DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 16 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: The method that requires particular steps including sending MRI data, performing calculations, and processing scene information is distinct from claim 1 that is drawn to an ultrasound probe.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 16 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “mobile device” in claim 6 with support in published [0037]; and neuro-navigation system in claims 1, 9, and 14 with support at [0030].
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 10, the fixture should be ‘configured to be’ mounted to set forth the mounted relative to the patient.
In claim 3, line 8, it appears both instances of ‘a’ should be ‘the’ as they are previously set forth.
In claim 12, it appears ‘the’ should be placed before ‘content’ and ‘a database’ should be ‘the database’ as they are previously set forth.
In claim 15, line 3, it appears both instances of ‘a’ should be ‘the’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In claim 1, there is no support for the negative limitation that the probe is “not used to create a poor-resolution 3D representation”. In claim 1, there is no support of optical or acoustic measurements are from an MRI database. Rather it appears an MRI database only includes MR scans. In claim 2, there is no support for software that assembles the slices. Rather, the specification only generally sets forth that conical data is acquired by rotating the probe.
Claim 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, lines 6-7, it is unclear what “correction adapted which is not used” means. Is this intended to be a negative limitation? Further, it is unclear what “useful 3D data that is adapted” means. It is unclear where the useful 3D data comes from and how it structurally limits the transducer.
In claim 3, it is unclear whether the limitations regarding the functions of the computing device are required because claim 1 only requires “one or more” of (i) to (vi). For example, it appears the limitations of a fuel gauge in claim 3 would not be required because that only further limits (ii) in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebbini (US Pub 2019/0308036 -previously cited).
Re claim 1: Ebbini discloses a transcranial ultrasound device comprising:
an ultrasound transducer comprising a 1.75D probe configured to transmit stimulation signals to one or more brain regions, wherein the probe, having reduced resolution in elevation versus resolution in azimuth, produces neuromodulation and guidance with skull aberration correction adapted which is not used to create a poor resolution 3D representation, wherein useful 3D data that is adapted to a specific patient 3D anatomy using one or more of: (i) optical or acoustic measurements from an MRI database; (ii) a fuel gauge to adapt probe data previously recorded by a volume capable matrix probe; (iii) a mechanical fixture mounted on a patient head to rotate the probe and acquire conical volume data, and supplementing the conical data by using data retrieved using CBIR form an atlas of human anatomical scans; (iv) similarity lookup employing blood vessel data obtained using the probe; (v) ventricles that provide fiducial marks; or (vi) contextual data provided by a neuro navigation system [0029, 0045, 0069, 0093, Fig 5; see the transducer that is a probe for transcranial FUS to transmit stimulation signals and to produce neuromodulation and guidance with skull aberration correction wherein the elements 302 are rectangular, with a dimension larger in elevation relative to azimuth or that there are asymmetric element dimensions, thereby comprising a 1.75D array (further, the entire array is rectangular in Fig. 5 and the individual elements are said to be rectangular); further, the resolution in elevation is reduced relative to azimuth resolution and this is considered to be a characteristic of any 1.75D array and, if it is not, then there would appear to be a specification support issue with this limitation; it is also noted that features (i)-(vi) do not provide for any structural limitations to the transducer of which the claim is directed and, therefore, the transducer in Ebbini produces data that is capable of being used with these features].
Re claim 2: The device including assembling a plurality of slices in software to create a high resolution representation [0035; see the 3D image data which is created by combining slices].
Re claims 11, 12: The probe further comprises an optical feature comprising visual markings for identification by a camera or a LIDAR device, where content-based image retrieval is employed to find a specific brain MRI in a database of brain MRIs, wherein the specific brain MRI is used to provide volume guidance for steering the neuromodulation beam (0069, figure 1; see the features/structure of the probe which are visible by a camera or LIDAR device and see the MR-compatibility indicating MR imaging).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-9 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebbini in view of Alzaga et al (US Pub 2021/0085398 -previously cited).
Re claim 3: Ebbini discloses the system comprising: acquisition hardware coupled to the probe, the acquisition hardware comprising a receiver that receives input from the probe; and a computing device coupled to the acquisition hardware, the computing device generating a fuel gauge user interface based upon input from the probe, the fuel gauge user interface indicating suitability of a current position or a current orientation of the probe for providing neuromodulation to the patient skull using the probe [0057, 0118, figures 2, 8, Abstract; see the Rx circuitry that receives probe input and see the computer and processing hardware wherein received information of surface/obstacle data indicates position suitability]. Ebbini does not disclose that the computing device performs a similarity lookup with a MRI database based on a volume data set from slice imaging of rotating the probe, and guiding the beam based on the lookup, wherein the suitability is based on proximity of the current pose to a position based on the lookup. However, Alzaga teaches a similarity lookup with a MRI database based on a volume data set from slice imaging of rotating the probe, and guiding the beam based on the lookup, wherein the suitability is based on proximity of the current pose to a position based on the lookup [0024, 0034; see the ultrasound data set is rotated and compared with MR data to generate a similarity]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Ebbini, to use the similarity as taught by Alzaga, in order to improve a desired treatment outcome.
Re claims 8, 9: Ebbini discloses guidance information associated with placement of the probe is obtained by the acquisition hardware acoustically measuring an inner surface of the skull on an opposing side of the patient skull from where the probe is positioned, wherein the information is received from a pre-procedure MRI and a Neuro-Navigation system (figure 8, 0069; see the surface/obstacle information which is guidance information for probe placement and see the MR-compatibility which indicates MR is performed).
Re claims 4-7: Ebbini discloses all features except for at least one of a camera or a LIDAR device integrated into a mobile device separate from the computing device and configured to obtain the current position or the current orientation of the probe relative to the patient skull, wherein the mobile device is movable about the patient skull to obtain optical feedback associated with the current position or the current orientation, and wherein the optical feature indicates a position or an orientation of the probe relative to the patient skull. However, Alzaga teaches of a system for supporting medical personnel including at least one of a camera or a LIDAR device integrated into a mobile device separate from the computing device and configured to obtain the current position or the current orientation of the probe relative to the patient skull, wherein the mobile device is movable about the patient skull to obtain optical feedback associated with the current position or the current orientation, and wherein the optical feature indicates a position or an orientation of the probe relative to the patient skull [0069, 0085, Figure 3; see the camera 12 to track position of ultrasound probe 10 relative to a patient wherein the camera is mobile as it can be moved and is used to obtain optical feedback for the probe]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Ebbini, to use the camera as taught by Alzaga, in order to facilitate probe positioning and making probe placement more accurate.
Re claims 13-15: Ebbini discloses all features including MR imaging for a pre-procedure MR wherein the pre-procedure MRI is replaced with an approximate 3D MRI obtained using a 1.75D probe and a similarity lookup into a database of 3D MRI scans [0069; see the MR-compatibility which indicates MR is performed] but does not disclose that the computing device generates a simulated prediction of an ultrasound neuromodulation beam output by the probe that is overlaid on an image of a brain associated with the patient skull for steering the neuromodulation beam, wherein the simulated prediction is based on input from a pre-procedure MRI and from a navigation system. However, Alzaga teaches of generation of a simulated prediction of an ultrasound neuromodulation beam output by the probe that is overlaid on an image of a brain associated with the patient skull for steering the neuromodulation beam, wherein the simulated prediction is based on input from a pre-procedure MRI and from a navigation system [0020, see the simulation of deformations of the examination object based on taking into account the imaged surface]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Ebbini, to use the simulation as taught by Alzaga, in order to provide for a plan to obtain a desired treatment outcome.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebbini in view of Law et al (US Pub 2017/0080255 -previously cited).
Re claim 10: Ebbini discloses all features except that the computing device determines the guidance information from an average brain MRI customized to the patient skull using at least one of camera data, LIDAR data, or acoustic data relating to an inner surface of the patient skull. However, Law teaches of an ultrasound device wearable on the subject’s head, wherein guidance information from an average brain MRI customized to the patient skull using at least one of camera data, LIDAR data, or acoustic data relating to an inner surface of the patient skull [0170; see the averaged anatomical brain maps from MRI]. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to modify Ebbini, to use the averaged maps as taught by Law, in order to improve positioning of the transducer making treatment more accurate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Ebbini, Applicant argues that there is no disclosure a 1.75D probe that meets the limitations of claim 1. Respectfully, the Examiner disagrees and finds that the limitations are met. As previously described, Ebbini discloses a 1.75D probe even though “1.75D” is not explicitly used. A 1.75D array is merely an array with elements having a dimension larger in elevation relative to azimuth or that there are asymmetric element dimensions. Claim 1 sets forth other functional limitations such that the probe has resolution in elevation that is reduced relative to azimuth resolution and that produces neuromodulation and guidance with skull aberration correction. These functional limitations are met because Ebbini discloses a 1.75D probe. Applicant appears to have specification support for these functional limitations in that the probe is a 1.75D probe. If these limitations are somehow met by a particular probe arrangement that is different from a typical 1.75D probe, there does not appear to be sufficient support described in the specification. For example, there is nothing in the specification that describes an elevation resolution relative to an azimuth resolution. This limitation has support only because it is a feature of a 1.75D probe, as the elevation dimension is larger than the azimuth dimension. The language referring to a 3D representation and useful 3D data is unclear as set forth in the 112 rejection and, furthermore, the language of features (i)-(vi) appears to be data that ultrasound data is compared to. As currently set forth, this data does not structurally limit the ultrasound transducer.
The claim objections are withdrawn except in regard to claim 15 which was not addressed. The 112f interpretation is maintained. While Applicant has asserted that the specification conveys structure, it is noted that the structure is not read into the claims. The claims contain generic placeholder terms and the corresponding structure must be present in the specification. Otherwise, the terms would lack clarity under 112b.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL T ROZANSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797