DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US10939712B1 to McBride et al. (hereinafter “McBride”) in view of US20190036359A1 to Smith (hereinafter “Smith”).
Regarding claim 1, McBride discloses an integrated, shareable power supply system for medical procedure devices (See Fig. 17 generally), comprising:
a helmetless support and ventilation system (Fig. 5 helmetless support and ventilation system 2);
a power module located within the helmetless support and ventilation system (Fig. 17 power module 250).
McBride does not disclose an integrated, shareable power supply system located on at least one side of the system. However, Smith teaches a portable power supply device which has a power supply system located on the side of the system (Fig. 12 power module 500, power supply system 502, headlamps 506, light sticks 508).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McBride to further include a power supply system on the side of the system, as taught by Smith, in order to provide power to different components of the system (Paragraph 0082).
McBride as modified by Smith further discloses the power supply system located on the side helmetless support and ventilation system, wherein the integrated, shareable power supply system is electrically connected to the power module (Examiner notes the power supply system of Smith is on the side of the device and its power module 500, and thus would be on the side of the helmetless support and ventilation system of McBride; the power ports of Smith would be connected to the power module of McBride).
Regarding claim 2, McBride in view of Smith discloses the integrated, shareable power supply system according to claim 1, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses wherein the integrated, shareable power supply system further comprises: a first power port; and a second power port located adjacent to the first power port (Smith Fig. 12 power ports 502 are adjacent to each other).
Regarding claim 3, McBride in view of Smith discloses the integrated, shareable power supply system according to claim 2, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses wherein the first power port further comprises: a lighting power port (Smith Fig. 12 power port 502, light stick 508; Paragraph 0082 discloses the power port 502 powers light sticks 508).
Regarding claim 4, McBride in view of Smith discloses the integrated, shareable power supply system according to claim 2, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses wherein the second power port further comprises: an electrical device power port (Smith Fig. 12 power port 502, headlamps 506; Paragraph 0082 discloses other power ports 502 power headlamps (electrical devices)).
Regarding claim 5, McBride in view of Smith discloses the integrated, shareable power supply system according to claim 1, and McBride further discloses at least one auxiliary battery pack operatively connected to the helmetless support and ventilation system, wherein the at least one auxiliary battery pack is operatively connected to the power module (Fig. 8 battery 252, battery doors 254, battery lock 256 comprise the battery pack and is connected to power module 250).
Regarding claim 6, McBride in view of Smith discloses the integrated, shareable power supply system according to claim 5, and McBride further discloses at least one auxiliary battery pack operatively connected to the helmetless support and ventilation system, wherein the at least one auxiliary battery pack is operatively connected to a yoke module (Fig. 8 shows battery 254, power module 250, and yoke module 300 are all operatively connected; Col. 8 lines 62-67 – Col. 9 lines 1-14 disclose the yoke allows the system to be worn on the shoulders of the user and be retained on the upper torso of the user).
Regarding claim 7, McBride discloses a method of constructing an integrated, shareable power supply system for medical procedure devices (Fig. 17 see generally; Examiner notes the constructed device is pictured and the pieces must be provided to make the system), comprising:
providing a helmetless support and ventilation system (Fig. 5 helmetless support and ventilation system 2);
providing a power module that is located within the helmetless support and ventilation system (Fig. 17 power module 250).
McBride does not disclose providing an integrated, shareable power supply system located on at least one side of the system. However, Smith teaches a portable power supply device which has a power supply system located on the side of the system (Fig. 12 power supply system 500, power ports 502, headlamps 506, light sticks 508).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McBride to further include a power supply system on the side of the system, as taught by Smith, in order to provide power to different components of the system (Paragraph 0082).
McBride as modified by Smith further discloses providing the power supply system located on the side helmetless support and ventilation system, wherein the integrated, shareable power supply system is electrically connected to the power module (Examiner notes the power supply system of Smith would be on the side of the device and its power module 500, and thus would be on the side of the helmetless support and ventilation system of McBride; the power ports of Smith would be connected to the power module of McBride).
Regarding claim 8, McBride in view of Smith discloses the method according to claim 7, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses providing a first power port; and providing a second power port that is located adjacent to the first power port (Smith Fig. 12 power ports 502 are adjacent to each other).
Regarding claim 9, McBride in view of Smith discloses the method according to claim 8, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses wherein the first power port further comprises: a lighting power port (Smith Fig. 12 power port 502, light stick 508; Paragraph 0082 discloses the power port 502 powers light sticks 508).
Regarding claim 10, McBride in view of Smith discloses the method according to claim 8, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses wherein the second power port further comprises: an electrical device power port (Smith Fig. 12 power port 502, headlamps 506; Paragraph 0082 discloses other power ports 502 power headlamps (electrical devices)).
Regarding claim 11, McBride in view of Smith discloses the method according to claim 7, and McBride further discloses providing at least one auxiliary battery pack that is operatively connected to the helmetless support and ventilation system, wherein the at least one auxiliary battery pack is operatively connected to the power module (Fig. 8 battery 252, battery doors 254, battery lock 256 comprise the battery pack and is connected to power module 250).
Regarding claim 12, McBride in view of Smith the method according to claim 11, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses providing at least one auxiliary battery pack operatively connected to the helmetless support and ventilation system, wherein the at least one auxiliary battery pack is operatively connected to a yoke module (McBride Fig. 8 shows battery 254, power module 250, and yoke module 300 are all operatively connected; Col. 8 lines 62-67 – Col. 9 lines 1-14 disclose the yoke allows the system to be worn on the shoulders of the user and be retained on the upper torso of the user).
Regarding claim 13, McBride discloses a method of using an integrated, shareable power supply system for medical procedure devices (Fig. 17 see generally; Examiner notes the constructed device is pictured and used by a user, and the pieces must be provided to make the system), comprising:
providing a helmetless support and ventilation system (Fig. 5 helmetless support and ventilation system 2);
providing a power module that is located within the helmetless support and ventilation system (Fig. 17 power module 250).
McBride does not disclose providing an integrated, shareable power supply system located on at least one side of the system. However, Smith teaches a portable power supply device which has a power supply system located on the side of the system (Fig. 12 power supply system 500, power ports 502, headlamps 506, light sticks 508).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of McBride to further include a power supply system on the side of the system, as taught by Smith, in order to provide power to different components of the system (Paragraph 0082).
McBride as modified by Smith further discloses providing the power supply system located on the side helmetless support and ventilation system, wherein the integrated, shareable power supply system is electrically connected to the power module (Examiner notes the power supply system of Smith would be on the side of the device and its power module 500, and thus would be on the side of the helmetless support and ventilation system of McBride; the power ports of Smith would be connected to the power module of McBride).
Regarding claim 14, McBride in view of Smith discloses the method of claim 13, and McBride in view of providing a first power port; and providing a second power port that is located adjacent to the first power port (Smith Fig. 12 power ports 502 are adjacent to each other).
Regarding claim 15, McBride in view of Smith discloses the method according to claim 14, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses wherein the first power port further comprises: a lighting power port (Smith Fig. 12 power port 502, light stick 508; Paragraph 0082 discloses the power port 502 powers light sticks 508).
Regarding claim 16, McBride in view of Smith discloses the method according to claim 14, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses wherein the second power port further comprises: an electrical device power port (Smith Fig. 12 power port 502, headlamps 506; Paragraph 0082 discloses other power ports 502 power headlamps (electrical devices)).
Regarding claim 17, McBride in view of Smith discloses the method according to claim 13, McBride further discloses providing at least one auxiliary battery pack that is operatively connected to the helmetless support and ventilation system, wherein the at least one auxiliary battery pack is operatively connected to the power module. (Fig. 8 battery 252, battery doors 254, battery lock 256 comprise the battery pack and is connected to power module 250).
Regarding claim 18, McBride in view of Smith discloses the method according to claim 17, and McBride as modified by Smith further discloses providing at least one auxiliary battery pack operatively connected to the helmetless support and ventilation system, wherein the at least one auxiliary battery pack is operatively connected to a yoke module (McBride Fig. 8 shows battery 254, power module 250, and yoke module 300 are all operatively connected; Col. 8 lines 62-67 – Col. 9 lines 1-14 disclose the yoke allows the system to be worn on the shoulders of the user and be retained on the upper torso of the user).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20170172792-A1 to Mirsepassi; US-20160025316-A1 to Chien; US-20120120635-A1 to Strong; US-20110105851-A1 to Horvath; US-11452635-B2 to Mercado; US-20220104908-A1 to Shelton; US-20230025061-A1 to Shelton; US-20230037577-A1 to Kimball; US-20240023960-A1 to Shelton; US-5722762-A to Soll; US-5910139-A to Cochran; US-5997528-A to Bisch; US-7824052-B1 to Halm; and US-9717401-B1 to Orringer.
/TYLER A RAUBENSTRAW/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRADLEY H PHILIPS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799