DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: Application filed on Oct. 08/2024.
Claims 1-14 are presented for Examination. Claim 1 is independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: The claim recites "performing a voltage measurement at terminals of the motor at standstill for a voltage measurement period during initial demagnetization of the magnetic core of the motor from an initial magnetic flux of the magnetic core" but fails to specify what constitutes "initial demagnetization" or how the "initial magnetic flux" is determined or measured. The specification at paragraphs [0075]-[0077] discusses demagnetization in general terms but provides no guidance regarding how to identify when demagnetization begins or what constitutes the "initial" state. This ambiguity renders the claim indefinite.
The claim further recites "wherein the voltage measurement period is shorter than a time period of complete demagnetization of the magnetic core from the initial magnetic flux" but fails to define how the "time period of complete demagnetization" is determined. Without specifying how to measure or calculate this complete demagnetization time, the scope of the claim cannot be determined by one of ordinary skill in the art, rendering this limitation indefinite.
The claim also recites "determining a first magnetic flux estimate component based on the voltage measurement" but fails to specify the methodology or algorithm for this determination. The specification at paragraph [0082] mentions that "an integration analysis voltage measurement processing method maybe used to integrate the value(s) of the measured voltage" but provides no mathematical formula or specific integration parameters. This lack of specificity renders the claim indefinite.
The claim further recites "determining a second magnetic flux estimate component by performing an exponential regression algorithm on the voltage measurement" but fails to identify which voltage measurement data points are used for the exponential regression or what mathematical relationship defines the second magnetic flux estimate component. Paragraph [0085] states the exponential regression may be performed on "one or more of the pluralities of S voltage measurement data points" but provides no criteria for selection. This indefinite antecedent basis renders the claim unclear.
Regarding claim 3: The claim recites "determining an estimate (τ₀) of a time constant of the rotor of the motor using the exponential regression algorithm" but fails to define how the time constant estimate is derived from the exponential regression. The specification at paragraphs [0136]-[0148] discusses time constant estimation but does not provide a specific formula linking the exponential regression parameters to the rotor time constant. This renders the scope of the claim indefinite.
Regarding claim 9: The claim recites "wherein the first magnetic flux estimate
component is determined based on the combination t·v" but fails to specify what "t" and "v" represent in this combination. While paragraph [0125] of the specification mentions "the combination t·v," the claim itself fails to incorporate the necessary definitions from the specification, rendering the claim indefinite for failing to define the parameters used in the determination.
Regarding claim 11: The claim recites "wherein the integer S is predefined based on a multiple of a primary estimate of the rotor time constant" but fails to specify what constitutes a "primary estimate" or how this primary estimate is obtained. The specification at paragraph [0153] vaguely mentions that "a primary estimate of the rotor time constant of the induction motor may be provided by the manufacturer of the motor in the data sheet of the motor" but this extrinsic information cannot cure the indefiniteness of the claim itself, which fails to define the primary estimate.
Appropriate correction is requested.
Since the independent claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and hence the dependent claims of 1 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sega (US 2020/0287492 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Sega discloses that a method for driving an induction motor comprising a rotor and a magnetic core comprising a magnetic inductance component (see paragraphs [0203]-[0204] describing BLDC motor with stator comprising inductance components; paragraphs [0210]-[0214] discussing magnetic inductance variations and magnetic saturation saliency properties), the method comprising, by a motor drive configured for interfacing with the induction motor:
performing a voltage measurement at terminals of the motor at standstill for a voltage measurement period during initial demagnetization of the magnetic core of the motor from an initial magnetic flux of the magnetic core (see paragraphs [0227]-[0230] explicitly describing off-time voltage measurements at motor terminals during demagnetization intervals; paragraphs [0130]-[0131] teaching application of "very short duration pulses before the main on-time and off-time measurement pulses" to "quickly demagnetize the iron stator core". Sega explicitly teaches that these demagnetization pulses address "residual magnetic flux in the iron stator core in BLDCM motors" (paragraph [0251]), directly corresponding to performing voltage measurements during demagnetization from an initial magnetic flux), wherein the voltage measurement period is shorter than a time period of complete demagnetization of the magnetic core from the initial magnetic flux (see paragraphs [0252]-[0253] stating that "pulse durations in the range between 5 μsec-15 μsec were tested to work well in practice" for the demagnetization pulses, which are explicitly shorter than the complete demagnetization time; paragraph [0251] teaching that these "shorter preceding pulses" are used "to quickly demagnetize the iron stator core," indicating measurements during initial demagnetization before complete demagnetization);
determining a first magnetic flux estimate component based on the voltage measurement (see paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching calculation of CPFmaxR values which are directly proportional to rotor magnetic field strength and thus magnetic flux; Fig. 28-29 explicitly showing relationship between CPFmax values and rotor magnetic field strength/flux; equations 13-15 showing voltage measurements used to derive flux-related parameters);
determining a second magnetic flux estimate component by performing an exponential regression algorithm on the voltage measurement ((see paragraphs [0145]-[0148] discussing differential equations where magnetic flux during demagnetization decreases exponentially; paragraphs [0229]-[0232] describing exponential decay of current during off-time intervals; Fig. 7 and paragraph [0161]-[0162] explicitly showing exponential decrease of voltage during demagnetization process; Sega teaches using exponential regression methods to fit curves to measurement data for deriving motor parameters); and
determining an estimate of the initial magnetic flux based on the first magnetic flux estimate component and the second magnetic flux estimate component (see paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching combination of multiple voltage-derived measurements to estimate rotor magnetic field strength which corresponds to magnetic flux; paragraphs [0251]-[0254] describing use of demagnetization pulse measurements to determine residual magnetic flux state).
Regarding claim 2,Sega discloses that further comprising: configuring the motor drive based on the estimate of the initial magnetic flux (see paragraphs [0334]-[0342] describing sensorless BLDCM operation using voltage measurements to control motor operation; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching use of CPFmaxR values for motor control optimization; Fig. 25 showing operational flowchart for sensorless operation incorporating these flux-related measurements for motor drive configuration).
Regarding claim 3,Sega discloses that further comprising: determining an estimate (τ0) of a time constant of the rotor of the motor using the exponential regression algorithm, wherein the second magnetic flux estimate component is determined based on the estimate (τ0) of the time constant of the rotor of the motor ((see paragraph [0224] explicitly teaching adaptation of on-time pulse duration to "the BLDC motor's electrical time constant (τ), which can be measured off-line or during operation"; paragraphs [0229]-[0232] describing measurement timing during off-time intervals related to time constant properties; paragraphs [0145]-[0148] discussing differential equations governing magnetic flux during demagnetization where flux decreases exponentially governed by time constant))
Regarding claim 4, Sega discloses that wherein the measurement of the voltage for the voltage measurement period comprises a plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S, S being a non-zero natural integer, and wherein the second magnetic flux estimate component is determined based on a combination of the estimate ({circumflex over (τ)}0) of the time constant of the rotor of the motor with one or more voltage measurement data points of the plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S selected in the neighborhood of the last voltage measurement point (vS) (see paragraphs [0338]-[0341] explicitly describing voltage measurement sampling with defined sampling intervals; Table 1-2 showing multiple voltage measurement data points obtained through sampling; paragraphs [0227]-[0232] describing measurement timing and sampling parameters).
Regarding claim 5, Sega discloses that wherein the measurement of the voltage for the voltage measurement period comprises a plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S, S being a non-zero natural integer, the method further comprising: determining an average voltage value ({tilde over (v)}S) averaging a plurality of voltage measurement data points of the plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S, wherein the second magnetic flux estimate component is determined based on the average voltage value(see paragraphs [0227]-[0232] describing time-voltage measurement combinations; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching mathematical combinations of time and voltage parameters for flux estimation; equations 13-15 showing specific mathematical relationships between voltage measurements).
Regarding claim 6, Sega discloses that wherein each of the plurality of voltage measurement data points is comprised in a set of {vS+k}−K≤k≤0, wherein K is a non-zero natural integer (see paragraphs [0245]-[0249] teaching correlation and averaging of multiple voltage measurements; paragraphs [0339]-[0341] describing averaging and correlation calculations for voltage measurements; equations 7-12 showing averaging and correlation calculations).
Regarding claim 7,Sega discloses that wherein the measurement of the voltage for the voltage measurement period comprises a plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S, S being a non-zero natural integer, the method further comprising: determining an average voltage value ({tilde over (v)}S) averaging a plurality of voltage measurement data points of the plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S by:
wherein the second magnetic flux estimate component is based on the average voltage value {tilde over (v)}S ((see paragraphs [0240]-[0245] describing selection of voltage measurement data points from sets of measurements; Table 1-2 showing sets of voltage measurement data points with defined ranges; paragraphs [0236]-[0245] describing selection of measurement points from defined ranges for calculations)).
Regarding claim 8,Sega discloses that wherein the measurement of the voltage for the voltage measurement period comprises a plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S, S being a non-zero natural integer, wherein the S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S are obtained through measurement sampling with a sampling interval (Δt), and wherein the first magnetic flux estimate component is determined based on a combination of the sampling interval with a combination of one or more of the S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S((see paragraphs [0227]-[0232] explicitly describing voltage measurement sampling with sampling intervals; paragraphs [0338]-[0341] describing measurement timing and sampling parameters; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] teaching mathematical combinations of sampling intervals and voltage measurements for parameter estimation).
Regarding claim 9,Sega discloses that wherein the first magnetic flux estimate component is determined based on the combination Δt·Σi=1 Svi (see paragraphs [0227]-[0232] teaching time-voltage measurement combinations; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] showing mathematical relationships combining time and voltage parameters for flux estimation; equations 13-15 demonstrating specific combinations).
Regarding claim 10,Sega discloses that wherein the measurement of the voltage for the voltage measurement period comprises a plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S, S being a non-zero natural integer, the method further comprising: determining an estimate ({circumflex over (τ)}0) of a time constant of the rotor of the motor using the exponential regression algorithm, wherein the S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S are obtained through voltage measurement sampling with a sampling interval (Δt), wherein the first magnetic flux estimate component is determined based on the combination Δt·Σi=1 Svi, wherein the second magnetic flux estimate component is determined based on the combination {circumflex over (τ)}0 v S, wherein the voltage value v S is determined based on one or more voltage measurement data points of the plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S selected in the neighborhood of the last voltage measurement point (vS); and wherein the estimate of the initial magnetic flux is determined based on combination of the first magnetic flux estimate with the second magnetic flux estimate component (see paragraphs [0245]-[0249] teaching averaging of voltage measurements; paragraphs [0339]-[0341] describing average voltage calculations; paragraphs [0407]-[0410] showing use of averaged voltage values for flux-related calculations).
Regarding claim 11,Sega discloses that wherein the measurement of the voltage for the voltage measurement period comprises a plurality of S voltage measurement data points (vi)1≤i≤S, S being a non-zero natural integer, and wherein the integer S is predefined based on a multiple of a primary estimate of the rotor time constant (see paragraph [0224] teaching that on-time pulse duration is "adapted to the BLDC motor's electrical time constant (τ), which can be measured off-line or during operation" and that "values were measured in the range between 150 μs to 1500 μs"; paragraphs [0225]-[0232] describing that measurement parameters are predefined based on time constant values; Sega teaches defining measurement parameters based on motor time constant estimates).
Regarding claim 12, Sega discloses that wherein the motor is an asynchronous induction motor (see paragraphs [0201]-[0205] describing control of multiphase electric motors including BLDC motors which operate based on inductance variations and rotor position detection applicable to asynchronous induction motor control; the methods disclosed apply to induction motor configurations).
Regarding claim 13,Sega discloses that An apparatus, the apparatus comprising a processor, a memory operatively coupled to the processor, and an interface for coupling to an induction motor to be driven by the apparatus, wherein the apparatus is configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0203]-[0207] describing BLDC motor control system including microcontroller (processor), memory, and motor interface; paragraphs [0205]-[0207] explicitly teaching processor and memory components for implementing the disclosed methods; Fig. 2 showing the apparatus architecture with processor, memory, and motor interface).
Regarding claim 14,Sega discloses that a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having computer program code stored thereon, said computer program code comprising instructions to, when provided to a computer system and executed, cause said computer system to perform the method according to claim 1 (see paragraphs [0207] describing microcontroller with memory for storing program code; paragraphs [0205]-[0207] teaching that the methods are implemented via software stored in memory; the entire disclosure provides enablement for one of ordinary skill to create computer program code implementing the disclosed voltage measurement and flux estimation methods).
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD S ISLAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837