DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Pending
1-15
35 U.S.C. 103
1-15
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 04/20/2026, which are in response to USPTO Office Action mailed 12/10/2026. Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered with the results that follow: THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS(s)) submitted on 04/20/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mujumdar et al. (US 2022/0234603 A1, “Mujumdar”) and further in view of Zarringhalam et al. (US 2021/0269025 A1, “Zarringhalam”).
Regarding claim 1: Mujumdar teaches: A vehicle information processing device, comprising: processing circuitry; and [an input] that is configured to input to the processing circuitry a setting signal, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to ([0019]-[0021]; [0025]):
receive the setting signal related to a target travel trajectory of a vehicle, the setting signal being generated based on an operation by a user [input]; ([0019]-[0021]; [0056]; [0064]; [0072]; [0082]);
acquire white line information of a travel lane on which the vehicle is traveling ([0041]);
acquire information on a shape of a center line of the travel lane and a width of the travel lane for a predetermined range ahead from a current position of the vehicle based on the white line information ([0041]; [0047]; [0062]);
based on the setting signal, set, [. . .], multiple reference positions of the target travel trajectory in an extending direction of the travel lane, each of the reference positions being a specific position in a lateral direction in the travel lane at a position in the extending direction of the travel lane, the lateral direction being a direction along a width of the vehicle; ([0047]-[0048]; [0053]);
generate the target travel trajectory based on the reference positions, wherein the target travel trajectory is [. . .] an imaginary line obtained by connecting the reference positions to each other in the extending direction of the travel lane, and ([0047]-[0048]; [0066]-[0068] FIGS. 8-10); [. . .];
generate instruction information of a steered angle of a steered wheel of the vehicle so as to cause the vehicle to travel along the target travel trajectory ([0066]-[0068]; FIGS. 8-10; [0081]; [0084]); and
output the instruction information to a steering device of the vehicle so as to adjust the steered angle ([0021]; [0081]; [0084]).
However, Mujumdar does not explicitly teach: one or more operation switches as an input source that is configured to input to the processing circuitry a setting signal; the setting signal being generated based on an operation by a user on the one or more operation switches; set, in real time during travel of the vehicle, multiple reference positions of the target travel trajectory; wherein the target travel trajectory is a geometric path newly defined as being an imaginary line obtained; wherein the target travel trajectory is distinct from a trajectory corresponding to the center line of the travel lane.
Zarringhalam teaches: one or more operation switches as an input source that is configured to input to the processing circuitry a setting signal, ([0041]; [0046]; [0055])
the setting signal being generated based on an operation by a user on the one or more operation switches; ([0041]; [0046]; [0055])
set, in real time during travel of the vehicle, multiple reference positions of the target travel trajectory; ([0056]; [0002]; [0064])
wherein the target travel trajectory is a geometric path newly defined as being an imaginary line obtained, ([0039]-[0040]; FIG. 1)
wherein the target travel trajectory is distinct from a trajectory corresponding to the center line of the travel lane; ([0039]-[0040]; FIG. 1).
Mujumdar and Zarringhalam are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of vehicle controls and lane biasing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Mujumdar with the aspects of Zarringhalam to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a vehicle information processing device with one or more operation switches as an input source that is configured to input to the processing circuitry a setting signal, the signal being set by user input, the setting occurring in real time, wherein the target travel trajectory is a geometric path newly defined and is distinct from a trajectory corresponding to the center line of the travel lane. The motivation for modification would have been to provide an intuitive interface allowing a vehicle operator to set and reset a vehicle offset for automated driving applications, thus improving the user experience and enabling better communication between the vehicle and operator (Zarringhalam, [0065]). This motivation for modification applies similarly to all claims dependent upon claim 1.
Regarding claim 2: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the setting signal includes a leftward movement signal or a rightward movement signal, and the processing circuitry is configured to, when setting the reference positions: upon receiving the leftward movement signal, set a new one of the reference positions to a position to the left of the current reference position by a specified distance that is determined in advance; and upon receiving the rightward movement signal, set a new one of the reference positions to a position to the right of the current reference position by the specified distance (Mujumdar: [0020]; [0053]-[0055]; [0066]-[0068]; [0072]; FIGS. 8-10).
Regarding claim 5: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the travel lane includes a curve, the setting signal includes a radially inward setting signal or a radially outward setting signal (Mujumdar: [0048]; [0067] FIG. 9), and
the processing circuitry is configured to, when setting the reference positions (Mujumdar: [0025]):
upon receiving the radially inward setting signal, set each of the reference positions to a radially inward position with respect to a center of the travel lane in the lateral direction on condition that a lane curvature of the travel lane is greater than a specified value that is determined in advance; and upon receiving the radially outward setting signal, set each of the reference positions to a radially outward position with respect to the center of the travel lane in the lateral direction on condition that the lane curvature is greater than the specified value (Mujumdar: [0048]; [0067] FIG. 9).
Regarding claim 6: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more operation switches are attached to a steering wheel of the vehicle (Zarringhalam: [0041]; [0045]-[0046]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 7: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the one or more operation switches include: a first switch to output the leftward movement signal; and a second switch to output the rightward movement signal, the first and second switches are disposed at different positions on the left and right of a steering wheel of the vehicle (Zarringhalam: [0041]; [0045]-[0046]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 8: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to: continue to control a steering action of the vehicle; and incorporate the user's intentions to adjust the travel trajectory of the vehicle into the vehicle's steering control responsive the operation by the user on the one or more operation switches (Zarringhalam: [0045]; [0055]-[0056]; [0064]).
Regarding claim 9: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the user's intentions include an intention to shift the overall travel trajectory of the vehicle more to the left or right than the current position (Zarringhalam: [0039]-[0040]).
Regarding claim 10: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 1, wherein each of the reference positions directly defines a lateral coordinate of the target travel trajectory at a corresponding position in the extending direction of the travel lane (Zarringhalam: [0039]-[0041]; [0045]-[0046]; [0055]-[0056]; [0064]).
Regarding claim 11: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to continue automatic steering control of the vehicle while redefining the target travel trajectory in real time in response to the setting signal (Zarringhalam: [0039]-[0041]; [0045]-[0046]; [0055]-[0056]; [0064]).
Regarding claim 12: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 2, wherein each reception of the leftward movement signal or the rightward movement signal causes a discrete lateral shift of the reference positions by the specified distance (Zarringhalam: [0039]-[0041]; [0045]-[0046]; [0055]-[0056]; [0064]).
Regarding claim 13: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the instruction information of the steered angle is generated after the target travel trajectory is redefined based on the reference positions (Zarringhalam: [0039]-[0041]; [0045]-[0046]; [0055]-[0056]; [0064]).
Regarding claim 14: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to, each time the setting signal is received from the user via the switches, regenerate the target travel trajectory in real time based on the reference positions without storing or learning steering characteristics of the user (Zarringhalam: [0039]-[0041]; [0045]-[0046]; [0055]-[0056]; [0064]).
Regarding claim 15: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured such that each actuation of the switch causes the reference positions to be shifted by a fixed, predetermined lateral distance, and the target travel trajectory is regenerated based on the shifted reference positions (Zarringhalam: [0039]-[0041]; [0045]-[0046]; [0055]-[0056]; [0064]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mujumdar et al. (US 2022/0234603 A1, “Mujumdar”) and Zarringhalam et al. (US 2021/0269025 A1, “Zarringhalam”), and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2020/0207353 A1, “Chen”).
Regarding claim 3: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry sets the reference positions within a restriction range in the lateral direction in the travel lane, (Mujumdar: [0047]-[0048]; [0062]; [0067])
a second curvature value of a lane curvature of the travel lane is greater than a first curvature value, and the restriction range in a case in which the lane curvature is the second curvature value is smaller than the restriction range in a case in which the lane curvature is the first curvature value (Mujumdar: [0048]; FIGS. 8-9).
However, Mujumdar-Zarringhalam do not explicitly teach: a second width value of a lane width of the travel lane is less than a first width value, and the restriction range in a case in which the lane width is the second width value is smaller than the restriction range in a case in which the lane width is the first width value.
Chen teaches: a second width value of a lane width of the travel lane is less than a first width value, and the restriction range in a case in which the lane width is the second width value is smaller than the restriction range in a case in which the lane width is the first width value ([0055]; [0058]; [0061]; FIG. 10; Here, a narrower lane requires a smaller restriction range).
Mujumdar-Zarringhalam and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of vehicle controls and lane biasing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Mujumdar-Zarringhalam with the aspects of Chen to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a vehicle information processing device that sets reference positions and restriction ranges for the vehicle based on lane widths and lane curvatures. The motivation for modification would have been to control an autonomous vehicle towards the edge of the current lane using a bias offset to enable more efficient navigation of an autonomous vehicle, thereby reducing computing resources used by the system to navigate the autonomous vehicle to a destination (Chen, [0029]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mujumdar et al. (US 2022/0234603 A1, “Mujumdar”), Zarringhalam et al. (US 2021/0269025 A1, “Zarringhalam”), and Chen et al. (US 2020/0207353 A1, “Chen”), and further in view of Fujii (US 2018/0346027 A1, “Fujii”).
Regarding claim 4: Mujumdar-Zarringhalam-Chen further teach: The vehicle information processing device according to claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to (Mujumdar: [0025]).
However, Mujumdar-Zarringhalam-Chen do not explicitly teach: generate an integrated image by superimposing, on a first image representing trajectories of left and right white lines defining the travel lane, a second image representing a center position of the travel lane, a third image representing the target travel trajectory, and a fourth image representing the restriction range; and output image data for displaying the integrated image to an outside.
Fujii teaches: generate an integrated image by superimposing, on a first image representing trajectories of left and right white lines defining the travel lane, a second image representing a center position of the travel lane, a third image representing the target travel trajectory, and a fourth image representing the restriction range; and output image data for displaying the integrated image to an outside ([0125] FIG. 8; [0126]).
Mujumdar-Zarringhalam-Chen and Fujii are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of vehicle controls. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Mujumdar-Zarringhalam-Chen with the aspects of Fujii to create, with a reasonable expectation for success, a vehicle information processing device that generates a virtual image, lane, travel trajectory, and restriction ranges to be displayed. The motivation for modification would have been to assist the driver with discriminating/recognizing which steering assist control is being performed (Fujii, [0126]), thereby improving the user experience and safety of the overall vehicle control system (Fujii, [0031]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MADISON B EMMETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/JASON HOLLOWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658