DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, cited term of “an LCOS compensator having a slow axis aligned to between -48 degrees and -77 degrees” (line 5-6) is vague and renders the claims indefinite. Invention claims that the slow axis is aligned to have an angle between -48 degrees and -77 degrees without specifying a geometrical configuration of the angle; that is, not defining a reference according to which the angle is measured. It is unclear how the claimed angle is measured.
Claims 2-3 are rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 1 through their dependency from claim 1.
Claim 4 has same undefiled issue as that of claim 1 in line 5-6.
Claims 4-15 are rejected as containing the deficiencies of claim 4 through their dependency from claim 4.
Claims 6-9 have same undefiled issues as that of claim 1.
Claim 17 has same undefiled issue as that of claim 1 in line 1-2.
Regarding claim 3, cited term of “wherein the LCOS compensator is actively aligned” (line 1) is vague and renders the claims indefinite. It is unclear that which component or a portion of the component cites LCOS compensator aligned to; that is, the LCOS compensator aligned to claimed illumination module, the LCOS or the waveguide system.
Therefore proper amendments are required in order to clarify the scopes of the claims and overcome the rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-9 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ronen (US 20220100032).
Regarding Claim 4, Ronen teaches A Liquid Crystal on Silicon (LCOS) system (abstract; fig. 1 and ¶[0066], line 1-9, display device 12, implemented as a TN LCoS) comprising:
an illumination module configured to generate illumination light (fig. 1, 14-light source);
an LCOS configured to receive the illumination light and modulate the illumination light into display light (fig. 1, 12-display device, 14; ¶[0066], line 1-9, display device 12, implemented as a TN LCoS. It is noted that display devices implemented as LCD have similar structure to that of the display device 12, with several modifications as compared to the TN LCoS implementation); and
an LCOS compensator (fig. 1, 34--birefringent element (a polarization compensator, a quarter wave plate) having a slow axis aligned to between -33 degrees and -77 degrees (--this term has 112 issue, see above; also see fig. 10 and ¶[0092], line 1-17, the Eigen axes of the birefringent element 34 and the display device; rotation of the birefringent element 34 by an angle; the angular offset between the ordinary axes of the birefringent element 34 and the display device 12 is restricted to a range between 0 and π),
wherein the LCOS compensator is configured to receive the illumination light and the display light (fig. 1, 34, 14, 12).
Regarding Claim 5, Ronen teaches the LCOS system of claim 4, wherein the illumination light has a first linear polarization orientation, and wherein the display light has a second linear polarization orientation orthogonal to the first linear polarization orientation (fig. 1, 14, s-polarization light from 14; 12, p-polarization from 12).
Regarding Claims 6-9, Ronen teaches the LCOS system of claim 4, wherein the slow axis of the LCOS compensator is actively aligned to between -48 degrees and -77 degrees; wherein the slow axis of the LCOS compensator is actively aligned to approximately -60 degrees; wherein the slow axis of the LCOS compensator is actively aligned to approximately -65 degrees; wherein the slow axis of the LCOS compensator is passively aligned to between -33 degrees and -57 degrees (--these claims have 112 issues, see above; also see fig. 10 and ¶[0092], line 1-17, the Eigen axes of the birefringent element 34 and the display device; rotation of the birefringent element 34 by an angle; the angular offset between the ordinary axes of the birefringent element 34 and the display device 12 is restricted to a range between 0 and π).
Regarding Claim 14, Ronen teaches the LCOS system of claim 4, wherein the LCOS compensator is laminated to the LCOS (fig. 11, 34, 12).
Regarding Claim 15, Ronen teaches the LCOS system of claim 4 further comprising:
a polarized beam splitter (PBS) (fig. 1, 26) configured to receive the illumination light (fig. 1, 14) and direct the illumination light to the LCOS (fig. 1, 26, 12), wherein the LCOS compensator is disposed between the PBS and the LCOS (fig. 1, 26, 34, 12).
Regarding Claim 16, Ronen teaches a method (abstract; fig. 1 and ¶[0066], line 1-9, display device 12, implemented as a TN LCoS) comprising:
emitting, with an illumination system, illumination light (fig. 1, 14-light source);
receiving the illumination light with an LCOS system including an LCOS (fig. 1, 12-display device, 14; ¶[0066], line 1-9, display device 12, implemented as a TN LCoS. It is noted that display devices implemented as LCD have similar structure to that of the display device 12, with several modifications as compared to the TN LCoS implementation) and an LCOS compensator having a slow axis (fig. 1, 34--birefringent element (a polarization compensator, a quarter wave plate), wherein the illumination light propagates through the LCOS compensator to the LCOS (fig. 1, 14, 34, 12); and
driving a calibrated voltage onto the LCOS to increase a contrast of display light, wherein driving the calibrated voltage onto the LCOS modulates the illumination light into display light that propagates back through the LCOS compensator (¶[0096], line 1-11; subsequent to the deliberate misalignment of the birefringent element 34 and the display device 12, steps are executed to determine the compensation voltage Vc (between Vmin and Vmax) at which the image generated by the unitary display module (with the deliberately misaligned birefringent element 34) has the same or similar image quality (determined by contrast ratio or other relevant image quality metric or metrics) as an image generated at Vblack with a perfectly aligned birefringent element 34. The following paragraphs describe the steps for determining the compensation voltage Vc).
Regarding Claim 17, Ronen teaches the method of claim 16, wherein the LCOS compensator is actively aligned between -48 degrees and -77 degrees (--this term has 112 issue, see above; also see fig. 10 and ¶[0092], line 1-17, the Eigen axes of the birefringent element 34 and the display device; rotation of the birefringent element 34 by an angle; the angular offset between the ordinary axes of the birefringent element 34 and the display device 12 is restricted to a range between 0 and π).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronen (US 20220100032) in a view of He et al (US 11796872).
Regarding Claim 1, Ronen teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) (abstract; fig. 1 and ¶[0004], line 1-6, HMDs, NEDs) comprising:
an illumination module configured to generate illumination light (fig. 1, 14-light source);
an LCOS configured to receive the illumination light and modulate the illumination light into display light (fig. 1, 12-display device, 14; ¶[0066], line 1-9, display device 12, implemented as a TN LCoS. It is noted that display devices implemented as LCD have similar structure to that of the display device 12, with several modifications as compared to the TN LCoS implementation);
an LCOS compensator (fig. 1, 34--birefringent element (a polarization compensator, a quarter wave plate) having a slow axis aligned to between -48 degrees and -77 degrees (--this term has 112 issue, see above; also see fig. 10 and ¶[0092], line 1-17, the Eigen axes of the birefringent element 34 and the display device; rotation of the birefringent element 34 by an angle; the angular offset between the ordinary axes of the birefringent element 34 and the display device 12 is restricted to a range between 0 and π);
wherein the LCOS compensator is configured to receive the illumination light and the display light (fig. 1, 34, 14, 12).
But Ronen does not specifically disclose that wherein a waveguide system configured to receive the display light generated by the LCOS, wherein the waveguide system is configured to direct virtual images included in the display light to an eyebox region.
However, He teaches a display (abstract; figs. 1-2) a waveguide system configured to receive the display light generated by the LCOS (fig. 2, 26-waveguide, 14A; col. 3, line 28-43, Display modules 14A; display module 14A includes an fLCOS display), wherein the waveguide system is configured to direct virtual images included in the display light to an eyebox region (fig. 2 22, 14A, 26, 24-eye box).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-mounted display of Ronen by the display of He for the purpose to increase the effective resolution of image light (col. 11, line 5-14).
Regarding Claim 2, Ronen - He combination teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein the illumination light has a first linear polarization orientation, and wherein the display light has a second linear polarization orientation orthogonal to the first linear polarization orientation (fig. 1, 14, s-polarization light from 14; 12, p-polarization from 12, as disclosed in Ronen).
Regarding Claim 3, Ronen - He combination teaches the HMD of claim 1, wherein the LCOS compensator is actively aligned (fig. 1, 34; --34 is aligned with 12 and 26, as disclosed in Ronen).
Claims 10-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronen (US 20220100032) in a view of Tan et al (US 20070085972).
Regarding Claim 10, Ronen discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the LCOS system of claim 4 further comprising: a driver module configured to: drive a red drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a red image; drive a green drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a green image; and drive a blue drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a blue image, wherein the red drive voltage, the green drive voltage, and the blue drive voltage are calibrated to increase a contrast of the red image, the green image, and the blue image, respectively.
However, Tan a LCD panel (abstract; figs. 1-2), wherein comprising:
a driver module (fig. 10, 33/34) configured to:
drive a red drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a red image;
drive a green drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a green image; and
drive a blue drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a blue image (fig. 9, Voltage across LCoS cell; 220-blue band, 221-green band, 222-red band; fig. 11, Voltage across LCoS cell, 230, 231, 232; ¶[0111], line 1-10, average IPR vs. LC voltage U, i.e. ΓLc(U), characteristics 230, 231, 232 of the uncompensated LCoS panel for the Blue, Green, and Red color bands, respectively);
wherein the red drive voltage, the green drive voltage, and the blue drive voltage are calibrated to increase a contrast of the red image, the green image, and the blue image, respectively (fig. 21, 330; ¶[0165], line 1-29, LC voltage is adjusted in step 330; the new voltage settings as determined during the calibration step 330; ¶[0175], line 1-23, the temperature of either the LCD panel and/or the trim retarder can be varied such that the contrast of the system is optimized; The groups of red 171, green 172 and blue 173 band retardance profiles represent the panel retardance at approximately 1.5, 0.9 and 0.7V sub-threshold voltage driving, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-mounted display of Ronen by the LCD panel of Tan for the purpose of providing a high system contrast (¶[0030], line 1-4).
Regarding Claim 11, Ronen - Tan combination teaches the LCOS system of claim 10, wherein the blue drive voltage is higher than the green drive voltage, and wherein the green drive voltage is higher than the red drive voltage (fig. 9, Voltage across LCoS cell; 220-blue band, 221-green band, 222-red band, as disclosed in Tan).
Regarding Claim 12, Ronen - Tan combination teaches the LCOS system of claim 10, wherein the red drive voltage, the green drive voltage, and the blue drive voltage are a function of a mechanical orientation of the LCOS compensator with respect to the LCOS (fig. 11, average IPR vs Voltage across LCoS cell, 230-blue, 231-green, 232-red; fig. 19, 121, 122, 123, as disclosed in Tan).
Regarding Claim 13, Ronen - Tan combination teaches the LCOS system of claim 10, wherein the red drive voltage, the green drive voltage, and the blue drive voltage are calibrated over a temperature range of the LCOS system (¶[0036], line 1-6, adjusting at least one of a voltage to the LCD panel, a temperature of the LCD panel and a temperature of the trim retarder, so as to lessen a combined polarization changing effect of the LCD panel and the trim retarder on the pre-determined polarization state of the incident light beam, to attain a dark-state operation condition of the LCD panel.¶[0175], line 1-23, the temperature of either the LCD panel and/or the trim retarder can be varied such that the contrast of the system is optimized, as disclosed in Tan).
Regarding Claim 18, Ronen discloses as set forth above but does not specifically disclose that the method of claim 16 further comprising: driving a red drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a red portion of the display light, wherein the calibrated voltage is a green drive voltage for generating a green portion of the display light; and driving a blue drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a blue portion of the display light, wherein the red drive voltage, the green drive voltage, and the blue drive voltage are calibrated to increase a contrast of the red portion, the green portion, and the blue portion, respectively, of the display light.
However, Tan a LCD panel (abstract; figs. 1-2), wherein comprising:
driving a red drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a red portion of the display light, wherein the calibrated voltage is a green drive voltage for generating a green portion of the display light; and driving a blue drive voltage onto the LCOS for generating a blue portion of the display light (fig. 9, Voltage across LCoS cell; 220-blue band, 221-green band, 222-red band; fig. 11, Voltage across LCoS cell, 230, 231, 232; ¶[0111], line 1-10, average IPR vs. LC voltage U, i.e. ΓLc(U), characteristics 230, 231, 232 of the uncompensated LCoS panel for the Blue, Green, and Red color bands, respectively),
wherein the red drive voltage, the green drive voltage, and the blue drive voltage are calibrated to increase a contrast of the red portion, the green portion, and the blue portion, respectively, of the display light (fig. 21, 330; ¶[0165], line 1-29, LC voltage is adjusted in step 330; the new voltage settings as determined during the calibration step 330; ¶[0175], line 1-23, the temperature of either the LCD panel and/or the trim retarder can be varied such that the contrast of the system is optimized; The groups of red 171, green 172 and blue 173 band retardance profiles represent the panel retardance at approximately 1.5, 0.9 and 0.7V sub-threshold voltage driving, respectively).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the head-mounted display of Ronen by the LCD panel of Tan for the purpose of providing a high system contrast (¶[0030], line 1-4).
Regarding Claim 19, Ronen - Tan combination teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the blue drive voltage is higher than the green drive voltage, and wherein the green drive voltage is higher than the red drive voltage (fig. 9, Voltage across LCoS cell; 220-blue band, 221-green band, 222-red band, as disclosed in Tan).
Regarding Claim 20, Ronen - Tan combination teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the red drive voltage, the green drive voltage, and the blue drive voltage are driven onto the LCOS sequentially in a frame of the display light (fig. 9, Voltage across LCoS cell; 220-blue band, 221-green band, 222-red band; fig. 23, 501, 502, 503, as disclosed in Tan), wherein the frame has a time duration of less than 50 ms (---it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955).
Examiner’s Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
/JIE LEI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872