DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 5/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/27/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Imppola et al, US Patent Publication 2015/0315748.
Regarding claim 1, Imppola teaches a flexible calcium carbonate (hybrid material, see abstract) comprising: micro fibrillated cellulose (MFC [0018]); and calcium carbonate attached to the micro fibrillated cellulose [0018].
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Han et al, “Development of Flexible Calcium Carbonate for Papermaking Filler” (NPL already of record) May 2020.
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a flexible calcium carbonate (see abstract) comprising: micro fibrillated cellulose (MFC [0018]); and calcium carbonate attached to the micro fibrillated cellulose [0018].
Regarding claim 3, Han further teaches that he length of the FCC can be as little as 30 microns (page 13 line 10). The end point of the range would stand as an example for testing and would provide the overlapping range with specific specifically for the average artisan to act as an example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Imppola et al, US Patent Publication 2015/0315748.
Regarding claim 2, Imppola does not provide an explicit weight ratio of the MFC to calcium carbonate, but does provide ranges of each component. Imppola states that the calcium carbonate has a max amount in one embodiment of 25 wt% to a lower end of 6% [0077]. Imppola also teaches that the concentration of MFC in the made to be 1-6% [0019] in the processes incorporated by reference for the discloser [0018-0019]. This provides a weight ratio of as much as 25:1 and as little as 1:1 (6% to 6%).
It is the Examiner’s stance that this ratio is an encompassing rage to the claimed value and therefore is taught with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claimed range.
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to find the workable ranges of the weight ratio based on the starting points stated above as it has been held that finding the workable ranges of a known properties through routine optimization is within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Imppola further teaches that the MFC that has the calcium carbonate attached to it has a length of 10-200 microns [0052] and can be any length as desired as there is a wide length available to the user [0052]..
It is the Examiner’s stance that this range is an encompassing rage to the claimed value.
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to find the workable ranges of the weight ratio based on the starting points stated above as it has been held that finding the workable ranges of a known properties through routine optimization is within the ability of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748