DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed October 8, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-16 are now pending in the application.
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16, Lines 2-3: “a the distal tip” should read “the distal tip”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 7, the limitations “a plurality of first complementary passages” and “a plurality of second complementary passages” are recited in lines 13 and 14. It is unclear whether these limitations refer to “a plurality of first passages” and “a plurality of second passages” recited in lines 8 and 10, or to a different plurality of passages. For the purpose of examination, these limitations are being interpreted as “the plurality of first passages” and “the plurality of second passages” respectively.
Claims 8-14 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 7.
Regarding Claim 13, the limitation “the passages of the plurality of complementary passages” is recited in lines 1 and 2. It is unclear whether these “passages” are referring to “the first passages” of claim 8 on which claim 13 depends, or different “passages”. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the first passages”.
Regarding Claim 14, the limitation “the respective notches” is recited in line 1. It is unclear whether this limitation refers to the “first notches” of claim 8 on which claim 14 depends, or a different instance of notches. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as “the first notches”.
Regarding Claim 16, the limitation “a notch” is recited in line 5. It is unclear whether this “a notch” is one of the “notches” recited in line 9 of claim 15, or a separate “notch”. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as a separate “notch”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blanc et al. (US 20120206008 A1, hereafter referred to as Blanc).
Regarding Claim 1, Blanc discloses (see Figures 1 and 3) an electric machine (¶ [0001]: “The invention relates to rotary electric machines”) for powering an electric vehicle (¶ [0002]: “To give a simple physical example, when electric drive motors are to be installed in the wheels of motor vehicles, it is desirable to be able to develop powers of at least 10 kW per motor, and even mostly at least 25 or 30 kW per motor, for the lowest possible weight in order to limit as much as possible the unsuspended weights.”), the electric machine (¶ [0001]) comprising: a rotor assembly (1, ¶ [0033]) configured to rotate relative to a stator (¶ [0033]: “including a stator which is not represented”), the rotor assembly (1, ¶ [0033]) comprising: a rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]); a rotor shaft (2, ¶ [0033]); a first end plate (5, ¶ [0034]) arranged at a first end of the rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]); a second end plate (5’, ¶ [0034]) arranged at a second end of the rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]); and a rod assembly (6, ¶ [0035]) including a plurality of rods (6, ¶ [0035]) integrally formed with the first end plate (5, ¶ [0034]) (¶ [0013]: “the lateral flanges and the tie rods then forming an integral part of the rotor.”), the plurality of rods (6, ¶ [0035]) extending through passages (61, ¶ [0043]) in the rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]) and extending through a plurality of complementary passages (61, ¶ [0043]) defined in the second end plate (5’, ¶ [0034]).
Regarding Claim 7, Blanc discloses (see Figures 1 and 3) an electric machine (¶ [0001]: “The invention relates to rotary electric machines”) for powering an electric vehicle (¶ [0002]: “To give a simple physical example, when electric drive motors are to be installed in the wheels of motor vehicles, it is desirable to be able to develop powers of at least 10 kW per motor, and even mostly at least 25 or 30 kW per motor, for the lowest possible weight in order to limit as much as possible the unsuspended weights.”), the electric machine (¶ [0001]) comprising: a rotor assembly (1, ¶ [0033]) configured to rotate relative to a stator (¶ [0033]: “including a stator which is not represented”), the rotor assembly (1, ¶ [0033]) comprising: a rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]); a rotor shaft (2, ¶ [0033]); a first end plate arranged at a first end of the rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]), the first end plate (5, ¶ [0034]) defining a plurality of first passages (61, ¶ [0043]); a second end plate (5’, ¶ [0034]) arranged at a second end of the rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]), the second end plate defining a plurality of second passages (61, ¶ [0043]); and a rod assembly (6, ¶ [0035]) including a plurality of rods (6, ¶ [0035]) extending through passages in the rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]) and having first ends extending through a plurality of first complementary passages (61, ¶ [0043]) defined in the first end plate (5, ¶ [0034]) and second ends extending through a plurality of second complementary passages (61, ¶ [0043]) defined in the second end plate (5’, ¶ [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanc as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Aktiengesellschaft et al. (GB 231462 A, hereafter referred to as Aktiengesellschaft).
Regarding Claim 2/1, Blanc has been discussed above.
Blanc does not disclose that rods of the plurality of rods each define notches at distal ends that locate at the plurality of complementary passages in the second end plate.
However, Aktiengesellschaft, in the same field of technology, does disclose that rods (d, C2L80) of the plurality of rods (d, C2L80) each define notches (f, C2L78) at distal ends that locate at the plurality of complementary passages (C2L73-75) in the second end plate (c, C2L74).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc such that rods of the plurality of rods each define notches at distal ends that locate at the plurality of complementary passages in the second end plate, as disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Regarding Claim 3/2/1, Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft has been discussed above.
Additionally, Aktiengesellschaft further discloses that the plurality of rods (d, C2L80) are pressed into the plurality of complementary passages (C2L73-75) in the second end plate (c, C2L74) (explanation in C2L80-90, the outer sides of the rods are pressed into the holes at each end of the rings).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft such that the plurality of rods are pressed into the plurality of complementary passages in the second end plate, as further disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Regarding Claim 5/2/1, Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft has been discussed above.
Additionally, Blanc discloses (see Figures 1 and 3 above) that the passages (61, ¶ [0043]) of the plurality of complementary passages (61, ¶ [0043]) defined in the second end plate (5’, ¶ [0034]) define one of circular and elongated holes.
Regarding Claim 6/5/2/1, Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft has been discussed above.
Additionally, Aktiengesellschaft further discloses that the respective notches (f, C2L78) of the plurality of rods (d, C2L80) locate at the one of circular and elongated holes.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft such that the respective notches of the plurality of rods locate at the one of circular and elongated holes, as further disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanc as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paul et al. (DE 102012110157 A1, hereafter referred to as Paul).
Regarding Claim 4/1, Blanc has been discussed above.
Blanc does not explicitly disclose that the first end plate and the rod assembly are formed of a common material.
However, Paul, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 10) that the first end plate (11, Page 7, ¶ 6) and the rod assembly (26, Page 9, ¶ 6) are formed of a common material (Page 3, ¶ 1: “The end plates can be made in one piece with the centering collar, and for example, the end plates can be made of a steel material.”) (Page 5, ¶ 4: “According to yet another embodiment can be performed in a mutually parallel arrangement through the mounting holes in the lamination stack and finally through the through holes in the end plates both made of, for example, aluminum or copper, for example short-circuit rods and, for example, made of steel tie rods.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc such that the first end plate and the rod assembly are formed of a common material, as disclosed by Paul, in order to improve resistance against mechanical stress while the rotor is in operation (Page 5, ¶ 3: “For example, the tie rods designed as screw elements can be passed through holes or through a central hole in a first end plate and screwed into the second end plate. The tie rods, which are not guided through individual receiving bores in the material of the lamination stack and which pass freely through the inner passage of the lamination stack, merely serve the function of mechanical tension, and additional short-circuiting rods can be provided which are guided through receiving bores in the lamination set, which however do not have to withstand mechanical stress.”).
Claims 8-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanc as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Aktiengesellschaft et al. (GB 231462 A, hereafter referred to as Aktiengesellschaft).
Regarding Claim 8/7, Blanc has been discussed above.
Blanc does not disclose that rods of the plurality of rods each define first notches at first distal ends that locate at the plurality of first passages in the first end plate.
However, Aktiengesellschaft, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1-3) that rods (d, C2L80) of the plurality of rods (d, C2L80) each define first notches (f, C2L78) at first distal ends that locate at the plurality of first passages (C2L73-75) in the first end plate (c, C2L74).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc such that rods of the plurality of rods each define first notches at first distal ends that locate at the plurality of first passages in the first end plate, as disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Regarding Claim 9/8/7, Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft has been discussed above.
Additionally, Aktiengesellschaft further discloses that rods (d, C2L80) of the plurality of rods (d, C2L80) each define second notches (f, C2L78) at second distal ends that locate at the plurality of second passages (C2L73-75) in the second end plate (c, C2L74) (see Figure 1 above, each notched rod has notches on both distal ends, and each notched distal end passes through a passage in both end plates).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc such that rods of the plurality of rods each define second notches at second distal ends that locate at the plurality of second passages in the second end plate, as further disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Regarding Claim 10/9/8/7, Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft has been discussed above.
Additionally, Aktiengesellschaft further discloses that the plurality of rods (d, C2L80) are pressed into the plurality of first passages (C2L73-75) in the first end plate (c, C2L74) (explanation in C2L80-90, the outer sides of the rods on both are pressed into the holes at each end of the rings).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc such that the plurality of rods are pressed into the plurality of first passages in the first end plate, as further disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Regarding Claim 11/10/9/8/7, Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft has been discussed above.
Additionally, Aktiengesellschaft further discloses (see Figures 1-3 above) that the plurality of rods (d, C2L80) are pressed into the plurality of second passages (C2L73-75) in the second end plate (c, C2L74) (explanation in C2L80-90, the outer sides of the rods on both are pressed into the holes at each end of the rings).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc such that the plurality of rods are pressed into the plurality of second passages in the second end plate, as further disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Regarding Claim 13/8/7, Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft has been discussed above.
Additionally, Blanc discloses that the passages (61, ¶ [0043]) of the plurality of complementary passages (61, ¶ [0043]) defined in the first end plate (5, ¶ [0034]) define one of circular and elongated holes (see Figures 1 and 3 above).
Regarding Claim 14/13/8/7, Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft has been discussed above.
Additionally, Aktiengesellschaft further discloses that the respective notches (f, C2L78) of the plurality of rods (d, C2L80) locate at one of the circular and elongated holes (see Figures 1-3 above).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc such that the respective notches of the plurality of rods locate at one of the circular and elongated holes, as further disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanc as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Lang et al. (DE 102022125808 A1, hereafter referred to as Lang).
Regarding Claim 12/7, Blanc has been discussed above.
Blanc does not explicitly disclose that the first end plate and the rod assembly are formed of distinct materials.
However, Lang, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 4-5) that the first end plate (14, Page 5, ¶ 5) and the rod assembly (17, Page 5, ¶ 6) are formed of distinct materials (Page 3, ¶ 2: “The end disks can be made of a metal, for example.”) (Page 5, ¶ 6: “The tie rods 17 can be made of plastic, for example.”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the electric machine disclosed by Blanc such that the first end plate and the rod assembly are formed of distinct materials, as disclosed by Lang, in order to electrically insulate the rod assembly from the rotor (Page 2, ¶ 7: “The tie rods are made of an electrically insulating material, for example plastic, or are provided with electrical insulation towards the laminated core.”).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanc et al. (US 20120206008 A1, hereafter referred to as Blanc) in view of Aktiengesellschaft et al. (GB 231462 A, hereafter referred to as Aktiengesellschaft).
Regarding Claim 15, Blanc discloses (see Figures 1 and 3) a method of assembling a rotor assembly (1, ¶ [0033]) configured to rotate relative to a stator (¶ [0033]: “including a stator which is not represented”), the method comprising: providing a rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]), a rotor shaft (2, ¶ [0033]), a first end plate (5, ¶ [0034]) arranged at a first end of the rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]), a second end plate (5’, ¶ [0034]) arranged at a second end of the rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]), and a rod assembly (6, ¶ [0035]) including a plurality of rods (6, ¶ [0035]) integrally formed (¶ [0013]: “the lateral flanges and the tie rods then forming an integral part of the rotor.”) with the first end plate (5, ¶ [0034]); and inserting the plurality of rods (6, ¶ [0035]) through passages (61, ¶ [0043]) in the rotor stack (3, ¶ [0033]) and extending distal ends of the rods (6, ¶ [0035]) through a plurality of complementary passages (61, ¶ [0043]) defined in the second plate (5’, ¶ [0034]).
Blanc does not explicitly disclose that the rods each define notches at distal ends that locate at the plurality of complementary passages, wherein the distal ends of the rods are pressed into the plurality of complementary passages.
However, Aktiengesellschaft, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figures 1-3) that the rods (d, C2L80) each define notches (f, C2L78) at distal ends that locate at the plurality of complementary passages (C2L73-75), wherein the distal ends of the rods (d, C2L80) are pressed into the plurality of complementary passages (C2L73-75) (explanation in C2L80-90, the outer sides of the rods on both are pressed into the holes at each end of the rings).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Blanc such that the rods each define notches at distal ends that locate at the plurality of complementary passages, wherein the distal ends of the rods are pressed into the plurality of complementary passages, as disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Regarding Claim 16/15, Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft has been discussed above.
Additionally, Blanc discloses (see Annotated Figure 1) a notch defined in the second plate (5’, ¶ [0034]).
Additionally, Aktiengesellschaft further discloses inserting the plurality of rods (d, C2L80) through passages (C2L73-75) comprises inserting a distal tip of a respective rod (d, C2L80) causing a the distal tip to deform inward upon passing through the respective passage (C2L73-75) and subsequently releasing outward after passing through the passage (C2L73-75) and aligning with a notch defined in the second plate (c, C2L74) (see Figure 3, and explanation in C2L80-90: “This is brought about by driving a punch which is stronger than the rivet into the bore e of the rivet thereby upsetting it. The upsetting, besides forming the rivet-head simultaneously deforms the hollow shank so that the latter tightly engages the wall of the hole with its whole circumference and along the whole of its length in the manner indicated in Fig. 3,”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method disclosed by Blanc in view of Aktiengesellschaft such that inserting the plurality of rods through passages comprises inserting a distal tip of a respective rod causing a the distal tip to deform inward upon passing through the respective passage and subsequently releasing outward after passing through the passage and aligning with a notch defined in the second plate, as further disclosed by Aktiengesellschaft, in order to simply and effectively provide a firm mechanical connection between the bar and the end ring (C1L10-17).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wurster et al. (US 20220352793 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-2.
Fukumoto et al. (DE 102019208099 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-10.
Conclusion
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834