DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-20 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20, has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On pages 6-7 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Mammoto and Zribi does not teach the claimed invention because Zribi describes emitting light at a reference orientation and then detecting light and detecting a change in the orientation of the detected light compared to the reference orientation, not that the emitted light and the detected light are both at the same polarity.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, as discussed in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 02/25/2026, the rejection relied upon Mammoto to already disclose a light sensor (Mammoto: FIG. 2 the light-receiving unit 30) to detect a reflection of the beam of light at the polarity of interest, the reflection created when the beam of light reflects off a smoke particle (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction).
Further Zribi discloses wherein the polarity of interest is based on an angle of incidence of the reflection (Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0041]-[0043], and FIG. 2 the detectors 212a-212d: The detector 212a may substantially be located within a direct line of sight of light emitted by the light source 206. The detectors 212b, 212c, and 212d may be located at an angle with respect to an axis associated with the line of sight. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, detector 212b is at an angle of 50 degrees, detector 212c is at an angle of 30 degrees, and detector 212d is at an angle of 70 degrees).
As in Zribi’s teaching each of the detectors is arranged at a predetermined angle to determine a presence of particles (e.g. [0040]-[0041] and FIG. 2: The detectors 212b, 212c, and 212d may be used in connection with a scattering mode of operation. The scattering mode of operation may be based on a deflection or deviation of light from the straight-line path between the light source 206 and the detector 212a due to the presence of one or more particles in the path. The efficiency of the scattering may be a function of the wavelength of the light emitted by the light source).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Mammoto and Zribi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement fire detector of Mammoto to include wherein the polarity of interest is based on an angle of incidence of the reflection, as suggested by Zribi. The motivation for this is to effectively detect a smoke condition of a smoke sensor.
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammoto et al. (Mammoto – US 2013/0008787 A1) in view of Zribi et al. (Zribi – US 2017/0178481 A1).
As to claim 1, Mammoto discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a light source (Mammoto: FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28) in a smoke detector to emit a beam of light at a polarity of interest (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28); and
a light sensor (Mammoto: FIG. 2 the light-receiving unit 30) to detect a reflection of the beam of light at the polarity of interest, the reflection created when the beam of light reflects off a smoke particle (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction).
Mammoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the polarity of interest is based on an angle of incidence of the reflection.
However, it has been known in the art of smoke sensor to implement wherein the polarity of interest is based on an angle of incidence of the reflection, as suggested by Zribi, which discloses wherein the polarity of interest is based on an angle of incidence of the reflection (Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0041]-[0043], and FIG. 2 the detectors 212a-212d: The detector 212a may substantially be located within a direct line of sight of light emitted by the light source 206. The detectors 212b, 212c, and 212d may be located at an angle with respect to an axis associated with the line of sight. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, detector 212b is at an angle of 50 degrees, detector 212c is at an angle of 30 degrees, and detector 212d is at an angle of 70 degrees).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Mammoto and Zribi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement fire detector of Mammoto to include wherein the polarity of interest is based on an angle of incidence of the reflection, as suggested by Zribi. The motivation for this is to effectively detect a smoke condition of a smoke sensor.
As to claim 2, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light source includes at least one of a wave plate, a light pipe (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction), or a filter to polarize the beam of light to the polarity of interest (Zribi: [0044]-[0045] and FIG. 2 the polarizer 226 and 232a-232d: a polarizer 226 may be associated with the light source 206. A polarizer 232a may be associated with the detector 212a. A polarizer 232b may be associated with the detector 212b. A polarizer 232c may be associated with the detector 212c. A polarizer 232d may be associated with the detector 212d. In some instances, the polarizers 232a-232d may be referred to as analyzers).
As to claim 3, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light source generates light at the polarity of interest (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction and Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0044]-[0045] and FIG. 2 the polarizer 226 and 232a-232d: the polarizer 226 may be used to provide a reference or initial orientation or angle (e.g., 0 degrees) to one or more fields (e.g., an electric field) associated with the signal emitted from the light source 206. If particles are present in the sensor 200 that are not due to smoke, such as particles caused by steam or dust, then the particles may subject the field(s) to a random distribution in terms of any transformation of the initial orientation. If smoke particles (e.g., charged smoke particles) are present in the sensor 200, when the field(s) encounter the smoke particles, the field(s) may undergo a transformation or re-orientation to a particular angle (e.g., 65 degrees), or a small subset of angles within a larger distribution of angles. One or more of the polarizers/analyzers 232a-232d may be used to facilitate detecting a change in the distribution of orientation/angle by passing those orientations/angles indicative of smoke and rejecting others. In this manner, the polarizers 226 and 232a-232d may effectively implement a filter).
As to claim 4, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light source is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction).
As to claim 5, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light sensor includes a filter to block light having a polarity different from the polarity of interest (Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0044]-[0045] and FIG. 2 the polarizer 226 and 232a-232d: the polarizer 226 may be used to provide a reference or initial orientation or angle (e.g., 0 degrees) to one or more fields (e.g., an electric field) associated with the signal emitted from the light source 206. If particles are present in the sensor 200 that are not due to smoke, such as particles caused by steam or dust, then the particles may subject the field(s) to a random distribution in terms of any transformation of the initial orientation. If smoke particles (e.g., charged smoke particles) are present in the sensor 200, when the field(s) encounter the smoke particles, the field(s) may undergo a transformation or re-orientation to a particular angle (e.g., 65 degrees), or a small subset of angles within a larger distribution of angles. One or more of the polarizers/analyzers 232a-232d may be used to facilitate detecting a change in the distribution of orientation/angle by passing those orientations/angles indicative of smoke and rejecting others. In this manner, the polarizers 226 and 232a-232d may effectively implement a filter).
As to claim 6, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a smoke detection chamber (Mammoto: Abstract, [0044], [0047]-[0051], [0070]-[0071], [0166], and FIG. 1-2 the chamber container 14: A detector includes a smoke detecting section that includes a light-receiving unit at a position at which the light-receiving unit does not directly receive light emitted by a light-emitting unit in a chamber in which a labyrinth for preventing light from directly entering from the outside and an insect net covering the rim of the labyrinth are provided, the light-receiving unit receiving light scattered by smoke flowing into the chamber); and
a plurality of baffles along a perimeter of the smoke detection chamber (Mammoto: [0044], [0047], [0070]-[0071], [0124]-[0125], FIG. 1, and FIG. 14: the detector 10 of the embodiment includes: the smoke intakes 16 formed around the chamber container 14 protruding from the center of the approximately cylindrical cover 12; the CO sensor container 18 formed by protruding a portion of the outer part of the cover 12; and the opening hole 20 open in the CO sensor container 18 to introduce CO gas into the internal CO sensor 36. This is the same as the embodiment shown in FIG. 1).
As to claim 8, Mammoto discloses a method, comprising:
instructing a light source to emit a beam of light (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28) at a polarity of interest (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction),
receiving a signal indicative of the reflection of the beam of light at the polarity of interest (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction); and
analyzing the signal to determine whether to raise a smoke alarm signal (Mammoto: [0083]-[0086], [0090]-[0098], [0098]-[0100], [0130]-[0134], FIG. 7-9, and FIG. 16-18: In FIG. 7, the fire determination process, in step S1, obtains CO data detected by the CO sensor 36, then in step S2, obtains smoke data obtained by a scattered-light type smoke detecting structure, and then in step S3, determines whether or not the CO concentration is equal to or more than a predetermined threshold concentration of 40 ppm. If determined in step S3 that the CO concentration is equal to or more than 40 ppm, the process proceeds to step S4 to determine a CO alarm activation, then transmits an alarm activation signal in step S5).
Mammoto does not explicitly disclose the polarity of interest based on an angle of incidence of a reflection of the beam of light.
However, it has been known in the art of smoke sensor to implement the polarity of interest based on an angle of incidence of a reflection of the beam of light, as suggested by Zribi, which discloses the polarity of interest based on an angle of incidence of a reflection of the beam of light (Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0041]-[0043], and FIG. 2 the detectors 212a-212d: The detector 212a may substantially be located within a direct line of sight of light emitted by the light source 206. The detectors 212b, 212c, and 212d may be located at an angle with respect to an axis associated with the line of sight. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, detector 212b is at an angle of 50 degrees, detector 212c is at an angle of 30 degrees, and detector 212d is at an angle of 70 degrees), and analyzing the signal to determine whether to raise a smoke alarm signal (Zribi: [0041], [0044]-[0045], and FIG. 1-3: if the light source 206 is configured to emit at least two pulses of light of different wavelengths, such as in the manner described above in connection with the obscuration mode of operation, taking a ratio of: (1) scattered light detected by the detectors 212b, 212c, and 212d for the first pulse, and (2) scattered light detected by the detectors 212b, 212c, and 212d for the second pulse may provide information or data that is indicative of the distribution of (the sizes of) particles located within the sensor 200. The distribution of the particles may be analyzed to determine the likely origin or cause of the particles (e.g., smoke, dust, steam, cooking, etc.) in the sensor 200).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Mammoto and Zribi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement fire detector of Mammoto to include the polarity of interest based on an angle of incidence of a reflection of the beam of light, as suggested by Zribi. The motivation for this is to effectively detect a smoke condition of a smoke sensor.
As to claim 9, Mammoto and Zribi disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the method of claim 8, wherein instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at a polarity of interest includes using at least one of a wave plate, a light pipe (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction), or a filter to polarize the beam of light to the polarity of interest (Zribi: [0044]-[0045] and FIG. 2 the polarizer 226 and 232a-232d: a polarizer 226 may be associated with the light source 206. A polarizer 232a may be associated with the detector 212a. A polarizer 232b may be associated with the detector 212b. A polarizer 232c may be associated with the detector 212c. A polarizer 232d may be associated with the detector 212d. In some instances, the polarizers 232a-232d may be referred to as analyzers).
As to claim 10, Mammoto and Zribi disclose the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the method of claim 8, wherein instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at a polarity of interest includes generating light at the polarity of interest (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction and Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0044]-[0045] and FIG. 2 the polarizer 226 and 232a-232d: the polarizer 226 may be used to provide a reference or initial orientation or angle (e.g., 0 degrees) to one or more fields (e.g., an electric field) associated with the signal emitted from the light source 206. If particles are present in the sensor 200 that are not due to smoke, such as particles caused by steam or dust, then the particles may subject the field(s) to a random distribution in terms of any transformation of the initial orientation. If smoke particles (e.g., charged smoke particles) are present in the sensor 200, when the field(s) encounter the smoke particles, the field(s) may undergo a transformation or re-orientation to a particular angle (e.g., 65 degrees), or a small subset of angles within a larger distribution of angles. One or more of the polarizers/analyzers 232a-232d may be used to facilitate detecting a change in the distribution of orientation/angle by passing those orientations/angles indicative of smoke and rejecting others. In this manner, the polarizers 226 and 232a-232d may effectively implement a filter).
As to claim 11, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the method of claim 8, wherein instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at a polarity of interest includes using a vertical cavity surface emitting laser to polarize the beam of light to the polarity of interest (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction).
As to claim 12, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 8 further comprising the method of claim 8, wherein receiving the signal indicative of the reflection of the beam of light at the polarity of interest includes using a filter at a light sensor to block light having a polarity different from the polarity of interest (Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0044]-[0045] and FIG. 2 the polarizer 226 and 232a-232d: the polarizer 226 may be used to provide a reference or initial orientation or angle (e.g., 0 degrees) to one or more fields (e.g., an electric field) associated with the signal emitted from the light source 206. If particles are present in the sensor 200 that are not due to smoke, such as particles caused by steam or dust, then the particles may subject the field(s) to a random distribution in terms of any transformation of the initial orientation. If smoke particles (e.g., charged smoke particles) are present in the sensor 200, when the field(s) encounter the smoke particles, the field(s) may undergo a transformation or re-orientation to a particular angle (e.g., 65 degrees), or a small subset of angles within a larger distribution of angles. One or more of the polarizers/analyzers 232a-232d may be used to facilitate detecting a change in the distribution of orientation/angle by passing those orientations/angles indicative of smoke and rejecting others. In this manner, the polarizers 226 and 232a-232d may effectively implement a filter).
As to claim 14, Mammoto discloses a system, comprising:
a light source (Mammoto: FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28) to emit a beam of light at a polarity of interest (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28);
a light sensor (Mammoto: FIG. 2 the light-receiving unit 30) to detect a reflection of the beam of light at the polarity of interest (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction); and
a control circuit communicatively coupled to the light sensor (Mammoto: FIG. 6 the processor 62), the control circuit to:
detect a presence of smoke (Mammoto: [0076], [0079]-[0080], [0083]-[0087], [0090]-[0100], and FIG. 6-10: The light-reception amplifier circuit 58 amplifies a weak light reception signal obtained from the light-receiving circuit 56 and provides a smoke detection signal E1 corresponding to smoke density); and
raise a smoke alarm signal (Mammoto: [0076], [0079]-[0080], [0083]-[0087], [0090]-[0100], and FIG. 6-10: the process determines whether or not the smoke density is equal to or more than a predetermined threshold for fire determination, e.g., 5%/m. If determined that the smoke density is equal to or more than 5%/m, the process determines smoke alarm activation in step S9, then transmits an alarm activation signal to the receiver in step S5).
Mammoto does not explicitly disclose wherein the polarity of interest based on an angle of incidence of the reflection.
However, it has been known in the art of smoke sensor to implement wherein the polarity of interest based on an angle of incidence of the reflection, as suggested by Zribi, which discloses wherein the polarity of interest based on an angle of incidence of the reflection (Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0041]-[0043], and FIG. 2 the detectors 212a-212d: The detector 212a may substantially be located within a direct line of sight of light emitted by the light source 206. The detectors 212b, 212c, and 212d may be located at an angle with respect to an axis associated with the line of sight. For example, as shown in FIG. 2, detector 212b is at an angle of 50 degrees, detector 212c is at an angle of 30 degrees, and detector 212d is at an angle of 70 degrees).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Mammoto and Zribi, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement fire detector of Mammoto to include wherein the polarity of interest based on an angle of incidence of the reflection, as suggested by Zribi. The motivation for this is to effectively detect a smoke condition of a smoke sensor.
As to claim 15, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 14 further comprising the system of claim 14, wherein the light source includes at least one of a wave plate, a light pipe (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction), or a filter to polarize the beam of light to the polarity of interest (Zribi: [0044]-[0045] and FIG. 2 the polarizer 226 and 232a-232d: a polarizer 226 may be associated with the light source 206. A polarizer 232a may be associated with the detector 212a. A polarizer 232b may be associated with the detector 212b. A polarizer 232c may be associated with the detector 212c. A polarizer 232d may be associated with the detector 212d. In some instances, the polarizers 232a-232d may be referred to as analyzers).
As to claim 16, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 14 further comprising the system of claim 14, wherein the light source generates light at the polarity of interest (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction and Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0044]-[0045] and FIG. 2 the polarizer 226 and 232a-232d: the polarizer 226 may be used to provide a reference or initial orientation or angle (e.g., 0 degrees) to one or more fields (e.g., an electric field) associated with the signal emitted from the light source 206. If particles are present in the sensor 200 that are not due to smoke, such as particles caused by steam or dust, then the particles may subject the field(s) to a random distribution in terms of any transformation of the initial orientation. If smoke particles (e.g., charged smoke particles) are present in the sensor 200, when the field(s) encounter the smoke particles, the field(s) may undergo a transformation or re-orientation to a particular angle (e.g., 65 degrees), or a small subset of angles within a larger distribution of angles. One or more of the polarizers/analyzers 232a-232d may be used to facilitate detecting a change in the distribution of orientation/angle by passing those orientations/angles indicative of smoke and rejecting others. In this manner, the polarizers 226 and 232a-232d may effectively implement a filter).
As to claim 17, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 14 further comprising the system of claim 14, wherein the light source is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (Mammoto: [0048]-[0050], [0076], and FIG. 2 the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30: In the detector 10 of the embodiment, the light-emitting unit 28 and the light-receiving unit 30 are placed in the smoke detecting section main body 24 so that an optical axis from the light-emitting unit 28 to the chamber 26 and an optical axis of light scattered by a smoke particle in the chamber 26 directed to the light-receiving unit 30 intersect at a predetermined angle in horizontal direction and at a predetermined angle even in extension direction).
As to claim 18, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 14 further comprising the system of claim 14, wherein the light sensor includes a filter to block light having a polarity different from the polarity of interest (Zribi: Abstract, [0005], [0008]-[0009], [0013]-[0014], [0038]-[0040], [0044]-[0045] and FIG. 2 the polarizer 226 and 232a-232d: the polarizer 226 may be used to provide a reference or initial orientation or angle (e.g., 0 degrees) to one or more fields (e.g., an electric field) associated with the signal emitted from the light source 206. If particles are present in the sensor 200 that are not due to smoke, such as particles caused by steam or dust, then the particles may subject the field(s) to a random distribution in terms of any transformation of the initial orientation. If smoke particles (e.g., charged smoke particles) are present in the sensor 200, when the field(s) encounter the smoke particles, the field(s) may undergo a transformation or re-orientation to a particular angle (e.g., 65 degrees), or a small subset of angles within a larger distribution of angles. One or more of the polarizers/analyzers 232a-232d may be used to facilitate detecting a change in the distribution of orientation/angle by passing those orientations/angles indicative of smoke and rejecting others. In this manner, the polarizers 226 and 232a-232d may effectively implement a filter).
As to claim 19, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 14 further comprising the system of claim 14, further comprising:
a smoke detection chamber (Mammoto: Abstract, [0044], [0047]-[0051], [0070]-[0071], [0166], and FIG. 1-2 the chamber container 14: A detector includes a smoke detecting section that includes a light-receiving unit at a position at which the light-receiving unit does not directly receive light emitted by a light-emitting unit in a chamber in which a labyrinth for preventing light from directly entering from the outside and an insect net covering the rim of the labyrinth are provided, the light-receiving unit receiving light scattered by smoke flowing into the chamber); and
a plurality of baffles along a perimeter of the smoke detection chamber (Mammoto: [0044], [0047], [0070]-[0071], [0124]-[0125], FIG. 1, and FIG. 14: the detector 10 of the embodiment includes: the smoke intakes 16 formed around the chamber container 14 protruding from the center of the approximately cylindrical cover 12; the CO sensor container 18 formed by protruding a portion of the outer part of the cover 12; and the opening hole 20 open in the CO sensor container 18 to introduce CO gas into the internal CO sensor 36. This is the same as the embodiment shown in FIG. 1).
Claims 7, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mammoto et al. (Mammoto – US 2013/0008787 A1) in view of Zribi et al. (Zribi – US 2017/0178481 A1) and further in view of Piccolo, III (Piccolo – US 2015/0302727 A1).
As to claim 7, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 1 except for the claimed limitations of the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the light source is to emit the beam of light with a polarity at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through the plurality of baffles.
However, it has been known in the art of smoke sensor to implement wherein the light source is to emit the beam of light with a polarity at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through the plurality of baffles, as suggested by Piccolo, which discloses wherein the light source is to emit the beam of light with a polarity at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through the plurality of baffles (Piccolo: Abstract, [0030]-[0031], [0035]-[0036], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 1-2: the baffles 206-207 and the head units 112).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Mammoto, Zribi, and Piccolo it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement fire detector of Mammoto and Zribi, to include wherein the light source is to emit the beam of light with a polarity at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through the plurality of baffles, as suggested by Piccolo. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative device to direct reflect of a light source in a smoke detector effectively detect operation conditions of the smoke sensor.
As to claim 13, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 8 except for the claimed limitations of the method of claim 8, wherein instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at a polarity of interest includes instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through a plurality of baffles arranged along a perimeter of a smoke detection chamber.
However, it has been known in the art of smoke sensor to implement wherein instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at a polarity of interest includes instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through a plurality of baffles arranged along a perimeter of a smoke detection chamber, as suggested by Piccolo, which discloses wherein instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at a polarity of interest includes instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through a plurality of baffles arranged along a perimeter of a smoke detection chamber (Piccolo: Abstract, [0030]-[0031], [0035]-[0036], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 1-2: the baffles 206-207 and the head units 112).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Mammoto, Zribi, and Piccolo it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement fire detector of Mammoto and Zribi, to include wherein instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at a polarity of interest includes instructing the light source to emit the beam of light at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through a plurality of baffles arranged along a perimeter of a smoke detection chamber, as suggested by Piccolo. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative device to direct reflect of a light source in a smoke detector effectively detect operation conditions of the smoke sensor.
As to claim 20, Mammoto and Zribi discloses the limitations of claim 19 except for the claimed limitations of the system of claim 19, wherein the light source is to emit the beam of light with a polarity at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through the plurality of baffles.
However, it has been known in the art of smoke sensor to implement wherein the light source is to emit the beam of light with a polarity at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through the plurality of baffles, as suggested by Piccolo, which discloses wherein the light source is to emit the beam of light with a polarity at an angle orthogonal to the polarity of the light reflected through the plurality of baffles (Piccolo: Abstract, [0030]-[0031], [0035]-[0036], [0042]-[0046], and FIG. 1-2: the baffles 206-207 and the head units 112).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Mammoto, Zribi, and Piccolo it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement fire detector of Mammoto and Zribi, to include wherein the light source is to emit the beam of light with a polarity at an angle orthogonal to a polarity of the light reflected through the plurality of baffles, as suggested by Piccolo. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative device to direct reflect of a light source in a smoke detector effectively detect operation conditions of the smoke sensor.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Nagashima, US 2008/0246623 A1, discloses light scattering type smoke detector.
Nagashima et al., US 5,576,697, discloses fire alarm system.
Griffith et al., US 11,227,473 B1, discloses self-testing hazard sensing device.
Dohi, US 2012/0170035 A1, discloses smoke sensor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685