Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The amendments to claims 28-33 have overcome the previously presented 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 28-33 over Guo et al. in view of Drewes.
Applicant's arguments filed 8/18/2026 with respect to the amendments to claim 21 overcoming the previously presented 35 USC 103 rejections of claims 21-24 and 26 over Guo et al. (US 2008/0154206) in view of Drewes have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the amendment requiring that the alternating first and second segments are fused together via melting or reflowing of the second polymer into the first polymer distinguishes the claimed invention from the prior art of Guo as modified by Drewes. The limitation “via melting or reflowing of the second polymer into the first polymer” is considered a product-by-process limitation, noting that the claim is drawn to an apparatus, not a method of manufacture. The prior art must only disclose the final structure necessitated by the product-by-process limitation and need not disclose the process steps. The term “fused” is given its ordinary meaning of “joined, blended, or connected to form a single entity”. The final structure necessitated by this product-by-process limitation (“fused together via melting or reflowing of the second polymer into the first polymer”) is considered first and second segments that are joined together to form a single entity. Guo expressly discloses that the two polymer materials forming the alternating segments are adhered to each other and thus meets the final structure necessitated by the product-by-process limitation (see [0021] – if polymer material of 1st strip is chemically in-compatible with polymer material of second strip, a polymer compatibilizer is added to at least one of the polymer materials to improve melt adhesion between the strips). Though not required, Guo discloses fusing the alternating first and second segments via melting or reflowing the second polymer into the first polymer. In particular, Guo discloses that the two materials are joined via a co-extrusion machine or co-injection molding machine ([0015], [0058], [0061], [0076]), each of which involves melting and flowing of both polymers, and thus the second polymer into the first polymer (i.e., into indentations of final shape formed by first polymer). The fact that the first and second segments have sufficient stress concentration formed at the interfacial zones such that the catheter may be split along an interfacial zone when the sides of the tubular body apart are forced apart (see par. [0056]) does not contradict that the first and second segments are fused together.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2008/0154206) in view of Drewes (US 2009/0171318). Regarding claims 21, 27, and 33, Guo discloses a catheter shaft (2) comprising an inner layer (see examiner-annotated reproduction of fig. 4E below; inner layer shaded gray) of consistent thickness, the inner layer defining an innermost circumferential surface of the catheter shaft and defining a lumen of the catheter shaft, wherein the inner layer is formed of a first polymer; and an outer layer (alternating segments 8,10 radially outward of dotted circle in annotated figure below) of consistent thickness, the outer layer formed by alternating first (10) and second segments (8) of the first polymer and a second polymer, respectively, that alternate in a circumferential direction (fig. 4E), the second polymer being different than the first polymer ([0085]), each segment of the alternating first and second segments extending in an axial direction for substantially an entire length of the catheter shaft (fig. 4E, 4F) and the alternating first and second segments collectively defining an outermost circumferential surface of the catheter shaft, wherein the catheter shaft is devoid of axial wires (noting no axial wires disclosed).
The alternating first and second segments of Guo are fused together. The term “fused” is given its ordinary meaning of “joined, blended, or connected to form a single entity”. The limitation “via melting or reflowing of the second polymer into the first polymer” is considered a product-by-process limitation, noting that claim 21 is drawn to an apparatus, not a method of manufacture. The prior art must only disclose the final structure necessitated by the product-by-process limitation and need not disclose the process steps. The final structure necessitated by this product-by-process limitation (“fused together via melting or reflowing of the second polymer into the first polymer”) is considered first and second segments that are joined together to form a single entity. Guo expressly discloses that the two polymer materials forming the alternating segments are adhered to each other and thus meets the final structure necessitated by the product-by-process limitation (see [0021] – if polymer material of 1st strip is chemically in-compatible with polymer material of second strip, a polymer compatibilizer is added to at least one of the polymer materials to improve melt adhesion between the strips). Though not required, Guo discloses fusing the alternating first and second segments via melting or reflowing the second polymer into the first polymer. In particular, Guo discloses that the two materials are joined via a co-extrusion machine or co-injection molding machine ([0015], [0058], [0061], [0076]), each of which involves melting and flowing of both polymers, and thus melting or reflowing the second polymer into the first polymer (i.e., into indentations of final shape formed by first polymer).
.
Regarding claim 21, Guo does not expressly disclose that the catheter shaft has uniform bending stiffness in a circumferential direction.
Drewes discloses another catheter (10) having alternating first (16) and a second polymers (18,19) forming the outermost circumferential surface of the catheter and further discloses that the stiffness modulus of the two different polymers may be chosen in a manner that results in the catheter having a substantially uniform bending stiffness in a circumferential direction ([0005]). According to Drewes, a uniform bending stiffness is desirable because, when the catheter is flexed around a bend in a vessel, there is a reduced and even resistance to twisting and the catheter can be inserted smoothly ([0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have constructed the device of Guo to have a uniform bending stiffness as taught by Drewes such that, advantageously, when the catheter is flexed around a bend in a vessel, there is reduced and even resistance to twisting and the catheter can be inserted smoothly.
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Guo illustrates 4 first segments alternating with 4 second segments, but expressly discloses that “any number of each type of strip 8, 10, including more than four first strips 8 and four second strips 10” ([0061]), and thus makes obvious having between 5 and 10 first segments and between 5 and 10 second segments as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 24, each of the first and second segments are the same size ([0062] of Guo discloses that segments 8, 10 can account for generally equal percentages of the circumference of the tubular body wall 12).
Regarding claims 26, the inner layer and the outer layer directly contact each other with the outer layer circumferentially surrounding the inner layer as understood in view of the annotated figure above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-40 are allowed. Regarding claims 28-33, the closest prior art of Guo and Drewes fails to expressly disclose, or fairly suggest, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, that the first polymer is PEEK and the second polymer is a thermoplastic polyurethane. Regarding claims 34-40, the closest prior art of Guo and Drewes discussed above fails to disclose or fairly suggest, in combination with the remaining limitations, the second polymer having a second melting temperature lower than a first melting temperature of the first polymer.
Claims 25 and 41 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 25, the closest prior art of Guo and Drewes fails to expressly disclose, or fairly suggest, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, that the first polymer is PEEK and the second polymer is a thermoplastic polyurethane. Regarding claims 41, the closest prior art of Guo and Drewes discussed above fails to disclose or fairly suggest, in combination with the remaining limitations, the second polymer having a second melting temperature lower than a first melting temperature of the first polymer.
Conclusion
KSH 10/22/2026
/KATHLEEN S HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771