DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esmay USPN_4415615.
1. Regarding Claim 20, Esmay discloses a pressure-sensitive adhesive membrane/layer (Abstract; column 1, lines 11-13) comprising voids (corresponds to claimed plurality of window regions); wherein said layer incorporates (corresponds to claimed encasing) a scrim of fibers (corresponds to claimed scrim comprised of grid of fibers) (Example 24); which would inherently be coated with said PSA membrane/layer. Although Esmay does not disclose the claimed apparent density, it does state that the less dense adhesive membranes can provide substantial adhesive thicknesses at very low cost and that greater adhesive thickness is often desirable because this tends to provide greater resistance to peel forces (column 2, lines 3-12). Therefore, the Examiner respectfully submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparent density according to such cost, peeling, and thickness factors that are largely end-user product specific.
Claim(s) 14, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esmay USPN_4415615 in view of Sher USPN_6197397_B1.
2. Regarding Claims 14, 18, 19, Esmay discloses a pressure-sensitive adhesive membrane/layer (Abstract; column 1, lines 11-13) comprising voids (corresponds to claimed plurality of window regions); wherein said layer incorporates (corresponds to claimed encasing) a scrim of fibers (corresponds to claimed scrim comprised of grid of fibers) (Example 24); which would inherently be coated with said PSA membrane/layer.
3. Esmay does not disclose the claimed roughness.
4. Sher discloses adhesive having a given topography (corresponds to roughness) (Title). Sher further discloses that when an adhesion interface is established between the layer of adhesive and a supporting substrate, the topography (corresponds to roughness) of the adhesive surface controls the performance of the adhesion interface (abstract).
5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the topography (corresponds to roughness), of Esmay, by choosing a topography (corresponds to roughness) that helps with the performance of the adhesion, as disclosed by Sher. As such, this would be considered as a result-effective variable known within the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 are allowed. The Examiner was unable to find any reference that teaches and/or suggests the claimed average thickness of the plurality of window regions being less than an average thickness of the grid region.
Claims 15, 16, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 July 26, 2026