DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 26 May 2026, regarding application number 18/908,858.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-11 remain pending in the application, while claims 2, 4 and 6 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-10 were amended in the Amendments to the Claims. Claim 11 is new.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 27 February 2026. Therefore, the and rejection has been withdrawn. However, new 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections remain outstanding as a result of the amendments. See full details below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-11, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-10 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, and with respect to new claim 11, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has made the following arguments:
“….Applicant respectfully disagrees because Nishiguchi and Fu fail to teach or suggest all of the features of the independent amended claims.
For example, claim 1 recites a vehicle control device comprising …
Nishiguchi and Fu fail to teach or suggest the lane change control as well as the function of the deviation suppression controller as recited above. This matters because the claimed invention achieves unique advantages when using the claimed configuration, advantages that Nishiguchi and Fu fail to teach/suggest/achieve.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicant has not pointed out how Nishiguchi and Fu fail to teach or suggest the lane change control as well as the function of the deviation suppression controller, nor how the claimed invention achieves unique advantages that Nishiguchi and Fu fail to teach/suggest/achieve. Nishiguchi (as modified by Fu), teaches each and every element in at least independent claim 1, as discussed in the prior office action and below. For example Nishiguchi teaches at least a vehicle control device comprising: a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels; and a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to autonomously change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane, wherein the lane change control is a control in which steering control of the vehicle is started for causing the vehicle to change lane to the adjacent lane at a timing after a reference time has been elapsed from a timing when a starting condition for the lane change control has been established, and wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane until the reference time has elapsed after shifted to the specific state, in at least Figures 3 and 8. Fu teaches at least a vehicle control device comprising: a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels; and a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane, when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller shifts to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates the deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite, and wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane, in at least Figure 1 and [0027]. See full details in the rejection(s) below.
“As shown in Fig. 5 reproduced below for the Examiner's convenience, at point X11, the driver performs a starting operation in response to the turn signal lever, and at point X12, the starting condition is established. At point X13, the vehicle M begins to experience a disturbance, and at point X14, it comes into contact with a road division line in the opposite direction to the lane change direction. Here, as described above, the deviation suppression controller returns to the ON state and lane change control is stopped, so the vehicle control device can quickly return to the state from before the lane change control started. As a result, it is possible to respond appropriately when an event occurs that is not dependent on the operation of the driver.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the details of Figure 5 where “the deviation suppression controller returns to the ON state and lane change control is stopped” and/or “the vehicle control device can quickly return to the state from before the lane change control started.”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). For example, the “ON state” is not recited in independent claim 1. Examiner recommends to amend claim 1 to include the argued details from Figure 5 and/or the details from Figure 3 of step S10 for turning back ON the deviation prevention controller after the vehicle is moved in an opposite direction regardless of the operation of the driver.
“Nowhere in Nishiguchi or Fu are the lane change control recited by claim 1 or the deviation suppression controller as recited by claim 1 taught or suggested. Consequently, Nishiguchi and Fu cannot render the independent claims obvious.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees for at least the same reasons as discussed above. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicant has not pointed out how Nishiguchi and Fu fail to teach or suggest the lane change control as well as the function of the deviation suppression controller as recited above. Nishiguchi (as modified by Fu), teaches each and every element in at least independent claim 1, as discussed in the prior office action and below.
“Nishiguchi-2 and Taniguchi do not cure the deficiencies of Nishiguchi and Fu because neither Nishiguchi-2 nor Taniguchi teach or suggest…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees for at least the same reasons as discussed above because Nishiguchi (as modified by Fu), teaches each and every element in at least independent claim 1, and therefore the rejection of at least claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 does not rely on Nishiguchi-2 nor Taniguchi.
For at least the reasons discussed above and in the rejections below, the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been maintained.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims contain a typographical error in "…causing the vehicle to change lane to the adjacent lane…". It is recommended to amend "change lane" to state "change lanes".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 3, 5, and 7-11
Claim 1 conditions the following contradictory limitations:
“when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller shifts to a specific state that is an OFF state or…”
“wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane until the reference time has elapsed after shifted to the specific state.”
The first limitation above recites the deviation suppression controller shifts to a specific state that is an OFF state; however, the second limitation recites the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation after shifting to the specific state. It is unclear how the first limitation can include an OFF state for the deviation suppression controller, while the second limitation can include suppressing deviation of the vehicle with the deviation suppression controller (i.e. being in an ON state). As such, the claim is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and therefore it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173. Claims 3, 5 and 7-8 are rejected by virtue of dependency on claim 1. Claims 9-11 are additionally rejected under the same rational as discussed with respect to claim 1. For the purpose of compact prosecution, “when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller shifts to a specific state that is an OFF state or to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates the deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite, and” will be read as “when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller shifts S5 and S10, of first turning the deviation suppression controller OFF and then later turning it back ON when the vehicle is moved in the opposite direction regardless of the driver.
Claim 3 is additionally rejected under the same rational as discussed above. That is, claim 3 recites “wherein the deviation suppression controller is shifted to an OFF state when the starting condition is established,”. This limitation contradicts the limitation from independent claim 1 “wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane until the reference time has elapsed after shifted to the specific state.” because the deviation suppression controller cannot be OFF and ON at the same time. As such, the claim is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and therefore it is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP 2173. For the purpose of compact prosecution, “wherein the deviation suppression controller is shifted to an OFF state when the starting condition is established” will be read as “wherein the deviation suppression controller is shifted to an OFF state when the lane change control has been started”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiguchi (US 20190071099 A1 and Nishiguchi hereinafter), in view of Fu (US 20160180714 A1 and Fu hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Nishiguchi teaches a vehicle control device (see all Figs., especially Fig. 8; [0007]) comprising:
a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels (see Fig. 8, all, especially step S106; [0007 "...a lane keeping support control unit configured to control a steering device such that the vehicle is prevented from departing from a lane on which the vehicle is traveling without depending on the steering operation by the occupant of the vehicle and to continue to perform a lane keeping operation in a case that the lane changeability determining unit determines that lane change of the vehicle is not to be executed on the basis of the type of the road."], [0040], [0058]-[0059], [0114] and [0120]-[0122 "Then, the lane change start determining unit 152 determines whether all of Starting conditions (a) to (d) have been satisfied (Step S104). When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108)."]); and
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to autonomously change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 8, all, especially steps S110-S114; [0007 "...a lane change support control unit configured to execute lane change of a vehicle independently of a steering operation by an occupant of the vehicle by receiving an operation from the occupant of the vehicle; a road information acquiring unit configured to acquire at least a type of a road on which the vehicle is traveling; a lane changeability determining unit configured to determine whether lane change of the vehicle is to be executed by the lane change support control unit..."], [0041], [0114] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]),
wherein the lane change control is a control in which steering control of the vehicle is started for causing the vehicle to change lane to the adjacent lane at a timing after a reference time has been elapsed from a timing when a starting condition for the lane change control has been established (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, steps S108-S112; [0074 "The occupant performs a lane changing operation using the winker lever 41 at a time point of time t2."], [0088], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]), and
wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane until the reference time has elapsed after shifted to the specific state (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, step S112; [0058]-[0059 "In a case that the host vehicle M is traveling at a position biased to one lateral side from the center of the current lane, the lane keeping support control unit 140 executes lane departure prevention control. The lane departure prevention control is a driving support control of supporting steering control such that the host vehicle M travels within the current lane by applying a steering torque in a direction opposite to a departure direction among the rightward and leftward directions when the host vehicle M is going to depart from the current lane. As the lane departure prevention control, for example, when the host vehicle M gets close to the marking LM before a distance between the markings LM defining the current lane and the host vehicle M becomes equal to or less than a predetermined distance, the lane keeping support control unit 140 attracts an occupant's attention by causing the steering wheel to vibrate ... In a case that an occupant's operation of the steering wheel is not performed (in a case that the steering angle or the steering torque is less than a threshold value) after the steering wheel has vibrated, the lane keeping support control unit 140 changes the direction of the steerable wheels to the lane center by controlling the steering device 220 and controls the steering such that the host vehicle M returns to the lane center.], [0088], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller shifts to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates the deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite; and
suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle.
Fu teaches a vehicle control device (see [0006]-[0008]) comprising:
a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]); and
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0006]-[0008 "A lane change may be understood to mean a driving maneuver associated with a change of the lane. In particular, the lane change may be intentional and may be signaled by activating a corresponding turn signal."], [0022], [0027 "...then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]),
when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller shifts to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates the deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]), and
wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle control device of Nishiguchi to further shift to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite when the starting condition is established, and to suppress deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi further teaches wherein the deviation suppression controller is shifted to an OFF state when the starting condition is established, and is maintained in the OFF state when the vehicle moves to the adjacent lane after the steering control of the vehicle has been started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane (see Fig. 3, time t3; Fig. 8, step S112; [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]).
Fu additionally teaches wherein the deviation suppression controller is shifted to an OFF state when the starting condition is established, is maintained in the OFF state when the vehicle moves to the adjacent lane after the steering control of the vehicle has been started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane (see [0027 "According to one exemplary embodiment, device 102 is implemented as a component of a lane-keeping assistance system of vehicle 100. If the driver has activated a lane keeping mode of the lane-keeping assistance system, also known as a lane departure prevention system, then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]).
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi further teaches wherein, when the starting condition is not established, the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane with respect to road division lines on both sides of the traveling lane (see Fig. 3, time t1-t2; [0073 "For example, an occupant of the host vehicle M traveling in the lane L1 operates the following travel start switch 21 and the lane keeping start switch 22 at a time point of time t1. When an operation of starting driving support using the following travel start switch 21 and the lane keeping start switch 22 has been received, the driving support control unit 100 executes following travel support control using the following travel support control unit 130 and lane keeping support control using the lane keeping support control unit 140."]-[0074 "The occupant performs a lane changing operation using the winker lever 41 at a time point of time t2."]), and
when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane with respect to the road division line in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane among the road division lines on both sides of the traveling lane (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, step S112; [0058]-[0059 "In a case that the host vehicle M is traveling at a position biased to one lateral side from the center of the current lane, the lane keeping support control unit 140 executes lane departure prevention control. The lane departure prevention control is a driving support control of supporting steering control such that the host vehicle M travels within the current lane by applying a steering torque in a direction opposite to a departure direction among the rightward and leftward directions when the host vehicle M is going to depart from the current lane. As the lane departure prevention control, for example, when the host vehicle M gets close to the marking LM before a distance between the markings LM defining the current lane and the host vehicle M becomes equal to or less than a predetermined distance, the lane keeping support control unit 140 attracts an occupant's attention by causing the steering wheel to vibrate ... In a case that an occupant's operation of the steering wheel is not performed (in a case that the steering angle or the steering torque is less than a threshold value) after the steering wheel has vibrated, the lane keeping support control unit 140 changes the direction of the steerable wheels to the lane center by controlling the steering device 220 and controls the steering such that the host vehicle M returns to the lane center.], [0088], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]).
Fu additionally teaches when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane with respect to the road division line in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane among the road division lines on both sides of the traveling lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0007]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0026 "Accordingly, device 102 may be configured to provide control signal 130 as a function of the detected distance. According to one exemplary embodiment, device 102 provides control signal 130 if the detected distance falls below a predefined minimum distance x, as shown schematically in FIG. 1. Minimum distance x ensures that control signal 130 is provided before vehicle 100 crosses right-hand lane boundary 118. The driver thus has sufficient time to steer vehicle 100 back into the correct direction."]-[0027] and [0030 "Depending on the specific embodiment, in step 204 the control signal is provided if the sensor signal additionally or alternatively represents a change in position indicating a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel, for example in the direction of a lane boundary facing away from the setpoint direction of travel. The control signal is used, for example, to apply to the steering system a steering torque counter to the steering movement or to the movement of the vehicle."]).
Regarding Claim 9
Nishiguchi teaches a vehicle control method (see all Figs., especially Fig. 8; [0007]) of causing a vehicle control device to execute:
processing of performing lane change control of causing a vehicle to autonomously change a lane from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 8, all, especially steps S110-S114; [0007 "...a lane change support control unit configured to execute lane change of a vehicle independently of a steering operation by an occupant of the vehicle by receiving an operation from the occupant of the vehicle; a road information acquiring unit configured to acquire at least a type of a road on which the vehicle is traveling; a lane changeability determining unit configured to determine whether lane change of the vehicle is to be executed by the lane change support control unit..."], [0041], [0114] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]),
starting steering control of the vehicle for causing the vehicle to change lane to the adjacent lane at a timing after a reference time has been elapsed from a timing when a starting condition for the lane change control has been established (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, steps S108-S112; [0074 "The occupant performs a lane changing operation using the winker lever 41 at a time point of time t2."], [0088], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]), and
processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in an opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane, before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane until the reference time has elapsed after shifted to the specific state (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, step S112; [0058]-[0059 "In a case that the host vehicle M is traveling at a position biased to one lateral side from the center of the current lane, the lane keeping support control unit 140 executes lane departure prevention control. The lane departure prevention control is a driving support control of supporting steering control such that the host vehicle M travels within the current lane by applying a steering torque in a direction opposite to a departure direction among the rightward and leftward directions when the host vehicle M is going to depart from the current lane. As the lane departure prevention control, for example, when the host vehicle M gets close to the marking LM before a distance between the markings LM defining the current lane and the host vehicle M becomes equal to or less than a predetermined distance, the lane keeping support control unit 140 attracts an occupant's attention by causing the steering wheel to vibrate ... In a case that an occupant's operation of the steering wheel is not performed (in a case that the steering angle or the steering torque is less than a threshold value) after the steering wheel has vibrated, the lane keeping support control unit 140 changes the direction of the steerable wheels to the lane center by controlling the steering device 220 and controls the steering such that the host vehicle M returns to the lane center.], [0088], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding when the starting condition is established, shifting to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite; and
suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle.
Fu teaches a vehicle control method (see [0006]-[0008]) of causing a vehicle control device to execute:
processing of performing lane change control of causing a vehicle to change a lane from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0006]-[0008 "A lane change may be understood to mean a driving maneuver associated with a change of the lane. In particular, the lane change may be intentional and may be signaled by activating a corresponding turn signal."], [0022], [0027 "...then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]),
when the starting condition is established, shifting to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]), and
processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in an opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Nishiguchi to further shift to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite when the starting condition is established, and to suppress deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Regarding Claim 10
Nishiguchi teaches a computer-readable non-transient storage medium (see all Figs., especially Fig. 8; [0007]) on which program is stored to cause a processor of a vehicle control device to execute:
processing of performing lane change control of causing a vehicle to autonomously change a lane from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 8, all, especially steps S110-S114; [0007 "...a lane change support control unit configured to execute lane change of a vehicle independently of a steering operation by an occupant of the vehicle by receiving an operation from the occupant of the vehicle; a road information acquiring unit configured to acquire at least a type of a road on which the vehicle is traveling; a lane changeability determining unit configured to determine whether lane change of the vehicle is to be executed by the lane change support control unit..."], [0041], [0114] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]),
starting steering control of the vehicle for causing the vehicle to change lane to the adjacent lane at a timing after a reference time has been elapsed from a timing when a starting condition for the lane change control has been established (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, steps S108-S112; [0074 "The occupant performs a lane changing operation using the winker lever 41 at a time point of time t2."], [0088], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]), and
processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in an opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane, before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane until the reference time has elapsed after shifted to the specific state (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, step S112; [0058]-[0059 "In a case that the host vehicle M is traveling at a position biased to one lateral side from the center of the current lane, the lane keeping support control unit 140 executes lane departure prevention control. The lane departure prevention control is a driving support control of supporting steering control such that the host vehicle M travels within the current lane by applying a steering torque in a direction opposite to a departure direction among the rightward and leftward directions when the host vehicle M is going to depart from the current lane. As the lane departure prevention control, for example, when the host vehicle M gets close to the marking LM before a distance between the markings LM defining the current lane and the host vehicle M becomes equal to or less than a predetermined distance, the lane keeping support control unit 140 attracts an occupant's attention by causing the steering wheel to vibrate ... In a case that an occupant's operation of the steering wheel is not performed (in a case that the steering angle or the steering torque is less than a threshold value) after the steering wheel has vibrated, the lane keeping support control unit 140 changes the direction of the steerable wheels to the lane center by controlling the steering device 220 and controls the steering such that the host vehicle M returns to the lane center.], [0088], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding when the starting condition is established, shifting to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite; and
suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle.
Fu teaches a computer-readable non-transient storage medium (see [0006]-[0008]) on which program is stored to cause a processor of a vehicle control device to execute:
processing of performing lane change control of causing a vehicle to change a lane from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0006]-[0008 "A lane change may be understood to mean a driving maneuver associated with a change of the lane. In particular, the lane change may be intentional and may be signaled by activating a corresponding turn signal."], [0022], [0027 "...then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]),
when the starting condition is established, shifting to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]), and
processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in an opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer-readable non-transient storage medium of Nishiguchi to further shift to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite when the starting condition is established, and to suppress deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Regarding Claim 11
Nishiguchi teaches a vehicle control device (see all Figs., especially Fig. 8; [0007]) comprising:
a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels (see Fig. 8, all, especially step S106; [0007 "...a lane keeping support control unit configured to control a steering device such that the vehicle is prevented from departing from a lane on which the vehicle is traveling without depending on the steering operation by the occupant of the vehicle and to continue to perform a lane keeping operation in a case that the lane changeability determining unit determines that lane change of the vehicle is not to be executed on the basis of the type of the road."], [0040], [0058]-[0059], [0114] and [0120]-[0122 "Then, the lane change start determining unit 152 determines whether all of Starting conditions (a) to (d) have been satisfied (Step S104). When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108)."]); and
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to autonomously change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 8, all, especially steps S110-S114; [0007 "...a lane change support control unit configured to execute lane change of a vehicle independently of a steering operation by an occupant of the vehicle by receiving an operation from the occupant of the vehicle; a road information acquiring unit configured to acquire at least a type of a road on which the vehicle is traveling; a lane changeability determining unit configured to determine whether lane change of the vehicle is to be executed by the lane change support control unit..."], [0041], [0114] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]),
wherein the lane change control is a control in which steering control of the vehicle is started for causing the vehicle to change lane to the adjacent lane at a timing after a reference time has been elapsed from a timing when a starting condition for the lane change control has been established (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, steps S108-S112; [0074 "The occupant performs a lane changing operation using the winker lever 41 at a time point of time t2."], [0088], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]), and
wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle contacts a road division line in a direction opposite to a side in which the vehicle makes a lane change before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane until the reference time has elapsed after shifted to the specific state (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, step S112; [0058]-[0059 "In a case that the host vehicle M is traveling at a position biased to one lateral side from the center of the current lane, the lane keeping support control unit 140 executes lane departure prevention control. The lane departure prevention control is a driving support control of supporting steering control such that the host vehicle M travels within the current lane by applying a steering torque in a direction opposite to a departure direction among the rightward and leftward directions when the host vehicle M is going to depart from the current lane. As the lane departure prevention control, for example, when the host vehicle M gets close to the marking LM before a distance between the markings LM defining the current lane and the host vehicle M becomes equal to or less than a predetermined distance, the lane keeping support control unit 140 attracts an occupant's attention by causing the steering wheel to vibrate ... In a case that an occupant's operation of the steering wheel is not performed (in a case that the steering angle or the steering torque is less than a threshold value) after the steering wheel has vibrated, the lane keeping support control unit 140 changes the direction of the steerable wheels to the lane center by controlling the steering device 220 and controls the steering such that the host vehicle M returns to the lane center.], [0088], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller shifts to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates the deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite; and
suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle.
Fu teaches a vehicle control device (see [0006]-[0008]) comprising:
a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]); and
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0006]-[0008 "A lane change may be understood to mean a driving maneuver associated with a change of the lane. In particular, the lane change may be intentional and may be signaled by activating a corresponding turn signal."], [0022], [0027 "...then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]),
when the starting condition is established, the deviation suppression controller shifts to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates the deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]), and
wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle contacts a road division line in a direction opposite to a side in which the vehicle makes a lane change regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle before the steering control of the vehicle is started for lane changing the vehicle to the adjacent lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle control device of Nishiguchi to further shift to a specific state that is a single-sided operation mode which operates deviation suppression of the vehicle only on a road division line in a direction opposite with respect to the adjacent lane and which suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the road division line in the direction opposite when the starting condition is established, and to suppress deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiguchi (as modified by Fu) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishiguchi et al. (US 20190047561 A1 and Nishiguchi2 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi additionally teaches wherein the lane change control is canceled when a predetermined time elapses from a starting time point or the vehicle has moved a predetermined distance (see Fig. 8, steps S116-S118; [0123 "When the operating conditions for lane change have not been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 determines whether a predetermined time Th1 has elapsed (Step S116). When the predetermined time Th1 has not elapsed, the process flow returns to the process of Step S110. When the predetermined time Th1 has elapsed, the automatic lane change support control is cancelled (Step S118). The HMI control unit 160 notifies the occupant that the automatic lane change could not be executed (Step S120)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding the deviation suppression controller becomes an ON state from the OFF state when the lane change control has been canceled after shifted to the OFF state when the starting condition has established.
Nishiguchi2 teaches a vehicle control device (see all Figs.; [0007]-[0014]) comprising:
a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels (see Figs. 4-6, LKAS; [0068 "The lane keeping support controller 208 controls the steering device 320 such that the host lane recognized by the subject vehicle position recognizer 204 is kept. For example, the lane keeping support controller 208 controls steering of the subject vehicle M such that the subject vehicle M travels along the center of the host lane."]-[0070], [0106]-[0109], [0117] and [0122]); and
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to autonomously change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Figs. 4-7, all; [0007 "(1) An aspect of the present invention is a vehicle control system including a lane change intention detector that detects an intention of a lane change by an occupant of a vehicle, a recognizer that recognizes a surrounding situation of the vehicle, and a lane change controller that determines whether the lane change by the vehicle is possible based on the surrounding situation recognized by the recognizer, and changes a lane of the vehicle to another lane, independently of a steering operation of the occupant of the vehicle..."], [0106]-[0117], [0122] and [0131]),
wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane (see [0068 "The lane keeping support controller 208 controls the steering device 320 such that the host lane recognized by the subject vehicle position recognizer 204 is kept. For example, the lane keeping support controller 208 controls steering of the subject vehicle M such that the subject vehicle M travels along the center of the host lane."]-[0070], [0106]-[0109], [0117] and [0122]);
wherein the lane change control is canceled when a predetermined time elapses from a starting time point or the vehicle has moved a predetermined distance (see Fig. 6, time period Tb and t2; Fig. 7, steps S112-S114; [0013]-[0014], [0020]-[0021], [0122 " In this case, at a time point at which the second predetermined time Tb has been exceeded, since the execution of the automatic lane change support control (ALC) is prohibited by the lane change possibility determiner 211, the lane change executor 212 stops the lane change being waited. In this case, the lane change possibility determiner 211 may stop the lane change possibility determination process without execution."] and [0134 "On the other hand, when it is determined that the counted time ΔT exceeds the second predetermined time Tb, the lane change possibility determiner 211 prohibits the execution of the automatic lane change support control (step S114). In this way, the awaited lane change is stopped without execution."]), and
the deviation suppression controller becomes an ON state from the OFF state when the lane change control has been canceled after shifted to the OFF state when the starting condition has established (see Fig. 6, LKAS after time period Tb; [0109 "Furthermore, at the time t1, the functional unit for controlling the steering device 320 by receiving the operation of the winker is switched from the lane keeping support controller 208 to the lane change support controller 210. That is, the control authority of the steering device 320 is changed from the lane keeping support controller 208 to the lane change support controller 210. "], [0117] and [0122 "Furthermore, when the lane change is stopped by the lane change executor 212 (when the automatic lane change support control to be performed is not performed), the lane keeping support controller 208 continues the lane keeping support control."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the vehicle control device of modified Nishiguchi to set the deviation suppression controller to an ON state from the OFF state when the lane change control has been canceled after shifted to the OFF state when the starting condition has established, as taught by Nishiguchi2, in order to continue lane keeping support after an unsuccessful lane change attempt.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiguchi (as modified by Fu) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taniguchi et al. (US 20200130567 A1 and Taniguchi hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi additionally teaches wherein the lane change controller operates a direction indicator and makes a lamp of the direction indicator blink when the lane change control is performed (see Fig. 8, step S100; [0121 "First, the driving support control unit 100 determines whether an occupant's operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S100). When the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received, the road information acquiring unit 151 acquires a type of a road on which the host vehicle is traveling (Step S102)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding when the starting condition is established when the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane as the vehicle moves in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, the blink of the lamp of the direction indicator is stopped.
Fu teaches wherein the lane change controller operates a direction indicator and makes a lamp of the direction indicator blink when the lane change control is performed, (see Fig. 1, turn signal 104; [0006]-[0008], [0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104."]-[0030 "Method 200 begins with a step 202 in which an activation signal, which represents an activation of a turn signal of the vehicle facing toward the setpoint direction of travel..."]), and
when the starting condition is established when the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane as the vehicle moves in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
Taniguchi teaches a vehicle control device (see all Figs.; [0004]-[005]) comprising:
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to autonomously change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see [0004]-[0005]);
wherein the lane change controller operates a direction indicator and makes a lamp of the direction indicator blink when the lane change control is performed (see [0005], [0055], [0060] and [0088]), and
when the starting condition is established regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, the blink of the lamp of the direction indicator is stopped (see [0088 "For example, in the above-described embodiments, during the travel by the automated or autonomous drive control while blinking the direction indicator 20, the control apparatus 100 may turn off the direction indicator 20 when detecting the driver's steering control and determining that the direction of the driver's steering control conflicts with the direction of the lane change by the automated or autonomous drive control. Through this operation, the intention of not changing lanes is indicated to other vehicles traveling around the subject vehicle without forcing the driver to operate the direction indicator 20 to turn off. Examples of the scene in which the driver steers in the opposite direction to the direction of lane change while the direction indicator 20 is blinking include a scene in which the driver determines that the driver should travel straight ahead rather than change lanes."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle control device of Nishiguchi to stop the blink of the lamp of the direction indicator when the starting condition is established when the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane as the vehicle moves in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane, as taught by Fu and Taniguchi, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change and to indicate to other drivers that the vehicle is not yet changing lanes without requiring the occupant to manually turn off the indicator.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656