DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 05/13/2026. Claims 1 and 4-10 are amended. Claims 11-19 are new. Claims 1-19 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
In response to the Applicant’s argument (see page 11) regarding the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), the claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments made to claim 1.
In response to the Applicant’s argument (see page 11) regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of the amendments made to the claims.
The Applicant’s argues (see page 13) that Chen does not teach at least that the first circuitry of the one or more circuitry, in response to a participation request for the predetermined event from one communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, performs participation processing based on the participation request and, after performing the participation processing, generates an event participation notification based on the participation request received before the participation processing.
In response to the Applicant’s argument, Chen teaches that when the time for the meeting to start occurs, the virtual meeting may be started based on the settings of the meeting invitation and that to start a meeting, the host client device 330 connects to the video conference provider 310 and begins a virtual meeting (“meeting”) at the video conference provider 310, such as by beginning a scheduled meeting. Chen additionally teaches that the network services server(s) 214 may accept requests to join the meeting from various users (Chen, see paragraphs 0070, 0052 and 0062. Therefore, Chen teaches “wherein first circuitry of the one or more circuitry is configured to: in response to a participation request (invitation/accepting requests to join) for the predetermined event from one communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, perform participation processing (starting the meeting) based on the participation request”.
A new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0235870) in view of Tang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0086906) is made in view of the amendments made to the claims. The new reference, Tang, is relied upon to teach the limitation “after performing the participation processing, generate an event participation notification based on the participation request received before the participation processing”. The combination of Chen and Tang is now relied upon to teach all of the features of claims 1 and 9-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-10, 11-12, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0235870) in view of Tang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0086906).
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10, Chen teaches An event management system comprising: a first communication terminal located in a physical space and to be used for executing a predetermined event; a second communication terminal to be used for executing the predetermined event via a virtual space; and (Chen, see fig. 2; see paragraph 0041 a video conference provider 210 provides video conferencing functionality to various client devices 220-250...include two conventional computing devices 220-230, dedicated equipment for a video conference room 240...video conference provider 210 uses one or more real-time media servers 212, one or more network services servers 214, one or more video room gateways 216...provide access to and participation in one or more video conference meetings...; the examiner notes that although Chen teaches the entire limitation, the limitation following the phrase "to be used for" ("to be used for executing a predetermined event" and "to be used for executing the predetermined event via a virtual space") merely indicates intended use and therefore, no patentable weight is given to such limitations.)
an event management apparatus including one or more circuitry configured to manage information related to the predetermined event in a case where the predetermined event is executed using the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, (Chen, see figs. 2 and 4-6; see paragraph 0041 a video conference provider 210 provides video conferencing functionality to various client devices 220-250...include two conventional computing devices 220-230, dedicated equipment for a video conference room 240...video conference provider 210 uses one or more real-time media servers 212, one or more network services servers 214, one or more video room gateways 216...provide access to and participation in one or more video conference meetings...; see paragraphs 0100-0101 where during a virtual meeting based on an example event template is provided...include a roster 602 of video streams received from client devices joined to the virtual meeting. For example, the roster 602 may include video streams of participants 604a-604e received from the client devices 340a-340e during a virtual meeting hosted by the video conference provider 310)
wherein first circuitry of the one or more circuitry is configured to: in response to a participation request for the predetermined event from one communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, perform participation processing based on the participation request; (Chen, see figs. 2-3 and 6; see paragraph 0070 When the time for the meeting to start occurs, the virtual meeting may be started based on the settings of the meeting invitation... To start a meeting, the host client device 330 connects to the video conference provider 310 and begins a virtual meeting (“meeting”) at the video conference provider 310, such as by beginning a scheduled meeting,..; see also paragraph 0052 the network services server(s) 214 may accept requests to join the meeting from various users; see paragraph 0062)
the event participation notification being a notification prompting another communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal to participate in the predetermined event, (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...)
the another communication terminal being a communication terminal that is scheduled to participate in and does not participate in the predetermined event yet; and (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list (invitation list indicates scheduled to participate, but not yet participated)....generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...)
transmit the generated event participation notification to the another communication terminal. (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...; see paragraph 0066 generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list...a meeting invitation may be generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list.)
However, Chen does not explicitly teach after performing the participation processing, generate an event participation notification based on the participation request received before the participation processing,
Tang teaches after performing the participation processing, generate an event participation notification based on the participation request received before the participation processing, (Tang, sees figs. 2 and 4; see paragraph 0057 adding a remote attendee to a hybrid conference already in-progress...the new attendee may be invited to join an already in-progress hybrid conference by one of the attendees. The invitation may be initiated using the hybrid conference interface system. The invitation may be sent to the new attendee via email, instant message, text message, or via a notification in a hybrid conferencing application.; see paragraph 0043 where conferencing information is received. In one aspect, the conferencing information may be received as part of a meeting invite for a conference. For example, when a user sends an invite to a conference call, such as a video conference using a conferencing application, the invite may be received by the device performing the method 200. Information about the conference, such as the time the conference begins, the shared room associated with the conference (e.g., a conference room, a court house, and the like), the attendees, etc., may be determined based upon the invite...)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen and Tang to provide the technique of after performing the participation processing, generate an event participation notification based on the participation request received before the participation processing of Tang in the system of Chen in order to add new attendees while the meeting is in-progress (Tang, see paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 2, Chen-Tang teaches wherein the first circuitry generates the event participation notification, based on a participation date and time of participation of the one communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal in the predetermined event. (Chen, see fig. 4 date and time; see paragraph 0052 schedule a meeting, the user (anonymous or authenticated) may select an option to schedule a new meeting and may then select various meeting options, such as the date and time for the meeting...; see paragraph 0066 a meeting invitation may be generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list.; see paragraph 0080 select a date and time for the virtual event... auto-populate based on a time slot selected by the user at the invitation)
Regarding claim 7, Chen-Tang teaches wherein the first circuitry of the event management apparatus is further configured to: perform the participation processing when the participation request is transmitted from the first communication terminal, for one of a schedule associated with the first communication terminal and a schedule associated with a user who participates in the predetermined event executed in the physical space; and (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...; see paragraph 0070 When the time for the meeting to start occurs, the virtual meeting may be started based on the settings of the meeting invitation... To start a meeting, the host client device 330 connects to the video conference provider 310 and begins a virtual meeting (“meeting”) at the video conference provider 310, such as by beginning a scheduled meeting,..; see also paragraph 0052 the network services server(s) 214 may accept requests to join the meeting from various users; see paragraph 0062)
perform the participation processing when the participation request is transmitted from the second communication terminal, for one of a schedule associated with the second communication terminal, a schedule associated with a user who participates in the predetermined event executed in the virtual space, and (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...; see paragraph 0079 option 424 into which a user can input participant's names to be included on a participant invitation list. For example, a user may input a participant's name, email address, or tag; see paragraph 0070 When the time for the meeting to start occurs, the virtual meeting may be started based on the settings of the meeting invitation... To start a meeting, the host client device 330 connects to the video conference provider 310 and begins a virtual meeting (“meeting”) at the video conference provider 310, such as by beginning a scheduled meeting,..; see also paragraph 0052 the network services server(s) 214 may accept requests to join the meeting from various users; see paragraph 0062)
a schedule represented by the predetermined event being executed. (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...)
Regarding claim 8, Chen-Tang teaches wherein the predetermined event includes a conference, a meeting, a lecture, or a class conducted in the physical space and the virtual space in a same time slot. (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...; see paragraph 0019 an event creator that manages a band's virtual event calendar may generate an event template to be used for the band's public concerts. Since each of the public concerts will be hosted as a virtual event, having similar content (e.g., live-streaming of a concert), the event creator may generate an event template for these events)
Regarding claim 11, Chen-Tang teaches wherein the virtual space is a metaverse space in which at least one avatar is displayed. (Chen, see fig. 6 elements 604a-604e images (avatars) of users; see paragraph 0101 the roster 602 may include a picture, image, representation, avatar, or a listing of some or all of the participants…)
Regarding claim 12, Chen-Tang teaches wherein the event participation notification includes identification information of a user corresponding to the one communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal that has already participated in the predetermined event. (Tang, sees figs. 2 and 4; see paragraph 0057 adding a remote attendee to a hybrid conference already in-progress...the new attendee may be invited to join an already in-progress hybrid conference by one of the attendees. The invitation may be initiated using the hybrid conference interface system. The invitation may be sent to the new attendee via email (identification information), instant message, text message, or via a notification in a hybrid conferencing application.; see paragraph 0043 where conferencing information is received. In one aspect, the conferencing information may be received as part of a meeting invite for a conference. For example, when a user sends an invite to a conference call, such as a video conference using a conferencing application, the invite may be received by the device performing the method 200. Information about the conference, such as the time the conference begins, the shared room associated with the conference (e.g., a conference room, a court house, and the like), the attendees, etc., may be determined based upon the invite...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 1 and 9-10 is also applied to claim 12.
Regarding claim 17, Chen-Tang teaches wherein: the event participation notification generated by the first circuitry includes an event identifier of the predetermined event; and the first circuitry is further configured to: (Chen, see paragraph 0026-0027 create a record for the meeting and generate a meeting identifier... After receiving the meeting information, the user may distribute the meeting information to one or more users to invite them to the meeting...)
receive, from the another communication terminal after the event participation notification is transmitted to the another communication terminal, a further participation request comprising the event identifier; and perform further participation processing based on the further participation request. (Chen, see paragraph 0026-0027 create a record for the meeting and generate a meeting identifier... After receiving the meeting information, the user may distribute the meeting information to one or more users to invite them to the meeting...The video conference system then initiates the meeting and may admit users to the meeting.)
Regarding claim 19, Chen-Tang teaches further comprising a metaverse management apparatus that is separate from the event management apparatus and includes metaverse processing circuitry configured to provide the virtual space to the second communication terminal. (Tang, sees figs. 2 and 4; see paragraph 0057 adding a remote attendee to a hybrid conference already in-progress...the new attendee may be invited to join an already in-progress hybrid conference by one of the attendees. The invitation may be initiated using the hybrid conference interface system. The invitation may be sent to the new attendee via email, instant message, text message, or via a notification in a hybrid conferencing application.; see paragraph 0043 where conferencing information is received. In one aspect, the conferencing information may be received as part of a meeting invite for a conference. For example, when a user sends an invite to a conference call, such as a video conference using a conferencing application, the invite may be received by the device performing the method 200. Information about the conference, such as the time the conference begins, the shared room associated with the conference (e.g., a conference room, a court house, and the like), the attendees, etc., may be determined based upon the invite...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 1 and 9-10 is also applied to claim 19.
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Tang in view of Soneda et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0013956).
Regarding claim 3, Chen-Tang teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Chen-Tang does not explicitly teach wherein the first circuitry generates, as the event participation notification, a notification including an event name representing the predetermined event being executed and a name of a participant participating in the predetermined event.
Soneda teaches wherein the first circuitry generates, as the event participation notification, a notification including an event name representing the predetermined event being executed and a name of a participant participating in the predetermined event. (Soneda, see fig. 11; see paragraph 0112 transmits, to the management system 50, a pub request including a topic name “Roster/userB” indicating messages for the user “b” and a message “Invite” for inviting the user “b” to the conference (step S61)…; see paragraph 0058 each topic name indicating a topic, a user name and right information indicating whether a user has a publication (pub) right or a subscription (sub) right for the topic.; see also paragraph 0005)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen-Tang and Soneda to provide the technique of generating, as the event participation notification, a notification including an event name representing the predetermined event being executed and a name of a participant participating in the predetermined event of Soneda in the system of Chen-Tang in order to authorize a second user to perform publication and subscription for a topic (Soneda, see abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Chen-Tang teaches wherein the first circuitry of the event management apparatus is further configured to register user identification information and participation date and time information in association with each other, (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...; see paragraph 0079 option 424 into which a user can input participant's names to be included on a participant invitation list. For example, a user may input a participant's name, email address, or tag.)
the participation request being transmitted from the first communication terminal, the participation date and time information indicating a participation date and time of participation of the first communication terminal in the predetermined event. (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...; see paragraph 0066 a meeting invitation may be generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list.; see paragraph 0026-0027 the video conference provider 110 may prompt the user for certain information, such as a date, time, and duration for the meeting... the user may distribute the meeting information to one or more users to invite them to the meeting )
However, Chen does not explicitly teach the user identification information being included in the participation request,
Soneda teaches the user identification information being included in the participation request, (Soneda, see fig. 11; see paragraph 0112 transmits, to the management system 50, a pub request including a topic name “Roster/userB” indicating messages for the user “b” and a message “Invite” for inviting the user “b” to the conference (step S61)…; see paragraph 0058 each topic name indicating a topic, a user name and right information indicating whether a user has a publication (pub) right or a subscription (sub) right for the topic.; see also paragraph 0005)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen-Tang and Soneda to provide the technique of the user identification information being included in participation request of Soneda in the system of Chen-Tang in order to authorize a second user to perform publication and subscription for a topic (Soneda, see abstract).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Tang in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0194835).
Regarding claim 4, Chen-Tang teaches wherein the another communication terminal, of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, to which the event participation notification is transmitted, (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...; see paragraph 0066 a meeting invitation may be generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list.)
However, Chen-Tang does not explicitly teach includes second circuitry configured to: receive the event participation notification transmitted from the event management apparatus; and control a display to display the received event participation notification.
Kim teaches includes second circuitry configured to: receive the event participation notification transmitted from the event management apparatus; and control a display to display the received event participation notification. (Kim, see figs. 8-9 and 14; see paragraph 0135 the user may check the contents of the invitation message displayed on the display of the user terminal and then determine whether or not to participate in the group event. For example, the user may decide to accept to participate, decline to participate, or to remain undecided. In response to the user accepting the invitation message, at S1430)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen-Tang and Kim to provide the technique of receive the event participation notification transmitted from the event management apparatus and control a display to display the received event participation notification of Kim in the system of Chen-Tang in order to avoid wasting time unnecessarily because the user has to wait for all people to participate or try to call or broadcast again at a different time (Kim, see paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 5, Chen-Tang-Kim teaches wherein the second circuitry controls the display to display, as the event participation notification, a dialog to be operated on the another communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal by a user of the another communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal. (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...)
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Tang in view of John Roach, "Mesh for Microsoft Teams aims to make collaboration in the 'metaverse' personal and fun" https://news.microsoft.com/source/features/innovation/mesh-for-microsoft-teams/, November 2, 2021 (provided by Applicant with the IDS filed on 05/13/2026), hereafter "Roach".
Regarding claim 13, Chen-Tang teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Chen-Tang does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the first communication terminal or the second communication terminal includes communication terminal circuitry configured to display an event participation screen including: a physical space display area including an image of a participant in the physical space; and a virtual space display area including an image of an avatar.
Roach teaches wherein at least one of the first communication terminal or the second communication terminal includes communication terminal circuitry configured to display an event participation screen including: a physical space display area including an image of a participant in the physical space; and a virtual space display area including an image of an avatar. (Roach, see the figure on page 1; see the figure on page 8, and see page 8 There are dozens of reasons why people keep their video cameras off in meetings. With Mesh for Teams, people can join a meeting as a personalized avatar. Others may show themselves on video or a static picture, as shown in this example.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen-Tang and Roach to provide the technique of wherein at least one of the first communication terminal or the second communication terminal includes communication terminal circuitry configured to display an event participation screen including: a physical space display area including an image of a participant in the physical space; and a virtual space display area including an image of an avatar of Roach in the system of Chen-Tang in order to make collaboration in the metaverse personal and fun (Roach, see page 1).
Regarding claim 14, Chen-Tang teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Chen-Tang does not explicitly teach wherein the second communication terminal includes communication terminal circuitry configured to display a composite image of (1) the virtual space in which an avatar corresponding to a user participating in the predetermined event using the virtual space is arranged and (2) an image of a participant in the physical space.
Roach teaches wherein the second communication terminal includes communication terminal circuitry configured to display a composite image of (1) the virtual space in which an avatar corresponding to a user participating in the predetermined event using the virtual space is arranged and (2) an image of a participant in the physical space. (Roach, see the figure on page 1; see the figure on page 8, and see page 8 There are dozens of reasons why people keep their video cameras off in meetings. With Mesh for Teams, people can join a meeting as a personalized avatar. Others may show themselves on video or a static picture, as shown in this example.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen-Tang and Roach to provide the technique of wherein the second communication terminal includes communication terminal circuitry configured to display a composite image of (1) the virtual space in which an avatar corresponding to a user participating in the predetermined event using the virtual space is arranged and (2) an image of a participant in the physical space of Roach in the system of Chen-Tang in order to make collaboration in the metaverse personal and fun (Roach, see page 1).
Claims 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen-Tang in view of Padmanabhan et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0406231).
Regarding claim 15, Chen-Tang teaches further comprising a virtual reality hybrid event management apparatus including connection processing circuitry configured to: (Tang, sees figs. 2 and 4; see paragraph 0057 adding a remote attendee to a hybrid conference already in-progress...the new attendee may be invited to join an already in-progress hybrid conference by one of the attendees. The invitation may be initiated using the hybrid conference interface system. The invitation may be sent to the new attendee via email (identification information), instant message, text message, or via a notification in a hybrid conferencing application.; see paragraph 0043 where conferencing information is received. In one aspect, the conferencing information may be received as part of a meeting invite for a conference. For example, when a user sends an invite to a conference call, such as a video conference using a conferencing application, the invite may be received by the device performing the method 200. Information about the conference, such as the time the conference begins, the shared room associated with the conference (e.g., a conference room, a court house, and the like), the attendees, etc., may be determined based upon the invite...) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 1 and 9-10 is also applied to claim 15.
However, Chen-Tang does not explicitly teach receive a connection request including URL information from the another communication terminal; and based on the URL information, execute connection processing for connecting the another communication terminal to the predetermined event executed using the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal.
Padmanabhan teaches receive a connection request including URL information from the another communication terminal; and based on the URL information, execute connection processing for connecting the another communication terminal to the predetermined event executed using the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal. (Padmanabhan, see fig. A; see paragraph 0030 generate an invitation email message, text message, or other type of message to invite remote users to participate in a hybrid communication session...message may include a URL that enables the client device 105 of the user to connect with a particular communication session...; see paragraph 0077 establishing a connection for the first client device of the first remote user to the second group video call to enable the first remote user to communicate with the in-person users at the second location and the second remote users responsive to the first user navigating to less than a threshold connection distance from the second zone within the virtual representation of the physical space...; see also paragraph 0027)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen-Tang and Padmanabhan to provide the technique of receiving a connection request including URL information from the another communication terminal; and based on the URL information, execute connection processing for connecting the another communication terminal to the predetermined event executed using the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal of Padmanabhan in the system of Chen-Tang in order to allow web-enabled application or web-browser to establish a connection to a particular communication session (Padmanabhan, see paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 16, Chen-Tang teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Chen-Tang does not explicitly teach wherein the event participation notification generated by the first circuitry includes URL information of a virtual reality hybrid event management apparatus.
Padmanabhan teaches wherein the event participation notification generated by the first circuitry includes URL information of a virtual reality hybrid event management apparatus. (Padmanabhan, see fig. A; see paragraph 0030 generate an invitation email message, text message, or other type of message to invite remote users to participate in a hybrid communication session...message may include a URL that enables the client device 105 of the user to connect with a particular communication session...; see paragraph 0077 establishing a connection for the first client device of the first remote user to the second group video call to enable the first remote user to communicate with the in-person users at the second location and the second remote users responsive to the first user navigating to less than a threshold connection distance from the second zone within the virtual representation of the physical space...; see also paragraph 0027)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen-Tang and Padmanabhan to provide the technique of wherein the event participation notification generated by the first circuitry includes URL information of a virtual reality hybrid event management apparatus of Padmanabhan in the system of Chen-Tang in order to allow web-enabled application or web-browser to establish a connection to a particular communication session (Padmanabhan, see paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 18, Chen-Tang teaches wherein the another communication terminal includes terminal circuitry configured to: receive the event participation notification transmitted from the event management apparatus, (Chen, see paragraph 0026-0027 create a record for the meeting and generate a meeting identifier... After receiving the meeting information, the user may distribute the meeting information to one or more users to invite them to the meeting...The video conference system then initiates the meeting and may admit users to the meeting.)
after transmitting the connection request, transmit a further participation request to the event management apparatus. (Tang, sees figs. 2 and 4; see paragraph 0057 adding a remote attendee to a hybrid conference already in-progress...the new attendee may be invited to join an already in-progress hybrid conference by one of the attendees. The invitation may be initiated using the hybrid conference interface system. The invitation may be sent to the new attendee via email, instant message, text message, or via a notification in a hybrid conferencing application.; see paragraph 0043 where conferencing information is received. In one aspect, the conferencing information may be received as part of a meeting invite for a conference. For example, when a user sends an invite to a conference call, such as a video conference using a conferencing application, the invite may be received by the device performing the method 200. Information about the conference, such as the time the conference begins, the shared room associated with the conference (e.g., a conference room, a court house, and the like), the attendees, etc., may be determined based upon the invite...;) The motivation regarding to the obviousness to claims 1 and 9-10 is also applied to claim 18.
However, Chen-Tang does not explicitly teach the event participation notification including URL information; transmit a connection request including the URL information to a virtual reality hybrid event management apparatus; and
Padmanabhan teaches the event participation notification including URL information; transmit a connection request including the URL information to a virtual reality hybrid event management apparatus; and (Padmanabhan, see fig. A; see paragraph 0030 generate an invitation email message, text message, or other type of message to invite remote users to participate in a hybrid communication session...message may include a URL that enables the client device 105 of the user to connect with a particular communication session...; see paragraph 0077 establishing a connection for the first client device of the first remote user to the second group video call to enable the first remote user to communicate with the in-person users at the second location and the second remote users responsive to the first user navigating to less than a threshold connection distance from the second zone within the virtual representation of the physical space...; see also paragraphs 0027 and 0070)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen-Tang and Padmanabhan to provide the technique of the event participation notification including URL information; transmit a connection request including the URL information to a virtual reality hybrid event management apparatus of Padmanabhan in the system of Chen-Tang in order to allow web-enabled application or web-browser to establish a connection to a particular communication session (Padmanabhan, see paragraph 0057).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MENG VANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443