Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 26, 27, 32, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Drewes, Jr. (US 2009/0171318). Regarding claims 21, 27 and 33, Drewes discloses a catheter shaft (10) comprising an inner layer (see examiner-annotated reproduction of fig. 1 below; inner layer shaded gray) defining an innermost circumferential surface of the catheter shaft and defining a lumen of the catheter shaft, wherein the inner layer is formed of a first polymer having a first durometer; and an outer layer (see examiner-annotated figure below; everything radially outward of the shaded inner layer is considered the claimed outer layer) formed by alternating first (16) and second segments (18,19; noting 18, 19 are the same material) of the first polymer and a second polymer, respectively, that alternate in a circumferential direction (fig. 1), the second polymer being different than the first polymer and having a second durometer softer than the first durometer of the first polymer ([0013]), each segment of the alternating first and second segments extending in an axial direction for substantially an entire length of the catheter shaft (as understood in view of the disclosure of Drewes, the cross-section shown in fig.1 represents the cross section along an entire length of the catheter) and the alternating first and second segments collectively defining an outermost circumferential surface of the catheter shaft, wherein the catheter shaft is devoid of axial wires (noting no axial wires or other wire reinforcement is disclosed) and has a uniform bending stiffness in the circumferential direction ([0005]). Regarding claims 26 and 32, the inner layer and the outer layer directly contact each other with the outer layer circumferentially surrounding the inner layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-24, 26-30, 32 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (US 2008/0154206) in view of Drewes (US 2009/0171318). Regarding claims 21, 27, and 33, Guo discloses a catheter shaft (2) comprising an inner layer (see examiner-annotated reproduction of fig. 4E below; inner layer shaded gray) defining an innermost circumferential surface of the catheter shaft and defining a lumen of the catheter shaft, wherein the inner layer is formed of a first polymer; and an outer layer (alternating segments 8,10 radially outward of dotted circle in annotated figure below) formed by alternating first (10) and second segments (8) of the first polymer and a second polymer, respectively, that alternate in a circumferential direction (fig. 4E), the second polymer being different than the first polymer ([0085]), each segment of the alternating first and second segments extending in an axial direction for substantially an entire length of the catheter shaft (fig. 4E, 4F) and the alternating first and second segments collectively defining an outermost circumferential surface of the catheter shaft, wherein the catheter shaft is devoid of axial wires (noting no axial wires disclosed).
Regarding claims 21 and 27, Guo does not expressly disclose that the catheter shaft has uniform bending stiffness in a circumferential direction.
Drewes discloses another catheter (10) having alternating first (16) and a second polymers (18,19) forming the outermost circumferential surface of the catheter and further discloses that the stiffness modulus of the two different polymers may be chosen in a manner that results in the catheter having a substantially uniform bending stiffness in a circumferential direction ([0005]). According to Drewes, a uniform bending stiffness is desirable because, when the catheter is flexed around a bend in a vessel, there is a reduced and even resistance to twisting and the catheter can be inserted smoothly ([0005]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have constructed the device of Guo to have a uniform bending stiffness as taught by Drewes such that, advantageously, when the catheter is flexed around a bend in a vessel, there is reduced and even resistance to twisting and the catheter can be inserted smoothly.
Further regarding claim 27, Guo does not expressly disclose that the second polymer has a second durometer softer than the first durometer of the first polymer. However, Drewes further discloses that the second polymer (18,19) present only in the outer layer of a catheter shaft having uniform bending stiffness in a circumferential direction is “softer” than the first polymer present in both the outer and inner layers of the catheter shaft (see [0013]; thus, it has a softer durometer). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Guo such that the second polymer has a softer durometer than that of the first polymer since Drewes further discloses this is a suitable material choice for providing a catheter shaft with uniform bending stiffness in a circumferential direction, and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice (In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416).
Regarding claims 22, 23, 28 and 29, Guo illustrates 4 first segments alternating with 4 second segments, but expressly discloses that “any number of each type of strip 8, 10, including more than four first strips 8 and four second strips 10” ([0061]), and thus makes obvious having between 5 and 10 first segments and between 5 and 10 second segments as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 24 and 30, each of the first and second segments are the same size ([0062] of Guo discloses that segments 8, 10 can account for generally equal percentages of the circumference of the tubular body wall 12).
Regarding claims 26 and 32, the inner layer and the outer layer directly contact each other with the outer layer circumferentially surrounding the inner layer as understood in view of the annotated figure above.
Double Patenting
Claims 27 and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,819,629. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 27 and 34 are merely broader than claim 6 of ’629 and are therefore “anticipated” by claim 6 of ‘629.
Claims 21, (22,28,35), (23,29,36), (24,30,37), (25,31,38), (26,32,39), and (33,40) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, (2), (3), (4), (5), (8), and (7), respectively of U.S. Patent No. 11,819,629 in view of Drewes, Jr. (US 2009/0171318). Claims 1-5, 7 and 8 claim the invention of claims 21-26, 28-33 and 35-40 except for the catheter shaft having a uniform bending stiffness in a circumferential direction. In the case of claims 21-26, claims 1-5 and 8 of ‘629 also fails to expressly claim that the catheter shaft is devoid of axial wires (though it is noted that claims 1-5 and 8 of ‘629 do not recite any axial wires).
Drewes discloses another catheter (10) comprising a first polymer (16) and a second polymer (18,19), and further discloses that the stiffness modulus of the two polymers may be chosen in a manner that results in the catheter having a substantially uniform bending stiffness in a circumferential direction ([0005]; [0013]). Accordingly, when the catheter is flexed around a bend in a vessel, there is a reduced and even resistance to twisting and the catheter can be inserted smoothly ([0005]). The catheter of Drewes is understood to be devoid of axial wires as there are none disclosed in the specification and drawings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of claims 1-5, 7, and 8 of ‘629 to construct the catheter devoid of axial wires and with first and second polymers that result in the catheter shaft having a uniform bending stiffness in view of Drewes such that advantageously, when the catheter is flexed around a bend in a vessel, there is a reduced and even resistance to twisting and the catheter can be inserted smoothly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-40 would be allowable if a proper terminal disclaimer is filed to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejections above. The closest prior art of Guo and Drewes discussed above fails to disclose or fairly suggest, in combination with the remaining limitations, the second polymer having a second melting temperature lower than a first melting temperature of the first polymer.
Claims 25 and 28 would be allowable if a proper terminal disclaimer is filed to overcome the non-statutory double patenting rejections above and if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 25 and 28, the closest prior art of Guo and Drewes fails to expressly disclose, or fairly suggest, in combination with the other limitations of the claim, that the first polymer is PEEK and the second polymer is a thermoplastic polyurethane.
Conclusion
KSH 2/5/2026
/KATHLEEN S HOLWERDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771