DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 10/8/2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claims recite taking a model represented by a Hamiltonian and rewrite (cl. 1 and 8) and/or optimize (cl. 7) the model to generate a rewritten model. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because nothing is done with the rewritten model. The additional claim limitations do not make the claim limitations integrated into a practical application. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims, as currently written, just represent an abstract manipulation of data with nothing more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1, 7, and 8 the phrase "such that" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
As to claims 1-6 and 8, the claims are deemed indefinite because the preambles of the claims are directed to an encryption device and an encryption method, but there is no mention of encryption in the body of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. No. 2008/0065573 to Macready in view of US PG Pub. No. 2025/0181950 to Elfving et al. (hereinafter Elfving).
As to claims 1 and 8, Macready teaches:
a. Memory storing instructions (Macready, [0150]).
b. One or more processors configured to execute the instructions (Macready, [0148]) to:
i. Receive input of a model represented by a Hamiltonian (Hamiltonian embedded into the quantum computer for processing) (Macready, [0039]).
Macready does not explicitly recite generating a rewritten model. However, in an analogous art, Elfving teaches:
ii. Generate a rewritten model by rewriting one variable selected from variables included in the model into multiple dummy variables subject to a same value constraint (using the kernel trick to rewrite the Hamiltonian into an optimized form) (Elfving, [0022, 0055, 0113, 0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant application to implement the discrete optimization of Hamiltonians with the rewriting of the model of Elfving in order to solve regression problems that reduces the drawbacks of the prior art as suggested by Elfving (Elfving, [0010]).
Macready as modified further teaches:
iii. Generate the rewritten model such that sum of coefficients of the dummy variables equals a coefficient of the one variable (dummy variables are introduced subject to variable constraints) (Elfving, [0116]).
As to claim 2, Macready as modified teaches the processor is configured to execute the instructions to generate the rewritten model that includes a constraint preventing signs of the dummy variables from changing from the sign of the one variable (dummy variables are subject to variable constraints) (Elfving, [0116]).
As to claim 3, Macready as modified teaches the processor is configured to execute the instructions to generate the rewritten model by adding a term representing a constraint that variables indicated by nodes connected by edges take the same value if a graph formed by treating each dummy variable as a node and connecting nodes with interactions by edges is a connected graph (graph is constructed with edges linking the nodes to each other to come to the particular solution) (Macready, [0121-0127]) (Elfving, [0116]).
As to claim 4, Macready as modified teaches the processor is configured to execute the instructions to set values of the coefficients of the dummy variables within a predefined range (one of the inequality constraints describe by a range of values) (Macready, [009-0093]).
As to claim 5, Macready as modified teaches the processor is configured to execute the instructions to assign variables, among variables included in the rewritten model, with a larger number of rewritten dummy variables to less reliable qubits and have an Ising machine execute optimization processing of the rewritten model (Chebyshev algorithm is used to process the Hamiltonian) (Elfving, 0131-0134]).
As to claim 6, Macready as modified teaches the processor is configured to execute the instructions to convert indexes of the variables by mutually replacing the indexes of the variables included in the input model (Elfving, [0152]).
As to claim 7, Macready teaches:
a. An Ising machine that executes optimization processing of a model represented by a Hamiltonian (processing involves using a Hamiltonian and implementing an Ising process) (Macready, [0137-0139]).
b. An encryption device that sends the model to the Ising machine and has the Ising machine execute optimization processing (optimization device is used with the Ising Hamiltonian as input) (Macready, [0037 and 0137-0139]).
i. Receive input of a model represented by a Hamiltonian (Hamiltonian embedded into the quantum computer for processing) (Macready, [0039]).
Macready does not explicitly recite generating a rewritten model. However, in an analogous art, Elfving teaches:
ii. Generate a rewritten model by rewriting one variable selected from variables included in the model into multiple dummy variables subject to a same value constraint (using the kernel trick to rewrite the Hamiltonian into an optimized form) (Elfving, [0022, 0055, 0113, 0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the instant application to implement the discrete optimization of Hamiltonians with the rewriting of the model of Elfving in order to solve regression problems that reduces the drawbacks of the prior art as suggested by Elfving (Elfving, [0010]).
Macready as modified further teaches:
iii. Generate the rewritten model such that sum of coefficients of the dummy variables equals a coefficient of the one variable (dummy variables are introduced subject to variable constraints) (Elfving, [0116]).
iv. Have the Ising machine execute optimization processing of the rewritten model (processing involves using a Hamiltonian and implementing an Ising process) (Macready, [0137-0139]).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM S POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496