DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/13/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 5-10 in the reply filed on 5/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Padovani [US2005/0227497].
Padovani discloses a method of forming a pattern structure, comprising the steps of: supplying an insulating resist (102) onto a transfer base material (120) (paragraphs 0021); preparing a mold (100) which has a mold base material (104) and a projected portion (110) located at a main surface of the mold base material, and bringing the mold (100) and the transfer base material (120) close to each other to spread the insulating resist between the mold and the transfer base material, thereby forming an insulating resist layer (paragraphs 0017-21); curing the insulating resist layer to form an insulating material layer (paragraph 0022); separating the mold from the insulating material layer (0022-23); and developing the insulating material layer to obtain a state in which an insulating pattern structure having a recess for forming a pad portion and a through-hole for forming an interlayer connection via, the through-hole located in the recess, is located on the transfer base material, wherein the through-hole has a stepped shape including at least two steps (paragraph 0023; 0020; Figure 1A-D; Figure 2).
With respect to claim 6, Padovani discloses in a sectional view, an inside surface of that one of the at least two steps which is on the transfer base material side is perpendicular to a surface of the transfer base material (Figure 1C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padovani in view of Pan [TW201018576, machine translation].
Padovani discloses a method of forming a pattern structure. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Padovani. Padovani discloses forming a stepped surface, but fails to disclose the inside surface of the steps having an incline, curve toward the inside, or curve toward the outside. Choosing or changing the shape of a feature is within the ability of one of ordinary skill, in any event Pan discloses known mold shapes and resulting molded surfaces. Pan discloses a method of molding. Pan discloses the molded surface can be molded to have an incline (Figure 3), a curve toward the inside (Figure 9) or a curve toward the outside (Figures 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Padovani by molding with any of the known surface shapes including inclined, curved toward an inside, or curved toward an outside as taught by Pan in order to improve the durability or other characteristics of the shaped surface.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padovani in view of Suzuki [JP2014-170976, machine translation provided].
Padovani discloses a method of forming a pattern structure. Applicant is referred to paragraph 5 for a detailed discussion of Padovani. Padovani discloses a method of manufacturing a wiring structure, comprising the steps of: forming an insulating pattern structure having a recess for forming a pad portion and a through-hole for forming an interlayer connection via, the through-hole being located in the recess, by the method of forming the pattern structure according to claim 5 (see discussion of claim 5 above); forming a seed electrode layer (paragraph 0029); depositing a conductor on the seed electrode layer by electroplating to form a conductor layer in such a manner as to fill the recess for forming the pad portion and the through-hole for forming the interlayer connection via of the pattern structure (paragraph 0029-30); and polishing the conductor layer to leave the conductor layer in the recess for forming the pad portion and the through-hole for forming the interlayer connection via of the pattern structure (planarization; paragraph 0031). Padovani does not disclose forming a conductor barrier layer.
Suzuki discloses a method of forming a pattern structure. Suzuki discloses forming barrier metal layer in a trench surface before applying a seed layer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the method of Padovani by applying a barrier layer before the seed layer as taught by Suzuki in order to improve the quality of the final product by preventing diffusion of the plated copper into the substrate.
Conclusion
/DANIEL MCNALLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746
DPM
June 26, 2026