DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is an initial office action in response to communication(s) filed on October 8, 2024.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 8, 2024 and April 28, 2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0278768 A1, hereinafter as “Ono”).
With regard to claim 1, the claim is drawn to a method of controlling an information processing apparatus (see Ono, i.e. in fig. 1, para. 2, and etc. disclose the information processing terminal 500 connected to the main unit 600, which includes a printer 604; and the language setting method and etc.), the method comprising:
acquiring first language information, second language information, and first replacement information corresponding to the first language information and including information about a term to be displayed on a print setting screen of a printing apparatus (see Ono, i.e. fig.3, 4, 7, para. 41, 49-50 and etc., disclose that “generating, based on the image data, film thickness data representing a height of the swelling portion of the image forming material; performing, in the film thickness data, smoothing processing on the edge of the swelling portion of the image forming material to generate smoothed film thickness data; generating, based on the smoothed film thickness data, the information representing the layer thickness of the image forming material; and causing a display unit to display a preview image of a printed matter based on the stereoscopic image data, wherein the information representing the layer thickness of the image forming material includes information representing an aspect in which an edge of a swelling portion of the image forming material is inclined toward a recording medium surface or an aspect in which the edge of the swelling portion of the image forming material is rounded….”);
determining whether the acquired first language information and the acquired second language information match (see One, i.e. in para. 57 and etc., disclose that “[0057] At step S34, the language acquisition module 34 checks whether a tag “meta-data” in the file “osManifest.xml” (illustrated in FIG. 6) includes an element “language” or not. If the tag “meta-data” does not include the element “language”, the process reverts to step S32, and the language acquisition module 34 obtains another apk file and continues the process…”); and
processing the first replacement information (see Ono, i.e. in fig. 7, para. 52 and etc., disclose that “[0052] At step S22, the user performs an operation to select one language from the list of the selectable language candidates displayed on the language setting screen 1000. At step S23, the display module 36 requests the language setting module 32 to perform language setting. At step S24, the language setting module 32 requests the OS F/W 40 to perform language setting. In response to the request, the OS F/W 40 changes a display language of the OS F/W 40 to the language selected at step S22. Hereinafter, the display language determined here may be referred to as a “setting language”…”),
wherein based on determining that the first language information and the second language information differ from each other, the first replacement information is processed into second replacement information corresponding to the second language information (see Ono, i.e. in fig. 7, para. 52 and etc., disclose that “[0052] At step S22, the user performs an operation to select one language from the list of the selectable language candidates displayed on the language setting screen 1000. At step S23, the display module 36 requests the language setting module 32 to perform language setting. At step S24, the language setting module 32 requests the OS F/W 40 to perform language setting. In response to the request, the OS F/W 40 changes a display language of the OS F/W 40 to the language selected at step S22. Hereinafter, the display language determined here may be referred to as a “setting language”…”).
With regard to claim 2, the claim is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the first language information is a language setting associated with a language that is displayed before a login to the information processing apparatus, and wherein the second language information is a language setting associated with a language that is set as a display language by a user of the information processing apparatus (see One, i.e. in fig.3, illustration of selectable language information 40, with language and language B and etc.; also see fig. 4 and etc.).
With regard to claim 3, the claim is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein based on determining that the first language information matches the second language information, the first replacement information is processed into third replacement information corresponding to the second language information and being replacement information specific to the printing apparatus (see Ono, i.e. in fig. 4, disclose an example of language setting screen, includes first language of “Japanese”, second language of “English”, and third language of “German” and etc.).
With regard to claim 4, the claim is drawn to the method of claim 3, wherein information about a function specific to the printing apparatus is added to the third replacement information (See One, i.e. in para. 42 and etc., disclose that “[0042] FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the language setting screen. The language setting screen 1000 illustrated in FIG. 4 displays a list of selectable language candidates. The selectable language candidates displayed on the language setting screen 1000 includes the language of the terminology file included in the terminology module 20 and the selectable language for the OS F/W 40, which are acquired by the language acquisition module 34. That is, on the language setting screen 1000 illustrated in FIG. 4, the language of the terminology file included in the terminology module 20 that was added by installation is also displayed in a selectable manner, in addition to the selectable language maintained by the OS F/W 40. Accordingly, a user of the information processing terminal 500 can select a language, which was dynamically added by an installation of software, on the language setting screen 1000…”).
With regard to claim 5, the claim is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the second replacement information is replacement information for use commonly by a plurality of printing apparatuses (see One, i.e. in para. 54, disclose that “[0054] At step S31, the language acquisition module 34 obtains a list of the APs 10 and the terminology modules 20 stored in a predetermined folder. In FIG. 8, the APs 10 and the terminology modules 20 are referred to as “apk files”. [0055] At step S32, the language acquisition module 34 selects one apk file among a list of the apk files, and performs steps S33 and thereafter with respect to the selected apk file. With respect to every apk file in the list, the language acquisition module 34 performs steps S33 and thereafter. At step S33, the language acquisition checks whether the file “osManifest.xml” (illustrated in FIG. 6) includes a tag “overlay” or not…”).
With regard to claim 6, the claim is drawn to the method of claim 1, wherein the second replacement information is replacement information specific to the printing apparatus (see One, i.e. in para. 24 and etc., disclose that “… the main unit 600 embodies various functions concerning image forming, such as a printing function, a scanner function, and a copying function.”).
With regard to claim 8, the claim is drawn to an information processing apparatus configured to connect to a printing apparatus (see Ono, i.e. in fig. 1, disclose the information processing terminal 500 connected to the main unit 600, ),, the information processing apparatus comprising:
a display unit configured to display a print setting screen for the printing apparatus (see Ono, i.e. in fig. 2 and etc., disclose the display device 502);
an acquisition unit configured to acquire first language information, second language information, and first replacement information corresponding to the first language information and including information about a term to be displayed on the print setting screen (see Ono, i.e. fig.3, 4, 7, para. 41, 49-50 and etc., disclose that “generating, based on the image data, film thickness data representing a height of the swelling portion of the image forming material; performing, in the film thickness data, smoothing processing on the edge of the swelling portion of the image forming material to generate smoothed film thickness data; generating, based on the smoothed film thickness data, the information representing the layer thickness of the image forming material; and causing a display unit to display a preview image of a printed matter based on the stereoscopic image data, wherein the information representing the layer thickness of the image forming material includes information representing an aspect in which an edge of a swelling portion of the image forming material is inclined toward a recording medium surface or an aspect in which the edge of the swelling portion of the image forming material is rounded….”);
a determination unit configured to determine whether the first language information acquired by the acquisition unit and the second language information acquired by the acquisition unit match (see One, i.e. in para. 57 and etc., disclose that “[0057] At step S34, the language acquisition module 34 checks whether a tag “meta-data” in the file “osManifest.xml” (illustrated in FIG. 6) includes an element “language” or not. If the tag “meta-data” does not include the element “language”, the process reverts to step S32, and the language acquisition module 34 obtains another apk file and continues the process…”); and
a processing unit configured to process the first replacement information (see Ono, i.e. in fig. 7, para. 52 and etc., disclose that “[0052] At step S22, the user performs an operation to select one language from the list of the selectable language candidates displayed on the language setting screen 1000. At step S23, the display module 36 requests the language setting module 32 to perform language setting. At step S24, the language setting module 32 requests the OS F/W 40 to perform language setting. In response to the request, the OS F/W 40 changes a display language of the OS F/W 40 to the language selected at step S22. Hereinafter, the display language determined here may be referred to as a “setting language”…”),
wherein based on the determination unit determining that the first language information and the second language information differ from each other, the processing unit processes the first replacement information into second replacement information corresponding to the second language information (see Ono, i.e. in fig. 7, para. 52 and etc., disclose that “[0052] At step S22, the user performs an operation to select one language from the list of the selectable language candidates displayed on the language setting screen 1000. At step S23, the display module 36 requests the language setting module 32 to perform language setting. At step S24, the language setting module 32 requests the OS F/W 40 to perform language setting. In response to the request, the OS F/W 40 changes a display language of the OS F/W 40 to the language selected at step S22. Hereinafter, the display language determined here may be referred to as a “setting language”…”).
With regard to claim 9, the claim is drawn to the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the first language information is a language setting associated with a language that is displayed before a login to the information processing apparatus, and wherein the second language information is a language setting associated with a language that is set as a display language by a user of the information processing apparatus (see One, i.e. in fig.3, illustration of selectable language information 40, with language and language B and etc.; also see fig. 4 and etc.).
With regard to claim 10, the claim is drawn to the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein based on the determination unit determining that the first language information matches the second language information, the processing unit processes the first replacement information into third replacement information corresponding to the second language information and being replacement information specific to the printing apparatus (see Ono, i.e. in fig. 4, disclose an example of language setting screen, includes first language of “Japanese”, second language of “English”, and third language of “German” and etc.).
With regard to claim 11, the claim is drawn to the information processing apparatus according to claim 10, wherein information about a function specific to the printing apparatus is added to the third replacement information (See One, i.e. in para. 42 and etc., disclose that “[0042] FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating an example of the language setting screen. The language setting screen 1000 illustrated in FIG. 4 displays a list of selectable language candidates. The selectable language candidates displayed on the language setting screen 1000 includes the language of the terminology file included in the terminology module 20 and the selectable language for the OS F/W 40, which are acquired by the language acquisition module 34. That is, on the language setting screen 1000 illustrated in FIG. 4, the language of the terminology file included in the terminology module 20 that was added by installation is also displayed in a selectable manner, in addition to the selectable language maintained by the OS F/W 40. Accordingly, a user of the information processing terminal 500 can select a language, which was dynamically added by an installation of software, on the language setting screen 1000…”).
With regard to claim 12, the claim is drawn to the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the second replacement information is replacement information for use commonly by a plurality of printing apparatuses (see One, i.e. in para. 54, disclose that “[0054] At step S31, the language acquisition module 34 obtains a list of the APs 10 and the terminology modules 20 stored in a predetermined folder. In FIG. 8, the APs 10 and the terminology modules 20 are referred to as “apk files”. [0055] At step S32, the language acquisition module 34 selects one apk file among a list of the apk files, and performs steps S33 and thereafter with respect to the selected apk file. With respect to every apk file in the list, the language acquisition module 34 performs steps S33 and thereafter. At step S33, the language acquisition checks whether the file “osManifest.xml” (illustrated in FIG. 6) includes a tag “overlay” or not…”).
With regard to claim 13, the claim is drawn to the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the second replacement information is replacement information specific to the printing apparatus (see One, i.e. in para. 24 and etc., disclose that “… the main unit 600 embodies various functions concerning image forming, such as a printing function, a scanner function, and a copying function.”).
With regard to claim 15, the claim is drawn to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more computer programs including instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an information processing apparatus, cause the information processing apparatus to perform a method comprising: acquiring first language information, second language information, and first replacement information corresponding to the first language information and including information about a term to be displayed on a print setting screen of a printing apparatus; determining whether the acquired first language information and the acquired second language information match; and processing the first replacement information, wherein based on determining that the first language information and the second language information differ from each other, the first replacement information is processed into second replacement information corresponding to the second language information (instant claim is similarly rejected for at least the ground of rejection set forth in discussions of claims 1 and 8 above, also incorporated by reference herein; in addition, in One, i.e. in para. 33 and etc., disclose that “[0033] The HDD 508 is a non-volatile storage device for storing a program or data. Examples of the program or data stored in the HDD 508 include, an OS which is basic software for controlling the information processing terminal 500 in its entirety and the like, and an application program running on the OS to provide various functions. Instead of the HDD 508, a drive device using a flash memory as a recording medium (for example, a solid state drive (SSD)) may be used…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
With regard to Claims 7 and 14, claims are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the corresponding rejections and/or objection (if any) set forth in the Office Action above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 7, the closest prior arts of record, Ono, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “the method of claim 1, wherein based on determining that the first language information and the second language information differ from each other, information about a function specific to the printing apparatus is added to the second replacement information in the processing, and wherein based on determining that the first language information and the second language information match, the information about the function specific to the printing apparatus is added to the first replacement information in the processing”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by prior art of record.
With regard to claim 14, the closest prior arts of record, Ono, do not disclose or suggest, among the other limitations, the additional required limitation of “the information processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein based on the determination unit determining that the first language information and the second language information differ from each other, the processing unit adds information about a function specific to the printing apparatus to the second replacement information, and wherein based on the determination unit determining that the first language information and the second language information match, the processing unit adds the information about the function specific to the printing apparatus to the first replacement information”. These additional features in combination with all the other features required in the claimed invention, are neither taught nor suggested by prior art of record.
Therefore, claims 7 and 14 are objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tokuchi (U.S. Pat/Pub No. 2019/0347119 A1) disclose an invention relates to a user performs an operation on a screen of the equipment to thereby change a setting regarding the language in which to express character strings displayed on the screen (however, lacks in disclosing aspect(s) relating to PDC and/or PDR).
The Art Unit (or Workgroup) location of your application in the USPTO has changed. To aid in correlating any papers for this application, all further correspondence regarding this application should be directed to Art Unit 2681.
/JACKY X ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681