DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 6-13, in the reply filed on 19 March 2026 is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-5 and 14-16 stand canceled per applicant’s submission dated 19 March 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larsen et al. (3,668,755 – cited in parent application) as evidenced by Osborg (US 1,869,496).
Considering claim 6, Larsen teaches a method of bonding Cu and/or Ag materials to Cu and/or Ag materials (abstract). Examples are depicted in Fig.2 of plates of an Ag-alloy and a Cu alloy with a Li alloy placed therebetween (Column 4 lines 28-40) (e.g. an assembly) and the stack of metal layers has pressure applied of 1-50 lbs. (Column 3 lines 26-34; Column 4 lines 48-52) and is heated (i.e. applying energy) to diffuse the lithium such that an interface exists between the contact surfaces of the Ag (11) and Cu (12) plates and a gradient of Li exists (i.e. an additive) that is more concentrated at the interface and decreasing away from the interface (Figs. 4a-4b – reproduced below; Column 4 lines 28-39). However, Larsen does not teach where the Li alters a property of one of the plates. Osborg teaches silver alloys with lithium (p.1 lines 84-99) where lithium improves the silver making a denser and stronger silver metal or alloy (p.2 lines 1-16). As such, Larsen anticipates that which is claimed.
Considering claim 7, Larsen teaches where the assembled layers are heated from 330-500 °C (Column 3 lines 35-39).
Considering claim 8, Larsen teaches where the plates are formed into their shape prior to diffusion bonding (Fig. 2).
Considering claim 9, Larsen teaches where the plates are unclamped after bonding (Column 4 lines 48-52) and is considered “fashioning the fused plates into a selected piece” as no particular process or structure is claimed. See MPEP 2111.01.
Considering claim 10, Larsen teaches where the first plate is a silver alloy (Column 4 lines 28-34).
Considering claims 11-12, Fig.2 of Larsen teaches where the second member is smaller than the first and may be considered ‘a patch’ as no particular structure is recited. See MPEP 2111.01.
Considering claim 13, Osborg evidences where lithium improves the silver making a denser and stronger silver metal or alloy (p.2 lines 1-16) (e.g. structural strength).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takada et al. (US 2017/0095883) teaches a process of forming a bonded metal product similar to that which is claimed..
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784