DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first office action regarding application number 18/908,858, filed on 08 October 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 6
The claim recites "a timing after a reference time has been elapsed from a timing when a starting condition has been established" and "a reference time elapses from a timing when a starting condition of the lane change control was established.". It is unclear whether the second recitation of the "reference time", "timing" and "starting condition" is referring to the same or different elements recited previously. As such, the claim is indefinite because the metes and bounds of the claim is unclear. For the purpose of examination, the second recitation of the elements will be interpreted as referencing the same elements recited previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiguchi (US 20190071099 A1 and Nishiguchi hereinafter), in view of Fu (US 20160180714 A1 and Fu hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Nishiguchi teaches a vehicle control device (see all Figs., especially Fig. 8; [0007]) comprising:
a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels (see Fig. 8, all, especially step S106; [0007 "...a lane keeping support control unit configured to control a steering device such that the vehicle is prevented from departing from a lane on which the vehicle is traveling without depending on the steering operation by the occupant of the vehicle and to continue to perform a lane keeping operation in a case that the lane changeability determining unit determines that lane change of the vehicle is not to be executed on the basis of the type of the road."], [0040], [0114] and [0120]-[0122 "Then, the lane change start determining unit 152 determines whether all of Starting conditions (a) to (d) have been satisfied (Step S104). When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108)."]); and
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to autonomously change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 8, all, especially steps S110-S114; [0007 "...a lane change support control unit configured to execute lane change of a vehicle independently of a steering operation by an occupant of the vehicle by receiving an operation from the occupant of the vehicle; a road information acquiring unit configured to acquire at least a type of a road on which the vehicle is traveling; a lane changeability determining unit configured to determine whether lane change of the vehicle is to be executed by the lane change support control unit..."], [0041], [0114] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]),
wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane after the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 8, all, especially steps S100-S106; [0007 "...a lane keeping support control unit configured to control a steering device such that the vehicle is prevented from departing from a lane on which the vehicle is traveling without depending on the steering operation by the occupant of the vehicle and to continue to perform a lane keeping operation in a case that the lane changeability determining unit determines that lane change of the vehicle is not to be executed on the basis of the type of the road."], [0040], [0114] and [0120]-[0122 "Then, the lane change start determining unit 152 determines whether all of Starting conditions (a) to (d) have been satisfied (Step S104). When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle.
Fu teaches a vehicle control device (see [0006]-[0008]) comprising:
a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]); and
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0006]-[0008 "A lane change may be understood to mean a driving maneuver associated with a change of the lane. In particular, the lane change may be intentional and may be signaled by activating a corresponding turn signal."], [0022], [0027 "...then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]),
wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle after the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle control device of Nishiguchi to further suppress deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Regarding Claim 2
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi additionally teaches wherein the deviation suppression controller is set to an OFF state when the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 3, time t3; Fig. 8, step S112; [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]), and is set to an ON state after the lane change control has been started, regardless of the operation of the occupant in the vehicle (see Fig. 8, all, especially steps S100-S106; [0007] [0040], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding the deviation suppression controller is set to an ON state when the vehicle moves in the opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane.
Fu teaches wherein the deviation suppression controller is set to an OFF state when the lane change control has been started (see [0027 "According to one exemplary embodiment, device 102 is implemented as a component of a lane-keeping assistance system of vehicle 100. If the driver has activated a lane keeping mode of the lane-keeping assistance system, also known as a lane departure prevention system, then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]), and is set to an ON state when the vehicle moves in the opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane after the lane change control has been started, regardless of the operation of the occupant in the vehicle (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014], [0022]-[0027 "If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030 "Depending on the specific embodiment, in step 204 the control signal is provided if the sensor signal additionally or alternatively represents a change in position indicating a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel, for example in the direction of a lane boundary facing away from the setpoint direction of travel. The control signal is used, for example, to apply to the steering system a steering torque counter to the steering movement or to the movement of the vehicle."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle control device of Nishiguchi to further set the suppression controller to an ON state when the vehicle moves in the opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi further teaches wherein the deviation suppression controller is set to an OFF state when the lane change control has been started, and is maintained in the OFF state when the vehicle moves to the adjacent lane after the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 3, time t3; Fig. 8, step S112; [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]).
Fu additionally teaches wherein the deviation suppression controller is set to an OFF state when the lane change control has been started, and is maintained in the OFF state when the vehicle moves to the adjacent lane after the lane change control has been started (see [0027 "According to one exemplary embodiment, device 102 is implemented as a component of a lane-keeping assistance system of vehicle 100. If the driver has activated a lane keeping mode of the lane-keeping assistance system, also known as a lane departure prevention system, then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]).
Regarding Claim 4
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi additionally teaches wherein the deviation suppression controller becomes in the ON state regardless of the operation of the occupant in the vehicle, after the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 8, all, especially steps S100-S106; [0007] [0040], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding the deviation suppression controller becomes in the ON state when the vehicle reaches a road division line in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane.
Fu teaches wherein the deviation suppression controller becomes in the ON state when the vehicle reaches a road division line in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane, regardless of the operation of the occupant in the vehicle, after the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 1, all; [0007]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0026 "Accordingly, device 102 may be configured to provide control signal 130 as a function of the detected distance. According to one exemplary embodiment, device 102 provides control signal 130 if the detected distance falls below a predefined minimum distance x, as shown schematically in FIG. 1. Minimum distance x ensures that control signal 130 is provided before vehicle 100 crosses right-hand lane boundary 118. The driver thus has sufficient time to steer vehicle 100 back into the correct direction."]-[0027] and [0030 "Depending on the specific embodiment, in step 204 the control signal is provided if the sensor signal additionally or alternatively represents a change in position indicating a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel, for example in the direction of a lane boundary facing away from the setpoint direction of travel. The control signal is used, for example, to apply to the steering system a steering torque counter to the steering movement or to the movement of the vehicle."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle control device of Nishiguchi to further set the suppression controller to an ON state when the vehicle reaches a road division line in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi additionally teaches wherein the lane change control is a control in which steering control of the vehicle is started at a timing after a reference time has been elapsed from a timing when a starting condition has been established (see Fig. 3, time t3; Fig. 8, steps S108-S112; [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]), and
the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane until a reference time elapses from a timing when a starting condition of the lane change control was established (see Fig. 3, times t2-t3; Fig. 8, step S112; [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140. The lane change of the host vehicle M is executed by the steering control at a time point of time t3, and the lane change is completed at a time point of time t4. When the lane change has been completed, a control entity is switched to the lane keeping support control unit 140 and lane keeping support control is returned."] and [0122 "When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108). The lane change operation determining unit 153 waits until the waiting time Tw has elapsed, and determines whether the host vehicle M has satisfied the operating conditions for lane change after the waiting time Tw has elapsed (Step S110). When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle has moved in the opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle.
Fu teaches the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle has moved in the opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle control device of Nishiguchi to further suppress deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle has moved in the opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi additionally teaches wherein, when the lane change control is not performed, the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane with respect to road division lines on both sides of the traveling lane (see Fig. 8, all, especially step S106; [0007 "...a lane keeping support control unit configured to control a steering device such that the vehicle is prevented from departing from a lane on which the vehicle is traveling without depending on the steering operation by the occupant of the vehicle and to continue to perform a lane keeping operation in a case that the lane changeability determining unit determines that lane change of the vehicle is not to be executed on the basis of the type of the road."], [0040], [0114 "Between time t2 and time t3, lane keeping support control is continuously executed by the lane keeping support control unit 140."] and [0120]-[0122 "Then, the lane change start determining unit 152 determines whether all of Starting conditions (a) to (d) have been satisfied (Step S104). When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding when the lane change control is performed, the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane with respect to the road division line in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane among the road division lines on both sides of the traveling lane.
Fu teaches when the lane change control is performed, the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane with respect to the road division line in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane among the road division lines on both sides of the traveling lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0007]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0026 "Accordingly, device 102 may be configured to provide control signal 130 as a function of the detected distance. According to one exemplary embodiment, device 102 provides control signal 130 if the detected distance falls below a predefined minimum distance x, as shown schematically in FIG. 1. Minimum distance x ensures that control signal 130 is provided before vehicle 100 crosses right-hand lane boundary 118. The driver thus has sufficient time to steer vehicle 100 back into the correct direction."]-[0027] and [0030 "Depending on the specific embodiment, in step 204 the control signal is provided if the sensor signal additionally or alternatively represents a change in position indicating a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel, for example in the direction of a lane boundary facing away from the setpoint direction of travel. The control signal is used, for example, to apply to the steering system a steering torque counter to the steering movement or to the movement of the vehicle."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle control device of Nishiguchi to further suppress the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane with respect to the road division line in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane among the road division lines on both sides of the traveling lane, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Regarding Claim 9
Nishiguchi teaches a vehicle control method (see all Figs., especially Fig. 8; [0007]) of causing a vehicle control device to execute:
processing of performing lane change control of causing a vehicle to autonomously change a lane from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 8, all, especially steps S110-S114; [0007 "...a lane change support control unit configured to execute lane change of a vehicle independently of a steering operation by an occupant of the vehicle by receiving an operation from the occupant of the vehicle; a road information acquiring unit configured to acquire at least a type of a road on which the vehicle is traveling; a lane changeability determining unit configured to determine whether lane change of the vehicle is to be executed by the lane change support control unit..."], [0041], [0114] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]); and
processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane after the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 8, all, especially steps S100-S106; [0007 "...a lane keeping support control unit configured to control a steering device such that the vehicle is prevented from departing from a lane on which the vehicle is traveling without depending on the steering operation by the occupant of the vehicle and to continue to perform a lane keeping operation in a case that the lane changeability determining unit determines that lane change of the vehicle is not to be executed on the basis of the type of the road."], [0040], [0114] and [0120]-[0122 "Then, the lane change start determining unit 152 determines whether all of Starting conditions (a) to (d) have been satisfied (Step S104). When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in an opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle.
Fu teaches a vehicle control method (see [0006]-[0008]) of causing a vehicle control device to execute:
processing of performing lane change control of causing a vehicle to change a lane from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0006]-[0008 "A lane change may be understood to mean a driving maneuver associated with a change of the lane. In particular, the lane change may be intentional and may be signaled by activating a corresponding turn signal."], [0022], [0027 "...then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]); and
processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in an opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, after the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Nishiguchi to further suppress deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Regarding Claim 10
Nishiguchi teaches a computer-readable non-transient storage medium (see all Figs., especially Fig. 8; [0007]) on which program is stored to cause a processor of a vehicle control device to execute:
processing of performing lane change control of causing a vehicle to autonomously change a lane from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 3, all; Fig. 8, all, especially steps S110-S114; [0007 "...a lane change support control unit configured to execute lane change of a vehicle independently of a steering operation by an occupant of the vehicle by receiving an operation from the occupant of the vehicle; a road information acquiring unit configured to acquire at least a type of a road on which the vehicle is traveling; a lane changeability determining unit configured to determine whether lane change of the vehicle is to be executed by the lane change support control unit..."], [0041], [0114] and [0122 "When the operating conditions for lane change have been satisfied, the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 is stopped and the lane change executing unit 154 starts automatic lane change support control (Step S112). Then, after the automatic lane change has been completed, the lane change executing unit 154 returns to the lane keeping support control by the lane keeping support control unit 140 (Step S114)."]); and
processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane after the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 8, all, especially steps S100-S106; [0007 "...a lane keeping support control unit configured to control a steering device such that the vehicle is prevented from departing from a lane on which the vehicle is traveling without depending on the steering operation by the occupant of the vehicle and to continue to perform a lane keeping operation in a case that the lane changeability determining unit determines that lane change of the vehicle is not to be executed on the basis of the type of the road."], [0040], [0114] and [0120]-[0122 "Then, the lane change start determining unit 152 determines whether all of Starting conditions (a) to (d) have been satisfied (Step S104). When all the starting conditions have been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 maintains lane keeping support control (Step S106) and determines whether a waiting time Tw has elapsed after the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S108)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in an opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle.
Fu teaches a computer-readable non-transient storage medium (see [0006]-[0008]) on which program is stored to cause a processor of a vehicle control device to execute:
processing of performing lane change control of causing a vehicle to change a lane from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Fig. 1, all; [0006]-[0008 "A lane change may be understood to mean a driving maneuver associated with a change of the lane. In particular, the lane change may be intentional and may be signaled by activating a corresponding turn signal."], [0022], [0027 "...then device 102, when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102."] and [0030]); and
processing of suppressing deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in an opposite direction with respect to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, after the lane change control has been started (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the computer-readable non-transient storage medium of Nishiguchi to further suppress deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane when the vehicle moves in a direction opposite to the adjacent lane regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, as taught by Fu, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiguchi (as modified by Fu) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nishiguchi et al. (US 20190047561 A1 and Nishiguchi2 hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi additionally teaches wherein the lane change control is canceled when a predetermined time elapses from a starting time point or the vehicle has moved a predetermined distance (see Fig. 8, steps S116-S118; [0123 "When the operating conditions for lane change have not been satisfied, the lane change operation determining unit 153 determines whether a predetermined time Th1 has elapsed (Step S116). When the predetermined time Th1 has not elapsed, the process flow returns to the process of Step S110. When the predetermined time Th1 has elapsed, the automatic lane change support control is cancelled (Step S118). The HMI control unit 160 notifies the occupant that the automatic lane change could not be executed (Step S120)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding the deviation suppression controller becomes an ON state from an OFF state when the lane change control has been canceled.
Nishiguchi2 teaches a vehicle control device (see all Figs.; [0007]-[0014]) comprising:
a deviation suppression controller configured to suppress deviation of a vehicle from a traveling lane along which the vehicle travels (see Figs. 4-6, LKAS; [0068 "The lane keeping support controller 208 controls the steering device 320 such that the host lane recognized by the subject vehicle position recognizer 204 is kept. For example, the lane keeping support controller 208 controls steering of the subject vehicle M such that the subject vehicle M travels along the center of the host lane."]-[0070], [0106]-[0109], [0117] and [0122]); and
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to autonomously change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see Figs. 4-7, all; [0007 "(1) An aspect of the present invention is a vehicle control system including a lane change intention detector that detects an intention of a lane change by an occupant of a vehicle, a recognizer that recognizes a surrounding situation of the vehicle, and a lane change controller that determines whether the lane change by the vehicle is possible based on the surrounding situation recognized by the recognizer, and changes a lane of the vehicle to another lane, independently of a steering operation of the occupant of the vehicle..."], [0106]-[0117], [0122] and [0131]),
wherein the deviation suppression controller suppresses deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane after the lane change control has been started (see [0068 "The lane keeping support controller 208 controls the steering device 320 such that the host lane recognized by the subject vehicle position recognizer 204 is kept. For example, the lane keeping support controller 208 controls steering of the subject vehicle M such that the subject vehicle M travels along the center of the host lane."]-[0070], [0106]-[0109], [0117] and [0122]);
wherein the lane change control is canceled when a predetermined time elapses from a starting time point or the vehicle has moved a predetermined distance (see Fig. 6, time period Tb and t2; Fig. 7, steps S112-S114; [0013]-[0014], [0020]-[0021], [0122 " In this case, at a time point at which the second predetermined time Tb has been exceeded, since the execution of the automatic lane change support control (ALC) is prohibited by the lane change possibility determiner 211, the lane change executor 212 stops the lane change being waited. In this case, the lane change possibility determiner 211 may stop the lane change possibility determination process without execution."] and [0134 "On the other hand, when it is determined that the counted time ΔT exceeds the second predetermined time Tb, the lane change possibility determiner 211 prohibits the execution of the automatic lane change support control (step S114). In this way, the awaited lane change is stopped without execution."]), and
the deviation suppression controller becomes an ON state from an OFF state when the lane change control has been canceled (see Fig. 6, LKAS after time period Tb; [0109 "Furthermore, at the time t1, the functional unit for controlling the steering device 320 by receiving the operation of the winker is switched from the lane keeping support controller 208 to the lane change support controller 210. That is, the control authority of the steering device 320 is changed from the lane keeping support controller 208 to the lane change support controller 210. "], [0117] and [0122 "Furthermore, when the lane change is stopped by the lane change executor 212 (when the automatic lane change support control to be performed is not performed), the lane keeping support controller 208 continues the lane keeping support control."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the vehicle control device of modified Nishiguchi to set the deviation suppression controller to an ON state from an OFF state when the lane change control has been canceled, as taught by Nishiguchi2, in order to continue lane keeping support after an unsuccessful lane change attempt.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiguchi (as modified by Fu) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Taniguchi et al. (US 20200130567 A1 and Taniguchi hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Nishiguchi teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Nishiguchi additionally teaches wherein the lane change controller operates a direction indicator when the lane change control is performed (see Fig. 8, step S100; [0121 "First, the driving support control unit 100 determines whether an occupant's operation of the winker lever 41 has been received (Step S100). When the operation of the winker lever 41 has been received, the road information acquiring unit 151 acquires a type of a road on which the host vehicle is traveling (Step S102)."]).
Nishiguchi is silent regarding after the lane change control has been started and when the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane as the vehicle moves in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, the operation of the direction indicator is stopped.
Fu teaches wherein the lane change controller operates a direction indicator when the lane change control is performed (see Fig. 1, turn signal 104; [0006]-[0008], [0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104."]-[0030 "Method 200 begins with a step 202 in which an activation signal, which represents an activation of a turn signal of the vehicle facing toward the setpoint direction of travel..."]), and
after the lane change control has been started and when the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane as the vehicle moves in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane, regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle (see Fig. 1, all; [0007 "...providing a control signal for controlling a steering system of the vehicle using the activation signal and the sensor signal if the steering movement is counter to the setpoint direction of travel and/or the change in position represents a movement of the vehicle in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel."]-[0008], [0011], [0013]-[0014 "It is particularly advantageous if, in the step of providing, the control signal is provided when the vehicle falls short of a predefined distance for the lane boundary during the approach. The predefined distance may be, for example, between 1 m and 10 cm. As a result, it is possible to provide the control signal before the vehicle crosses the lane boundary. With the aid of the distance, a tolerance range may also be established, i.e., an area within the lane in which the vehicle may be steered in a direction counter to the setpoint direction of travel without the control signal being provided as a result."], [0022]-[0027 "...when turn signal 104 is activated, enables only that side of lane 106 in which the driver wishes to travel in accordance with the direction indicated by turn signal 104. If the driver indicates to the left and at the same time steers to the left, no lane keeping assist torque, or steering torque M for short, is output by device 102. If, on the other hand, vehicle 100 when indicating to the left travels not to the left but rather to the right, then, as described above, steering torque M will be output since the actual direction of travel does not coincide with the driver's intention."] and [0030]).
Taniguchi teaches a vehicle control device (see all Figs.; [0004]-[005]) comprising:
a lane change controller configured to perform lane change control of causing the vehicle to autonomously change a lane from the traveling lane to a lane adjacent to the traveling lane (see [0004]-[0005]);
wherein the lane change controller operates a direction indicator when the lane change control is performed (see [0005], [0055], [0060] and [0088]), and
after the lane change control has been started regardless of an operation of an occupant in the vehicle, the operation of the direction indicator is stopped (see [0088 "For example, in the above-described embodiments, during the travel by the automated or autonomous drive control while blinking the direction indicator 20, the control apparatus 100 may turn off the direction indicator 20 when detecting the driver's steering control and determining that the direction of the driver's steering control conflicts with the direction of the lane change by the automated or autonomous drive control. Through this operation, the intention of not changing lanes is indicated to other vehicles traveling around the subject vehicle without forcing the driver to operate the direction indicator 20 to turn off. Examples of the scene in which the driver steers in the opposite direction to the direction of lane change while the direction indicator 20 is blinking include a scene in which the driver determines that the driver should travel straight ahead rather than change lanes."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the vehicle control device of Nishiguchi to stop the operation of the direction indicator after the lane change control has been started and when the deviation suppression controller suppresses the deviation of the vehicle from the traveling lane as the vehicle moves in the opposite direction to the adjacent lane, as taught by Fu and Taniguchi, in order to counteract the occupant’s unintentional steering movement during the lane change and to indicate to other drivers that the vehicle is not yet changing lanes without requiring the occupant to manually turn off the indicator.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656 /KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656