DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 8-20 have been cancelled in the reply filed on 07/13/2026 withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: there is an extra spacing between “actual” and “lanthanide”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zeng et al. (CN 109097039).
Citations to Zeng et al. refer to the machine translation document included with this office action.
Regarding claims 1-3, Zeng et al. discloses KPb2Br5 perovksite crystalline material in nanoparticle form. (Abstract, Fig. 1 of original document and Example 1, page 6), which satisfies the formula of claim 1 where X is Br.
Zeng et al. does not explicitly disclose that the crystalline material is stable at ambient relative humidity conditions. However, given that the crystal is compositionally identical to the KPb2X5 as claimed, the Examiner has a reasonable basis to believe that the properties claimed in the present invention is inherent in the crystalline material of Zeng et al. such that it would meet the limitation of being “stable” at ambient relative humidity conditions. Because the PTO has no means to conduct analytical experiments, the burden of proof is shifted to the Applicants to prove that the properties are not inherent. See In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980); In re Best, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995).
Regarding claim 4, example 1 of Zeng et al. discloses particle diameters of 25-35 nm, lying within the presently claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (CN 109097039) in view of Hyde et al. (U.S. App. Pub. No. 2014/0194808).
Zeng et al. is relied upon as described in the rejection of claim 1, above.
Regarding claim 5, Zeng et al. does not disclose that the crystalline material includes a lanthanide dopant.
Hyde et al. teaches that light emitting compositions including KPb2Cl5 crystal can be doped with Nd3+ for providing upconversion of energy. (par. [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include Nd3+, a lanthanide, as a dopant material in the crystalline material taught by Zeng et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to include Nd3+ as a dopant material in order to form a material that has the capability of upconverting light sources to change the wavelength of the light emitted by the light emitting crystalline composition of Zeng et al.
Regarding claim 6, Hyde et al. teaches that the lanthanide may be Nd3+. (par. [0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Zeng in view of Hyde et al. does not disclose the specific content of the lanthanide dopant. However, "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05 (II). Given that the dopant material is known in the art to be included in the lattice of the KPb2Cl5 crystals, it would have been a matter of routine optimization to one of ordinary skill in the art to find a optimal concentration or content of the dopant that may be incorporated into the crystalline lattice of KPb2Cl5 to provide the upconversion effects. Therefore, in the absence of evidence of criticality of the presently claimed range, the specific amount of dopant in the KPb2Cl5 crystal is not considered to confer patentability to the present claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 09/15/2026