DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“An obtainer that obtains” “a selector that selects,” and “a renderer that renders” in claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thakur et al. (US 2018/0262860 A1 – cited in IDS), hereinafter “Thakur.”
As to claim 1, Thakur discloses a three-dimensional audio processing method for use in reproducing three-dimensional audio using an augmented reality (AR) device (¶0238, ¶0241), the three-dimensional audio processing method comprising:
obtaining change information indicating change occurring in a space in which the AR device is located when content that includes a sound is being output in the AR device (¶0123. “In general, a plurality of objects is added to the grid on start-up. However, the grid may also deal with objects that are created and destroyed during run-time as well as objects moving in space during run-time.”);
selecting, based on the change information, one or more audio processes among a plurality of audio processes for rendering sound information indicating the sound (¶0129-0130, Figs. 11 and 13. “The processor 18 is used to model interactions between a sound source and a plurality of objects, the modelled interactions comprising occlusion of the sound source by the objects and reflection of the sound source by the objects.” “Occlusion coefficients and reflection coefficients determined using the process of FIG. 11 are used in the process of FIG. 13 to synthesise sound in which occlusion and reflection effects are present.”);
executing only the one or more audio processes selected among the plurality of audio processes (¶0130, Figs. 11 and 13. “The process of FIG. 11 is repeated for each of the sound sources in the scene. Occlusion coefficients and reflection coefficients determined using the process of FIG. 11 are used in the process of FIG. 13 to synthesise sound in which occlusion and reflection effects are present.”); and
rendering the sound information based on a first processing result of each of the one or more audio processes executed (¶0130, Figs. 11 and 13. “Occlusion coefficients and reflection coefficients determined using the process of FIG. 11 are used in the process of FIG. 13 to synthesise sound in which occlusion and reflection effects are present.”).
As to claim 2, Thakur discloses wherein in the rendering, the sound information is rendered based on the first processing result of each of the one or more audio processes and a second processing result obtained in advance, the second processing result being a second processing result of each of an other one or more audio processes among the plurality of audio processes excluding the one or more audio processes (¶0223, Fig. 13. “Audio input 200 is received by the processor 18. The processor 18 processes direct sound in a first branch 201 of the process of FIG. 13, and processes reflected sound in a second branch 202 of the process of FIG. 13.”).
As to claim 3, Thakur discloses wherein the change information includes information indicating an object that has changed in the space (¶0123. “However, the grid may also deal with objects that are created and destroyed during run-time as well as objects moving in space during run-time.”), and
in the selecting, the one or more audio processes are selected based on at least one of an acoustic characteristic of the object or a position of the object (¶0182, ¶0186 and ¶0211. “occlusion calculations return information about a size of an occluding object or objects. The occlusions calculations may return information about how sound may diffuse around the sides of the object. By including the size of the object, a directional element may be added to the occlusion.” “By performing reflection coefficient calculations only for reflections that are near the listener, it may be possible to calculate only reflections that provide a significant contribution to the final audio signal. In some circumstances, reflections that occur far away from the listener may not result in a perceptible difference in the audio signal.”).
As to claim 4, Thakur discloses wherein in the selecting: the acoustic characteristic of the object and the position of the object are used (¶0182, ¶0186 and ¶0211. “occlusion calculations return information about a size of an occluding object or objects.” “By performing reflection coefficient calculations only for reflections that are near the listener, it may be possible to calculate only reflections that provide a significant contribution to the final audio signal.” “The at least one reflection coefficient may be dependent on a reflection level associated with the OBB.”);
whether the one or more audio processes that correspond to the object are to be executed is determined based on the position of the object (¶0182, ¶0186 and ¶0211. “occlusion calculations return information about a size of an occluding object or objects.” “By performing reflection coefficient calculations only for reflections that are near the listener, it may be possible to calculate only reflections that provide a significant contribution to the final audio signal.” “The at least one reflection coefficient may be dependent on a reflection level associated with the OBB.”); and
when the one or more audio processes are determined to be executed, the one or more audio processes are selected based on the acoustic characteristic of the object (¶0182, ¶0186 and ¶0211. “occlusion calculations return information about a size of an occluding object or objects.” “By performing reflection coefficient calculations only for reflections that are near the listener, it may be possible to calculate only reflections that provide a significant contribution to the final audio signal.” “The at least one reflection coefficient may be dependent on a reflection level associated with the OBB.”)).
As to claim 5, Thakur discloses wherein the change information includes information indicating an object that has changed in the space (¶0123. “However, the grid may also deal with objects that are created and destroyed during run-time as well as objects moving in space during run-time.”), and
in the executing, the one or more audio processes are executed using a shape model obtained by simplifying the object (¶0067 and ¶0078. “In alternative embodiments, alternative geometric components in place of convex hulls and bounding boxes may be used, for example any suitable representation of shapes for example three-dimensional shapes. The geometric components may comprise a simplified representation of a corresponding object or at least part of the corresponding object.” “The further components may comprise 3D geometrical shapes.”).
As to claim 7, Thakur discloses wherein the shape model is inserted in spatial information indicating the space (¶0135, Fig. 11. “the grid system keeps track of where hulls are in space and allows quick determination of which hulls lie in a particular region in the 3D virtual world. By using a grid based search system, only spatially relevant game objects are passed through to the more CPU intensive processes like occlusion and reflection calculation.”), and
in the selecting, the one or more audio processes are selected based on the spatial information in which the shape model is inserted (¶0135, Fig. 11. “the grid system keeps track of where hulls are in space and allows quick determination of which hulls lie in a particular region in the 3D virtual world. By using a grid based search system, only spatially relevant game objects are passed through to the more CPU intensive processes like occlusion and reflection calculation.”).
As to claim 8, it is directed towards substantially the same subject matter as claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as claim 1 above with further reference to Figs. 1 and 13.
As to claim 9, it is directed towards substantially the same subject matter as claim 1 and is therefore rejected using the same rationale as claim 1 above with further reference to ¶0248.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thakur, as applied to claim 5 above, in view of Geisner et al. (US 2012/0206452 A1 – cited in IDS).
As to claim 6, Thakur does not expressly disclose wherein the shape model is obtained, based on a type of the object, by reading a shape model that corresponds to the object from storage in which a plurality of shape models are stored in advance.
Geisner discloses wherein the shape model is obtained, based on a type of the object, by reading a shape model that corresponds to the object from storage in which a plurality of shape models are stored in advance (Geisner, ¶0090 and Fig. 3b. “The data fields include a type of object 341 which may be a data record which also includes sub-fields. For the type of object 341, the other data fields provide data records identifying the types of physical properties available for the type of object. For example, the other data records identify physical interaction characteristics 342, size ranges 343, shape selections available 344, typical types of material 345, colors available 347, patterns available 348, surface(s) available 351, typical surface texture(s) 346, a geometric orientation 350 of each available surface 351.”).
Thakur and Geisner are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to augmented reality.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to store data for types of object, as taught by Geisner. The motivation would have been to easily access and identify various physical properties for the type of object (Geisner, ¶0090).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Leppanen et al. (US 2021/0014630 A1) and Kumar B et al. (US 2022/0377482 A1).
/JAMES K MOONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695