DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maloney (US 2001/0006368 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Maloney discloses a system for storing a plurality of tangible assets (e.g. Abstract & [0003-0004] & Figs. 5-9 and 13-17: vehicle keys), the system comprising:
an RF component (e.g. Abstract & [0035] & Fig. 9: RFID tag), wherein the RF component is associable with a tangible asset (e.g. vehicle key), and wherein the RF component has a unique identifier (e.g. Fig. 5 & [0014, 0044]) and is configured to receive and modulate a carrier signal, wherein modulation of the carrier signal is based on the unique identifier (e.g. [0044]: RFID tag 62 receives carrier signal from RF sensor 63 and transmit a modulated signal with its identification code to the RF sensor);
an RF detection system (e.g. Figs. 5-9 and 13-17), comprising:
a plurality of RF coils (e.g. Abstract & [0014, 0065-0070] & Figs. 13-16: antenna), wherein each coil is arranged to emit a carrier signal and detect the modulated carrier signal (e.g. [0054]: antenna on plates 87, 88);
a processor (e.g. Fig. 9: 64, 67) in communication with each of the plurality of RF coils, wherein:
the processor is part of a microcontroller (e.g. [0006]), the microcontroller comprising a plurality of pin ports (e.g. Figs. 7, 13-14, 17); and
each of the plurality of RF coils is connected to a corresponding, respective pin port of the microcontroller; and
the processor is configured to:
poll the plurality of RF coils by switching the pin ports to be output, one at a time in sequence, to selectively allow current to flow through one or more of the plurality of RF coils at a time [0052-0056, 0061, 0072]; and,
identify the RF component based on modulation of the carrier signal (e.g. [0056]).
Regarding claim 3, Maloney discloses the microcontroller has a peripheral pin selection (PPS) function allowing each pin port (e.g. [0006]: backplane and matrix) to be configured as an output of the carrier signal (e.g. [0044]: sequentially apply RF carrier signal to each RF sensors/antenna/coils).
Regarding claim 4, Maloney discloses each of the pin ports is configured to be an output of the carrier signal in sequence (e.g. [0044]: sequentially apply RF carrier signal to each RF sensors/antenna/coils).
Regarding 5, Maloney discloses the plurality of RF coils are connected to a corresponding pin port on a first side, and to the microcontroller on a second side thereof (e.g. Figs. 5, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 18 & [0006, 0048-0053]: sensors/antennas connected on one side of a PCB and microcontroller connected to other side of the PCB)
Regarding claim 9, Maloney discloses the plurality of RF coils are arranged on a single printed circuit board (e.g. Figs. 7 and 12 & [0048, 0064]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney (US 2001/0006368 A1) in view of Hewett et al. (US 2020/0124696 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Maloney discloses the plurality of RF coils are connected to a filter to remove the carrier signal on the second side, between the RF coils and the microcontroller (e.g. [0059-0060]: filter blocks DC voltages from being transferred back to RF source implies remove carrier signal since the source provide carrier signal to the sensors).
Maloney fails to disclose, but Hewett teaches the plurality of RF coils are connected to a common peak detector (e.g. [0102]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Maloney with the teachings of Hewett to utilize peak amplitude detection so as to accurately determine location of a RFID tag.
Regarding claim 7, Hewett teaches the microcontroller is configured to measure the peak to peak level from the active RF coil to determine returned signal amplitude (e.g. [0102]: distance between peaks corresponds signal strength/amplitude).
Regarding claim 8, Hewett teaches the processor is further configured to determine the distance between the RF component and the one of the RF coils based on the peak amplitude of the modulated carrier signal (e.g. [0102]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maloney (US 2001/0006368 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Maloney discloses the plurality of RF coils are printed over 2 layers of a PCB (e.g. Figs. 7, 13 and 16). Maloney fails to disclose the plurality of RF coils are printed over 4 layers of a PCB. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to include plurality of RF coils over 4 layers of a PCB, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980), and mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9-10 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,112,608 in view of Maloney (US 2001/0006368 A1).
Regarding claim 1, the patent discloses the claimed invention except “the processor is part of a microcontroller, the microcontroller comprising a plurality of pin ports; and each of the plurality of RF coils is connected to a corresponding, respective pin port of the microcontroller”.
However, Maloney teaches the processor is part of a microcontroller (e.g. [0006]), the microcontroller comprising a plurality of pin ports (e.g. Figs. 7, 13-14, 17); and each of the plurality of RF coils is connected to a corresponding, respective pin port of the microcontroller.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the patent with the teachings of Maloney to include plurality of pin ports for each coils so as to allow polling of each coils individually. The patent discloses the claimed polling, but silent on the component for performing the polling. Maloney teaches a known in the art matrix selector for polling plurality of coils. Thus, the combination is merely simple substitutions of one known device with another according to KSR.
Regarding claims 3-5, Maloney teaches the claimed invention (see 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of claims 3-5 above).
Regarding claim 9, claim 2 of the patent discloses the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, claim 5 of the patent discloses the claimed invention.
Claims 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,112,608 in view of Maloney (US 2001/0006368 A1) and Hewett et al. (US 2020/0124696 A1).
Regarding claims 6-8, the patent and Maloney in combination fails to disclose, but Hewett teaches the claimed invention (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments with respect to double patenting rejections, rejections have been updated in view of amendment.
In response to applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1, the examiner disagrees with the following reasons:
Maloney, at least in Figures 5-9 and [0006, 0044], discloses plurality coils are connected to microcontroller (67) via matrix selector (64), and each of the coils respectively connected to a respective pin port of the matrix selector (e.g. Figures 7, 10, 16 and 17). The controller and matrix selector in combination discloses the claimed microcontroller. Therefore, Maloney discloses the claimed invention recited in claim 1.
In additions, claims 3-10 are unpatentable at least in view of foregoing reasons and rejections set forth in current Office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAM WAN MA/Examiner, Art Unit 2688