DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 3/2/2026.
Claims 1, 9, and 18 have been amended.
Claims 17 and 20 have been cancelled.
New claims 21-22 have been added and examined.
The objections and rejections from the prior correspondence that are not restated herein are withdrawn.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 3/2/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US 11,194,729 and US 12,141,078 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 21-22 each recite the limitation "the same cache level" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner recommends rewording the limitation to state, “…the first sub-cache has a same cache level as the second sub-cache.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkumahanti et al. (2011/0173391), Mehrotra (US 6,226,713), and Lee et al. (US 6,170,040).
With respect to claim 1, Venkumahanti teaches of a system comprising: a cache comprising first sub-cache (fig. 1, item 104; paragraph 16; L1 cache);
a second sub-cache (fig. 1-2, item 108; paragraph 16, 30; where the first portion of L2 is accessed in parallel with L1),
the cache having a cache level (fig. 1-2, items 104, 108; paragraph 16, 30; where the cache 104 is an L1 cache and cache 108 is an L2 cache); and
a cache controller (fig. 5; paragraph 43-45; the DSP is analogous to the claimed cache controller), wherein:
the second sub-cache includes a set of lines (paragraph 30; where the L2 memory is composed of cache lines),
each line of the set of lines is configured to operate in a first manner to store data (paragraph 18, 30-31; where a request to access data at a specific address is provided to first portion 108. As a data request typical of cache memories is sent to the first portion 108, it is clear to one of ordinary skill in the art that the first portion stores a set of data).
Venkumahanti fails to explicitly teach of (1) the second sub-cache includes a set of line type bits; (2) wherein each line type bit of the set of line type bits corresponds to a respective line of the set of lines; (3) each line of the set of lines is configured to operate in a first manner to store data associated with a write-miss or a second manner to store data associated with an eviction of a cache entry from the first sub-cache; (4) the cache controller is configured to determine, based on whether a line of the set of lines operates in the first manner or the second manner, whether to store a first indication in a line type bit of the set of line type bits corresponding to the line to indicate that data stored in the line is associated with a write-miss or a second indication to indicate that the data is associated with an eviction of a cache entry from the first sub-cache.
However, Mehrotra teaches of each line of the set of lines is configured to operate in a first manner to store data associated with a write-miss or a second manner to store data associated with an eviction of a cache entry from the first sub-cache (fig. 5; column 12, lines 30-36 and column 12, line 48-column 13, line 15; where the L2 cache contains a miss queue that stores the address of a miss and the returned miss data).
The combination of Venkumahanti and Mehrotra fails to explicitly teach of (1) the second sub-cache includes a set of line type bits; (2) wherein each line type bit of the set of line type bits corresponds to a respective line of the set of lines; (3) the cache controller is configured to determine, based on whether a line of the set of lines operates in the first manner or the second manner, whether to store a first indication in a line type bit of the set of line type bits corresponding to the line to indicate that data stored in the line is associated with a write-miss or a second indication to indicate that the data is associated with an eviction of a cache entry from the first sub-cache.
However, Lee teaches of the second sub-cache includes a set of lines and a set of line type bits (fig. 3; abstract, column 4, lines 36-41, column 5, lines 1-4, column 6, lines 29-32; where the write buffer contains an x-buffer and a y-buffer (set of lines) and include multiple bit blocks that contain numerous bits including a ‘HIT’ bit for each line (set of line type bits));
wherein each line type bit of the set of line type bits corresponds to a respective line of the set of lines (fig. 3; abstract, column 4, lines 36-41, column 5, lines 1-4, column 6, lines 29-32; where each line in the write buffer contains a bit block that contain numerous bits including a ‘HIT’ bit for each line (set of line type bits));
the cache controller is configured to determine, based on whether a line of the set of lines operates in the first manner or the second manner, whether to store a first indication in a line type bit of the set of line type bits corresponding to the line to indicate that data stored in the line is associated with a write-miss or a second indication to indicate that the data is associated with an eviction of a cache entry from the first sub-cache (fig. 3; abstract, column 5, lines 1-4, column 6, lines 29-32; where the ‘HIT’ bit indicates whether the information is written by a cache miss or that of a hit occurrence).
Venkumahanti and Mehrotra are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, as they are directed to cache memory.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Venkumahanti and Mehrotra before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to incorporate the miss, victim and write queues of Mehrotra into the cache of Venkumahanti. Their motivation would have been to more efficiently handle interaction between different cache levels (Mehrotra, column 3, lines 24-61).
Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, as they are directed to cache memory.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to combine the miss and write queues of the combination of the combination of Venkumahanti, and Mehrotra into one write queue and incorporate the status ‘HIT’ bit as taught in Lee. Their motivation would have been to reduce the size and cost of the cache and improve the management of the cache memory.
With respect to claim 8, Venkumahanti teaches of wherein the cache controller is configured to: receive a write request; and determine whether the write request corresponds to a miss in the first sub-cache and, in parallel, determine whether the write request corresponds to a miss in the second sub-cache (paragraph 16, 20, 38-41, 48; where as the first portion of the level two memory and the level one memory are addressable in parallel, when the request is received, it is distributed to the level one memory and the sub-portion of level two memory and it is accessed to determine if there is a hit or miss in each portion).
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hansson et al. (US 2019/0384718).
With respect to claim 2, the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee fails to explicitly teach of wherein the second sub-cache comprises a tag random access memory (RAM) configured to store a respective memory address for each line of a first subset of the set of lines associated with a write-miss.
However, Hansson teaches of wherein the second sub-cache comprises a tag random access memory (RAM) configured to store a respective memory address for each line of a first subset of the set of lines associated with a write-miss (fig. 5; paragraph 56; where in the event of a write miss, the cache controller allocates the data value and its corresponding tag to a new storage location in the cache).
Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee, and Hansson are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, as they are directed to cache memory.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee and Hansson before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to incorporate the cache tag of Hansson in the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee. Their motivation would have been to enable quicker cache lookups.
Claims 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Akenine-Moller et al. (US 2018/0089091).
With respect to claim 3 the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee fails to explicitly teach of wherein the second sub-cache comprises a byte-enable memory configured to store a respective byte-enable mask for each line of the set of lines associated with a write-miss.
However, Akenine-Moller teaches of wherein the second sub-cache comprises a byte-enable memory configured to store a respective byte-enable mask for each line of the set of lines associated with a write-miss (fig. 20; paragraph 178-183; where the cache supports byte masked access and a byte mask corresponds to each data block in the cache).
Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee, and Akenine-Moller are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, as they are directed to cache memory.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee, and Akenine-Moller before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to incorporate the evicting of cache lines that contain more dirty blocks before evicting those that contain less dirty blocks using the byte mask taught in Akenine-Moller into the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee. Their motivation would have been to more efficiently use the cache memories.
With respect to claim 4, Akenine-Moller teaches of wherein the byte-enable memory includes memory positions corresponding with each line of the set of lines of the second sub-cache (fig. 20; paragraph 178-183; where each block of the cache line has a dirty bit and byte mask).
The reasons for obviousness is the same as indicated above with respect to claim 3.
Claim 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cabot (US 2006/0143396).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee fails to explicitly teach of wherein the set of line type bits is stored in a memory configured to store modified, exclusive, shared, and invalid (MESI) states of the set of lines in the second sub-cache.
However, Cabot teaches of wherein the set of line type bits is stored in a memory configured to store modified, exclusive, shared, and invalid (MESI) states of the set of lines in the second sub-cache (fig. 8c; paragraph 80; where the cache includes a 2-bit MESI field).
Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee, and Cabot are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, as they are directed to cache memory.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee, and Cabot before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to incorporate the MESI protocol taught in Cabot into the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee. Their motivation would have been to maintain coherency in the cache (Cabot, paragraph 80).
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hum (US 6,078,992).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee fails to explicitly teach of wherein the first sub-cache is a n-way set associative cache, and wherein the second sub-cache is a fully associative cache.
However, Hum teaches of wherein the first sub-cache is a n-way set associative cache, and wherein the second sub-cache is a fully associative cache (fig. 2; column 3, lines 55-64; where the L1 cache is either direct mapped or low set associative and the victim cache is fully associative).
Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee, and Hum are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, as they are directed to cache memory.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee, and Hum before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to incorporate the associativity of the caches of Hum to the caches of the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee. Their motivation would have been to more efficiently use the cache memory.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tran (US 2012/0221793).
With respect to claim 7, Venkumahanti teaches of wherein the first sub-cache is a main cache, and wherein the second sub-cache is a cache in parallel with the main cache (fig. 1-2, item 108; paragraph 16, 30; where the first portion of L2 is accessed in parallel with L1).
The combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee fails to explicitly teach of wherein the first sub-cache is a main cache, and wherein the second sub-cache is a victim cache in parallel with the main cache.
However, Tran teaches of wherein the first sub-cache is a main cache, and wherein the second sub-cache is a victim cache (fig. 2; paragraph 21-22; where a second L1 cache is a victim cache).
Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee, and Tran are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, as they are directed to cache memory.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, Lee, and Tran before the time of the effective filing of the claimed invention to incorporate the victim cache of Tran into the first portion of the L2 cache of the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee. Their motivation would have been to more efficiently use the cache memory.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-16 and 18-19 are allowed.
Claims 21-22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to independent claims 9 and 18, the prior art fails to explicitly teach of, “determining to store a second indication in the first line type bit to indicate that the data stored in the first line is associated with an eviction from the first sub-cache,” in the context of each respective claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues with respect to independent claim 1, that the combination of Venkumahanti, Mehrotra, and Lee does not teach of a cache comprising a first sub-cache and a second sub-cache, the cache having a cache level because Venkumahanti as cache 104 is a L1 cache and cache portion 108 is a L2 cache. The examiner disagrees with this reasoning.
Claim 1 is written using open ended language. The limitation in question, that “the cache having a cache level” does not require that the cache have only 1 cache level and it doesn’t require that the entire cache be the same cache level. It merely requires that the cache includes a cache level. Thus, the cache of Venkumahanti which is made up of items 104 and 108 does have a cache level. See figures 1-2, items 104, 108 and paragraphs 16, 30, which indicate that cache 104 is an L1 cache and cache 108 is an L2 cache.
The examiner recommends rewording the limitation to state that, “the entire cache is made up of only one cache level.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL C. KROFCHECK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2138
/Michael Krofcheck/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2138