DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Takayama et al. (JP2022115734A).
Figure 2 of Takayama with Examiner’s Comments (Figure 2EC)
In re claim 1, Takayama discloses a tantalum capacitor comprising:
a tantalum body (113 – Figure 2EC, ¶54, ¶66) including a tantalum element including tantalum particles (¶34), a conductive polymer layer (116 – Figure 2EC, ¶55) disposed on the tantalum element (Figure 2EC), and a tantalum wire (112 – Figure 2ECC, ¶54) penetrating through at least a portion of each of the tantalum element and the conductive polymer layer in a first direction (Figure 2EC;
a molded portion (101 excluding R3 – Figure 2EC, ¶58) including a fifth surface and a sixth surface facing in the first direction (left and right surfaces of 101 – Figure 2EC), a third surface and a fourth surface facing in a second direction (surfaces of 110 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 2EC), and a first surface and a second surface (top and bottom surface of 110 – Figure 2EC) facing in a third direction, the molded portion surrounding the tantalum body (Figure 2EC);
a first coating layer (R1 – Figure 2EC, ¶58) disposed on at least a portion of a first interface between the tantalum body and the molded portion (110 excluding R3 – Figure 2EC; Note that the ‘first interface’ between the first coating layer and the molded portion is consistent with Figures 2-6 of the Instant Specification. Note that the first coating layer of the Instant Specification does not contact the molded portion.); and
a second coating layer (R2 – Figure 2EC, ¶58) disposed on the first coating layer (R1 – Figure 2EC), wherein the second coating layer is thicker than the first coating layer (¶29; Note that the Examiner is taking the second coating layer R2 to have a greater thickness than the first coating layer R1.).
In re claim 2, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the first coating layer (R1 – Figure 2EC) includes a multifunctional alkoxy silane (¶48, ¶14).
In re claim 3, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the second coating layer (R2 – Figure 2EC) includes polysiloxane (¶20).
In re claim 4, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the first coating layer (R1 – Figure 2EC)has a thickness of more than 0 μm and 1 μm or less (¶29). Note that the Examiner is arbitrarily taking the thickness of R1 to meet the thickness limitation of the claim.
In re claim 5, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the second coating layer has a thickness of more than 10 μm and 50 μm or less (¶29). Note that the Examiner is arbitrarily taking the thickness of R2 to meet the thickness limitation of the claim.
In re claim 6, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the second coating layer (R2 – Figure 2EC) is on a surface of the first coating layer (R1 – Figure 2EC).
In re claim 7, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Takayama further discloses a third coating layer (R3 – Figure 2EC, ¶54; Note that the Examiner is taking a portion of element 110 to be R3.) disposed on the second coating layer (R2 – Figure 2EC).
In re claim 8, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 7, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the third coating layer (R3 – Figure 2EC) includes polyimide (¶30).
In re claim 9, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 7, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the third coating layer (R3 – Figure 2EC) has a thickness of more than 1 μm and 20 μm or less. Note that the Examiner is arbitrarily taking the thickness of R3 to meet the thickness limitation of the claim.
In re claim 10, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 7, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein a sum of the thicknesses of the first to third coating layers (R1, R2, R3 – Figure 2EC) is 60 μm or less (¶29; Note that the thickness of the first two coating layers can be up to 50 μm. The Examiner is arbitrarily taking the thickness of R3 to meet the thickness limitation of the claim.).
In re claim 11, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the tantalum body further includes: a carbon layer disposed on the conductive polymer layer (¶33);
and a silver (Ag) layer disposed on the carbon layer (¶41).
In re claim 12, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 1, as explained above. Takayama further discloses an anode lead frame (120 – Figure 2EC, ¶54) extending to the second surface of the molded portion (bottom surface of 110 – Figure 2EC) and electrically connected to the tantalum wire (112 – Figure 2EC); and
a cathode lead frame (130 – Figure 2EC, ¶54) spaced apart from the anode lead frame (120 – Figure 2EC) and extending to the second surface of the molded portion (bottom surface of 110 – Figure 2EC).
In re claim 13, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 12, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the first coating layer (R1 – Figure 2EC) is on at least a portion of a second interface between the molded portion (110 – Figure 2EC) and the anode lead frame (120 – Figure 2EC), and the first coating layer (R2 – Figure 2EC) is on at least a portion of a third interface between the molded portion (110 – Figure 2EC) and the cathode lead frame (130 – Figure 2EC). Note that layer R1 can extend completely around the capacitor element and be disposed between the tantalum body and the molded portion. Therefore, R1 would exist at a second interface between the anode lead frame and the molded portion and a third interface between the cathode lead frame and the molded portion. Further, the ‘interface’ is consistent with is consistent with Figures 2-6 of the Instant Specification. Note that the first coating layer of the Instant Specification does not contact the molded portion.
In re claim 14, Takayama discloses a tantalum capacitor comprising:
a tantalum body (113 – Figure 2EC, ¶54, ¶66) including a tantalum element including tantalum particles (¶34), a conductive polymer layer (116 – Figure 2EC, ¶55) disposed on the tantalum element (Figure 2EC), and a tantalum wire (112 – Figure 2ECC, ¶54) penetrating through at least a portion of each of the tantalum element and the conductive polymer layer in a first direction (Figure 2EC;
a molded portion (101 excluding R3 – Figure 2EC, ¶58) including a fifth surface and a sixth surface facing in the first direction (left and right surfaces of 101 – Figure 2EC), a third surface and a fourth surface facing in a second direction (surfaces of 110 facing toward and away from viewer – Figure 2EC), and a first surface and a second surface (top and bottom surface of 110 – Figure 2EC) facing in a third direction, the molded portion surrounding the tantalum body (Figure 2EC);
an anode lead frame (120 – Figure 2EC) extending to the second surface of the molded portion (bottom of 110 – Figure 2EC) and electrically connected to the tantalum wire (112 – Figure 2EC);
a cathode lead frame (130 – Figure 2EC) spaced apart from the anode lead frame (120 – Figure 2EC) and extending to the second surface of the mold portion (bottom surface of 110 – Figure 2EC);
a first coating layer (R1 – Figure 2EC) disposed on at least a portion of a second interface between the molded portion (110 – Figure 2EC) and the anode lead frame (120 – Figure 2EC) and a third interface between the molded portion (110 – Figure 2EC) and the cathode lead frame (130 – Figure 2EC). Note that layer R1 can extend completely around the capacitor element and be disposed between the tantalum body and the molded portion. Therefore, R1 would exist at a second interface between the anode lead frame and the molded portion and a third interface between the cathode lead frame and the molded portion. Further, the ‘interface’ is consistent with is consistent with Figures 2-6 of the Instant Specification. Note that the first coating layer of the Instant Specification does not contact the molded portion; and
a second coating layer (R2 – Figure 2EC) disposed on the first coating layer (R1 – Figure 2EC). Note that the second coating layer R2 can extend completely around the capacitor element and is disposed on first coating layer R1.
In re claim 15, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 15, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the first coating layer (R1 – Figure 2EC) includes a multifunctional alkoxy silane (¶48, ¶14), and the second coating layer (R2 – Figure 2EC) includes polysiloxane (¶20).
In re claim 16, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 14, as explained above. Takayama further discloses a third coating layer (R3 – Figure 2EC; Note that R3 can extend completely around the capacitor element and is disposed on R2.) disposed on the second coating layer (R2 – Figure 2EC), wherein the third coating layer includes polyimide (¶30).
In re claim 18, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 15, as explained above. Takayama further discloses wherein the second coating layer is thicker than the first coating layer (¶29; Note that the Examiner is taking the second coating layer R2 to have a greater thickness than the first coating layer R1.).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumamoto (JP2009295660A).
In re claim 17, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 14, as explained above. Takayama does no disclose wherein the first coating layer extends to the second surface of the molded portion.
Kumamoto discloses the coating layer (5 – Figure 1, ¶20) surrounds the lead terminals (2, 3 – Figure 1, ¶12) of the capacitor element (1 – Figure 1, ¶12).
The combination of Takayama and Kumamoto discloses wherein the first coating layer extends to the second surface of the molded portion.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the extended coating portion of Kumamoto to prevent moisture from entering the exterior resin from the outside (¶20: Kumamoto).
In re claim 19, Takayama discloses the tantalum capacitor of claim 15, as explained above. Takayama does not disclose wherein the multifunctional alkoxy silane includes aminopropyltrimethoxysilane, N-aminoethylaminopropyl trimethoxysilane, or both.
Kumamoto discloses wherein the multifunctional alkoxy silane includes aminopropyltrimethoxysilane, N-aminoethylaminopropyl trimethoxysilane, or both (¶18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to incorporate a material having desired adhesive and moisture repellency characteristics to achieve a device having superior moisture resistance and mechanical strength.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kosuge (US Publication 2015/0085428) [¶28], Figure 2
/ARUN RAMASWAMY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847