DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 have been examined and are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/08/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Specifically, no copy of the document “John Roach, "Mesh for Microsoft Teams aims to make collaboration in the ‘metaverse’ personal and fun" https://news.microsoft.com/source/features/innovation/mesh-for-microsoft-teams/, November 2, 2021, pages 12” (Cite No. 1 under “NON-PATENT LITERATURE DOCUMENTS”) has been filed. Therefore, the reference indicated by Cite No. 1 under “NON-PATENT LITERATURE DOCUMENTS” is not considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “event management apparatus” in line 6 of claim 1. Although claim 1 recites that the event management apparatus includes a first circuitry, the first circuitry is only configured to generate an event participation notification and transmit the notification. The first circuitry is not configured to manage information related to the predetermined event. Therefore, the limitation “event management apparatus” in line 6 of claim 1 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). This claim interpretation may be overcome by amending to claim to recite “an event management apparatus includes a circuitry configured to manage information related to…”
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: "one or more processors is included in an event management apparatus” (see page 2, lines 22-23 of the specification as filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 4, 5, 9 and 10 recite the limitation “the other communication terminal”, which renders the claims indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the other communication terminal” in claims 1, 9 and 10. It is unclear what “the other communication terminal” refers to. This rejection may be overcome by replacing the limitation “the other communication terminal” with the limitation “the another communication terminal”. Dependent claims 2-8 fail to remedy the deficiency of claim 1 and are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0235870).
Regarding claims 1 and 9-10, Chen teaches An event management system comprising: a first communication terminal located in a physical space and to be used for executing a predetermined event; a second communication terminal to be used for executing the predetermined event via a virtual space; and (Chen, see fig. 2; see paragraph 0041 a video conference provider 210 provides video conferencing functionality to various client devices 220-250...include two conventional computing devices 220-230, dedicated equipment for a video conference room 240...video conference provider 210 uses one or more real-time media servers 212, one or more network services servers 214, one or more video room gateways 216...provide access to and participation in one or more video conference meetings...; the examiner notes that although Chen teaches the entire limitation, the limitation following the phrase "to be used for" ("to be used for executing a predetermined event" and "to be used for executing the predetermined event via a virtual space") merely indicates intended use and therefore, no patentable weight is given to such limitations.)
an event management apparatus to manage information related to the predetermined event in a case where the predetermined event is executed using the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, (Chen, see figs. 2 and 4-6; see paragraph 0041 a video conference provider 210 provides video conferencing functionality to various client devices 220-250...include two conventional computing devices 220-230, dedicated equipment for a video conference room 240...video conference provider 210 uses one or more real-time media servers 212, one or more network services servers 214, one or more video room gateways 216...provide access to and participation in one or more video conference meetings...; see paragraphs 0100-0101 where during a virtual meeting based on an example event template is provided...include a roster 602 of video streams received from client devices joined to the virtual meeting. For example, the roster 602 may include video streams of participants 604a-604e received from the client devices 340a-340e during a virtual meeting hosted by the video conference provider 310)
wherein the event management apparatus includes first circuitry configured to: generate an event participation notification after one communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal performs processing of participating in the predetermined event, (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...)
the event participation notification being a notification prompting another communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal to participate in the predetermined event, the other communication terminal being a communication terminal that is scheduled to participate in and does not participate in the predetermined event yet; and (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...)
transmit the generated event participation notification to the other communication terminal. (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...; see paragraph 0066 a meeting invitation may be generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list.)
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches wherein the first circuitry generates the event participation notification, based on a participation date and time of participation of the one communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal in the predetermined event. (Chen, see fig. 4 date and time; see paragraph 0052 schedule a meeting, the user (anonymous or authenticated) may select an option to schedule a new meeting and may then select various meeting options, such as the date and time for the meeting...; see paragraph 0066 a meeting invitation may be generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list.; see paragraph 0080 select a date and time for the virtual event... auto-populate based on a time slot selected by the user at the invitation)
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches wherein the first circuitry of the event management apparatus is further configured to: execute processing of participating in the predetermined event based on a request from the first communication terminal, for one of a schedule associated with the first communication terminal and a schedule associated with a user who participates in the predetermined event executed in the physical space; and (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...)
execute processing of participating in the predetermined event based on a request from the second communication terminal, for one of a schedule associated with the second communication terminal, a schedule associated with a user who participates in the predetermined event executed in the virtual space, and (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...; see paragraph 0079 option 424 into which a user can input participant's names to be included on a participant invitation list. For example, a user may input a participant's name, email address, or tag.)
a schedule represented by the predetermined event being executed. (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...)
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches wherein the predetermined event includes a conference, a meeting, a lecture, and a class conducted in the physical space and the virtual space in a same time slot. (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...; see paragraph 0019 an event creator that manages a band's virtual event calendar may generate an event template to be used for the band's public concerts. Since each of the public concerts will be hosted as a virtual event, having similar content (e.g., live-streaming of a concert), the event creator may generate an event template for these events)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Soneda et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0013956).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches all of the features of claim 1. However, Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the first circuitry generates, as the event participation notification, a notification including an event name representing the predetermined event being executed and a name of a participant participating in the predetermined event.
Soneda teaches wherein the first circuitry generates, as the event participation notification, a notification including an event name representing the predetermined event being executed and a name of a participant participating in the predetermined event. (Soneda, see fig. 11; see paragraph 0112 transmits, to the management system 50, a pub request including a topic name “Roster/userB” indicating messages for the user “b” and a message “Invite” for inviting the user “b” to the conference (step S61)…; see paragraph 0058 each topic name indicating a topic, a user name and right information indicating whether a user has a publication (pub) right or a subscription (sub) right for the topic.; see also paragraph 0005)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen and Soneda to provide the technique of generating, as the event participation notification, a notification including an event name representing the predetermined event being executed and a name of a participant participating in the predetermined event of Soneda in the system of Chen in order to authorize a second user to perform publication and subscription for a topic (Soneda, see abstract).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches wherein the first circuitry of the event management apparatus is further configured to register user identification information and participation date and time information in association with each other, (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...; see paragraph 0079 option 424 into which a user can input participant's names to be included on a participant invitation list. For example, a user may input a participant's name, email address, or tag.)
the request being transmitted from the first communication terminal, the participation date and time information indicating a participation date and time of participation of the first communication terminal in the predetermined event. (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...; see paragraph 0066 a meeting invitation may be generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list.; see paragraph 0026-0027 the video conference provider 110 may prompt the user for certain information, such as a date, time, and duration for the meeting... the user may distribute the meeting information to one or more users to invite them to the meeting )
However, Chen does not explicitly teach the user identification information being included in a request to participate in the predetermined event,
Soneda teaches the user identification information being included in a request to participate in the predetermined event, (Soneda, see fig. 11; see paragraph 0112 transmits, to the management system 50, a pub request including a topic name “Roster/userB” indicating messages for the user “b” and a message “Invite” for inviting the user “b” to the conference (step S61)…; see paragraph 0058 each topic name indicating a topic, a user name and right information indicating whether a user has a publication (pub) right or a subscription (sub) right for the topic.; see also paragraph 0005)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen and Soneda to provide the technique of the user identification information being included in a request to participate in the predetermined event of Soneda in the system of Chen in order to authorize a second user to perform publication and subscription for a topic (Soneda, see abstract).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0194835).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches wherein the other communication terminal, of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal, to which the event participation notification is transmitted, (Chen, see figs. 6-8; see paragraph 0049 these servers 214 provide administrative functionality to enable client devices to create or participate in meetings, send meeting invitations…; see paragraph 0066 generate a meeting invitation and request the video conference provider 310 to transmit the meeting invitation to client devices on an associated invitation list...; see paragraph 0066 a meeting invitation may be generated and transmitting to participants on an invitation list.)
However, Chen does not explicitly teach includes second circuitry configured to: receive the event participation notification transmitted from the event management apparatus; and control a display to display the received event participation notification.
Kim teaches includes second circuitry configured to: receive the event participation notification transmitted from the event management apparatus; and control a display to display the received event participation notification. (Kim, see figs. 8-9 and 14; see paragraph 0135 the user may check the contents of the invitation message displayed on the display of the user terminal and then determine whether or not to participate in the group event. For example, the user may decide to accept to participate, decline to participate, or to remain undecided. In response to the user accepting the invitation message, at S1430)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to combine Chen and Kim to provide the technique of receive the event participation notification transmitted from the event management apparatus and control a display to display the received event participation notification of Kim in the system of Chen in order to avoid wasting time unnecessarily because the user has to wait for all people to participate or try to call or broadcast again at a different time (Kim, see paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 5, Chen-Kim teaches wherein the second circuitry controls the display to display, as the event participation notification, a dialog to be operated on the other communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal by a user of the other communication terminal of the first communication terminal and the second communication terminal. (Chen, see fig. 4 display calendar; see paragraph 0073 calendar panel 400 for creating an event template…; see paragraph 0078 user may schedule an event 412 directly from the calendar 408. To schedule a new event, the user may select a desired time slot...using a cursor 422 at a desired time slot and be prompted with an option...creation of a meeting invitation...)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPub 2020/0358628, which describes methods related to hosting and management of virtual meetings;
U.S. PGPub 2023/0138534, which describes methods and systems for a webinar backstage; and
U.S. PGPub 2020/0294000, which describes live meeting information in a calendar view.
/MENG VANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443