Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remarks entered on 04/10/2026.
Claims 1-19 & 21 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 21 is newly added.
Claim 20 is canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 04/10/2026, pages 4-5, regarding the rejection of claim 1, and similarly claims 2-3 & 16-19 & 21 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, and are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Aono et al. (US 2022/0060741 A1) (hereinafter Aono) in view of Huo et al. (WO 2020/029202 A1) (hereinafter Huo) and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2011/0063517 A1) (hereinafter Luo) as outlined below.
In response to Applicant’s remark that Examiner’s previously-cited references do not show the Applicant’s newly-recited claim limitations, the Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the rejection of claims 1-3 & 16-19 & 21 below, wherein Applicant’s newly-recited limitations are addressed by Luo for the reasons as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 & 16-19 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aono et al. (US 2022/0060741 A1(hereinafter Aono) in view of Huo et al. (WO 2020/029202 A1) (hereinafter Huo) and further in view of Luo et al. (US 2011/0063517 A1) (hereinafter Luo).
Regarding claim 1, Aono discloses a method for decoding [Paragraph [0146], Fig. 20(a), image decoding device], comprising:
determining reference information of a current block [Paragraph [0146]-[0171], Fig. 20(a) & 39, decoding device identifies reference pictures in reference picture memory as reference information];
performing a filtering process on at least partial information in the reference information of the current block, to determine target information of the current block [Paragraph [0179]-[0227], Fig. 39, filtered reference image configuration unit 3103 applies reference pixel filter to reference pixels to generate filtered reference image in an effort to generate prediction target blocks]; and
determining reconstructed values of second color component samples of the current block according to the prediction block [Paragraph [0159]-[0279] & [0625]-[0634], residual signal added to prediction images to generate decoded image, including chrominance component].
However Aono does not explicitly disclose determining a respective one of weighting coefficients according to each of reference sample values of a first color component in the target information; and determining a prediction block of a second color component of the current block according to the weighting coefficients and reference sample values of a second color component in the target information.
Huo teaches of determining a respective one of weighting coefficients according to each of reference sample values of a first color component in the target information [Paragraph [0047]-[0067], Obtaining weight coefficient using weight calculation model (5) based on adjacent reference value of first image component].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Aono to effectively improve prediction precision of a second image component prediction value, and make a second image component prediction value closer to a real component value (Huo, Paragraph [0005]).
However Aono and Huo do not disclose determining a prediction block of a second color component of the current block according to the weighting coefficients and reference sample values of a second color component in the target information.
Luo teaches of determining a prediction block of a second color component of the current block according to the weighting coefficients and reference sample values of a second color component in the target information [Paragraph [0042], One or more chroma components, for example, Cb 412 and/or Cr 418 and/or luma components Y 410 for the current pixel 504 may be determined based on weighted least squares utilizing the plurality of reference pixels, the corresponding plurality of weighting factors w and information that may be known about the composite video signal. In this regard, the received composite video signal 206 may comprise a baseband Y component, a modulated Cb component and/or a modulated Cr component].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Aono to incorporate the teachings of Luo to effectively improve prediction precision of a second image component prediction value, and make a second image component prediction value closer to a real component value (Luo, Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Aono, Huo, and Luo disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Huo teaches wherein the prediction block comprises predicted values of at least a part of the second color component samples in the current block [Paragraph [0099]-[0132], obtaining the second image component prediction value corresponding to the current coding block based on the scale factor].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Aono to effectively improve prediction precision of a second image component prediction value, and make a second image component prediction value closer to a real component value (Huo, Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Aono, Huo, and Luo disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Huo teaches wherein determining the reference information of the current block comprises: determining the reference information of the current block according to values of first color component samples in a neighboring area of the current block, values of second color component samples in the neighboring area of the current block, and reconstructed values of first reference color component samples in the current block [Paragraph [0043], The component neighboring reference values, for example, as shown in FIG. 5 above, are calculated using all neighboring first image component neighboring reference values L (n) and all second image component neighboring reference values C (n) to obtain the scale factors α and β. Then, the reconstruction value of the first image component of the current coding block is substituted into the linear model to obtain the predicted value of the second image component of the current coding block.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Aono to effectively improve prediction precision of a second image component prediction value, and make a second image component prediction value closer to a real component value (Huo, Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, Aono, Huo, and Luo disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore Huo teaches wherein determining the respective one of the weighting coefficients according to each of the reference sample values of the first color component in the target information comprises: determining a respective value corresponding to each of the reference sample values of the first color component under a preset mapping relationship; and setting the respective one of the weighting coefficients to be equal to the respective value [Paragraph [0047]-[0067], Obtaining weight coefficient using weight calculation model (5) as preset mapping relationship, based on adjacent reference value of first image component and setting to scaling factor].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Aono to effectively improve prediction precision of a second image component prediction value, and make a second image component prediction value closer to a real component value (Huo, Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Aono, Huo, and Luo disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Huo teaches wherein determining the prediction block of the second color component of the current block according to the weighting coefficients and the reference sample values of the second color component in the target information comprises: determining a respective weighted value between each of the reference sample values of the second color component and a weighting coefficient corresponding to the reference sample value; and setting a predicted value of a respective one of second color component samples in the prediction block to be equal to a sum of N weighted values, wherein N indicates a number of the reference sample values of the second color component, and N is a positive integer [Paragraph [0111]-[0115], Obtaining weight coefficient using formulas (6) and (7) with sum of N weighted values w(n)].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Aono to effectively improve prediction precision of a second image component prediction value, and make a second image component prediction value closer to a real component value (Huo, Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Aono, Huo, and Luo disclose the method of claim 1, and are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to the claim.
Furthermore, Huo teaches wherein determining the reconstructed values of the second color component samples of the current block according to the prediction block comprises: for each of the second color component samples of the current block, determining a predicted difference value of the second color component sample;
determining a predicted value of the second color component sample according to the prediction block; and determining a reconstructed value of the second color component sample according to the predicted difference value of the second color component sample and the predicted value of the second color component sample [Paragraph [0086]-[0096] & [0152], Obtaining difference values between first and second image components].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Aono to effectively improve prediction precision of a second image component prediction value, and make a second image component prediction value closer to a real component value (Huo, Paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is drawn to a method for encoding having limitations similar to the method of decoding of using the same as claimed in claim 1 treated in the above rejection. Therefore, method claim 19 correspond to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is drawn to a device for decoding having limitations similar to the method of decoding of using the same as claimed in claim 1 treated in the above rejections. Therefore, device claim 20 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and overcoming the nonstatutory double patenting rejections outlined above.
Claims 4-15 contain allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The various claimed limitations mentioned in the claims are not taught or suggested by the prior art taken either singly or in combination, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487