DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YANG et al. (US 2025/0106696 A1; hereafter YANG).
With respect to claim 1, YANG discloses a method (Abstract; Title) performed by a network entity in a wireless communications network (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the network entities and radio or wireless network), the method comprising:
obtaining energy information (paragraphs [0022] and [0028]) associated with the wireless communications network (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the network entities and radio or wireless network);
and determining, based on the energy information, at least one of a quality of service (QoS) profile (FIG. 2; and FIG. 3) associated with a QoS flow (paragraph [0028], see the energy usage profile associated with a 5QI and QoS flow; and 210, 220, 230 of FIG. 2) of the wireless communications network and a QoS profile (paragraph [0028], see the energy usage profile associated with a 5QI and QoS flow; and 210, 220, 230 of FIG. 2) associated with a user equipment (UE) (110, UE of FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 2, YANG further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the determining of the QoS profile (FIG. 2; and FIG. 3) associated with the QoS flow includes
selecting a QoS profile for an existing QoS flow or selecting a QoS profile for a newly admitted QoS flow (710, 720 of FIG. 7).
With respect to claim 3, YANG further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network entity includes one or more of a radio access network (RAN) (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the network entities and radio or wireless network), a session management function (SMF), an access and mobility management function (AMF) (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see AMF and the network entities and radio or wireless network), and a policy and charging control (PCC) entity.
With respect to claim 4, YANG further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the energy information includes one or more of
a maximum energy threshold (paragraph [0022], see the quota; paragraphs [0053], [0054] see the threshold values for energy and carbon),
a maximum energy threshold plus or minus a delta value,
a maximum energy threshold and a given time duration, a maximum threshold and a maximum number of occurrences the energy used to provide a QoS level goes beyond the maximum energy threshold.
With respect to claim 5, YANG further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the energy information is included in subscriber information (FIG. 2; and FIG. 3) associated with the UE (110, UE of FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 6, YANG further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the energy information includes information on an energy consumption (FIG. 2; and FIG. 3, see the energy / carbon usage quota) of a RAN of the wireless communications network (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the network entities and radio or wireless network).
With respect to claim 7, YANG further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the energy information includes a maximum energy (paragraph [0022], see the quota; paragraphs [0053], [0054] see the threshold values for energy and carbon) for providing a QoS profile.
With respect to claim 8, YANG further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the obtaining of the energy information includes receiving the energy information (FIG. 2; and FIG. 3) from a core network entity of the wireless communications network (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the network entities and radio or wireless network).
With respect to claim 9, YANG discloses a network entity (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the network entities and radio or wireless network; 620 in FIG. 6) in a wireless communications network, the network entity (620 in FIG. 6)comprising:
a transceiver (626 in FIG. 6); and a processor (622 in FIG. 6) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
obtain energy information associated (paragraphs [0022] and [0028]) with the wireless communications network (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the network entities and radio or wireless network), and
determine, based on the energy information, at least one of a quality of service (QoS) profile (FIG. 2; and FIG. 3) associated with a QoS flow (paragraph [0028], see the energy usage profile associated with a 5QI and QoS flow; and 210, 220, 230 of FIG. 2) of the wireless communications network and a QoS profile (paragraph [0028], see the energy usage profile associated with a 5QI and QoS flow; and 210, 220, 230 of FIG. 2) associated with a user equipment (UE) (110, UE of FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 10, YANG further discloses the network entity of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to when,
determine the QoS profile associated with the QoS flow (paragraph [0028], see the energy usage profile associated with a 5QI and QoS flow; and 210, 220, 230 of FIG. 2):
select a QoS profile for an existing QoS flow or select a QoS profile for a newly admitted QoS flow (710, 720 of FIG. 7).
With respect to claim 11, YANG further discloses the network entity of claim 9, wherein the network entity includes one or more of a radio access network (RAN) (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the network entities and radio or wireless network), a session management function (SMF), an access and mobility management function (AMF) (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the AMF and the network entities and radio or wireless network), and a policy and charging control (PCC) entity.
With respect to claim 12, YANG further discloses the network entity of claim 9, wherein the energy information includes one or more of
a maximum energy threshold (paragraph [0022], see the quota; paragraphs [0053], [0054] see the threshold values for energy and carbon),
a maximum energy threshold plus or minus a delta value, a maximum energy threshold and a given time duration, a maximum threshold and
a maximum number of occurrences the energy used to provide a QoS level goes beyond the maximum energy threshold.
With respect to claim 13, YANG further discloses the network entity of claim 9, wherein the energy information is included in subscriber information (FIG. 2; and FIG. 3, see the example services) associated with the UE (110, UE of FIG. 1).
With respect to claim 14, YANG further discloses the network entity of claim 9, wherein the energy information includes information on an energy consumption (FIG. 2; and FIG. 3, see the energy / carbon usage quota) of a RAN of the wireless communications network (120, 122 in FIG. 1; paragraph [0022], see the network entities and radio or wireless network).
With respect to claim 15, YANG further discloses the network entity of claim 9, wherein the energy information includes a maximum energy (paragraph [0022], see the quota; paragraphs [0053], [0054] see the threshold values for energy and carbon) for providing a QoS profile.
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 September 19, 2026