DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-22 are pending. Claims 1 and 2 have minor amendments. The rejections are maintained, with arguments below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 12-18, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dikjsman (US 2007/0145643) in view Modderman (US 2006/0132733), and Shibazaki (US 2010/0296068).
Regarding claim 1, Dikjsman discloses a method of operating a lithographic apparatus ([0004]), comprising: performing an exposure operation on a first substrate disposed underneath a projection system configured to provide exposure radiation for patterning the first substrate ([0027-28], Fig. 1c), wherein a first stage is configured to support the first substrate (first stage with a first substrate of a dual stage or multistage system, [0046]); and the second stage is configured to support a second substrate that is to be patterned (second stage with a second substrate of a dual stage or multistage system, [0046]); and wherein the third stage is configured to accommodate a component that includes at least one of a sensor and a cleaning device (device performing a measurement on a stage at a first location, [0046]; such as comparison of alignment marks by alignment apparatus constitutes inclusion of a sensor, [0063]);.
Dikjsman teaches a method substantially as claimed. Dikjsman does not disclose how each of the first stage, the second stage, and the third stage are moved in a dual stage or multi stage system. Dikjsman does not disclose performing a post-exposure scrum sweep operation, and starting a pre-exposure scrum sweep operation after starting a substrate exchange operation; wherein during the post-exposure scrum sweep operation, the first stage moves away from underneath the projection system while a third stage moves to underneath the projection system, wherein during the pre-exposure scrum sweep operation, the third stage moves away from underneath the projection system while a second stage moves to underneath the projection system, and the second stage is configured to support a second substrate that is to be patterned; wherein during the substrate exchange operation, the first substrate is unloaded from the first stage
However, in the same field of endeavor of imprint lithography, Modderman teaches wherein during the substrate exchange operation, the first substrate is unloaded from the first stage (act of loading/unloading by load/unload robot, Modderman [0052]).
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of lithography, Shibazaki teaches performing a post-exposure scrum sweep operation ([0212-13]), and starting a pre-exposure scrum sweep operation after starting a substrate exchange operation ([0212-13]); wherein during the post-exposure scrum sweep operation the first stage moves away from underneath the projection system while a third stage moves to underneath the projection system ([0212-13]), wherein during the pre-exposure scrum sweep operation, the third stage moves away from underneath the projection system while a second stage moves to underneath the projection system ([0212-13]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified method of Dikjsman to include the positioning system PW and positioning system 22, 23 of Modderman in order to have a way to move the stages so as to be able to perform the lithography as taught by [0046] of Dikjsman.
It further would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Dikjsman in view of Modderman to arrange to perform a post-exposure scrum sweep operation, and starting a pre-exposure scrum sweep operation after starting a substrate exchange operation; wherein during the post-exposure scrum sweep operation, the first stage moves away from underneath the projection system while a third stage moves to underneath the projection system, wherein during the pre-exposure scrum sweep operation, the third stage moves away from underneath the projection system while a second stage moves to underneath the projection system because [0054] of Modderman teaches confining immersion liquid during substrate exchange to prevent leaks and Shibazaki teaches a scrum sweep operation to move immersion liquid where it is needed for exposure, which would be with the first substrate stage, as taught by [0213] of Shibazaki.
Regarding claim 2, Dikjsman discloses A lithographic apparatus ([0004]) comprising: a projection system configured to provide an exposure radiation for patterning a substrate ([0028], Fig. 1c); a first stage configured to support a first substrate that is to be patterned (first stage with a first substrate of a dual stage or multistage system, [0046]); a second stage configured to support a second substrate that is to be patterned (second stage with a second substrate of a dual stage or multistage system, [0046]); a third stage accommodating a component that includes at least one of a sensor and a cleaning device (device performing a measurement on a stage at a first location, [0046]; such as comparison of alignment marks by alignment apparatus constitutes inclusion of a sensor, [0063]); wherein the control system is configured to: perform an exposure operation on the first substrate ([0028], Fig. 1c)).
Dikjsman teaches a method substantially as claimed. Dikjsman does not disclose how each of the first stage, the second stage, and the third stage are moved in a dual stage or multi stage system. Dikjsman does not disclose a substrate unloader configured to unload the first substrate from the first stage during a substrate exchange operation; and a control system configured to control positioning of the first stage, the second stage, the third stage and the substrate unloader, wherein the control system is configured to: perform a post-exposure scrum sweep operation, start a pre-exposure scrum sweep operation after starting the substrate exchange operation, during the post-exposure scrum sweep operation, move the first stage away from underneath the projection system while moving the third stage to underneath the projection system, and during the pre-exposure scrum sweep operation, move the third stage away from underneath the projection system while moving the second stage to underneath the projection system.
However, in the same field of endeavor of imprint lithography, Modderman teaches a substrate unloader configured to unload the first substrate from the first stage during a substrate exchange operation (act of loading/unloading by load/unload robot, Modderman [0052]); and a control system configured to control positioning of the first stage, the second stage, the third stage and the substrate unloader (Figs. 6-7; WT1 and WT2 move relative to that supporting structure; positioning system PW configured to control position of WT1 and WT2; therefore independent, [0053], Figs. 6-7; third table 21 also moves independently, [0058]; movement of the load/unload robot, [0052])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the imprint apparatus of Dikjsman, to include the positioning system PW and positioning system 22, 23 of Modderman in order to have a way to move the stages so as to be able to perform the lithography as taught by [0046] of Dikjsman.
Additionally, in the same field of endeavor of lithography, Shibazaki teaches wherein the control system is configured to: perform a post-exposure scrum sweep operation ([0212-13]), start a pre-exposure scrum sweep operation after starting the substrate exchange operation ([0212-13]), during the post-exposure scrum sweep operation, move the first stage away from underneath the projection system while moving the third stage to underneath the projection system ([0212-13]), and during the pre-exposure scrum sweep operation, move the third stage away from underneath the projection system while moving the second stage to underneath the projection system ([0212-13]).
It further would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control system of Dikjsman in view of Modderman to perform a post-exposure scrum sweep operation, start a pre-exposure scrum sweep operation after starting the substrate exchange operation, during the post-exposure scrum sweep operation, move the first stage away from underneath the projection system while moving the third stage to underneath the projection system, and during the pre-exposure scrum sweep operation, move the third stage away from underneath the projection system while moving the second stage to underneath the projection system because [0054] of Modderman teaches confining immersion liquid during substrate exchange to prevent leaks and Shibazaki teaches a scrum sweep operation to move immersion liquid where it is needed for exposure, which would be with the first substrate stage, as taught by [0213] of Shibazaki.
Regarding claim 3, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein during the pre-exposure scrum sweep operation, the second stage and the third stage are configured to perform patterning device alignment (alignment performed by alignment apparatus, [0063]).
Regarding claim 8, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein the component includes the sensor that is arranged to measure an aberration of the projection system (misalignment by comparing alignment marks, Dikjsman [0063]).
Regarding claim 9, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein the component includes the sensor that is arranged to measure an aberration of the projection system (misalignment by comparing alignment marks, Dikjsman [0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein the control system is further configured to control the first stage, the second stage and the substrate unloader so as to swap the locations of the first stage and the second stage before starting the substrate exchange operation (as modified, Modderman [0053-56]; Shibazaki [0212-13]).
Regarding claim 13, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein the control system is further configured to control the first stage, the second stage and the substrate unloader so as to swap the locations of the first stage and the second stage before starting the substrate exchange operation (as modified, Modderman [0053-56]; Shibazaki [0212-13]).
Regarding claim 14, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein the control system is further configured to control the third stage to be located underneath or in the proximity of the projection system when starting the substrate exchange operation (as modified, this is how the components are located, Modderman [0053] [0058]; Shibazaki [0212-13]).
Regarding claim 15, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein the control system is further configured to control the third stage to be located underneath or in the proximity of the projection system when starting the substrate exchange operation (as modified, this is how the components are located, Modderman [0053] [0058]; Shibazaki [0212-13]).
Regarding claim 16, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein the lithographic apparatus further comprises a liquid handling system configured to supply and confine immersion liquid to a space defined between the projection system and at least one of the first substrate, the second substrate, the first stage, the second stage and the third stage (as modified, confined as taught by [0054] of Modderman during the exchange, as taught by [0213] of Shibazaki).
Regarding claim 17, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein the lithographic apparatus further comprises a liquid handling system configured to supply and confine immersion liquid to a space defined between the projection system and at least one of the first substrate, the second substrate, the first stage, the second stage and the third stage (as modified, confined as taught by [0054] of Modderman during the exchange, as taught by [0213] of Shibazaki).
Regarding claims 18 and 21, parent claim 2 recites “at least one of a sensor and a cleaning device.” As noted above regarding claim 2, Dikjsman as modified includes a sensor. Accordingly, claim 18’s recitation “whereing the cleaning device is configured to clean the liquid handling system further modifies the cleaning device of claim 2 but is not required because it is recited in the alternative. Accordingly, claim 18 is obvious over Dikjsman as modified.
Claim 10-11 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dikjsman (US 2007/0145643) in view Modderman (US 2006/0132733), and Shibazaki (US 2010/0296068) as applied to claims 8-9 and 16 above, respectively, and further in view of Dikjsman ‘827 (US 2008/0003827).
Regarding claim 10, Dikjsman as modified by Modderman and Shibazaki teaches an apparatus substantially as claimed. Dikjsman as modified by Modderman and Shibazaki does not teach wherein the control system is further configured to predict a distortion of the patterning or a change in the aberration of the projection system.
However, in the same field of endeavor of imprint lithography ([0006]), Dikjsman ‘827 teaches wherein the control system is further configured to predict a distortion of the patterning or a change in the aberration of the projection system (computer 140 detects contamination of nozzle plate 118 [0065]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the imprint apparatus of Dikjsman, to monitor the contamination level and determine that the system is aberrant and should be cleaned because [0064] of Dikjsman ‘827 teaches that contamination can lead to incorrect deposition and [0065] teaches montoring for this and cleaning when appropriate.
Regarding claim 11, Dikjsman as modified by Modderman and Shibazaki teaches an apparatus substantially as claimed. Dikjsman as modified by Modderman and Shibazaki does not wherein the control system is further configured to predict a distortion of the patterning or a change in the aberration of the projection system.
However, in the same field of endeavor of imprint lithography ([0006]), Dikjsman ‘827 teaches wherein the control system is further configured to predict a distortion of the patterning or a change in the aberration of the projection system (computer 140 detects contamination of nozzle plate 118 [0065]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the imprint apparatus of Dikjsman, to monitor the contamination level and determine that the system is aberrant and should be cleaned because [0064] of Dikjsman ‘827 teaches that contamination can lead to incorrect deposition and [0065] teaches montoring for this and cleaning when appropriate.
Regarding claim 22, Dikjsman as modified teaches an apparatus substantially as claimed. Dikjsman does not disclose wherein the liquid handling system comprises an actuatable flow plate configured to be independently position-controlled with respect to the projection system and with respect to the first stage, the second stage and the third stage; and wherein the control system is configured to control a position of the actuatable flow plate as a function of relative position, velocity and/or acceleration of one of the first stage, the second stage and the third stage with respect to die projection system.
However, in the same field of endeavor of imprint lithography ([0006]), Dikjsman ‘827 teaches wherein the liquid handling system comprises an actuatable flow plate (piezo-electric actuator for pump chamber 110, [0053]) configured to be independently position-controlled with respect to the projection system and with respect to the first stage, the second stage and the third stage (relative movement, [0050]); and wherein the control system is configured to control a position of the actuatable flow plate as a function of relative position, velocity and/or acceleration of one of the first stage, the second stage and the third stage with respect to die projection system ([0050]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the imprint apparatus of Dikjsman to have a piezo-electric actuator for a pump chamber because [0053] of Dikjsman ‘827 teaches that this is a predictable way to dispense a liquid for imprint lithography and to control it with the positioning system of Modderman based on [0053] and [0058] of Modderman.
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dikjsman (US 2007/0145643) in view Modderman (US 2006/0132733), and Shibazaki (US 2010/0296068) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Dikjsman ‘827 (US 2008/0003827) or Petrus De Jong (US 2010/0097587).
Regarding claim 19, Dikjsman as modified by Modderman and Shibazaki teaches an apparatus substantially as claimed. Dikjsman as modified by Modderman and Shibazaki does not teach wherein the component includes the sensor, wherein the sensor comprises a monitoring device configured to monitor a contamination level of the liquid handling system.
However, in the same field of endeavor of imprint lithography ([0006]), Dikjsman ‘827 teaches wherein the component includes the sensor (computer 140 detects contamination of nozzle plate 118 [0065]), wherein the sensor comprises a monitoring device configured to monitor a contamination level of the liquid handling system (detection by computer 140 of contamination of nozzle plate 118, [0065]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the imprint apparatus of Dikjsman, to monitor the contamination to clean automatically like the cleaning apparatus of Dikjsman ‘827 because the cleaning apparatus remedies contamination that can lead to incorrect deposition of resin as taught by [0064] of Dikjsman ‘827. Computer 140’s ability to detect contamination entails a sensor (Dikjsman ‘827 [0065]) to determine when that cleaning is appropriate.
Separately, in the same field of endeavor of imprint lithography ([0145]), Petrus De Jong teaches wherein the component includes the sensor (sensor measures and detects clear residues, [0115]), wherein the sensor comprises a monitoring device configured to monitor a contamination level of the liquid handling system (measures clear residues to determine cleaning was effective (contamination was removed, [0115]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the imprint apparatus of Dikjsman, to monitor the contamination because [0115] of Petrus De Jong teaches to do so to determine cleaning effectiveness.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dikjsman (US 2007/0145643) in view Modderman (US 2006/0132733), and Shibazaki (US 2010/0296068) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Petrus De Jong (US 2010/0097587).
Regarding claim 20, Dikjsman as modified teaches wherein one of the first stage and the second stage is configured to support a dummy substrate configured to oppose the liquid handling system (no exclusion that a substrate is a dummy substrate). Dikjsman does not teachwherein one of the first stage and the second stage is configured to support a dummy substrate configured to oppose the liquid handling system so that a cleaning can be performed using a cleaning liquid.
However, in the same field of endeavor of imprint lithography ([0145]), Petrus de Jong teaches wherein one of the first stage and the second stage is configured to support a dummy substrate configured to oppose the liquid handling system so that a cleaning can be performed using a cleaning liquid ([0064-65]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the imprint apparatus of Dikjsman, to support a dummy substrate on the first stage or the second stage as part of a solution preventing a drying stain as taught by [0064] of Petrus De Jong.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 and 21 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-9 and 11-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,167. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each and every element of those claims are taught by the cited claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,147,167.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding double patenting, Applicant does not make any argument and accordingly has not presented a persuasive argument.
Applicant argues that Dikjsman does not teach “the third stage is configured to accommodate a component that includes at least one of a sensor and a cleaning device.” This argument is not persuasive because claim 1 does not recite any details of the third stage. Accordingly, any structure that accommodates at least one of a sensor and a cleaning device constitutes a third stage as recited. Accordingly, the device performing a measurement on a stage at a first location, such as comparison of alignment marks by an alignment apparatus that includes a sensor, is supported by a third stage as recited.
Applicant argues that Shibazaki does not teach some of the scrum sweep timing limitations of claim 1. This argument is not persuasive because [0212] of Shibazaki teaches synchronized movement and [0213] of Shibazaki teaches a scrum sweep operation. Details of timing are implicit in the teaching of a scrum sweep. The control apparatus 9 of Shibazaki teaches moving the measurement stage (third stage) and the first stage, one operation with the measurement in the ready position, another with the first stage. This operation and its timing is within the scope of the claims.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s last argument argues that Modderman does not teach the recited pre-exposure scrum sweep operation and its timing. This argument is not persuasive because Shibazaki is cited for the timing of the scrum sweep operations. Modderman teaches the exchange of the substrate. To be able to do this, it is without being immersed in liquid, hence the timing with the scrum sweep operation as taught by Shibazaki.
Applicant’s remaining arguments are in parallel regarding claim 2 and derivative of these arguments for dependent claims, and are similarly unpersuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action (changes limited to the amendments made to claims 1 and 2). Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744 /XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744