DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-3, 5, and 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06 February 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III, corresponding to originally filed Claims 1, 4, and 6-10, in the reply filed on 06 February 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (hereinafter “Liu” US 2023 / 0274696).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Liu discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) a display apparatus comprising:
a display panel (1000) having a display area (200) in which a plurality of subpixels (100) are disposed (see Page 5, Para. [0055]), each of the plurality of subpixels including (see Fig. 11):
a driving transistor (T7) connected to a first power line (VDD);
an emission control transistor (T8) connected to the driving transistor (T7), the emission control transistor (T8) supplied with an emission control signal (EM) at a gate electrode of the emission control transistor (T8);
a first light emitting element (32f);
a second light emitting element (32c), and
a plurality of mode control transistors (SW1, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6) connected to the emission control transistor (T8), the first light emitting element (32f), and the second light emitting element (32c), the plurality of mode control transistors (SW1, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6) including:
a plurality of first mode control transistors (SW4, SW5) electrically connected in parallel with each other and connected in series to the first light emitting element (32f; i.e., (SW4) and (SW5) are connected in series between a leftmost node of (SW4) and a cathode of (32f) via path (SW6)); and
a plurality of second mode control transistors (SW2, SW6) connected in series with each other and connected to the second light emitting element (32c; see Page 15 through Page 16, Para. [0230] and [0232]-[0234]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Liu discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) that the first light emitting element (32f) emits light when at least one of the plurality of first mode control transistors (SW4, SW5) is turned on, and the second light emitting element (32c) emits light when both of the plurality of second mode control transistors (SW2, SW6) are turned on (again, see Page 15 through Page 16, Para. [0230] and [0232]-[0234]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Liu discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) that a gate electrode of a first transistor (SW4) included in the plurality of first mode control transistors (SW4, SW5) receives a first mode control signal (see (SW4)), a gate electrode of a second transistor (SW5) included in the plurality of first mode control transistors (SW4, SW5) receives a second mode control signal (see (SW5)), a gate electrode of a first transistor (SW2) included in the plurality of second mode control transistors (SW2, SW6) receives a third mode control signal (see (SW2)), and a gate electrode of a second transistor (SW6) included in the plurality of second mode control transistors (SW2, SW6) receives a fourth mode control signal (see (SW6); again, see Page 15 through Page 16, Para. [0230] and [0232]-[0234]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Liu discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) that the display area (200) is divided into a plurality of blocks (i.e., arbitrary groupings of subpixels (100)) that each include subpixels (100) of the plurality of subpixels (100), and the subpixels (100) included in any one of the plurality of blocks (i.e., arbitrary groupings of subpixels) emit light simultaneously or do not emit light simultaneously (see Page 5, Para. [0069], [0071]-[0072], and [0077]; and Page 16, Para. [0233]-[0234]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Liu discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) that each of the plurality of blocks (i.e., arbitrary groupings of subpixels (100)) includes a first subpixel to a fourth subpixel (i.e., see any arbitrary (32) in Fig. 11 corresponding to any (100) in Fig. 2),
wherein the first transistor (SW4) included in the plurality of first mode control transistors (SW4, SW5) that are respectively included in the first subpixel to the fourth subpixel (i.e., again, any arbitrary (32) in Fig. 11 corresponding to any (100) in Fig. 2) are driven in a same manner (i.e., in the manner shown in Fig. 11),
wherein the second transistor (SW5) included in the plurality of first mode control transistors (SW4, SW5) that are respectively included in the first subpixel to the fourth subpixel (i.e., again, any arbitrary (32) in Fig. 11 corresponding to any (100) in Fig. 2) are driven in a same manner (i.e., in the manner shown in Fig. 11),
wherein the first transistor (SW2) included in the plurality of second mode control transistors (SW2, SW6) that are respectively included in the first subpixel to the fourth subpixel (i.e., again, any arbitrary (32) in Fig. 11 corresponding to any (100) in Fig. 2) are driven in a same manner (i.e., in the manner shown in Fig. 11), and
wherein the second transistor (SW6) included in the plurality of second mode control transistors (SW2, SW6) that are respectively included in the first subpixel to the fourth subpixel (i.e., again, any arbitrary (32) in Fig. 11 corresponding to any (100) in Fig. 2) are driven in a same manner (i.e., in the manner shown in Fig. 11; again, see Page 15 through Page 16, Para. [0230] and [0232]-[0234]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Hwang et al. (hereinafter “Hwang” US 2024 / 0420640).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Liu discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11) that the display panel (1000) further comprises:
a means configured to supply a plurality of mode control signals (see (SW1, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6)) to each of the plurality of subpixels (i.e., see any arbitrary (32) in Fig. 11 corresponding to any (100) in Fig. 2), the plurality of mode control signals (again, see (SW1, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6)) including the first mode control signal (SW4), the second mode control signal (SW5), the third mode control signal (SW2), and the fourth mode control signal (SW6); and
wherein each of the plurality of mode signal supply lines (again, see (SW1, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6)) diverges from at least one node (i.e., any arbitrary node) and supplies the plurality of mode control signals (SW1, SW2, SW3, SW4, SW5, SW6) to the first subpixel to the fourth subpixel (again, see any arbitrary (32) in Fig. 11 corresponding to any (100) in Fig. 2; and see Page 15 through Page 16, Para. [0230] and [0232]-[0234]).
Liu does not explicitly disclose a data driver. However, the implementation of a data driver is implicit in the display panel (1000) disclosed by Liu in order to provide the driving signals necessary for the display panel (1000) to function.
Further, in the same field of endeavor, Hwang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) a display panel (110) having a display area (A) in which a plurality of subpixels (see (PX)) are disposed, wherein the subpixels (see (PX) in Fig. 3) include a driving transistor (T1), and emission control transistor (T6), a first light emitting element (EL1), a second light emitting element (EL2), and a plurality of mode control transistors (T9, T10), and wherein (see Fig. 1) a data driver (150) is connected to a plurality of blocks (i.e., arbitrary groupings of subpixels; see (PX)) through a plurality of mode signal supply lines (MCS) and the data driver (150) is configured to supply a plurality of mode control signals (see (GS_PU, GS_PR) in Fig. 3) to each of the subpixels (see (PX)), wherein each of the plurality of mode signal supply lines (MCS) diverges from at least one node (see (150); and see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0044]-[0047], [0051], and [0056]). It is a goal of Hwang to provide an efficient means for independently driving mode control signals in an display panel, analogous to that of Liu, such that viewing modes of the display panel may be effectively controlled and/or changed in various display areas independently (see Page 2, Para. [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Hwang, such that the display panel of Liu comprises a data driver as suggested by Hwang that is connected to the plurality of blocks through a plurality of mode signal supply lines to supply a plurality of mode control signals, in order to provide an efficient means for independently driving mode control signals in the display panel such that viewing modes of the display panel may be effectively controlled and/or changed in various display areas independently.
As pertaining to Claim 10, Hwang discloses (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) that the data driver (150) is disposed below the display panel (110) in a plan view of the display apparatus, and the plurality of mode signal supply lines (MCS) are disposed in a vertical direction of the display panel (110; again, see Page 2 through Page 3, Para. [0044]-[0047], [0051], and [0056]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant has argued that none of the references relied upon by the examiner in the prior Office Action, namely Liu, teach or fairly suggest at least “a plurality of first mode control transistors electrically connected in parallel with each other and connected in series to the first light emitting element” (see Remarks at Page 9). The examiner respectfully disagrees as Liu plainly discloses at Figure 11 a plurality of first mode control transistors (SW4, SW5) electrically connected in parallel with each other and connected in series to the first light emitting element (32f) between a leftmost node of (SW4) and a cathode of (32f) via path (SW6). The applicant has asserted that “Two elements are electrically connected in parallel only if both of their terminals are connected to the same two nodes, such that they share identical voltage potentials across their respective terminals” and “parallel devices must be directly connected between the same pair of nodes without any intervening circuit element” (see Remarks at Page 10). The examiner respectfully points out that the claimed invention neither recites nor requires “first mode control transistors” having “both of their terminals… connected to the same two nodes,” and further neither recites nor requires “directly connected” terminals “without any intervening circuit element.” As plainly shown in Figure 11 of Liu, the first mode control transistor (SW4) and the first mode control transistor (SW5) are electrically connected at a rightmost terminal. Further, leftmost terminals of the first mode control transistor (SW4) and the first mode control transistor (SW5) are electrically connected via (32e) at a leftmost terminal. A parallel connection of components merely requires that each component is placed on a separate branch between nodes such that current is divided between the separate branches. Liu clearly provides this structure with respect to (SW4) and (SW5).
For at least these reasons, the rejection of Claims 1, 4, and 6-10 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sato et al. (US 2024 / 0221665) and Keum et al. (US 11,871,622), submitted by the applicant via Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) on 08 October 2024, both disclose pixel circuits pertinent to that recited in Claim 1.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623