DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Misnumbered claim 4 second occurrence has been renumbered claim 5 and claims that follow renumbered serially.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peake et al. (US 6,122,109) in view of Shatalov et al. (2017/0373224).
(Claim 1) Peake et al. teach a radiation-emitting semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor body (1702) having an active region (1708) provided for generating radiation (col. 8 lines 4 – 36); and
an optical element (1704), wherein:
the optical element (1704) is attached to the semiconductor body (1702) with a direct bonding connection (col. 7 lines 26 – 35),
the active region (1708) is arranged between a mirror region (1710) and a further mirror region (1706).
Peake et al. lack a carrier on which the semiconductor body is arranged; and
the semiconductor body is completely free of elements for external electrical contacting on a side facing the optical element.
However, Shatalov et al. teach a carrier (Substrate) on which the semiconductor body is arranged; and
the semiconductor body (16 – 22) is completely free of elements for external electrical contacting on a side facing the optical element (40A – 40C) for the benefit of improving the propagation of radiation (paragraph 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of improving the propagation of radiation.
(Claim 2) Peake et al. teach wherein the mirror region (1710) is arranged between the active region (1708) and the optical element (1704).
(Claim 3) Peake et al. teach wherein the mirror region (1710) and the further mirror region (1706) are part of the semiconductor body (1702).
(Claim 5) Peake et al. teach wherein the optical element (fig. 4 #1404) has a plurality of optical segments.
(Claim 6) Peake et al. teach wherein the optical element extends continuously over the active region (fig. 16).
(Claim 7) Peake et al. lack wherein the carrier and the optical element terminate flush with a side surface delimiting the radiation-emitting semiconductor device.
However, Shatalov et al. teach wherein the carrier (fig. 1, Substrate) and the optical element terminate (40 – 40C) flush with a side surface delimiting the radiation-emitting semiconductor device (10) for the benefit of improving the propagation of radiation (paragraph 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of improving the propagation of radiation.
(Claim 8) Peake et al. teach wherein the mirror region (1710) is arranged between the active region (1708) and the direct bonding connection (interface of 1710/1704).
(Claim 9) Peake et al. lack wherein the radiation-emitting semiconductor device has two contacts for external electrical contacting on a side of the carrier facing away from the optical element.
However, Shatalov et al. teach wherein the radiation-emitting semiconductor device has two contacts (26, 30) for external electrical contacting on a side of the carrier facing away from the optical element for the benefit of improving the propagation of radiation (paragraph 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of improving the propagation of radiation.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peake et al. (US 6,122,109) and Shatalov et al. (2017/0373224) in view of Sun et al. (US 6,054,335).
(Claim 4) Peake et al. teach wherein the semiconductor body (1702) comprises a first semiconductor region (1710) and a second semiconductor region (1706).
Peake/Shatalov et al. lack wherein the first semiconductor region and the second semiconductor region are different from one another with respect of the charge type, the mirror region is a part of the second semiconductor region, and the further mirror region is a part of the first semiconductor region.
However, Sun et al. teach wherein the first semiconductor region (66, P-type) and the second semiconductor region (62, N-type) are different from one another with respect of the charge type (col. 3 lines 44 – 56), the mirror region (62) is a part of the second semiconductor region, and the further mirror region (66) is a part of the first semiconductor region for the benefit of realizing laser oscillation and emission within the VCSEL cavity (col. 5 lines 9 – 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the references for the benefit of realizing laser oscillation and emission within the VCSEL cavity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 – 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
(Claim 10) wherein an auxiliary bonding layer is arranged between the semiconductor body and the optical element.
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure are listed in PTO – 892 Form.
Contact Information
/IGWE U ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891
September 23, 2026