which uplink (UL) and downlink (DL) are scheduled. DCI includes PDCCH candidates with number of CCEs with RNTI values for scheduling of uplink grant with slot format indication and downlink or the like. The time domain related parameters provided via DCI scrambled with a corresponding RNTIs may be based on slot];
Although, Rastegardoost discloses the base station includes a memory (Fig. 15a) which is similar to a queue or storage; a base station can write into a buffer (see 0331) and multi-DCI scheduling includes pending TBs (0378), it does not explicitly state placing RNTIs not allocated in the first DL slot in a pending queue.
However, Yang teaches placing RNTIs not allocated in the first DL slot [Sections 0052, 0086] in a pending queue [Sections 0062, 0193, 0324: The PDCCH delivers DCI carry information about various identifiers e.g. a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI)) according to an owner or usage of the PDCCH. DL grant DCI may indicate pending operations. The BS may store processed signal in a memory based on configuration information and may include at least one of a PDCCH, on DL and at least one of a PUCCH on UL].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods/systems of Rastegardoost relating to base station performing scheduling using DCI via PDCCH in which DCI carries information about RNTIs, can store or queue or write information in buffer/memory with the teaching of Yang relating to the base station can sore configuration information relating to PDCCH that carry RNTIs, DL DCI indicate pending operation. By combining the methods the base station can place/store unused/unscheduled users/RNTIs in a queue/buffer/memory in case additional RNTIs need to be scheduling for priority as suggested by Yang.
As to Claim 9. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising, for the first allocation, PDCCH tries to allocate CCEs using K2=6 [See Claim 2 because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 10. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising, RNTIs not allocated in this DL slot are placed in a pending queue [See Claim 3 because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 12. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising, in the next DL slot, the PDCCH allocator tries to allocate CCEs for UEs in the pending queue with K2=4 [See Claim 5 because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 13. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising, in a subsequent DL slot, the PDCCH allocator tries to allocate CCEs for UEs in the pending queue with K2=3 [See Claim 6 because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 14. The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising, in a subsequent DL slot, the PDCCH allocator tries to allocate CCEs for UEs in the pending queue with K2=2 [See Claim 7 because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Golitschek et al. US 20250071777 and ADJAKPLE US 20200267753.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
October 14, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2428