CTNF 18/909,244 CTNF 101541 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/8/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-16, 18, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hannuksela et. al. (United States Patent US 11,323,723 B2) . Regarding claim 1, Hannuksela et. al. discloses a method of encapsulation of a partitioned image in an ISOBMFF based media file (Hannuksela et. al. Abstract, Fig. 20: Bitstream with motion-constrained tile sets are set to file/segment encapsulation step; Col 7, line 5: ISOBMFF is the base for derivation of all the above-mentioned file formats), the image being partitioned in rectangular image portions (Hannuksela et. al. Col 47, lines 39-41: A motion-constrained tile set is a rectangular set of tiles that may contain one or more tiles. In Fig. 7, the white rectangles illustrate the tile boundaries.), the image portions being independently decodable (Hannuksela et. al. Col. 47, lines 59-64: The output of the method is a full-picture-complaint tile set track or bitstream constructed on the basis of the motion-constrained tile set, wherein the full-picture-complaint tile set track or bitstream is decodable, as such, by a standard video decoder; Col 41, lines 27-30: In DASH, an independent representation may be defined as a representation that can be processed independently of any other representations), the method comprising the following steps: - obtaining the partitioned image; - generating an image item describing the partitioned image; - storing each image portion data in a different extent of the image item; - associating information with the image item, the information indicating that each extent of the image item is constrained to enclose data units of the image item that are extractable and independently decodable; and - encapsulating the image item, the associated information and the partitioned image (Hannuksela et. al. Fig. 12, 20: file/segment encapsulation step). Regarding claim 2 and claim 11, Hannuksela et. al. discloses the method of claim 1 and claim 10, wherein the information is a dedicated item property associated with the image item (Hannuksela et. al. Col. 47, lines 59-64: The output of the method is a full-picture-complaint tile set track or bitstream constructed on the basis of the motion-constrained tile set). Regarding claim 3 and claim 12, Hannuksela et. al. discloses the method of claim 1 and claim 10, wherein the image portions are organized in a grid in raster scan order (Hannuksela et. al. Fig. 6a, 6b, 7, Col. 47, lines 59-64: The output of the method is a full-picture-complaint tile set track or bitstream constructed on the basis of the motion-constrained tile set). Regarding claim 4 and claim 13, Hannuksela et. al. discloses the method of claim 1 and claim 10, wherein all image portions having the same size, the size in pixels of an image portion is determined from information described in a decoder configuration information box and/or from information in an item property associated with the image item (Hannuksela et. al. Col. 60, lines 53-59: The spatial relationship information for each pre-constructed tile set track may indicate its position and size relative to the indicated full picture size. These information may be carried using SubRepresentation-level SRD, as specified in MPEG-DASH, Fig. 21). Regarding claim 5 and claim 14, Hannuksela et. al. discloses the method of claim 1 and claim 10, wherein the information is stored in an ItemLocationBox of the media file (Hannuksela et. al. Col. 59, lines 5-11: The instructions may be stored in the same file with the segment(s) or media file(s), or they may be stored in separate segment hint file(s). The format of the instructions may but need not comply with ISOBMFF). Regarding claim 6 and claim 15, Hannuksela et. al. discloses the method of claim 2 and claim 11, wherein the information comprises optional parameters for describing properties of the image portions (Hannuksela et. al. col 10, lines 1-10: One outcome of the coding procedure is a set of coding parameters. Many parameters can be entropy-coded more efficiently if they are predicted first from spatially or temporally neighboring parameters). Regarding claim 7, Hannuksela et. al. discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: - generating a pyramid of partitioned overview images from the partitioned image, each partitioned overview image being a lower resolution version of the partitioned image (Hannuksela et. al. col 30, lines 1-10: Spatial scalability: Base layer pictures are coded at a lower resolution (i.e. have fewer samples) than enhancement layer pictures); - encapsulating at least one of the partitioned overview images (Hannuksela et. al. Fig. 12, 20: file/segment encapsulation step); - generating an entityToGroup grouping the partitioned image and the overview images; and - encapsulating the entityToGroup in the media file (Hannuksela et. al. col. 8, lines 50-57: Sample groupings may be represented by two linked data structures: (1) a SampleToGroup box (sbgp box) represents the assignment of samples to sample groups; and (2) a SampleGroupDescription box (sgpd box) contains a sample group entry for each group describing the properties of the group). Regarding claim 8, Hannuksela et. al. discloses the method of claim 7, wherein all the partitioned overview images are encapsulated (Hannuksela et. al. Fig. 12, 20: file/segment encapsulation step). Regarding claim 9, Hannuksela et. al. discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the information is stored in the entityToGroup (Hannuksela et. al. col. 8, lines 50-57: Sample groupings may be represented by two linked data structures: (1) a SampleToGroup box (sbgp box) represents the assignment of samples to sample groups; and (2) a SampleGroupDescription box (sgpd box) contains a sample group entry for each group describing the properties of the group). Regarding claim 10, Hannuksela et. al. discloses a method of rendering an image portion of a partitioned image encapsulated in an ISOBMFF based media file, the method comprising (Hannuksela et. al. col. 46, lines 55-60, In cubemap projection format, spherical video is projected onto the six faces (a.k.a sides) of a cube. The cubemap may be generated e.g. by first rendering the spherical scene six times from a viewpoint, with the views defined by an 90-degree view frustum representing each cube face): - obtaining from the media file an image item describing the partitioned image; - obtaining from the media file information associated with the image item, the information indicating that each extent of the image item is constrained to enclose data units of the image item that are extractable and independently decodable; - selecting an extent of the image item; - extracting the image data portion enclosed in the extent and - rendering an image portion using the extracted image data portion (Hannuksela et. al. Fig. 23, Renderer 1590). Regarding claim 16, Hannuksela et. al. discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the method further comprises: - obtaining from the media file an entityToGroup grouping the partitioned image and partitioned overview images forming a pyramid of partitioned overview images, each partitioned overview image being a lower resolution version of the partitioned image (Hannuksela et. al. col 30, lines 1-10: Spatial scalability: Base layer pictures are coded at a lower resolution (i.e. have fewer samples); - rendering an image portion of a partitioned overview image (Hannuksela et. al. Fig. 23, Renderer 1590). Regarding claim 18, which is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions of a computer program for implementing a method according to claim 1, which the rejection analysis is incorporated herein. Regarding claim 20, which is a processing device comprising a processing unit configured for carrying out each step of the method according to claim 1, which the rejection analysis is incorporated herein. Regarding claim 21, which is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions of a computer program for implementing a method according to claim 16, which the rejection analysis is incorporated herein. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JESSICA YIFANG LIN whose telephone number is (571)272-6435. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:00am-6:15pm, with optional day off. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Vu Le can be reached at 571-272-7332. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JESSICA YIFANG LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 June 5, 2026 /VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/909,244 Page 2 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/909,244 Page 3 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/909,244 Page 4 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/909,244 Page 5 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/909,244 Page 6 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/909,244 Page 7 Art Unit: 2668 Application/Control Number: 18/909,244 Page 8 Art Unit: 2668