DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: Application filed on Oct 08,2024.
Claims 1-13 are presented for Examination. Claim 1 is independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1:The claim recites "determining, based on the N voltage measurements, an estimate of the magnetic inductance component of the motor operating in a linear regime" but fails to specify how this determination is performed. The specification at paragraphs [0080]-[0082] describes determining the rotor resistance as a "ratio of the estimated magnetic induction (L₀) of the motor by the estimated rotor time constant (τᵣ)" but provides no algorithmic detail, mathematical relationship, or methodology for determining the magnetic inductance component itself. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to determine the metes and bounds of this limitation without undue experimentation.
The claim further recites "determining, based on one of the N voltage measurements, an estimate of a time constant of the rotor of the motor operating in a linear regime" but fails to identify which of the N voltage measurements is used for this determination or how this selection is made. The specification at paragraph [0158] vaguely states that "one or more of the N voltage measurements may be used" but provides no guidance regarding the criteria for selection, rendering this limitation indefinite.
The claim also recites "determining an estimate of a rotor resistance of the motor based on the estimates of the magnetic inductance component of the motor and the rotor time constant" but fails to define the mathematical relationship between these parameters. While the specification mentions a ratio relationship at paragraph [0080], the claim itself fails to incorporate this limitation, leaving the scope of the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 9:The claim recites "wherein the estimate of the time constant
of the rotor is determined based on the one of the N voltage measurements using an exponential regression algorithm" but fails to specify which of the N voltage measurements is being referred to when claim 1 itself fails to identify "the one" of the N voltage measurements. This indefinite antecedent basis renders the scope of claim 9 unclear.
Regarding claim 11:The claim recites "wherein one or more of the measurements
of the voltage comprises a plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤s" but fails to specify which measurements are being referred to or how these data points relate to the "N measurements" recited in claim 1. The relationship between "N" and "S" parameters is undefined, rendering the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Since the independent claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and hence the dependent claims of 1 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sega (US 2020/0287492 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Sega discloses that a method for configuring a motor drive for driving an induction motor(see Abstract and paragraphs [0201]-[0204] describing methods for controlling multiphase electric motors including BLDC motors with rotors and magnetic cores comprising inductance components), the method comprising, the motor comprising a rotor and a magnetic core comprising a magnetic inductance component(see paragraphs [0210]-[0214] discussing phase winding inductance variations and magnetic saturation saliency properties):
performing a plurality of N measurements of a voltage at motor terminals of the motor at standstill during demagnetization of the magnetic core of the motor(see paragraphs [0227]-[0230] describing off-time voltage measurements at motor terminals during demagnetization intervals; paragraphs [0251]-[0254] explicitly teaching application of "very short duration pulses before the main on-time and off-time measurement pulses" to "quickly demagnetize the iron stator core" and "during the off-time interval the current i(t) in phase coils B and C flows through the freewheeling diode... until it decays to zero" and that "off-time voltage measurement is performed as soon as the turn-off switching transients in the open phase winding have decayed away" (paragraph [0229]-[0230]);
determining, based on the N voltage measurements, an estimate of the magnetic inductance component of the motor operating in a linear regime(see paragraphs [0213]-[0216] describing measurement of phase coil inductance variations; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching calculation of CPFmaxR values which represent inductance variations proportional to rotor magnetic field strength; equations 13-15 showing calculations using voltage measurements to determine inductance-related parameters);
determining, based on one of the N voltage measurements, an estimate of a time constant of the rotor of the motor operating in a linear regime(see paragraph [0224] explicitly teaching adaptation of on-time pulse duration to "the BLDC motor's electrical time constant (τ), which can be measured off-line or during operation"; paragraphs [0229]-[0232] describing measurement timing during off-time intervals related to time constant properties; paragraphs [0145]-[0148] discussing differential equations governing magnetic flux during demagnetization where flux decreases exponentially); and
determining an estimate of a rotor resistance of the motor based on the estimates of the magnetic inductance component of the motor and the rotor time constant (see paragraphs [0407]-[0410] describing CPFmaxR calculations which represent inductance variations proportional to rotor magnetic field strength; paragraph [0080] of the specification describing rotor resistance determination as "ratio of the estimated magnetic induction (L₀) of the motor by the estimated rotor time constant (τᵣ)")
Regarding claim 2,Sega discloses that further comprising: configuring the motor drive based on the estimate of the rotor resistance of the motor (see paragraphs [0334]-[0342] describing sensorless BLDCM operation using voltage measurements to control motor operation; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching use of CPFmaxR values for motor control optimization; Fig. 25 showing the operational flowchart for zero to low speed sensorless operation incorporating these measurements).
Regarding claim 3,Sega discloses that further comprising: prior to each voltage measurement, injecting a respective value of Direct Current, DC, current in the motor at standstill for a respective time duration of magnetization of the magnetic core of the motor, wherein the respective value of DC current is one of a set of respective values of DC current having different levels (see paragraphs [0223]-[0226] describing on-time pulse intervals where "active phase windings are connected to the supply (Vs) via the high-side power transistor and to the ground (OV) rail via the low-side power transistor"; paragraphs [0251]-[0254] teaching application of "shorter preceding pulses" with different durations for demagnetization purposes). Sega explicitly teaches that different current levels can be applied through different pulse sequences (see paragraphs [0236]-[0245] describing multiple pulse combinations with different phase coil pair activations).
Regarding claim 4, Sega discloses that further comprising: for each voltage measurement, determining an estimate of a magnetic flux in the magnetic inductance component of the motor based on the voltage measurement (see paragraphs [0210]-[0214] describing relationship between flux and inductance variations; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching CPFmax calculations which are directly proportional to rotor magnetic field strength and thus magnetic flux; Fig. 28-29 showing relationship between CPFmax values and rotor magnetic field strength/flux).
Regarding claim 5, Sega discloses that further comprising: determining a plurality of N duplets of current and magnetic flux values, based on the N voltage measurements performed further to injecting respective values of DC current in the motor at standstill for respective time periods (see paragraphs [0236]-[0245] describing sequences of voltage measurements with different phase coil combinations; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching correlation of voltage measurements to inductance and flux properties; Table 1-2 showing multiple voltage measurements that can be used to derive current and flux information).
Regarding claim 6, Sega discloses that further comprising: determining one or more parameters of a magnetic saturation model of the magnetic inductance component of the motor based on the plurality of N duplets of current and magnetic flux values (see paragraphs [0210]-[0214] explicitly describing magnetic saturation saliency properties and modeling; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching use of CPFmax measurements to characterize magnetic saturation effects; Fig. 3-4 showing inductance variations due to magnetic saturation that can be modeled using the voltage/flux measurements).
Regarding claim 7,Sega discloses that further comprising: determining a magnetic saturation curve corresponding to the magnetic saturation model that fits a plurality of N points respectively corresponding to the N duplets of current and magnetic flux values (see paragraphs [0210]-[0214] describing magnetic saturation saliency properties; Fig. 3-4 illustrating phase winding inductance variation curves showing saturation effects; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching that CPFmaxR curves can be used to model magnetic saturation behavior). Sega explicitly teaches fitting curves to measurement points to characterize motor behavior (see Fig. 11-14 showing curve fitting of rotor position functions to measurement data).
Regarding claim 8,Sega discloses that wherein the magnetic saturation curve is determined using a linear regression algorithm (see paragraphs [0283]-[0294] describing enhanced rotor position function calculations using linear combinations of voltage measurements; paragraphs [0366]-[0369] teaching that linear regression methods can be applied to correlated measurements; equations 25-30 and 37-48 showing linear mathematical relationships used to derive rotor position and saturation parameters).
Regarding claim 9,Sega discloses that wherein the estimate of the time constant of the rotor is determined based on the one of the N voltage measurements using an exponential regression algorithm (see paragraph [0224] explicitly teaching adaptation of on-time pulse duration to the BLDC motor's electrical time constant; paragraphs [0229]-[0232] describing exponential decay of current during off-time intervals; paragraphs [0145]-[0148] discussing differential equations where magnetic flux during demagnetization decreases exponentially; Fig. 7 and paragraph [0161]-[0162] explicitly showing exponential decrease of voltage during demagnetization process).
Regarding claim 10,Sega discloses that wherein the motor is an asynchronous induction motor (see paragraphs [0201]-[0205] describing control of multiphase electric motors including BLDC motors which are a type of AC induction motor; the teaching applies to induction motors generally as the methods rely on inductance variations and rotor position detection applicable to induction motor control).
Regarding claim 11,Sega discloses that wherein one or more of the measurements of the voltage comprises a plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤s, S being a non-zero natural integer (see paragraphs [0227]-[0232] describing multiple voltage measurements during on-time and off-time intervals; Table 1-2 showing multiple voltage measurement data points; paragraphs [0338]-[0341] describing Von and Voff measurements with multiple data samples per measurement interval).
Regarding claim 12,Sega discloses that comprising a processor, a memory operatively coupled to the processor, and an interface for coupling to an induction motor to be driven by the apparatus, wherein the apparatus is configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0203]-[0207] describing BLDC motor control system including microcontroller, power transistors, and motor interface; paragraphs [0205]-[0207] explicitly teaching processor and memory components for implementing the disclosed methods; Fig. 2 showing the apparatus architecture).
Regarding claim 13,Sega discloses that comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having computer program code stored thereon, said computer program code comprising instructions to, when provided to a computer system and executed, cause said computer system to perform the method according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0207] describing microcontroller with memory for storing program code; the entire disclosure provides enablement for one of ordinary skill to create computer program code implementing the disclosed methods; the methods are described in sufficient algorithmic detail to enable software implementation).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837