DETAILED ACTION
The following correspondence is a non-final Office Action for application # 18909161, entitled: VERTICAL STAND, filed on 10/08/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,259,085 to Chen (as seen in the Table below). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they disclose the same structural limitations and functions, as claimed in the instant Application.
Conflicting claims
18/909,161
U.S. 12,259,085
1, 12-13, 15
1
2,16
2
3,17
3
4
4
5
5
6
6
7,19
7
8
8
9
9
10
10
11
11
14
1,10,11
20
18
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Agevik et al. (U.S. Pat. 7422379).
Regarding claim 1, Agevik discloses a stand 20 for holding electronic devices 21, the stand 20 comprising: a first side wall 34a having a top and a bottom (as seen in Fig. 3 below); a second side wall 34b having a top and bottom (as seen in Fig. 3 below); and a hinged base 31 having a first leaf 31a and a second leaf 31b pivotally coupled to the first leaf 31a, the first leaf 31a coupled to the first side wall 34a and the second leaf 31b coupled to the second side wall 34b to define a receiving area between the first and second side walls 34a,34b, where, when the receiving area is empty, the stand 20 is biased in an open position where the tops of the first and second walls 34a,34b are a first distance from one another (as shown in Fig. 3), and when an electronic device is placed in the receiving area, the stand is moved to a closed position where the tops of the first and second walls 34a,34b are a second distance from one another, the second distance being less than the first distance (as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Agevik discloses the stand 20, where in the closed position (Fig. 2), the hinged base 31 moves downward toward a substrate. The Examiner notes that as the stand 20 transitions from the open position in Fig. 3 to the closed position in Fig. 2, the base 31 moves downward.
Regarding claim 3, Agevik discloses the stand 20, where in the closed position (Fig. 2), the first and second leaves 31a,31b pivot relative to one another causing the tops of the first and second side walls 34a,34b to rotate inward to contact the electronic device 21 (as seen in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Agevik discloses the stand 20, where the first leaf 31a has a first plurality of knuckles (as seen in Fig. 3 below) and the second leaf 31b has a second plurality of knuckles (as seen in Fig. 3 below) configured to interlock and align with the first plurality of knuckles.
Regarding claim 5, Agevik discloses the stand 20, where the first and second plurality of knuckles each include a passage extending therethrough that align with one another when interlocked to form an attachment passage (see interlocking of knuckles in Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 6, Agevik discloses the stand 20, where the first leaf 31a and the second leaf 31b are coupled by a rod 32 disposed in the attachment passage (as seen in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Agevik discloses the stand 20, where the hinged base 31 additionally includes a resilient member biasing the stand 20 in the open position (shown in Fig. 3) when the receiving area is empty (see discussion in col. 6, lines 24-26, regarding “spring”).
Regarding claim 10, Agevik discloses the stand 20, further comprising a bumper disposed on the top of the first side wall 34a and a bumper disposed on the top of the second side wall 34b. The Examiner notes that Agevik discloses the use of rubber padding in col. 5, lines 15-18.
Regarding claim 12, Agevik discloses the stand 20, further comprising a support pad disposed on a top surface of the first leaf 31a and a support pad disposed on a top surface of the second leaf 31b. Again, the Examiner notes that Agevik discloses the use of rubber padding in col. 5, lines 15-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agevik in view of Wallis (U.S. Pat. 7777110).
Regarding claim 8, Agevik teaches the stand above, but fails to teach rotation stops on the stand 20. Wallis teaches a stand 10 having leaves 22,24 and a hinge 26 that pivotally connects the leaves 22,24 along the axis 50. Wallis further teaches, where the leaves 22,24 have at least one rotation stop 54 projecting outwardly from the plurality of knuckles 40,44 (as seen in Fig. 8), and where when the stand 10 is in the open position, the at least one rotation stop 54 of the first leaf 22 contacts the bottom surface of the second leaf 24 and the at least one rotation stop 54 of the second leaf 24 contacts the bottom surface of the first leaf 22 to prevent the hinged base from opening past a predetermined angle.
Regarding claim 20, Agevik teaches the stand above, comprising: a first side wall 34a; a second side wall 34b; and a hinged base 31 comprising: at least one pin 32; a first leaf 31a having a plurality of first knuckles (as seen in Fig. 3) configured to receive the at least one pin 32 a; a second leaf 31b having a plurality of second knuckles (as shown in Fig. 3) configured to receive the at least one pin 32 and interlock with the first knuckles; and a resilient member (as discussed in col.6, lines 24-26); where the at least one pin 32 is extends through passages in the first knuckles, the second knuckles, and the resilient member to pivotally couple the first and second leaves 31a,31b together. However, Agevik fails to teach rotation stops on the stand 20. Wallis teaches a stand 10 having leaves 22,24 and a hinge 26 that pivotally connects the leaves 22,24 along the axis 50. Wallis further teaches, where the leaves 22,24 have at least one rotation stop 54 projecting outwardly from the plurality of knuckles 40,44 (as seen in Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinges of Agevik to have the rotation stops of Wallis, in order to prevent pivoting movement of the first and second portions beyond a predetermined orientation, as taught to be desirable by Wallis (see discussion in col. 4, lines 59-61).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the reference to Agevik and Wallis above, the Examiner submits the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892). U.S. Pats. 11672335 to Zavala et al., 20200278075 to Hatfield et al., 20100150543 to Fong teach supporting stands for electronic devices.
/Michael McDuffie/Examiner, Art Unit 3632 17-Dec-25
/TERRELL L MCKINNON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3632