DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura et al. (JPS60-143741, translation provided) in view of Zhang et al (CN115266394, translation provided) further in view of Honda et al. (US20120012999) further in view of Tomiyama et al. (US20030159773).
Claim 1: Imamura teaches an apparatus for measuring viscoelastic properties of a sample (sample 11, Fig. 3), the apparatus comprising: a stage (fixing plate 12, Fig. 3) having a mounting surface (the surface of the mounting plate 12), the stage being configured to support the sample (see Fig. 3); a pressurizing head (the load plate 12, Fig. 3, equates to load plate 2 in Fig. 1) configured to pressurize the sample 11 (sample 11 is compressed between the plates 12, 13); a camera (camera 16, Fig. 3) portion configured to monitor a flow of the sample when it is pressurized by the pressurizing head (the camera 16 takes an image of the sample 11 and detects spread (flow) of the sample using pixel counting technique(s)); and an area measurement sensor (camera 16, end pg. 4 The area counter 17 binarizes the signal from the TV camera 16, counts 1 or 0 pixels of the binary image, and sends the result to the calculation control unit 18 as sample spread area data. The calculation control unit 18 calculates the viscosity of the sample based on this area data.)
Imamura fails to teach a thickness measurement sensor configured to measure a thickness change of the adhesive film when the upper die is pressurized by the pressurizing head.
However, Zhang teaches sample compression using a testing machine 11 with a constraint device (Fig. 2) wherein a deformation, including a thickness change, of the sample between two flat plates is detected using a camera 10.
Both Imamura and Zhang apply a technique of measuring dimension change of a sample compressed between two plates. Imamura teaches detecting the viscoelastic property of a sample 11 between two plates wherein the dimension changes are measured as a spreading diameter (measured from area d=2r, middle of pg. 3) and a known volume V (second full paragraph, pg. 3). The equation for shear rate D= (6πr'/V) (dr/ dt) thus uses a dimension change directed related to height (V=πr2h). Detecting a change in dimension of a sample between two plates can be done via camera as illustrated by Zhang. A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention could substitute the measurement means of Imamura with that of Zhang for the predictable result of detecting thickness change. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the camera of Zhang with the device of Imamura in order to accurately measure the compression mechanical properties of thermoplastic composite materials at high and low temperatures (Zhang, bottom pg. 2).
Imamura in view of Zhang fails to teach that the apparatus is for measuring an adhesive film; a lower die on the mounting surface of the stage and an upper die attached to the lower die by an adhesive film, the upper die including a transparent material; and a heater in the stage and configured to heat the adhesive film through the mounting surface.
However, Honda teaches sample A, Fig. 1, which is an adhesive film 2 between a chip (die) 1 and cover glass 3 [0118] wherein the adhesive 2 is pasted on the glass chip 1. The sample A was compression bonded using a chip bonder FCB3 under compression bond conditions including 350 °C, 1 MPa pressure, and 0.5s time duration [0118]. The viscosity of the adhesive is determined using sample A [0117-0120] wherein a volume change is detected and used to calculate viscosity [of the adhesive]. Honda teaches that the FCB3 includes a stage heater [0122] to carry out thermo-compression bonding. Therefore, the FCB3 used to test the viscosity includes a stage heater to heat the adhesive film through the mounting surface. Honda teaches that the suppression of voids is desired [0011] and that the generation of voids is related to the viscosity [0015]. This is evidenced by Tomiyama. Tomiyama teaches detecting a melt viscosity of adhesive film using a parallel plate plastometer [0143] which controls both pressure and temperature [0145]. Tomiyama teaches that the temperature and press-bonding pressure both influence the existence of voids and oozing caused by the adhesive film [0025].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teaching of Honda with the device of Imamura in view of Zhang in order to detect the viscosity of the adhesive under anticipated bond conditions using a representative sample where adhesive is used (Honda, [0118]) in order to determine a suitable balance of temperature and pressure to reduce the generation of voids and oozing (Tomiyama [0025]).
Claim 3: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Imamura in view of Zhang fails to teach wherein the adhesive film includes a thermosetting resin. However, Honda teaches that the film-form adhesive includes a thermosetting resin ([0100] epoxy resins, Table 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teaching of Imamura with the resin adhesive taught by Honda for the obvious benefit of evaluating the adhesive’s likeliness to generate voids (Honda [0013, 0116]).
Claim 5: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Imamura in view of Zhang fails to teach wherein the pressurizing head includes a weighing mechanism configured to pressurize the upper die with a constant weight.
However, Honda teaches evaluating a thin-form adhesive under compression bonding using a constant pressure [0118] 1 MPa for 5 seconds using a Flip Chip Bonder, made by Matsushita. Therefore, in order to apply a constant load, the flip chip bonder must include a weighing mechanism to ensure the correct, constant load.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a constant pressure, as taught by Honda, with the device of claim 1 in order to replicate the compression bonding process and thereby test the adhesive under comparable conditions (Honda [0118-0122]).
Claim 6: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Imamura teaches wherein the camera portion (camera 16) is above the stage and configured to capture an image of the sample through the upper die (see Fig. 3, end page 2- page 3).
Claim 8: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Imamura in view of Zhang fails to teach wherein a material in the lower die is transparent such that the lower die is a transparent lower die, and the camera portion is below the stage and configured to capture an image of the adhesive film through the transparent lower die.
However, Imamura captures an image of the sample 11 from above through the transparent load plate 13, Fig. 3. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would need any loading plate between the camera and sample to be transparent in order to capture an image. Further, reversing the position of the camera, either above or below the sample and stage, would have been an obvious matter of design choice because the position of the camera and transparent elements produces no new or unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a transparent lower die in order to effectively detect the dimensional changes of the sample under load over time via camera.
Claim 2, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of applicant-cited Saito et al. (US9957411).
Claim 2: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the heater is configured to heat the adhesive film at a heating rate of at least 50℃/s.
However, Saito teaches evaluation of thermocompression chip bonding using different temperature profiles (Fig. 9; col. 8, lines 21-35) including a temperature increase rate of at least 50°C/s and 150°C/s. Therefore, the temperature increase rate is a known result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a heating rate of at least 50°C/s in order to determine the melt-viscosity under different temperature conditions (Saito, col. 2, lines 47-53).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Kyung et al. (US20210313290).
Claim 4: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the adhesive film includes a non-conductive film.
However, Kyung teaches adhesive resin composition for forming non-conductive film [0030, 0035].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a non-conductive film, taught by Kyung, as the adhesive film of claim 1 in order to test the non-conductive film and prevent an undesired change rate of the melt-viscosity thereby improving bonding ([0019]).
Claims 7, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Park et al. (KR20070043282, translation provided).
Claim 7: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the thickness measurement sensor is above the stage and configured to measure a thickness of the adhesive film by measuring a distance from a surface of the upper die.
However, Park teaches detecting the distance between a top plate 100 and bottom plate 200, Figs. 18-19, of a load test apparatus using an optical displacement measuring means 400 including an emitting part 432 and light receiving part 434 opposite to measure the distance between the plates 100, 200. The device of Imamura is such that the load plate 13 moves toward the fixed plate 12 and only the load plate 13 moves in accordance with the deformation of the sample, thus the change in thickness. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention could place the optical displacement sensor of Park to detect a change in distance to the top plate (which directly corresponds with the thickness of the sample) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 9: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the thickness measurement sensor includes an optical irradiation portion, an optical detector, and a signal processor, the optical irradiation portion is configured to irradiate light to a surface of the upper die, the optical detector is configured to detect light reflected from the upper die surface; and the signal processor is configured to calculate a thickness of the adhesive film by using a light signal detected by the optical detector.
However, Park teaches detecting the distance between a top plate 100 and bottom plate 200, Figs. 18-19, of a load test apparatus using an optical displacement measuring means 400 including an emitting part 432 and light receiving part 434 opposite to measure the distance between the plates 100, 200. The device of Imamura is such that the load plate 13 moves toward the fixed plate 12 and only the load plate 13 moves in accordance with the deformation of the sample, thus the change in thickness. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention could place the optical displacement sensor of Park to detect a change in distance to the top plate (which directly corresponds with the thickness of the sample) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Park further in view of Keightley et al. (US7460250)
Claim 10: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Park teaches the apparatus of claim 9, but fails to teach the light includes a laser; and the signal processor is configured to calculate a thickness of the adhesive film using optical triangulation.
However, Keightley teaches a laser triangulation system (Fig. 1) to detect dimensions of an object using an image 30 of the object (col. 1, lines 23-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a laser and calculate thickness using triangulation, as taught by Keightley, with the device of claim 9 for the obvious benefit of providing dimensional information about the object (Keightley, col. 5, lines 21-22).
Claims 11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb (US3500677).
Claim 11: Imamura teaches an apparatus for measuring viscoelastic properties of a sample (sample 11, Fig. 3), the apparatus comprising: a stage (fixing plate 12, Fig. 3) having a mounting surface (the surface of the mounting plate 12), the stage being configured to support the sample (see Fig. 3); a pressurizing head (the load plate 12, Fig. 3, equates to load plate 2 in Fig. 1) configured to pressurize the sample 11 (sample 11 is compressed between the plates 12, 13); a camera (camera 16, Fig. 3) portion configured to monitor a flow of the sample when it is pressurized by the pressurizing head (the camera 16 takes an image of the sample 11 and detects spread (flow) of the sample using pixel counting technique(s)); and an area measurement sensor (camera 16, end pg. 4 The area counter 17 binarizes the signal from the TV camera 16, counts 1 or 0 pixels of the binary image, and sends the result to the calculation control unit 18 as sample spread area data. The calculation control unit 18 calculates the viscosity of the sample based on this area data.)
Imamura fails to teach a thickness measurement sensor configured to measure a thickness change of the adhesive film when the upper die is pressurized by the pressurizing head.
However, Zhang teaches sample compression using a testing machine 11 with a constraint device (Fig. 2) wherein a deformation, including a thickness change, of the sample between two flat plates is detected using a camera 10.
Imamura teaches detecting the viscoelastic property of a sample 11 between two plates wherein the dimension changes are measured as a spreading diameter (measured from area d=2r, middle of pg. 3) and a known volume V (second full paragraph, pg. 3). The equation for shear rate D= (6πr'/V) (dr/ dt) thus uses a dimension change directed related to height (V=πr2h) and the distance between the plates. Detecting a change in dimension of a sample between two plates can be done via camera as illustrated by Zhang. Therefore, both Imamura and Zhang apply a technique of measuring dimension change of a sample compressed between two plates. A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention could substitute the measurement means of Imamura with that of Zhang for the predictable result of detecting thickness change. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the camera of Zhang with the device of Imamura in order to accurately measure the compression mechanical properties of thermoplastic composite materials at high and low temperatures (Zhang, bottom pg. 2).
Imamura in view of Zhang fails to teach that the apparatus is for measuring viscoelastic properties of an adhesive film; a lower die on the mounting surface of the stage and an upper die attached to the lower die by an adhesive film, the upper die including a transparent material; and a heater in the stage and configured to heat the adhesive film through the mounting surface.
However, Honda teaches sample A which is an adhesive film 2 between a chip (die) 1 and cover glass 3 (Fig. 1, [0118] wherein the adhesive 2 is pasted on the glass chip 1). The sample A was compression bonded using a chip bonder FCB3 under compression bond conditions including 350 °C, 1 MPa pressure, and 0.5s time duration. The viscosity of the adhesive is determined using sample A wherein a volume change is detected and used to calculate viscosity [of the adhesive], [0117-0120]. Honda teaches that the FCB3 includes a stage temperature (thus stage heater) [0122] to carry out thermo-compression bonding. Therefore, the FCB3 used to test the viscosity includes a stage heater to heat the adhesive film through the mounting surface. Honda teaches that the suppression of voids is desired [0011] and that the generation of voids is related to the viscosity [0015]. This is evidenced by Tomiyama. Tomiyama teaches detecting a melt viscosity of adhesive film using a parallel plate plastometer [0143] which controls both pressure and temperature [0145]. Tomiyama teaches that the temperature and press-bonding pressure both influence the existence of voids and oozing caused by the adhesive film [0025].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the teaching of Honda with the device of Imamura in view of Zhang in order to detect the viscosity of the adhesive under anticipated bond conditions using a representative sample where adhesive is used (Honda, [0118]) in order to determine a suitable balance of temperature and pressure to reduce the generation of voids and oozing (Tomiyama [0025]).
Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama fails to teach a heater configured to apply heat to the lower die through the mounting surface.
However, Webb teaches a parallel plate viscometer including a heating device (micrometer plate 32) configured to apply heat to the lower die (flat 26) through a mounting surface (leveling plate 10), Fig. 3.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the heater of Webb with the device of Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama in order to maintain the supporting equipment and the supported sample material at a predetermined temperature (col. 3, lines 55-60).
Claim 14: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Imamura in view of Zhang fails to teach wherein the pressurizing head includes a weighing mechanism configured to pressurize the upper die with a constant weight.
However, Honda teaches evaluating a thin-form adhesive under compression bonding using a constant pressure [0118] 1 MPa for 5 seconds using a Flip Chip Bonder, made by Matsushita. Therefore, in order to apply a constant load, the flip chip bonder must include a weighing mechanism to ensure the correct, constant load.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a constant pressure, as taught by Honda, with the device of claim 11 in order to replicate the compression bonding process and thereby test the adhesive under comparable conditions (Honda [0118-0122]).
Claim 15: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb teaches the apparatus of claim 11. Imamura teaches wherein the upper die includes a transparent material, and the camera portion is above the stage and configured to capture an image of the adhesive film through the transparent upper die.
Imamura teaches a camera 16 which captures an image of the sample 11 from above through the transparent load plate 13, Fig. 3. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would need any loading plate/die between the camera and sample to be transparent in order to capture an image.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a transparent upper die in order to effectively detect the dimensional changes of the sample under load over time via camera.
Claim 16: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb teaches the apparatus of claim 11, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the lower die includes a transparent material, and the camera portion is below the lower die and configured to capture an image of the adhesive film through the transparent lower die.
However, Imamura captures an image of the sample 11 from above through the transparent load plate 13, Fig. 3. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would need any loading plate between the camera and sample to be transparent in order to capture an image. Further, reversing the position of the camera, either above or below the sample and stage, would have been an obvious matter of design choice because the position of the camera and transparent elements produces no new or unexpected result.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a transparent lower die in order to effectively detect the dimensional changes of the sample under load over time.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb further in view of Saito.
Claim 12: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb teaches the apparatus of claim 11, but fails to teach wherein the heater is configured to heat the adhesive film at a heating rate of at least 50℃/s.
However, Saito teaches evaluation of thermocompression chip bonding using different temperature profiles (Fig. 9; col. 8, lines 21-35) including a temperature increase rate of at least 50°C/s and 150°C/s. Therefore, the temperature increase rate is a known result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a heating rate of at least 50°C/s in order to determine the melt-viscosity under different temperature conditions (Saito, col. 2, lines 47-53).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb further in view of Kyung.
Claim 13: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb teaches the apparatus of claim 11, but fails to teach wherein the adhesive film includes a non-conductive resin.
However, Kyung teaches adhesive resin composition for forming non-conductive film [0030, 0035].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a non-conductive film, taught by Kyung, as the apparatus of claim 11 in order to test the non-conductive film and prevent an undesired change rate of the melt-viscosity thereby improving bonding ([0019]).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb further in view of Park.
Claim 17: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb teaches the apparatus of claim 11, but fails to teach a thickness measurement sensor, wherein the thickness measurement sensor is configured to measure a thickness change of the adhesive film when the upper die is pressurized by the pressurizing head.
However, Park teaches detecting the distance between a top plate 100 and bottom plate 200, Figs. 18-19, of a load test apparatus using an optical displacement measuring means 400 including an emitting part 432 and light receiving part 434 opposite to measure the distance between the plates 100, 200. The device of Imamura is such that the load plate 13 moves toward the fixed plate 12 and only the load plate 13 moves in accordance with the deformation of the sample, thus the change in thickness.
Imamura teaches detecting the viscoelastic property of a sample 11 between two plates wherein the dimension changes are measured as a spreading diameter (measured from area d=2r, middle of pg. 3) and a known volume V (second full paragraph, pg. 3). The equation for shear rate D= (6πr'/V) (dr/ dt) thus uses a dimension change directed related to height (V=πr2h) and the distance between the plates. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention could place the optical displacement sensor of Park to detect a change in distance to the top plate (which directly corresponds with the thickness of the sample) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 18: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb further in view of Park teaches the apparatus of claim 17. Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb fails to teach wherein the thickness measurement sensor includes: an optical irradiation portion configured to irradiate light to a surface of the upper die; an optical detector configured to detect light reflected from the upper die surface; and a signal processor configured to calculate a thickness of the adhesive film using a light signal detected by the optical detector.
However, Park teaches detecting the distance between a top plate 100 and bottom plate 200, Figs. 18-19, of a load test apparatus using an optical displacement measuring means 400 including an emitting part 432 and light receiving part 434 opposite to measure the distance between the plates 100, 200. The device of Imamura is such that the load plate 13 moves toward the fixed plate 12 and only the load plate 13 moves in accordance with the deformation of the sample, thus the change in thickness. Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention could place the optical displacement sensor of Park to detect a change in distance to the top plate (which directly corresponds with the thickness of the sample) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb further in view of Park further in view of Keightley.
Claim 19: Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Honda further in view of Tomiyama further in view of Webb further in view of Park teaches the apparatus of claim 18, but fails to teach the light includes a laser; and the signal processor is configured to calculate a thickness of the adhesive film using optical triangulation.
However, Keightley teaches a laser triangulation system (Fig. 1) to detect dimensions of an object using an image 30 of the object (col. 1, lines 23-36).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a laser and calculate thickness using triangulation, as taught by Keightley, with the device of claim 9 for the obvious benefit of providing dimensional information about the object (Keightley, col. 5, lines 21-22).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imamura in view of Zhang further in view of Webb.
Claim 20: Imamura teaches an apparatus for measuring viscoelastic properties of a sample (sample 11, Fig. 3), the apparatus comprising: a stage (fixing plate 12, Fig. 3) having a mounting surface (the surface of the mounting plate 12), the stage being configured to support the sample (see Fig. 3); a pressurizing head (the load plate 12, Fig. 3, equates to load plate 2 in Fig. 1) configured to pressurize the sample 11 (sample 11 is compressed between the plates 12, 13); a camera (camera 16, Fig. 3) portion configured to monitor a flow of the sample when it is pressurized by the pressurizing head (the camera 16 takes an image of the sample 11 and detects spread (flow) of the sample using pixel counting technique(s)); and an area measurement sensor (camera 16, end pg. 4 The area counter 17 binarizes the signal from the TV camera 16, counts 1 or 0 pixels of the binary image, and sends the result to the calculation control unit 18 as sample spread area data. The calculation control unit 18 calculates the viscosity of the sample based on this area data.).
Imamura fails to teach a thickness measurement sensor above the stage and configured to measure a thickness change of the adhesive film when the upper die is pressurized by the pressurizing head.
Imamura fails to teach a thickness measurement sensor configured to measure a thickness change of the adhesive film when the upper die is pressurized by the pressurizing head.
However, Zhang teaches sample compression using a testing machine 11 with a constraint device (Fig. 2) wherein a deformation, including a thickness change, of the sample between two flat plates is detected using a camera 10.
Both Imamura and Zhang apply a technique of measuring dimension change of a sample compressed between two plates. Imamura teaches detecting the viscoelastic property of a sample 11 between two plates wherein the dimension changes are measured as a spreading diameter (measured from area d=2r, middle of pg. 3) and a known volume V (second full paragraph, pg. 3). The equation for shear rate D= (6πr'/V) (dr/ dt) thus uses a dimension change directed related to height (V=πr2h). Detecting a change in dimension of a sample between two plates can be done via camera as illustrated by Zhang. A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention could substitute the measurement means of Imamura with that of Zhang for the predictable result of detecting thickness change. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the camera of Zhang with the device of Imamura in order to accurately measure the compression mechanical properties of thermoplastic composite materials at high and low temperatures (Zhang, bottom pg. 2).
Imamura in view of Zhang a heater in the stage, the heater including a heating line in the stage and configured to apply heat to the lower die through the mounting surface.
However, Webb teaches a parallel plate viscometer including a heating device (micrometer plate 32) having a heating line (channels 38) configured to apply heat to the lower die (flat 26) through a mounting surface (leveling plate 10), Fig. 3.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the heater of Webb with the device of Imamura in view of Zhang in order to maintain the supporting equipment and the supported sample material at a predetermined temperature (col. 3, lines 55-60).
Conclusion
/JEAN F MORELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 9/14/26
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855