DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding the previous 102 rejection are moot, as the citations have been amended in accordance with the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zou, (US 2024/0157525).
Regarding claim 1, Zou discloses: A power tool (Fig. 1, impact wrench 100) comprising:
a housing (Fig. 1, housing 11) having a working end (Fig. 1, output mechanism 13) and a back side opposite the working end (Fig. 1, left side of tool containing 16-18);
a user interface (Figs. 1-2, human-computer interaction assembly 17) supported by the housing and positioned on the back side of the housing, the user interface including a display screen (Figs. 8-17, display 171) and a plurality of buttons (Figs. 8-17, input portion 172);
a protrusion (Figs. 8-17, highlighted portions of first body 181a, specifically see Examiner Illustration A) defined by the housing proximate to the user interface and extending away from the housing for protecting the user interface from an impact on the back side of the housing; and
Examiner Illustration A
a removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) including
a body (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) configured to be secured to the back side of the housing over the user interface and formed of an impact resistant material for protecting the user interface of the power tool from an impact at the back side of the power tool ([0095] “As shown in FIG. 9, the protective sleeve 181b is formed on or connected to the outer side of the first body 181a. The protective sleeve 181b forms an opening at the position of the display portion 1812 and the input portion 172, which is convenient for the user to view and operate. The protective cover 181b has a good appearance and a protective effect. The protective sleeve 181b and the first body 181a are connected or integrally injection-molded. Alternatively, the protective cover 181b is made of an elastic material and is sleeved on or embedded into the first body 181a by elastic deformation.”), the body overlaying the user interface when secured to the back side of the housing (see Figs. 6-17, further discussed in [0095-0096]), and
a retention feature on the body configured to mate with a corresponding feature on the housing of the power tool to removably secure the body to the back side of the housing over the user interface ([0095] “As shown in FIG. 9, the protective sleeve 181b is formed on or connected to the outer side of the first body 181a. The protective sleeve 181b forms an opening at the position of the display portion 1812 and the input portion 172, which is convenient for the user to view and operate. The protective cover 181b has a good appearance and a protective effect. The protective sleeve 181b and the first body 181a are connected or integrally injection-molded. Alternatively, the protective cover 181b is made of an elastic material and is sleeved on or embedded into the first body 181a by elastic deformation.”).
Regarding claim 3, Zou further discloses: a second protrusion proximate to the user interface opposite the first protrusion for protecting the user interface from an impact on the back side of the housing (Figs. 8-17, highlighted portions of first body 181a, specifically see Examiner Illustration A).
Regarding claim 4, Zou further discloses: the retention feature ([0095]) on the body (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) of the removable user interface guard comprises at least one protruding feature, and the corresponding feature on the housing of the power tool comprises at least one recess (see Examiner Illustration B – 181a and 181b have numerous mating surfaces that interlock with each other and consist of protrusions and recesses on both items) .
Examiner Illustration B
Regarding claim 5, Zou further discloses: the body of the removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) comprises at least one access port defined through the body to provide access to at least one of the plurality of buttons (see Figs. 6-11).
Regarding claim 6, Zou further discloses: the removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) and the protrusion (Figs. 8-17, highlighted portions of protective sleeve 181b, specifically see Examiner Illustration A) defined by the housing complete an arcuate profile at the back side of the housing (as the interface guard and protrusion form a circular entity, they must complete an arcuate profile).
Regarding claim 7, Zou discloses: A power tool (Fig. 1, impact wrench 100) comprising: a housing (Fig. 1, housing 11) having a working end (Fig. 1, output mechanism 13) and a side separate from the working end (Fig. 1, left side of tool containing 16-18); a user interface supported by the housing and positioned on the side of the housing (Figs. 1-2, human-computer interaction assembly 17); and a protrusion (Figs. 8-17, highlighted portions of protective sleeve 181b, specifically see Examiner Illustration A) defined by the housing proximate to the user interface and extending away from the housing for protecting the user interface from an impact on the side of the housing, wherein,
when a removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) is secured to the side of the housing, the protrusion and the removable user interface guard together complete a profile at the back side of the housing that provides an arcuate, at least substantially uninterrupted form factor (as the interface guard and protrusion form a circular entity, they must complete an arcuate profile).
Regarding claim 8, Zou further discloses: the user interface (Figs. 1-2, human-computer interaction assembly 17) comprises a display screen (Figs. 8-17, display 171) and a plurality of buttons (Figs. 8-17, input portion 172).
Regarding claim 10, Zou further discloses: a second protrusion (Figs. 8-17, highlighted portions of protective sleeve 181b, specifically see Examiner Illustration A) proximate to the user interface opposite the first protrusion for protecting the user interface from an impact on the back side of the housing ([0095]).
Regarding claim 11, Zou further discloses: a removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) configured to be secured to the back side of the housing over the user interface.
Regarding claim 12, Zou further discloses: the removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) comprises: a body formed of an impact resistant material for protecting the user interface of the power tool from an impact at the back side of the power tool ([0095]); and a retention feature on the body configured to mate with a corresponding feature on the housing of the power tool to removably secure the body to the back side of the housing over the user interface ([0096]).
Regarding claim 13, Zou further discloses: the retention feature on the body (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) of the removable user interface guard comprises at least one protruding feature ([0096]), and the corresponding feature on the housing of the power tool comprises at least one recess ([0096]).
Regarding claim 14, Zou further discloses: the body of the removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) comprises at least one access port defined through the body to provide access to at least one of the plurality of buttons (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 16, Zou discloses: A removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, second cover 181) for a power tool (Fig. 1, impact wrench 100), the power tool having a housing (Fig. 1, housing 11) with a back side (Fig. 1, left side of tool containing 16-18) separate from a working end (Fig. 1, output mechanism 13), a user interface (Figs. 1-2, human-computer interaction assembly 17)([0091]) supported by the housing and positioned on the side of the housing, the removable user interface guard comprising:
a body (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) configured to be secured to the back side of the housing over the user interface and formed of an impact resistant material for protecting the user interface of the power tool from an impact at the back side of the power tool ([0095]), the user interface including a display screen (Figs. 8-17, display 171) and a plurality of buttons (Figs. 8-17, input portion 172), the body overlaying the user interface when secured to the back side of the housing ([0095-0096]); and
a retention feature on the body (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) configured to mate with a corresponding feature on the housing of the power tool to removably secure the body to the back side of the housing over the user interface ([0095] “As shown in FIG. 9, the protective sleeve 181b is formed on or connected to the outer side of the first body 181a. The protective sleeve 181b forms an opening at the position of the display portion 1812 and the input portion 172, which is convenient for the user to view and operate. The protective cover 181b has a good appearance and a protective effect. The protective sleeve 181b and the first body 181a are connected or integrally injection-molded. Alternatively, the protective cover 181b is made of an elastic material and is sleeved on or embedded into the first body 181a by elastic deformation.”),
Regarding claim 17, Zou further discloses: the retention feature on the body (Figs. 8-17, second cover 181) of the removable user interface guard comprises at least one protruding feature (see Examiner Illustration B), and the corresponding feature on the housing of the power tool comprises at least one recess (see Examiner Illustration B).
Regarding claim 18, Zou further discloses: the body of the removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) comprises at least one access port defined through the body to provide access to at least one of the plurality of buttons (see Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 19, Zou further discloses: the removable user interface guard has an arcuate profile (as the interface guard forms a circular entity, they must complete an arcuate profile).
Regarding claim 20, Zou further discloses: the removable user interface guard (Figs. 8-17, protective sleeve 181b of second cover 181) is configured to wrap at least partially around additional sides of the power tool proximate to the user interface (see Figs. 1-14).
Conclusion
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731