DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 10/08/2024, claims 1-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “when no valid SR resource is configured for the UE for a second SR associated with the second SR configuration.” It is unclear what constitutes a “valid SR resource” as distinguished from an SR resource that is not valid. Because the subsequent operations of receiving a random access preamble and detecting the first SR are conditioned upon the absence of a “valid SR resource,” the scope of the claimed conditional operation cannot be determined with reasonable certainty absent a definition or objective criterion for determining whether an SR resource is “valid.” Dependent claims 2-20 are rejected for the reasons presented above with respect to the rejected claims and in view of their dependence thereon. It is recommended that the claim language be amended such that the exact meaning of the above quoted limitation is clear. For the purpose of examinations, Examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dinan (US 2017/0310531 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0289908 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Dinan discloses a method comprising:
transmitting signaling to configure a UE with a first scheduling request (SR) configuration associated with a first logical channel (See Fig. 7: receiving the SchedulingRequestConfig via a first SR signal on an uplink control channel athe the UEand the wireless device may start a first scheduling request prohibit timer. The first SR signal may indicate that the wireless device requires radio resources of at least one first radio resource type.; ¶. [0220] and ¶ [0279]) and a second SR configuration associated with a second logical channel (See Fig. 7: The at least one message may further comprise a second scheduling request configuration index for scheduling request resources on the secondary PUCCH, if SR resources are configured for a PUCCH SCell. The second scheduling request configuration index may indicate a second scheduling request period and a second offset. ¶ [0279] and ¶. [0285]);
[Office note: either one of scheduling request or Request Config as taught by Dinan could be used as a first/second scheduling request (SR).]
when no valid SR resource is configured for the UE for the second SR associated with the second SR configuration (See Fig. 7: if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI: may initiate a Random Access procedure on the SpCell and cancel pending SRs; ¶. [0163] and ¶ [0282]);
receiving a random access preamble from the UE (See Fig. 7: if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI: may initiate a Random Access procedure on the SpCell and cancel pending SRs; ¶. [0163] and ¶ [0282]); and
detecting a first SR on a first SR resource, associated with the first SR configuration, corresponding to the first logical channel (See Fig. 7: transmitting the SR on one antenna port or two antenna ports of the serving cell with configured PUCCH. The scheduling request may be transmitted on the PUCCH resource(s); ¶. [0288] and ¶ [0292]).
Even though, Dinan teaches the process wherein if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI: may initiate a Random Access procedure on the SpCell and cancel pending SRs, Dinan doesn’t explicitly describe detecting the Scheduling Request (SR) configuration associated with the SR resource.
However, Lee further states detecting the Scheduling Request (SR) configuration associated with the SR resource (Lee: the processing of not cancelling the triggered SRs based on the determination of checking if whether all pending SRs are triggered by sidelink BSR and whether remaining configured sidelink grant(s) within the current SC period can accommodate all remaining SL data available for transmission or not by comparing the sum of remaining configured sidelink grant(s) and the amount of remaining SL data available for transmission (S1609). Lee’s figure 16 and steps S1615 further explains “Not cancelling, i.e., keeping, the triggered SRs”. Lee’s ¶. [0193] and ¶. [0198].
Lee’s figure 16 is shown in below just for the Applicant’s convenience:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide detecting the Scheduling Request (SR) Config and resource as taught by Lee to have incorporated in the system of Dinan, so that it would provide to achieve by providing a method for operating by an apparatus in wireless communication system, the method comprising; triggering one or more sidelink Buffer Status Reports (BSRs) for sidelink data available for transmission; triggering one or more Scheduling Requests (SRs); configuring one or more sidelink grants in one or more subframes within a certain period; checking in a first subframe whether remaining sidelink grants can accommodate all pending data available for transmission; and canceling the all of the one or more triggered SRs if the all of the one or more triggered SRs are triggered by the one or more sidelink BSRs and the remaining sidelink grants can accommodate all of the pending data available for transmission, wherein the remaining sidelink grants are sidelink grants configured in one or more subframes starting from the first subframe to end of the certain period. LEE: ¶. [0011].
Regarding claim 3; Dinan discloses the method wherein the first logical channel corresponds to one or more first transmission durations up to a first value. Dinan: ¶. [0147].
Regarding claim 4; Dinan discloses the method further comprising receiving an indication of a first SR configuration index. See Dinan’s Abstract.
Regarding claim 5; Dinan discloses the method wherein a first SR configuration indicates one or more first SR prohibit timer values and one or more first SR transmission counter values (Dinan: ¶. [0147]).
Regarding claim 6; Dinan discloses the method wherein the first logical channel corresponds to a first quality of service requirement, and the second logical channel corresponds to a second quality of service requirement. Dinan: ¶. [0182].
Regarding claim 7; Dinan discloses the method wherein the one or messages indicate one or more random access parameters. Dinan: ¶. [0106-0107].
Regarding claim 8; Dinan teaches an apparatus comprising: one or more memories comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to, individually or collectively, execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to:
transmit signaling to configure a UE with a first scheduling request (SR) configuration associated with a first logical channel (See Fig. 7: receiving the SchedulingRequestConfig via a first SR signal on an uplink control channel athe the UEand the wireless device may start a first scheduling request prohibit timer. The first SR signal may indicate that the wireless device requires radio resources of at least one first radio resource type.; ¶. [0220] and ¶ [0279]) and a second SR configuration associated with a second logical channel (See Fig. 7: The at least one message may further comprise a second scheduling request configuration index for scheduling request resources on the secondary PUCCH, if SR resources are configured for a PUCCH SCell. The second scheduling request configuration index may indicate a second scheduling request period and a second offset. ¶ [0279] and ¶. [0285]);
[Office note: either one of scheduling request or Request Config as taught by Dinan could be used as a first/second scheduling request (SR).]
when no valid SR resource is configured for the UE for the second SR associated with the second SR configuration (See Fig. 7: if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI: may initiate a Random Access procedure on the SpCell and cancel pending SRs; ¶. [0163] and ¶ [0282]);
receive a random access preamble from the UE (See Fig. 7: if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI: may initiate a Random Access procedure on the SpCell and cancel pending SRs; ¶. [0163] and ¶ [0282]); and
detect a first SR on a first SR resource, associated with the first SR configuration, corresponding to the first logical channel (See Fig. 7: transmitting the SR on one antenna port or two antenna ports of the serving cell with configured PUCCH. The scheduling request may be transmitted on the PUCCH resource(s); ¶. [0288] and ¶ [0292]).
Even though, Dinan teaches the process wherein if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI: may initiate a Random Access procedure on the SpCell and cancel pending SRs, Dinan doesn’t explicitly describe detecting the Scheduling Request (SR) configuration associated with the SR resource.
However, Lee further states detecting the Scheduling Request (SR) configuration associated with the SR resource (Lee: the processing of not cancelling the triggered SRs based on the determination of checking if whether all pending SRs are triggered by sidelink BSR and whether remaining configured sidelink grant(s) within the current SC period can accommodate all remaining SL data available for transmission or not by comparing the sum of remaining configured sidelink grant(s) and the amount of remaining SL data available for transmission (S1609). Lee’s figure 16 and steps S1615 further explains “Not cancelling, i.e., keeping, the triggered SRs”. Lee’s ¶. [0193] and ¶. [0198].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide detecting the Scheduling Request (SR) Config and resource as taught by Lee to have incorporated in the system of Dinan, so that it would provide to achieve by providing a method for operating by an apparatus in wireless communication system, the method comprising; triggering one or more sidelink Buffer Status Reports (BSRs) for sidelink data available for transmission; triggering one or more Scheduling Requests (SRs); configuring one or more sidelink grants in one or more subframes within a certain period; checking in a first subframe whether remaining sidelink grants can accommodate all pending data available for transmission; and canceling the all of the one or more triggered SRs if the all of the one or more triggered SRs are triggered by the one or more sidelink BSRs and the remaining sidelink grants can accommodate all of the pending data available for transmission, wherein the remaining sidelink grants are sidelink grants configured in one or more subframes starting from the first subframe to end of the certain period. LEE: ¶. [0011].
Regarding claim 10; Dinan discloses the apparatus wherein the first logical channel corresponds to one or more first transmission durations up to a first value. Dinan: ¶. [0147].
Regarding claim 11; Dinan discloses the apparatus further comprising receiving an indication of a first SR configuration index. See Dinan’s Abstract.
Regarding claim 12; Dinan discloses the apparatus wherein a first SR configuration indicates one or more first SR prohibit timer values and one or more first SR transmission counter values (Dinan: ¶. [0147]).
Regarding claim 13; Dinan discloses the apparatus wherein the first logical channel corresponds to a first quality of service requirement, and the second logical channel corresponds to a second quality of service requirement. Dinan: ¶. [0182].
Regarding claim 14; Dinan discloses the apparatus wherein the one or messages indicate one or more random access parameters. Dinan: ¶. [0106-0107].
Regarding claim 15; Dinan teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method, the method comprising:
transmitting signaling to configure a UE with a first scheduling request (SR) configuration associated with a first logical channel (See Fig. 7: receiving the SchedulingRequestConfig via a first SR signal on an uplink control channel athe the UEand the wireless device may start a first scheduling request prohibit timer. The first SR signal may indicate that the wireless device requires radio resources of at least one first radio resource type.; ¶. [0220] and ¶ [0279]) and a second SR configuration associated with a second logical channel (See Fig. 7: The at least one message may further comprise a second scheduling request configuration index for scheduling request resources on the secondary PUCCH, if SR resources are configured for a PUCCH SCell. The second scheduling request configuration index may indicate a second scheduling request period and a second offset. ¶ [0279] and ¶. [0285]);
[Office note: either one of scheduling request or Request Config as taught by Dinan could be used as a first/second scheduling request (SR).]
when no valid SR resource is configured for the UE for the second SR associated with the second SR configuration (See Fig. 7: if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI: may initiate a Random Access procedure on the SpCell and cancel pending SRs; ¶. [0163] and ¶ [0282]);
receiving a random access preamble from the UE (See Fig. 7: if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI: may initiate a Random Access procedure on the SpCell and cancel pending SRs; ¶. [0163] and ¶ [0282]); and
detecting a first SR on a first SR resource, associated with the first SR configuration, corresponding to the first logical channel (See Fig. 7: transmitting the SR on one antenna port or two antenna ports of the serving cell with configured PUCCH. The scheduling request may be transmitted on the PUCCH resource(s); ¶. [0288] and ¶ [0292]).
Even though, Dinan teaches the process wherein if the MAC entity has no valid PUCCH resource for SR configured in any TTI: may initiate a Random Access procedure on the SpCell and cancel pending SRs, Dinan doesn’t explicitly describe detecting the Scheduling Request (SR) configuration associated with the SR resource.
However, Lee further states detecting the Scheduling Request (SR) configuration associated with the SR resource (Lee: the processing of not cancelling the triggered SRs based on the determination of checking if whether all pending SRs are triggered by sidelink BSR and whether remaining configured sidelink grant(s) within the current SC period can accommodate all remaining SL data available for transmission or not by comparing the sum of remaining configured sidelink grant(s) and the amount of remaining SL data available for transmission (S1609). Lee’s figure 16 and steps S1615 further explains “Not cancelling, i.e., keeping, the triggered SRs”. Lee’s ¶. [0193] and ¶. [0198].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide detecting the Scheduling Request (SR) Config and resource as taught by Lee to have incorporated in the system of Dinan, so that it would provide to achieve by providing a method for operating by an apparatus in wireless communication system, the method comprising; triggering one or more sidelink Buffer Status Reports (BSRs) for sidelink data available for transmission; triggering one or more Scheduling Requests (SRs); configuring one or more sidelink grants in one or more subframes within a certain period; checking in a first subframe whether remaining sidelink grants can accommodate all pending data available for transmission; and canceling the all of the one or more triggered SRs if the all of the one or more triggered SRs are triggered by the one or more sidelink BSRs and the remaining sidelink grants can accommodate all of the pending data available for transmission, wherein the remaining sidelink grants are sidelink grants configured in one or more subframes starting from the first subframe to end of the certain period. LEE: ¶. [0011].
Regarding claim 17; Dinan discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the first logical channel corresponds to one or more first transmission durations up to a first value. Dinan: ¶. [0147].
Regarding claim 18; Dinan discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium further comprising receiving an indication of a first SR configuration index. See Dinan’s Abstract.
Regarding claim 19; Dinan discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein a first SR configuration indicates one or more first SR prohibit timer values and one or more first SR transmission counter values (Dinan: ¶. [0147]).
Regarding claim 20; Dinan discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium wherein the first logical channel corresponds to a first quality of service requirement, and the second logical channel corresponds to a second quality of service requirement. Dinan: ¶. [0182].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pelletier et al. (US 2012/0300715 A1 to discuss the method for Obtaining Uplink Timing Alignment on a Cell).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416