DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/24/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
a transition position defining an area at which a target object is placed during a transition from one process to a subsequent process in the cargo handling operation,
a stopping position defining an area for a transport vehicle, and
a third area, wherein the one process includes moving the target object between the third area and the transition position, and the subsequent process includes moving the target object between the transition position and the stopping position;
based on the subsequent process being performable, transmit an instruction to the industrial vehicle to perform the subsequent process including moving the target object between the transition position and the stopping position;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “a transition position defining an area at which a target object is placed during a transition from one process to a subsequent process in the cargo handling operation.” While there is a mention of “transition position E4” in [0033] of the pg-pub in the instant application, there is not a specific mention of a “transition position” that defines “an area at which a target object is placed during a transition from one process to a subsequent process in the cargo handling operation.”
Claim 1 recites “a stopping position defining an area for a transport vehicle.” While there is a mention of “stopping area E1” in [0033] of the pg-pub in the instant application, an area is not equal to a position. There is no “stopping position” in the specification. Also, there is no mention in the specification of a specific “stopping position” that defines “an area for a transport vehicle.”
Claim 1 recites “a third area.” There is no mention of a third area in the specification. Furthermore, there is no mention in the specification of “wherein the one process includes moving the target object between the third area and the transition position.”
Claim 1 recites “the subsequent process includes moving the target object between the transition position and the stopping position.” As shown above, there is no “stopping position” in the specification. There is also no “subsequent process” that includes “moving the target object between the transition position and the stopping position.”
Claim 1 recites “based on the subsequent process being performable, transmit an instruction to the industrial vehicle to perform the subsequent process including moving the target object between the transition position and the stopping position.” As shown above, there is no “stopping position” in the specification. There is also no “based on the subsequent process being performable, transmit an instruction to the industrial vehicle to perform the subsequent process” that includes “moving the target object between the transition position and the stopping position.”
The dependent claims inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 1-4, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “a transition position defining an area” and “a stopping position defining an area.” It is unclear how a position defines an area in each of these instances.
Claim 1 recites “a third area.” It is unclear how this area is a third area when a first and second area have not been established.
The dependent claims inherit these deficiencies by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato et al. (JP-2022155856-A).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses:
A cargo handling system in which an industrial vehicle performs cargo handling operation, the cargo handling system comprising:
the industrial vehicle (Sato: pg 1; abstract; cargo handling vehicles 20);
a work site where the industrial vehicle performs a cargo handling operation, wherein the work site comprises a plurality of areas that are separately arranged from each other in a plan view of the work site (Sato: pg 21; Fig 1; cargo receiving area / pickup area 51; traveling area 52; loading area 53; parking area 54; cargo handling area 55; pg 2; para 4 – 13; cargo handling by the cargo handling vehicle 20 in multiple areas; Fig 3; pg 4; pg 5, last para – pg 6, para 5; S1-7), the plurality of areas comprising:
a transition position defining an area at which a target object is placed during a transition from one process to a subsequent process in the cargo handling operation (Sato: pg 21; Fig 1; cargo receiving area / pickup area 51; pg 2; para 4 – 13; pg 23; Fig 3; pg 4, last para – pg 6, para 5; Fig 3; pg 4; S1-3),
a stopping position defining an area for a transport vehicle (Sato: pg 21; Fig 1; loading area 53; parking area 54; cargo handling area 55; pg 2; para 4 – 13; Fig 3; pg 4, last para – pg 6, para 5; Fig 3; pg 4; S4), and
a third area, wherein the one process includes moving the target object between the third area and the transition position, and the subsequent process includes moving the target object between the transition position and the stopping position (Sato: pg 21; Fig 1; traveling area 52 with double sided arrows; pg 2; para 4 – 13; Fig 3; pg 4, last para – pg 6, para 5; Fig 3; pg 4; S1-4; it is noted that since the traveling area 52 has double sided arrows, the Sato mapping of the “transition position” and “stopping position” can also be flipped with traveling area 52 still in the middle as the “third area”);
a camera provided at a position in the work site different from the industrial vehicle and configured to monitor a state of the transition position (Sato: pg 21; Fig 1; cameras 61 and 62; pg 2; last para – pg 3, para 2); and
a processor configured to:
determine whether the subsequent process is performable based on information acquired by the camera about the transition position (Sato: pg 3, para 1; first photographing camera 61 is provided in each pickup area 51 , acquires an image of the cargo handling vehicle 20 in the pickup area 51; S3; pg 5, para 8; the control unit 37 controls the operations of the plurality of cargo handling vehicles 20 to automatically travel the travel area 52 along the travel route set in step S1 (step S3); pg 8, para 8; in step S4 of the cargo handling process, the fact that the cargo handling vehicle 20 has entered the cargo handling area 55 (the end of the automatic traveling) is detected by the first photographing camera 61 or the second photographing camera provided in the work area 10; Fig 3; pg 4; S1-4; pg 4, last para – pg 6, para 5;), and
based on the subsequent process being performable, transmit an instruction to the industrial vehicle to perform the subsequent process including moving the target object between the transition position and the stopping position (Sato: pg 21; Fig 1; traveling area 52 with double sided arrows; pg 2; para 4 – 13; Fig 3; pg 4, last para – pg 6, para 5; pg 4; S1-4; it is noted that since the traveling area 52 has double sided arrows, the Sato mapping of the “transition position” and “stopping position” can also be flipped with traveling area 52 still in the middle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP-2022155856-A) in view of Anderson-Sprecher (US 2025/0109002).
Regarding claim 2,
Sato teaches:
The cargo handling system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
Sato fails to teach:
wherein the processor is configured to determine that the subsequent process is performable based on removal of the target object having been present from the transition position.
Anderson-Sprecher teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to determine that the subsequent process is performable based on removal of the target object having been present from the transition position (Anderson-Sprecher: Fig 3B, 10B; [0090]; [0092]-[0093]; [0096]; [0109]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Anderson-Sprecher with Sato. Using obstacle detection, removal and/or an alternate path of Anderson-Sprecher would benefit the Sato device by enhancing safety and increasing efficiency. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, using obstacle detection, removal and/or an alternate path, to a known device ready for improvement, the Sato device, to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, Sato in view of Anderson-Sprecher teaches:
The cargo handling system according to claim 2, wherein the target object is a pallet (Sato: Fig 1; pallet (loading platform) 70; pg 2, para 4; Anderson-Sprecher: Fig 3B, 10B; [0049]-[0050]; [0105]-[0106]).
Regarding claim 9,
Sato teaches:
The cargo handling system according to claim 1,
wherein the cargo handling system further comprises a second industrial vehicle configured to perform the one process (Sato: pg 1; abstract; Fig 1, pg 21, pg 2, para 12-13 ), and
Sato fails to teach:
wherein the processor is configured to determine that the subsequent process is performable based on removal of the target object from the transition position by the industrial vehicle or the second industrial vehicle.
Anderson-Sprecher teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to determine that the subsequent process is performable based on removal of the target object from the transition position by the industrial vehicle or the second industrial vehicle (Anderson-Sprecher: Fig 3B, 10B; [0090]; [0092]-[0093]; [0096]; [0109]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Anderson-Sprecher with Sato. Using obstacle detection, removal and/or an alternate path of Anderson-Sprecher would benefit the Sato device by enhancing safety and increasing efficiency. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, using obstacle detection, removal and/or an alternate path, to a known device ready for improvement, the Sato device, to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JP-2022155856-A) in view of Yamaguchi (US 2025/0083936).
Regarding claim 3,
Sato teaches:
The cargo handling system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
Sato fails to teach:
wherein the processor is configured to determine that the subsequent process is performable based on arrival of the target object at the transition position.
Yamaguchi teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to determine that the subsequent process is performable based on arrival of the target object at the transition position (Yamaguchi: Fig 8; loading operation; [0092]; [0101]-[0104]; S16; forklift control unit 21e executes the loading control (dropping off control) at the stage of reaching the motion place in this manner (step S16)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yamaguchi with Sato. Adding the safety features / possibility / impossibility of Yamaguchi would benefit the Sato teachings by enhancing safety. Additionally, this is the application of a known technique, adding safety features, to a known device ready for improvement, the Sato device, to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)-(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st-2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JAMES M PONTIUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488